Turok: Evolution PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Turok: Evolution Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Turok: Evolution is a prequel that takes us back to the origins of the Turok lineage. In the beginning of the game, we see our hero, Tal'Set, fighting his nemesis Captain Tobias Bruckner in 1886 Texas. During the battle, a rift between their world and the Lost Lands opens and Tal'Set isTurok: Evolution is a prequel that takes us back to the origins of the Turok lineage. In the beginning of the game, we see our hero, Tal'Set, fighting his nemesis Captain Tobias Bruckner in 1886 Texas. During the battle, a rift between their world and the Lost Lands opens and Tal'Set is sucked into it. Tal'Set, injured and near death, is nursed back to health by the natives of the River Village, a colony in hiding from the Lost Land's greatest threat: the Lord Tyrannus and his reptilian hordes. Tal'Set becomes a reluctant participant in the brutal war that is raging in the Lost Land. Bent on a "holy mission" to purify the land through slaughter and misery, Tyrannus appoints a new general to his armies, and Tal'Set discovers to his horror that it is Bruckner, who was also swept into the Lost Lands through the rift. [Acclaim] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. The sickest shooter this side of Xbox killer app "Halo."
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    A solid title - but still, we would have loved to see a game that was less evolutionary and more revolutionary. [27 Sept 2002, p.89]
  3. A bread-and-butter console shooter that will let you blast enemies to your heart's content, but not a whole lot else. If that's good enough for you, then go for it.
  4. 63
    Isn't a horrible game, but underneath its pretty exterior and impressive CG work, is a mediocre, linear game, replete with erratic AI, annoying voice acting, an over-reliance on weapon animation and kill animations.
  5. 60
    With subpar graphics, the action doesn’t get as bloodied as it should.
  6. The game's visual bugs, familiar gameplay, and suspect framerate make this game seem more like a devolution.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    A sad, painfully executed experience that can't hold a candle to the former glory. [Nov 2002, p.192]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. HwS
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Dinosaurs r great.
  2. RigelT.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    This game is the best game I've ever played it has action beyond gaming. Its like a virtual world it realy gets your skills to the test This game is the best game I've ever played it has action beyond gaming. Its like a virtual world it realy gets your skills to the test and thats why I gave it a ten! Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    en su epco fue un grandioso juego que disfrute mucho tanto su aventura como el multijugador eran muy buenos la cantidad de armas que existianen su epco fue un grandioso juego que disfrute mucho tanto su aventura como el multijugador eran muy buenos la cantidad de armas que existian importantes y los efectos de estas eran espectaculares fue un juego que marco mi infancia y que siempre estare esperando que hagan uno con los graficos actualizados debe ser espectacular Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is truly a masterpiece of it's time. It excelled many boundaries for the PlayStation 2, and the Xbox. In relation to it's time, itThis game is truly a masterpiece of it's time. It excelled many boundaries for the PlayStation 2, and the Xbox. In relation to it's time, it was clunky like the rest of the games in the market. Overlooking the out-dated game play, explicitly in context to it's time, the game was brilliant. It had key assets and the fundamentals that give the game a raw (Good) foundation.

    What I enjoyed most about this game, was its unique story line and environment. The various weapon types, and ways to kill an enemy was always a memory I quite enjoy. Blasting off legs, decapitating heads, and pinning down dinosaurs with your bow. It isn't any straight forward first person shooter, it's a strong standalone game and if you're willing to look past the out-dated graphics and the buggy AI, then this game is for you. It is no "Call of duty" or "Battlefield" but it's a gem, that will remain forever in my collection of games.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    The game in my opinion is fun. It reminds me a bit of N64 due to graphics and the voices that the enemy makes. The weapons are good there areThe game in my opinion is fun. It reminds me a bit of N64 due to graphics and the voices that the enemy makes. The weapons are good there are a few there that ou will have fun with. The difficulty for me was pretty tough but this game is good and not as bad as everyone says Collapse
  6. SnellyAcE
    Jun 1, 2003
    7
    I thought this game was pretty good, the story mode was well done the only thing lacking is the multiplayer mode in which when you shoot a I thought this game was pretty good, the story mode was well done the only thing lacking is the multiplayer mode in which when you shoot a rocket at things it lags quite a while. Bummer. Pretty good story though. Expand
  7. Sam
    Oct 23, 2004
    3
    Alex s. is a fool. The graphics are on par with the worst of NES, the plot is terrible, and the controls are horrible. Suprisingly however, Alex s. is a fool. The graphics are on par with the worst of NES, the plot is terrible, and the controls are horrible. Suprisingly however, the controls are the same but feel smoother in multyplayer, and there is no plot, so the multyplayer is suprisingly entertaining, but the single player still is sickinglily bad and the graphics are still terrible in both so the multyplayer is entertaining, but the remainder of the game has way to many flaws so if you want to enjoy this game, go with the multyplayer. Or if your not a big fan of multypalyer overall, get the orignal classic for your dino-asskicking spree. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#65 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#53 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002