• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Transformers is a fast-paced third-person action/combat game which puts the player in control of Optimus Prime, Hot Shot and Red Alert across 8 different environments on Earth and Cybertron. Features include 40 different kinds of mini-con upgrades, 20 assorted types weapons, and the ability to transform from vehicle to robot form. Released exclusively for PlayStation 2. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Melbourne House have almost achieved the impossible - they’ve not only made one of the best action games on the PS2, but they’ve made a cool Transformers game that’ll take pride in any fan’s collection.
  2. The large levels, number of enemies, and variety of weapons thanks to the minicons make the game stand out from most other third person action games.
  3. After two decades, there's no rust on these Transformers. [18 June 2004, p.L2T 20]
  4. Kinda like last year's "Metal Arms," this over-the-shoulder robo-shooter totally ambushed me with how unexpectedly awesome it is. [June 2004, p.103]
  5. A memorable fight. [Aug 2004, p.7]
  6. Playing multiplayer against other players that could transform into vehicles would have been something that could be expanded on quite considerably but unfortunately there is nothing at all.
  7. Unfortunately, it’s near impossible to look past getting stuck in canyons with seemingly no way out, missing a jump and having to backtrack for five minutes, and endless load times to simply refill your health.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. BrianN.
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome game. Very fun to play and you want to finish it just so you can find more power ups.
  2. McNaughton
    Jun 14, 2004
    9
    I don't play games much these days - too big and complicated for my ageing brain (29) but this had me hooked. Simple plot, loads of combinations of abilities with the Minicons, plenty to do and explore and find after it's completed... Great fun! Expand
  3. JustinC.
    Jun 16, 2004
    9
    Absolutley amazing visuals, very intruiging control design, nice sound, and absolutley epic gameplay. I'm not a transformers geek(although when i was little i liked BEAST WARS) but this game made me like the series a little more and also made me realize how much of a badass Optimus Prime is. Fans will absolutley eat this one alive so get your ass to, walmart, eb, or gamestop now! Expand
  4. MartR.
    May 7, 2004
    8
    Now this is very nice. Everything after beating level one is hard as nails and gets tougher as you play. The graphics are very pretty (squeezing more out of my PS2 than I ever imagined possible), there are some spectacular stages and all the mini-con stuff really adds up to a true hit. Forget the moralizing cartoon from childhood, this is hardcore. Both thumbs up! Expand
  5. TFFan
    May 6, 2007
    8
    A great action game, it is a bit too short but it's amazing fun while it lasts. One thing that really impressed me was the AI- multiple enemies try to outflank you, bigger enemies shoot where you're going instead of where you are (that is, if you're running full tilt), smaller enemies dive out of the way of rockets and explosives, and just watch a Commander Unit organise a bunch of grunts into a Tortoise formation- it's almost awe-inspiring. Combined with huge, destructive weapons, great environments, beautiful graphics, intense action and a great Minicon system, this game is hugely enjoyable. Faults- a bit too short, no story, and the vehicle modes are essentially useless (beast modes would have been far more useful and easier to integrate into the environments). Expand
  6. Yellow
    May 9, 2004
    8
    This game is actually fun to play. Shame they didn't make it filled with classic transformers, but this is still a whole lot better then no transformers. Expand
  7. BlueFalcon
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    The graphics and production are top notch. But I got bored and currently have no desire to play it again. The gameplay is shallow, and uninteresting. The whole 'minicon' idea didn't feel right to me. You have to collect tiny transformers (minicons), to give yourself special abilities. The game would be more enjoyable if it was based on the old tv show. The quality is definately here, but I regret picking it up. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews