Ultimate Spider-Man PlayStation 2

Ultimate Spider-Man Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play both sides as Ultimate Spider-Man allows players to take on the role of super hero Spider-Man AND super villain Venom. Penned and illustrated by famed comic book creators Brian Michael Bendis and Mark Bagley, the game picks up right where the story left off. Dive into an immersivePlay both sides as Ultimate Spider-Man allows players to take on the role of super hero Spider-Man AND super villain Venom. Penned and illustrated by famed comic book creators Brian Michael Bendis and Mark Bagley, the game picks up right where the story left off. Dive into an immersive adventure as you experience a living comic book illustrated with 3D Comic Inking Technology that literally brings the comic to life in every action-packed frame. The game's expanded, free-roaming environments deliver a deep adventure with a variety of challenging missions, diverse game play and an improved combat system that allows players to face off against the largest number of characters from the Spider-Man universe ever assembled in one video game. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. 95
    A vibrant, eye-popping superhero disc that has more style, wit and compelling gameplay in its first 10 minutes than most games have in their entirety.
  2. The true letdown, though, is that the master villains can still be supremely frustrating to defeat, requiring several replays and exhaustive bouts of highly patterned attacks.
  3. I really like the diverse gameplay between Venom and Spider-Man. This makes the game a whole lot more interesting because they each have their own style of play, which helps break up any repetition that might form.
  4. The Spider-Man franchise goes back to its comic book roots, and produces one solid adventure for the web crawler which could be too short for its own good.
  5. Even with its difficulty problems, the only really bad thing I can say about this title is that its way too short, and there’s way too little to do.
  6. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    The campaign mode could be just a little more robust. [Dec 2005, p.109]
  7. games(TM)
    30
    Once the contentment of seeing the impressive 'ultimate'look of the Spider-Man characters has faded and the comic book flair has become old news, it's still going to be a very bitter pill to swallow. [Dec 2005, p.118]

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Jun 24, 2017
    10
    This game is amazing, and was easily one of my favorite games from my childhood. The novel style graphics are fantastic and make you feel asThis game is amazing, and was easily one of my favorite games from my childhood. The novel style graphics are fantastic and make you feel as though you are playing a comic book, which is awesome for me. I have also played Web of Shadows and Shattered Dimensions (Which are also amazing), but this game has a special place in my heart. Expand
  2. TomB.
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Awesome game. The comic book look is SWEET and the boss battles rock!
  3. Jun 18, 2016
    9
    I really like the game. The webswinging is done right, just like Spider-man 2. Combat is fun, and the graphics are good to look at. I willI really like the game. The webswinging is done right, just like Spider-man 2. Combat is fun, and the graphics are good to look at. I will recommend this to any Spider-man fan. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2016
    8
    Clearly influenced by Spider-Man 2, Ultimate Spider-Man was a surprisingly good game that was different in many ways as it was similar.Clearly influenced by Spider-Man 2, Ultimate Spider-Man was a surprisingly good game that was different in many ways as it was similar. Positives include the story mode which was incredibly humorous and engaging. The graphics in this game was indulgent and great with the comic book theme scattered across various cut-scenes and the environment. Playing as Venom was also incredibly fun, allowing me to relish and explore his enormous power with the hero-villain switch missions, as well as unlocking him once the game has been beaten. However, the game didn't quite hit the nail on the head as it did with Spider-Man 2 with limited combat controls and fairly poor web-swinging mechanics. The whole game was also pretty challenging but I'm not sure I can critique it too much on that front.

    That being said though, the game was pretty good and worthy of playing again in the nearby future.
    Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    The Ultimate Spiderman Video Game is an exceptional game. If you enjoyed Spiderman 2, you will enjoy this game for an hour, after that youThe Ultimate Spiderman Video Game is an exceptional game. If you enjoyed Spiderman 2, you will enjoy this game for an hour, after that you realize the game lacks what Spiderman 2 did right. The upgrades you could get Spiderman are completely gone, leaving combat the same throughout the entire experience. Combat lacks too as it only relys on one button mashing. To add something new, Venom is now a playable character. He has great charm and is a blast fo play as, however Venom cannot web swing but rather jump at extreme heights. The Ultimate Spiderman Video Game endures a short time span of enjoyment and is a mere shadow of what Spiderman 2 was, but it's worth a try. Expand
  6. GiancarloB.
    Sep 26, 2005
    7
    Great game! cant beleave wut a great job Activision did with this one. web swinging is tons of fun. the only down side to the game is since Great game! cant beleave wut a great job Activision did with this one. web swinging is tons of fun. the only down side to the game is since when has venom not been able to swing. that is the reson i give this game a 7 instead of a 10. the comat system could have been more creative but still it was a great game. Expand
  7. CoryP
    Oct 9, 2005
    0
    Hey its either a smash (10) or trash (0), and I found this game floating in a cess pool. It has the same game play as the 2nd spiderman but Hey its either a smash (10) or trash (0), and I found this game floating in a cess pool. It has the same game play as the 2nd spiderman but with cell shaded graphics (which I do love), but lacks any other special qualities that make it, well new. The new feature which allows you to switch to Venom through out the game was nice, seeing as how Venom was the only good part of the game, but even still the experience was ruined when you couldn't play as him as much, swing from buildings, and constantly look for nourishment for the pesky life draining suit. With spider-man the creators decided to polish this turd of a game by making him 15 yrs of age but even worse the wit of a 6 year old with head trauma from being beatin with a wiffle bat, to quote spider-man, "sweet sassy malassy" (*cringe*), or my favourite "why couldn't I just for once fight a giant size huggy bear who gives kisses" (*spew*). With that said the experience I gained through playing this game to the end, it is left to say, play something else, unless your used to disappointment. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

81
40
#40 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
20
#20 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005