Twisted Metal: Black Online Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Free when you purchase Sony's Network Adapter for your PS2, it's an online version of Twisted Metal: Black. Battle 7 competitors through a broadband connection or settle for head-to-head with a dial-up.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Considering that the original was a perfect balance of maneuverability and speed, this really turns TMB Online into an awesome title.
  2. Broadband users are the ones that will truly benefit from the experience though, as you can have up to 8 players go head to head in death-match mayhem with virtually no lag most of the time. This is about as fun as you will get with an online game on a console for the time being.
  3. 80
    After a few plays, though, the game becomes tiresome—mostly due to repetitive gameplay and lack of balance.
  4. It's fast, fun, and most importantly, free. [Oct 2002, p.192]
  5. But you want brutal, in-your-face intensity from on-line gaming and that's exactly what Twisted Metal is all about.
  6. If this came free with the PS2 Network Adapter - as it does in the US - we might be more inclined to give it the benefit of the doubt.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. FrankL.
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    I think this game is 11/10 because its grafics i can't wait for the next one of this game ill buy it even if it costs $100 for it without its box. Bye from Frank Lampard. Collapse
  2. Lez101
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    This game is just simply the best its proberly even better then Fifa 2005 on ps2.
  3. DSUndertaker
    Oct 10, 2002
    9
    TMB is like a fighting game on wheels. It's fast and furious, and with the addition of online play, insanely fun as well. some a..hole said it amounted to nothing more than two players engaged in a battle of chicken, but that's not true. there's plenty of strategy and the balance comes with knowing your opponent's vehicle's strengths and weaknesses. and since it's free, you can't really do much better than this. the sequel should be excellent. Expand
  4. BillH.
    Oct 5, 2002
    6
    Got it in the mail yesterday. Threw it in the deck and had a good time. As good of a time as you can with a free game. it does truly lack what a true sequel will bring. Expand
  5. NickelD.
    Dec 5, 2002
    6
    Well, i got on for about 10 hours now, and i just can't seem to find a purpose. i play socom but at least you can talk and u get rated. Also its incredibly hard to meet friends amd after 30 minutes i wonder when i'm gonna quit playing. bottomline, it's free, but other games that you have to pay for are much better (or better designed). Expand
  6. JayT.
    Nov 15, 2002
    4
    It's got an awesome gameplay and awesome modez, but one main thing that bored me about it. I got a modem and I can only vs. 1 person and 1 robot(or no robot). Thats not really fun. Might as well play offline against more computer enemys. Atleast their's more action to it. If you got broadband, then you got no problem though. Ya, they say to equal the gameplay. They didn't have take all the fun away from modem players to do it! Expand
  7. Aznsky
    Dec 19, 2002
    4
    This game is fun at the beggining then after one or 2 days it was in my pile of dust. sure this game is okay but it lacks chatting so u never know what the other people want on play and TMBONLINE wouldve been better if it had chatting in it. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews