Virtua Fighter 4: Evolution PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Virtua Fighter 4: Evolution Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Challenge a steady stream of opponents with varying ranks and skill levels, with the impression that you're playing online against human opponents with different styles. Along with this illusion of online play, Virtua Fighter 4 has also been expanded upon, including the roster, the characterChallenge a steady stream of opponents with varying ranks and skill levels, with the impression that you're playing online against human opponents with different styles. Along with this illusion of online play, Virtua Fighter 4 has also been expanded upon, including the roster, the character customization features, the visuals, the training mode, and even the arcade mode. With the different tournaments and two new characters to explore, VF4: Evolution will put your fighting skills to the ultimate test. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Beats its predecessor with souped-up visuals, new characters and moves, improved tutorials, hundreds of unlockable items, and the amazingly deep Quest mode. And this is a Greatest Hits title? Insane bargain alert!
  2. GameNow
    100
    A brilliant fighting game, perhaps second only to "Soul Calibur II." [Sept 2003, p.53]
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    Not only the best 3D fighter of all time, it will make you a better fighting-game player. [Sept 2003, p.66]
  4. 95
    An incredibly deep and long-lasting single player mode, and the versus mode never gets stale; there's the included 10th Anniversary mode that's almost a separate game in itself; the graphics have been improved upon and almost perfected, and so has the gameplay.
  5. The main problem with Virtua Fighter has always been its relative inaccessibility, and VF 4: Evolution clearly represents an effort to introduce new gamers to the franchise.
  6. Cheat Code Central
    90
    Don't even think of renting if for this price. With such a simple-to-use, yet complex control system, you can be fighting in no time and continue refining your skills for months to come.
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    Apart from minor graphical tweaks and two fresh characters, VF4E remains much the same game. [May 2003, p.102]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. RajiK.
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    Simply Oitstanding. Never has playing a fighting game made you so much better in playing the genre occured. Tons of depth and replay value Simply Oitstanding. Never has playing a fighting game made you so much better in playing the genre occured. Tons of depth and replay value wiht countless amounts of strategies and tactics to be discovered. There may be only 15 characters but unlike some other games they are all totally different (not by apperarances) but in the fact that they all have their strong points and weakness. Graphics have also been improved, animation is as smooth as ever. Music is a bit of alet with unrealistic crunches and pretty ribbish background music but since when was that a problem with fighting games? Neither does it have a proper story line which is a reason why only hardcore gamers go for it. But as pure gameplay is concerned it doesnt get any better. I dont know much about soul caliber so I cant comment but I can say that I prefer real martial arts (with a certain amount of exageration) to swords and ohter weopons involved. The only true to life martial arts fighting game with unbeatable nonstop exciting action. Buy it now! Expand
  2. Uter
    Aug 14, 2003
    10
    Everything that bigged me about the 1st VF4 has been addressed. No more jaggies. Much deeper Kumite mode (called Quest now). You can buy Everything that bigged me about the 1st VF4 has been addressed. No more jaggies. Much deeper Kumite mode (called Quest now). You can buy unlockables now so that it's not completely random - you can choose what you buy. And of course there's 2 new characters. I'd rate the game right up there with GTA3 as far as greatness. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2017
    10
    Este juego exprime como nunca lo hubiesen imaginado la potencia del PS2, gráficos casi de otra generación, música brutal, animaciónEste juego exprime como nunca lo hubiesen imaginado la potencia del PS2, gráficos casi de otra generación, música brutal, animación esplendida, completísimo, divertido, estricto, único. Sin duda el mejor juego de lucha 3d para la mítica PS2 Expand
  4. ChaosLightning
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    BEST FIGHTER EVER!!!!!!!
  5. RyanM.
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    The best fighting game ever because it will make you a better fighter in all of the modes.
  6. RaphaelR.
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    THE score that i really wanan give this game is 9.7 but since that isn't here i gave it a 10 instead. ANyway, This game is just awesome, THE score that i really wanan give this game is 9.7 but since that isn't here i gave it a 10 instead. ANyway, This game is just awesome, This game is the most balanced fighting game you will ever play, also probably the most tactical fighting game, People say this game is hard well it is when you get to fight against 8th dans or higher ranked enemies. but there's nothing to be scared off really because the training mode in this game is just superb , it will teach you the basics , all the moves , all the tactics , special movements , and the training mode will just make you a better player... from a newbie to an expert. the graphics are great but not the best.. well thisg ame was made about 2 years ago so yea it still good though , anyway if you love fighting games, or are serious about fighting games, or just wanan have fun , this game is for you. the only bad thing you can say about htis game is it would have been nice if it had more characters. i mean i suppose you don't really need it since each character PLAYS ALOT different than others... so yea this game isn't like tekken who has characters with the same moves so yea Expand
  7. NinjaMafia
    Aug 5, 2003
    5
    This game is basically VF4 which wasn't that great of a game to begin with I guess I'll just have to wait for SC2.

See all 23 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#61 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003