Virtua Fighter 4 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2002
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 84
  2. Negative: 13 out of 84
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2003
    1
    Ok, M.D PhiloSHIT
    If you spent your rewiew explaining what was good about the game, someone might have taken you seriously, instead you came off as annoying... I explaned myself and why i disliked the game,every aspect of it, the sound, gameplay, graphics.....Your just some hardcore fighter 4 gamer that can't play any other fighter games ex- mortal kombat, street fighter(any of
    Ok, M.D PhiloSHIT
    If you spent your rewiew explaining what was good about the game, someone might have taken you seriously, instead you came off as annoying... I explaned myself and why i disliked the game,every aspect of it, the sound, gameplay, graphics.....Your just some hardcore fighter 4 gamer that can't play any other fighter games ex- mortal kombat, street fighter(any of them), DOA, Tekken... And my facts straight, the sega saturn version was almost completely different, and the music is garbage, maybe you like techno shit but i as hell sure don't...Oh yea the gameplay, i never saw so many moves that is a waste to use.

    Next time, before you write something to insult someone about there review...Try and write a decent review asshole
    Expand
  2. RamiW.
    Apr 8, 2006
    3
    I bloody gave this game to my cousin because it sucked hard. How on this earth would you be giving this game 10 or a 100 by the critics jesus everything sucks i cant bloody fight. I opened the manual and there was like 1000 moves for every character and i cant even do 1 there are no new characters to unlock and it was boring as soon as i put it in my damn ps2. I dont want to embarress I bloody gave this game to my cousin because it sucked hard. How on this earth would you be giving this game 10 or a 100 by the critics jesus everything sucks i cant bloody fight. I opened the manual and there was like 1000 moves for every character and i cant even do 1 there are no new characters to unlock and it was boring as soon as i put it in my damn ps2. I dont want to embarress this game anymore. Expand
  3. AinaR.
    Nov 7, 2002
    2
    Extremely interesting game.
  4. JakeM.
    Jun 1, 2002
    3
    This game blows, yes i can admit i was glued to the T.V. playing this game for..... oh.... lets see, 15 minutes. This game has no replay action, its always the same thing. I'm disappointed in Sega for making crappy games, like 18 wheeler. This game is a shame on how stupid the nation is to waste 50 bucks on a game that i can pull out my butt. But on the bright side of things, i gave This game blows, yes i can admit i was glued to the T.V. playing this game for..... oh.... lets see, 15 minutes. This game has no replay action, its always the same thing. I'm disappointed in Sega for making crappy games, like 18 wheeler. This game is a shame on how stupid the nation is to waste 50 bucks on a game that i can pull out my butt. But on the bright side of things, i gave this game a 3 because this game is pretty fun when i'm playing with my friends. Expand
  5. ShawnT.
    Mar 31, 2003
    3
    Mortal Kombat is 10x better.
  6. JavierA.
    Jan 4, 2004
    4
    This game was fun for about 10 minutes, then it felt like any tekken version, same slow fighting game with cool graphics buy just nothing new!
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 28, 2002
    1
    Boring. too much time spent on graphics and not enough on gameplay/music/everything else... the comp is a joke to beat on very hard despite akwardly designed controls. gimme a psone tekken before this filth anyday.
  8. AJ
    Aug 12, 2003
    3
    This game is really not all that good, infact its pretty lame..Y you ask?.. Ok the critics gave it 93, yet any tekken game did't even come close... Let me explain, there is no ending, no story, nothing, you finish the game and you get credits..Thats all.. And Kumite is just a stupid survival mode with little bonus..Then the gameplay, its nothing like DOA, or Tekken, its worst..First This game is really not all that good, infact its pretty lame..Y you ask?.. Ok the critics gave it 93, yet any tekken game did't even come close... Let me explain, there is no ending, no story, nothing, you finish the game and you get credits..Thats all.. And Kumite is just a stupid survival mode with little bonus..Then the gameplay, its nothing like DOA, or Tekken, its worst..First you block with squre and its a waste(blocking that is), then they have reversals that have a slow response time,you'll get hit like 3 times with someone fast before your reversal works, and no its like DOA where you reversals actually mean something.. You have a ton of moves that you need to remember, but only like 3 will be all you need..Talking about the gameplay, there are some characters that are way better than others, very unbalanced, i'm not talking ryu better than oh guile, its more like Akira, and prob Vanessa better than everybody.. The stages are weak and boring,the moves seem thrown together, the moves doesn't flow like other fighting games.. The music is ok, i mean what game doesn't have techno in it... Well i was going to buy the new Virtua Fighter, so i bought this one first, good move there, i would have wasted my money...It all comes down to if you want a game you can dive into and have fun with leaving room for experts, don't buy this.... If you feel you can be somewhat of a hardcore fan(or already is), then buy this and V fighter Evolution thats coming out, if anything take me and that guy(Rick's) warning.. Stay away from the series............. Expand
  9. GNARLY161
    Mar 29, 2004
    3
    This was the worst fighting game i ever played. i am embarrased to say that i once owned the game.
  10. RickS.
    Dec 19, 2002
    1
    This game is one of the most HORRID games i've ever playe.. Trust me im a gamer just as the next person, but when i bought this game, i was shocked that a fighting game that can ripoff tekken would at least have some good gameplay,graphics, music, ANYTHING. Now I'm not one of these tekken hardcore gamers, but my god this game is bad, really bad.. I tried to like this game This game is one of the most HORRID games i've ever playe.. Trust me im a gamer just as the next person, but when i bought this game, i was shocked that a fighting game that can ripoff tekken would at least have some good gameplay,graphics, music, ANYTHING. Now I'm not one of these tekken hardcore gamers, but my god this game is bad, really bad.. I tried to like this game everytime i played it but i just Gave up. OK, the gameplay is one hit moves that's worst than a super, there is like 150 moves for each character literally..And each one is useless than the other, The graphics is (looking for a better word) DUM.. You fight in these box like stages, sure its wonderful to look at but take like 5 steps back and you get knocked out of the ring.. Most of the stages does not have alot of gates to break your fall so beating someone is so CHEESY, plane and simple.. My friends love this game for one reason, there is NO SKILL INVOLVED Just button mashing..The music is annoying, some of it is good rock(thats y i gave it a 1) while other stages is like weird techno-freestyle. Which will prob get to you after about 15 minutes.. I bought this game for 20 bucks, and i wished i had bought a game that makes sense.. I look at all the critics,and what they gave it, LET ME JUST SAY THAT CRITICS WILL BE CRITICS, THEY ABSOLUTELY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT GAMES.. So if your reading my review and is thinking of buying this game now,(which is now about 15-20 bucks) TAKE MY WORD, this game is nothing like tekken or DOA.. It's in a class of it's own, frustrating..What do you expect from a developer like AM2, Which has only made ok games for SEGA(dreamcast) and Xbox, like shenmue, outrigger and a few others.. A word to AM2- Stick to Sega and leave PS alone !!. Expand
  11. Oct 21, 2015
    0
    A few hits, a few options, horrible characters with no charisma, crude and children's story, cliche to maximum, graphics outdated for the time it was released. This game was made with the ass, his rival, the Incredible Tekken, it was far superior even to put the 3, it's better than Virtua Fighter 4, the first VF until it was mass play in the classic Mega Drive. Make a well yourself, do notA few hits, a few options, horrible characters with no charisma, crude and children's story, cliche to maximum, graphics outdated for the time it was released. This game was made with the ass, his rival, the Incredible Tekken, it was far superior even to put the 3, it's better than Virtua Fighter 4, the first VF until it was mass play in the classic Mega Drive. Make a well yourself, do not play Virtua Fighter 4. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#80 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Play Magazine
    80
    Visuals are but one aspect of this game's worth. It's the play that really matters, and VF, as always, plays marvelously. [Mar 2002, p.44]
  2. Though DOA3 may have it beat graphically, no game can touch VF4’s fighting engine. This is the deepest, most dynamic fighter ever created.
  3. 100
    What’s awesome about the gameplay is that you can just pick up a controller and start fighting. Three buttons (block, kick, punch) are all that are needed to master a basic set of moves.