• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2002
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 68
  2. Negative: 12 out of 68

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    It is a fighter that will provide countless hours of fun. Plenty of characters coupled with great graphics, intense fighting, and a lot of combo moves that can be done.
  2. KevinS.
    Jul 26, 2002
    10
    The druunken master old man is the best. This game is sick tight...
  3. DogLover
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    This game is so cool. I like it alot. There are lots of players, but I wish that you could choose the level in which you fight in.
  4. Rom
    Mar 20, 2002
    9
    First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do not work here. After 2 days I realized the beauty of this game. The game is not so easy for beginners which I find as great. The modes are fantastic, especially the Kumite feature. It helped me build up my gaming experience as well as unlock little First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do not work here. After 2 days I realized the beauty of this game. The game is not so easy for beginners which I find as great. The modes are fantastic, especially the Kumite feature. It helped me build up my gaming experience as well as unlock little add-ons for my character such as sunglasses, different colored shoes, etc. The only reason I gave this game a 9 is because Kumite lacked 2 players. Expand
  5. PerseenR.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    Amazing just amazing...
  6. TweetyBurd
    May 5, 2002
    8
    This game is one of my favorite fighting games for PS2. It has a realistic amount of characters, unlike Tekken Tag Tournament; with 34 fighters. I also like recoordinating the people's clothes with the Data Files mode, and adding items like braclets and sunglasses. The scenery is very interesting, but the graphics could've been a little sharper. The Kumite mode is very creative, This game is one of my favorite fighting games for PS2. It has a realistic amount of characters, unlike Tekken Tag Tournament; with 34 fighters. I also like recoordinating the people's clothes with the Data Files mode, and adding items like braclets and sunglasses. The scenery is very interesting, but the graphics could've been a little sharper. The Kumite mode is very creative, but sometimes unbearable to work with (at times, the CPU fighters kick your butt as if it's the end of the world. And I don't like that.)This game could look great in your collection of fighters. You should buy this game. Expand
  7. MattS.
    Jun 11, 2002
    10
    It is just amazing. Great visuals and game play makes it one of the best fighter games since snes.
  8. M.DPhilosophy
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    Listen Rick S. this game is one of the best games out there. & a bit of info for you this game came out b4 tekken so get your factz straight (Sega Saturn). Graphics are gorgeous and the stages I do think are just square but who cares pay attention to the game play not the stages. And i rarely ever get knocked out of the ring so if your getting knocked off you should practice the game Listen Rick S. this game is one of the best games out there. & a bit of info for you this game came out b4 tekken so get your factz straight (Sega Saturn). Graphics are gorgeous and the stages I do think are just square but who cares pay attention to the game play not the stages. And i rarely ever get knocked out of the ring so if your getting knocked off you should practice the game because your talent must be just as good as your rating. It has easy controls unless your being one of the expert characters. If you are facing a good player like myself, you cannot button mash because a good player will take advantage of every punch and or kick using reversals. The music you can't even notice over the people's FX so stop trying to find flaws of the games and have some fun with them unless you got beat by all your friends and that's why you are giving this game such a bad review. Expand
  9. ByronL.
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays great 6 years after its release. I also think Saturn Dead or Alive is underrated and that its visuals still look good and it plays well. This game however when released was the greatest 3D fighter to be released. There are not 700 pages books released in Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays great 6 years after its release. I also think Saturn Dead or Alive is underrated and that its visuals still look good and it plays well. This game however when released was the greatest 3D fighter to be released. There are not 700 pages books released in Japan about the Virtua Fighter games for nothing these are deep games. The casual gamer will dismiss this game as boring or overrated but the dedicated gamer will get so much out of this game. The AI like it did on the Saturn Virtua Fighter 2 learns your fighting style the more you play the game and adapts accordingly. This means it gets harder the more you play meaning you have to improve all the time to beat the computer. The better you get the more fun you will have as you try to learn more and more movies. In two player mode the fun continues as you will be rewarded for being a good player as an inexperienced player should never be able to beat you. This is the same with the 2D beat em ups of choice Street Fighter and the King of the Fighters series. This is what a lot of people hate about DOA and Soul Calibur in that you can learn all the moves but still get beat by an eleven year old who likes to keep pressing strong attack with Knightmere. Virtua Fighter is not like this and you will be beaten easy by someone that knows what they are doing if you just press kick. This is why this game is best played between two people will simiar skill levels then you have a contest on your hands. I often organised touraments in my street with this game and it was a lot of fun and you will got into the game wanted to get better all the time. This game has now been surpassed by its update Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution on the PS2 but is still an outstanding game and i cant wait to play number 5 down the arcade. I would recommend this only to people with the time to put into as that is the best way to enjoy it. The other fighters on the market are not as good as this but are more suited to people who want a quick fight now and again. Expand
  10. Tiptoe
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    This game is amazing. Anyone who doesn't like it is definitely confused with another game. This game totally beats Tekken and all other fighting games. I am so proud of sega. P.S- GO LEI FEI.
  11. FullEnergy
    Mar 15, 2002
    10
    One thing to say: PERFECT GAME.
  12. MattW.
    Mar 23, 2002
    9
    This game is great. While the graphics don't stand out as well as other titles such as DOA3 and Soul Caliber, it plays much better than the former and equally as well as the latter. Buy this now if u have any interest in video games.
  13. BarryC.
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    I love it.
  14. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    9
    It is the best fighter to come out in years. Good graphics and gameplay. The jaggies issue is over emphasized in my opinion. It"s rarely noticeable to me. One problem I do have though is the stats. Yes, there"s enough of them, but it seems to make mistakes like in NBA 2K2. There are some stats that I noticed were just plain wrong. For example, after winning 10 in a row (I know b/c my It is the best fighter to come out in years. Good graphics and gameplay. The jaggies issue is over emphasized in my opinion. It"s rarely noticeable to me. One problem I do have though is the stats. Yes, there"s enough of them, but it seems to make mistakes like in NBA 2K2. There are some stats that I noticed were just plain wrong. For example, after winning 10 in a row (I know b/c my record to start was 10-0) The records only credited me with winning 5 in a row. Another weirdness in the stats I noticed was that it said I chose 1 character 100% of the time, which was plain wrong. Gah, this only bothers me quite a bit since the rest of the game seems so perfect. Expand
  15. Jake
    Mar 9, 2003
    9
    Very good game. Great graphics, and the gameplay is excelent. The characters are phenomenal and all in all a good game. The controls are confusing, but still a good game.
  16. T.O.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    VF4 is the best fighting game on any system. Many will be turned off by the learning curve, but if you give it some time, read the manual, and use the training modes, you'll soon find a deep and fun game that can be played indefinitely. Others, Soul Calibur, Tekken, DOA, are fun, but the depth of the combat moves is the key. The defense is more important than in most fighting games VF4 is the best fighting game on any system. Many will be turned off by the learning curve, but if you give it some time, read the manual, and use the training modes, you'll soon find a deep and fun game that can be played indefinitely. Others, Soul Calibur, Tekken, DOA, are fun, but the depth of the combat moves is the key. The defense is more important than in most fighting games and this gives skilled players a distinct advantage. Kumite mode, along with the single player game in Soul Calibur are the best avalible. This is one of the few games worth 50, but for 20 bucks this is the best deal on the PS2. Highest recommendation. Expand
  17. LandonA.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    For those who only like button-smashing, avoid this title!! and get mindless tekken, doa or soul calibur, this one has performed through years a way to avoid this ugly/nonsense way of playing fighting games.For those who really like fighting games, please keep reading. This one is perhaps the most rewarding game of all time, following the lane of it's prequels but improving For those who only like button-smashing, avoid this title!! and get mindless tekken, doa or soul calibur, this one has performed through years a way to avoid this ugly/nonsense way of playing fighting games.For those who really like fighting games, please keep reading. This one is perhaps the most rewarding game of all time, following the lane of it's prequels but improving everything to the top. It doesn't forget his arcade roots, but gives too many depth to the playability so you'd think this is a simulation game. Is that good, you'll have to be pacient and fast at the same time, you can do counterattack techniques and change your way to play in the middle of a combat. Fighting with a tought opponent you'll have to train and be concentrated because a missmatch pushing buttongs will cause you lose a half-bar. It's so hard that you will think you're stuck, but when you discover that you can "see matrix" you'll have one of the most glorious time in videogaming history. This is not new, most of these features lived eer Expand
  18. SA
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    please dont listen to that guy Rick its silly that he attacked AM2 the premier arcade game creator of the last 20 years. Outrun, Daytona USA, Virtua Cop, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing this innovative titles are the reason why Time Crisis, Ridge Racer, Tekken exist. They did not make Shenmue that was made by another part of Sega called CRI. To call a game that has thousands of moves a please dont listen to that guy Rick its silly that he attacked AM2 the premier arcade game creator of the last 20 years. Outrun, Daytona USA, Virtua Cop, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing this innovative titles are the reason why Time Crisis, Ridge Racer, Tekken exist. They did not make Shenmue that was made by another part of Sega called CRI. To call a game that has thousands of moves a button basher is insane. If he was even born its people like him who brought dull games like Mortal Kombat over Street Fighter. To the people that say there is no ending no story i say this. This game is like the Ryu winning quote its all about the fight. Its a fighting game not a movie. The boring pointless endings to DOA are a waste of disk space. The storyline is not needed but there is one if you bothered to look in the manual you will see that it is the fouth world fighting championships. Its like a Bruce Lee film it does not need a plot to work. Im 22 and have being playing games since i was 4 before the causal gamer came along when the PS1 did and ruined gaming for forever by buying the same pointless rubbish like the 800th Tomb Raider or endless sports games. This game is a hit in Japan as they have a clue about games sadly here in the West idiots lead the way. Expand
  19. MiaS.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    Easily the best console fighting game ever. Even better in the arcades. Anyone REALLY disagreeing with me should play the game. Or have their heads examined. Or maybe get their butts kicked between their shoulderblades... =)
  20. VengeanceF
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    This game is GREAT! It has stuff for everyone...some characters for button mashers then some for the experts...great practice modes and of course KUMITE!!! ANd the graphics...tho aliasin is a prob effects, details and animation is superb!
  21. ShunD.
    Mar 27, 2002
    10
    Bar none, this game sets the standards in how all games should be. From its tight controls, distinct character moves, and beautiful backgrounds to its depth in each character's arts, intensive training mode, and, the best part, a neverending kumite mode, this game should not be missed. This game shows how fighting should be really like: stances, grappling, evades, attacks, and Bar none, this game sets the standards in how all games should be. From its tight controls, distinct character moves, and beautiful backgrounds to its depth in each character's arts, intensive training mode, and, the best part, a neverending kumite mode, this game should not be missed. This game shows how fighting should be really like: stances, grappling, evades, attacks, and throws... Most Tekken fans may not like the methodicalness of the game. Then again, all you Tekken fans have better graduate...you've been schooled with VF4! Collapse
  22. FarooqA.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    The next gen brought only one thing in 2000, that was "Authenticity" ! If a product adhered to it, it went just great, created its new self, got a re-birth superiority and marked a new era of its life-time...while the others remained just the next-gen versions of their former selves, that's it. With Virtua Fighter 4, it was the actual first time that we saw something so authentic The next gen brought only one thing in 2000, that was "Authenticity" ! If a product adhered to it, it went just great, created its new self, got a re-birth superiority and marked a new era of its life-time...while the others remained just the next-gen versions of their former selves, that's it. With Virtua Fighter 4, it was the actual first time that we saw something so authentic that the eyes teared. Perfectly mastered and authentic martial arts, extremely coloured graphics, never before seen and never to be seen level of model detail and design, physics-perfect water effects, awesome reflections, breakable walls, counters to each a every possible attack, a most original and atmospheric soundtrack and never to be compared depth of gameplay. Tekken, Soul Calibur and DOA are great games in themselves but they rely upon retaining the work they did in their first or second iterations, so not a complete conversion to the next-gen is ever seen in them...that is why comparison between these and VF4 doesn't actually exist, for they are more to the 'fun' side of gaming, while VF4 is like Gran Turismo among racing games : The best, The most original, The most real, the most beautiful but hardest ! requiring the mastering of gameplay, much effort is done in ways to blend the mood of the gameplay with individual characters, and a brand new mode that has never been seen before...The AI training...Yeah ! you can actually get to train the AI you have to pit against to win the game. This game is a certain "WOW" !!! in every term of fighting genre. Expand
  23. Paul
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    For now it's the best fighting game i've ever played, even soul calibur 2 is worst, I have both of them and I know them well.
  24. JaceN.
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    Utterly awesome, the evolution of the series has truly progressed well over the years. I find it strange that the series so hated by PS1 fanboys when it was out of Sonys reach on the PS1...is now so coveted so greatly by the same fanboys now its available on the PS2. A true indication that you should never listen to the hype and see for yourselves!
  25. HannahD.
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    I think that VF4 is absolutely AMAZING! This game truly sets the standard for all fighting games. It's really great to see Sega pioneering this genre by stepping out and actually creating what I liken to the film industry's equivalent of what they would call a "Cult Classic," except for this particular classic, is a game. They have actually used their creativity enough to push I think that VF4 is absolutely AMAZING! This game truly sets the standard for all fighting games. It's really great to see Sega pioneering this genre by stepping out and actually creating what I liken to the film industry's equivalent of what they would call a "Cult Classic," except for this particular classic, is a game. They have actually used their creativity enough to push this genres' often lazy thumb-button-happy users to think and calculate their moves realistically, instead of just winning because you push all the bloody buttons at once! This game makes me think, and I feel much more rewarded personally when I win, because due to the complexity of the moves and button-combos, I know for certain that it was NOT an accidental victory. It was skill, not luck. Expand
  26. DanielM.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Most fighters are jerky matches that simply involve two combatants arbitrarily hitting each other. You won't notice this until you play VF4 however as the momentum of the entire match smoothly and quickly switches maintaining the flow of the fight.
  27. JamieF.
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    I have been a fan of virtua fighter for ages it just keeps on getting better and better.
  28. Jean-MichelD.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    I love those who persist in saying that Virtua Fighter is a rip off of Tekken, when it is the exact opposite. The original Virtua Fighter came out in arcades in 1993 and it was unbelievable at the time. Maybe those who criticize were not even born yet. This game is even being kept perpetually at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History in DC, so get your facts straight!
  29. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    When I first played Virtua Fighter 4 I thought it would be a Street Fighter knock-off. But it had some memorable characters with hilariously bad dialogue. The level designs were pretty cool though, and I thoroughly enjoyed being able to knock opponents off the stage. I know this is not in an original concept, but it was implemented well nonetheless. The fighting felt a bit different thanWhen I first played Virtua Fighter 4 I thought it would be a Street Fighter knock-off. But it had some memorable characters with hilariously bad dialogue. The level designs were pretty cool though, and I thoroughly enjoyed being able to knock opponents off the stage. I know this is not in an original concept, but it was implemented well nonetheless. The fighting felt a bit different than other games, and as a big fan of fighting games, that made it cool. It's good to not be able to just use the same button sets as other games, though they're similar enough to be easy to learn by new users. It's a very well done game, though it has its flaws it's a charming game, and it's easily a 7, but adding some nostalgia to my score, it's a solid 8 for me, not to mention, the graphics were stunning and far superior to the Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter contemporaries. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Visuals are but one aspect of this game's worth. It's the play that really matters, and VF, as always, plays marvelously. [Mar 2002, p.44]
  2. Though DOA3 may have it beat graphically, no game can touch VF4’s fighting engine. This is the deepest, most dynamic fighter ever created.
  3. 100
    What’s awesome about the gameplay is that you can just pick up a controller and start fighting. Three buttons (block, kick, punch) are all that are needed to master a basic set of moves.