• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2002
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 68
  2. Negative: 12 out of 68

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    When I first played Virtua Fighter 4 I thought it would be a Street Fighter knock-off. But it had some memorable characters with hilariously bad dialogue. The level designs were pretty cool though, and I thoroughly enjoyed being able to knock opponents off the stage. I know this is not in an original concept, but it was implemented well nonetheless. The fighting felt a bit different thanWhen I first played Virtua Fighter 4 I thought it would be a Street Fighter knock-off. But it had some memorable characters with hilariously bad dialogue. The level designs were pretty cool though, and I thoroughly enjoyed being able to knock opponents off the stage. I know this is not in an original concept, but it was implemented well nonetheless. The fighting felt a bit different than other games, and as a big fan of fighting games, that made it cool. It's good to not be able to just use the same button sets as other games, though they're similar enough to be easy to learn by new users. It's a very well done game, though it has its flaws it's a charming game, and it's easily a 7, but adding some nostalgia to my score, it's a solid 8 for me, not to mention, the graphics were stunning and far superior to the Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter contemporaries. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    It is a fighter that will provide countless hours of fun. Plenty of characters coupled with great graphics, intense fighting, and a lot of combo moves that can be done.
  3. DanielM.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Most fighters are jerky matches that simply involve two combatants arbitrarily hitting each other. You won't notice this until you play VF4 however as the momentum of the entire match smoothly and quickly switches maintaining the flow of the fight.
  4. HannahD.
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    I think that VF4 is absolutely AMAZING! This game truly sets the standard for all fighting games. It's really great to see Sega pioneering this genre by stepping out and actually creating what I liken to the film industry's equivalent of what they would call a "Cult Classic," except for this particular classic, is a game. They have actually used their creativity enough to push I think that VF4 is absolutely AMAZING! This game truly sets the standard for all fighting games. It's really great to see Sega pioneering this genre by stepping out and actually creating what I liken to the film industry's equivalent of what they would call a "Cult Classic," except for this particular classic, is a game. They have actually used their creativity enough to push this genres' often lazy thumb-button-happy users to think and calculate their moves realistically, instead of just winning because you push all the bloody buttons at once! This game makes me think, and I feel much more rewarded personally when I win, because due to the complexity of the moves and button-combos, I know for certain that it was NOT an accidental victory. It was skill, not luck. Expand
  5. RamiW.
    Apr 8, 2006
    3
    I bloody gave this game to my cousin because it sucked hard. How on this earth would you be giving this game 10 or a 100 by the critics jesus everything sucks i cant bloody fight. I opened the manual and there was like 1000 moves for every character and i cant even do 1 there are no new characters to unlock and it was boring as soon as i put it in my damn ps2. I dont want to embarress I bloody gave this game to my cousin because it sucked hard. How on this earth would you be giving this game 10 or a 100 by the critics jesus everything sucks i cant bloody fight. I opened the manual and there was like 1000 moves for every character and i cant even do 1 there are no new characters to unlock and it was boring as soon as i put it in my damn ps2. I dont want to embarress this game anymore. Expand
  6. JaceN.
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    Utterly awesome, the evolution of the series has truly progressed well over the years. I find it strange that the series so hated by PS1 fanboys when it was out of Sonys reach on the PS1...is now so coveted so greatly by the same fanboys now its available on the PS2. A true indication that you should never listen to the hype and see for yourselves!
  7. SA
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    please dont listen to that guy Rick its silly that he attacked AM2 the premier arcade game creator of the last 20 years. Outrun, Daytona USA, Virtua Cop, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing this innovative titles are the reason why Time Crisis, Ridge Racer, Tekken exist. They did not make Shenmue that was made by another part of Sega called CRI. To call a game that has thousands of moves a please dont listen to that guy Rick its silly that he attacked AM2 the premier arcade game creator of the last 20 years. Outrun, Daytona USA, Virtua Cop, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing this innovative titles are the reason why Time Crisis, Ridge Racer, Tekken exist. They did not make Shenmue that was made by another part of Sega called CRI. To call a game that has thousands of moves a button basher is insane. If he was even born its people like him who brought dull games like Mortal Kombat over Street Fighter. To the people that say there is no ending no story i say this. This game is like the Ryu winning quote its all about the fight. Its a fighting game not a movie. The boring pointless endings to DOA are a waste of disk space. The storyline is not needed but there is one if you bothered to look in the manual you will see that it is the fouth world fighting championships. Its like a Bruce Lee film it does not need a plot to work. Im 22 and have being playing games since i was 4 before the causal gamer came along when the PS1 did and ruined gaming for forever by buying the same pointless rubbish like the 800th Tomb Raider or endless sports games. This game is a hit in Japan as they have a clue about games sadly here in the West idiots lead the way. Expand
  8. ByronL.
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays great 6 years after its release. I also think Saturn Dead or Alive is underrated and that its visuals still look good and it plays well. This game however when released was the greatest 3D fighter to be released. There are not 700 pages books released in Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays great 6 years after its release. I also think Saturn Dead or Alive is underrated and that its visuals still look good and it plays well. This game however when released was the greatest 3D fighter to be released. There are not 700 pages books released in Japan about the Virtua Fighter games for nothing these are deep games. The casual gamer will dismiss this game as boring or overrated but the dedicated gamer will get so much out of this game. The AI like it did on the Saturn Virtua Fighter 2 learns your fighting style the more you play the game and adapts accordingly. This means it gets harder the more you play meaning you have to improve all the time to beat the computer. The better you get the more fun you will have as you try to learn more and more movies. In two player mode the fun continues as you will be rewarded for being a good player as an inexperienced player should never be able to beat you. This is the same with the 2D beat em ups of choice Street Fighter and the King of the Fighters series. This is what a lot of people hate about DOA and Soul Calibur in that you can learn all the moves but still get beat by an eleven year old who likes to keep pressing strong attack with Knightmere. Virtua Fighter is not like this and you will be beaten easy by someone that knows what they are doing if you just press kick. This is why this game is best played between two people will simiar skill levels then you have a contest on your hands. I often organised touraments in my street with this game and it was a lot of fun and you will got into the game wanted to get better all the time. This game has now been surpassed by its update Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution on the PS2 but is still an outstanding game and i cant wait to play number 5 down the arcade. I would recommend this only to people with the time to put into as that is the best way to enjoy it. The other fighters on the market are not as good as this but are more suited to people who want a quick fight now and again. Expand
  9. LandonA.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    For those who only like button-smashing, avoid this title!! and get mindless tekken, doa or soul calibur, this one has performed through years a way to avoid this ugly/nonsense way of playing fighting games.For those who really like fighting games, please keep reading. This one is perhaps the most rewarding game of all time, following the lane of it's prequels but improving For those who only like button-smashing, avoid this title!! and get mindless tekken, doa or soul calibur, this one has performed through years a way to avoid this ugly/nonsense way of playing fighting games.For those who really like fighting games, please keep reading. This one is perhaps the most rewarding game of all time, following the lane of it's prequels but improving everything to the top. It doesn't forget his arcade roots, but gives too many depth to the playability so you'd think this is a simulation game. Is that good, you'll have to be pacient and fast at the same time, you can do counterattack techniques and change your way to play in the middle of a combat. Fighting with a tought opponent you'll have to train and be concentrated because a missmatch pushing buttongs will cause you lose a half-bar. It's so hard that you will think you're stuck, but when you discover that you can "see matrix" you'll have one of the most glorious time in videogaming history. This is not new, most of these features lived eer Expand
  10. Jean-MichelD.
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    I love those who persist in saying that Virtua Fighter is a rip off of Tekken, when it is the exact opposite. The original Virtua Fighter came out in arcades in 1993 and it was unbelievable at the time. Maybe those who criticize were not even born yet. This game is even being kept perpetually at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History in DC, so get your facts straight!
  11. FarooqA.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    The next gen brought only one thing in 2000, that was "Authenticity" ! If a product adhered to it, it went just great, created its new self, got a re-birth superiority and marked a new era of its life-time...while the others remained just the next-gen versions of their former selves, that's it. With Virtua Fighter 4, it was the actual first time that we saw something so authentic The next gen brought only one thing in 2000, that was "Authenticity" ! If a product adhered to it, it went just great, created its new self, got a re-birth superiority and marked a new era of its life-time...while the others remained just the next-gen versions of their former selves, that's it. With Virtua Fighter 4, it was the actual first time that we saw something so authentic that the eyes teared. Perfectly mastered and authentic martial arts, extremely coloured graphics, never before seen and never to be seen level of model detail and design, physics-perfect water effects, awesome reflections, breakable walls, counters to each a every possible attack, a most original and atmospheric soundtrack and never to be compared depth of gameplay. Tekken, Soul Calibur and DOA are great games in themselves but they rely upon retaining the work they did in their first or second iterations, so not a complete conversion to the next-gen is ever seen in them...that is why comparison between these and VF4 doesn't actually exist, for they are more to the 'fun' side of gaming, while VF4 is like Gran Turismo among racing games : The best, The most original, The most real, the most beautiful but hardest ! requiring the mastering of gameplay, much effort is done in ways to blend the mood of the gameplay with individual characters, and a brand new mode that has never been seen before...The AI training...Yeah ! you can actually get to train the AI you have to pit against to win the game. This game is a certain "WOW" !!! in every term of fighting genre. Expand
  12. Paul
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    For now it's the best fighting game i've ever played, even soul calibur 2 is worst, I have both of them and I know them well.
  13. JimmyW.
    Aug 20, 2004
    5
    I'm surprised y everybodys voting this game so high. i mean its good and all but i think u guys r just scared of putting this game down and wat a tag of stone cold is that canadian wrestlers move( if you dont no wat ime talkin about then use him in sparring)
  14. T.O.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    VF4 is the best fighting game on any system. Many will be turned off by the learning curve, but if you give it some time, read the manual, and use the training modes, you'll soon find a deep and fun game that can be played indefinitely. Others, Soul Calibur, Tekken, DOA, are fun, but the depth of the combat moves is the key. The defense is more important than in most fighting games VF4 is the best fighting game on any system. Many will be turned off by the learning curve, but if you give it some time, read the manual, and use the training modes, you'll soon find a deep and fun game that can be played indefinitely. Others, Soul Calibur, Tekken, DOA, are fun, but the depth of the combat moves is the key. The defense is more important than in most fighting games and this gives skilled players a distinct advantage. Kumite mode, along with the single player game in Soul Calibur are the best avalible. This is one of the few games worth 50, but for 20 bucks this is the best deal on the PS2. Highest recommendation. Expand
  15. GhyhalF.
    May 24, 2004
    7
    This game is over-rated. I rented it for a week from my local rental store, and I bet the game in about I'd say twenty times within that week. But that's not the thing that is only disapointing, it's the over-hyped Kumite mode. It's just Survival mode whre you give a different name to your chosen character. It's honestly way too over-rated. Where as Arcade mode is This game is over-rated. I rented it for a week from my local rental store, and I bet the game in about I'd say twenty times within that week. But that's not the thing that is only disapointing, it's the over-hyped Kumite mode. It's just Survival mode whre you give a different name to your chosen character. It's honestly way too over-rated. Where as Arcade mode is short, Kumite mode is just as boring and pointless as all the other Survival modes in other fighting games, this game stil manages to be quite fun to play, although just barely being able to make-up for its rip-off flaws. First of all, this game RIPPED OFF tekken BIGTIME. where as teken was original gameplay mechanics, Virtua fighter 4 takes the complete basis and elemental value of those gameplay mechanics and made 150+ two-hit combos for your characters. Maybe three hits, if your lucky. Geez, I thought the bouncer was more original and more fun than this game, and yet that game is so under-rated. Another thing I despise about the critics giving this a metascore of 93 (OVER-RATED!!!!!!!!!) IS THAT IN 99.9% OF THE REVIEWS OF THIS GAME, THEY'RE ALWAYS COMPARING SOUL CALIBUR II TO THIS AND SAYING THIS GAME IS "waaaaaaay better, because of t's lovely addictive gameplay. oh, please. Soul Calibur is much, much, much better than this, and unfortunately, the critcs may have loved that too, but they loved Virtua Fighter 4 much better, and I think that's just plain stupidity. Expand
  16. GNARLY161
    Mar 29, 2004
    3
    This was the worst fighting game i ever played. i am embarrased to say that i once owned the game.
  17. JavierA.
    Jan 4, 2004
    4
    This game was fun for about 10 minutes, then it felt like any tekken version, same slow fighting game with cool graphics buy just nothing new!
  18. NinjaMafia
    Aug 23, 2003
    6
    Virtua Fighter 4 is probably the most hyped fighting game for the PS2, but it really didn't hit the spot for me. Ok fist off, starting with the storyline. Yeah uh the storyline....I think there was one in there somewhere. Well I'll try to remember it. Still a game could be good with no storyline (Actually now that I think about it, they could have just said it was a big Virtua Fighter 4 is probably the most hyped fighting game for the PS2, but it really didn't hit the spot for me. Ok fist off, starting with the storyline. Yeah uh the storyline....I think there was one in there somewhere. Well I'll try to remember it. Still a game could be good with no storyline (Actually now that I think about it, they could have just said it was a big tournament and it would hav e made me happy). The sound was a bt off. First off the soundtrack was so unmemerable and the voice acting in the game was actually pretty bad. Now the gameplay is where it counts now. The characters are a bit awkward. You see, every character has a difficulty, easy, medium, and hard. +Characters that fall under easy are the ones you button mash with. Characters that fall under medium are the ones where you can actually pull ooff some cool manuver but you would have to try to. Hard characters are the ones wherethe moves are riduculously hard to pull off and once you do, it does little damage.Now this concept may sound aewsome, but say you have an easy character that you love, or a medium one, but you have mastered them and really want a challenge without learning somebody elses completely different move list and style of gameplay, well I think you cacn see where the roadblock is. However, the characters all have moves based off real martial arts, which can be a good thing and a bad thing. The good thing is that you can actually feel like you're realistically fighting like a martial artist, however the bad thing is that Kage, the ninja (or any othe character for that matter), can't pull off riduculously cool and unnatural moves( like how you can in DOA3, but that game also has alot of problems, but that is for a different review.). Half the moves the characters have are also extremely hard to pull off and extremely weak when you finally do it, questioning why they had the moves there in the first place. Now about this A.I. thing they have going, the A.I. learns moves from fighting you. However if you try to teach it a ridiculously hard move and you end up throwing 5 punches, the A.I. will punch more than need to in an actual battle, this can prove to be problematic. However, highlighting the games storngs points are graphics to die for, but good graphics really can'y make a boring game any more fun, and its not like this game is that boring, it is just that it could have been more fun. The enviroments are pleasing to the eye but you can't interact with them, which is perfectly fine if they didn't have a ninja in this game. The gameplay itself can be extremely fun, but it took me a few days to get tired of playing as Aoi and then moved to Kage, which I tired from in a few days. However, Kumite did bring up the rating seeing how you could unlock alot of stuff from it, but everything you unlock from it is not helpfull at all and makes your character look stupid if you equip half the things on him/her. Overall, VF4 hade the making of a great 3D fighter but fell short like so many others. However this is my opinion and shouldn't stop you from at the very least renting this game. Expand
  19. AJ
    Aug 12, 2003
    3
    This game is really not all that good, infact its pretty lame..Y you ask?.. Ok the critics gave it 93, yet any tekken game did't even come close... Let me explain, there is no ending, no story, nothing, you finish the game and you get credits..Thats all.. And Kumite is just a stupid survival mode with little bonus..Then the gameplay, its nothing like DOA, or Tekken, its worst..First This game is really not all that good, infact its pretty lame..Y you ask?.. Ok the critics gave it 93, yet any tekken game did't even come close... Let me explain, there is no ending, no story, nothing, you finish the game and you get credits..Thats all.. And Kumite is just a stupid survival mode with little bonus..Then the gameplay, its nothing like DOA, or Tekken, its worst..First you block with squre and its a waste(blocking that is), then they have reversals that have a slow response time,you'll get hit like 3 times with someone fast before your reversal works, and no its like DOA where you reversals actually mean something.. You have a ton of moves that you need to remember, but only like 3 will be all you need..Talking about the gameplay, there are some characters that are way better than others, very unbalanced, i'm not talking ryu better than oh guile, its more like Akira, and prob Vanessa better than everybody.. The stages are weak and boring,the moves seem thrown together, the moves doesn't flow like other fighting games.. The music is ok, i mean what game doesn't have techno in it... Well i was going to buy the new Virtua Fighter, so i bought this one first, good move there, i would have wasted my money...It all comes down to if you want a game you can dive into and have fun with leaving room for experts, don't buy this.... If you feel you can be somewhat of a hardcore fan(or already is), then buy this and V fighter Evolution thats coming out, if anything take me and that guy(Rick's) warning.. Stay away from the series............. Expand
  20. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2003
    1
    Ok, M.D PhiloSHIT
    If you spent your rewiew explaining what was good about the game, someone might have taken you seriously, instead you came off as annoying... I explaned myself and why i disliked the game,every aspect of it, the sound, gameplay, graphics.....Your just some hardcore fighter 4 gamer that can't play any other fighter games ex- mortal kombat, street fighter(any of
    Ok, M.D PhiloSHIT
    If you spent your rewiew explaining what was good about the game, someone might have taken you seriously, instead you came off as annoying... I explaned myself and why i disliked the game,every aspect of it, the sound, gameplay, graphics.....Your just some hardcore fighter 4 gamer that can't play any other fighter games ex- mortal kombat, street fighter(any of them), DOA, Tekken... And my facts straight, the sega saturn version was almost completely different, and the music is garbage, maybe you like techno shit but i as hell sure don't...Oh yea the gameplay, i never saw so many moves that is a waste to use.

    Next time, before you write something to insult someone about there review...Try and write a decent review asshole
    Expand
  21. DogLover
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    This game is so cool. I like it alot. There are lots of players, but I wish that you could choose the level in which you fight in.
  22. ShawnT.
    Mar 31, 2003
    3
    Mortal Kombat is 10x better.
  23. M.DPhilosophy
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    Listen Rick S. this game is one of the best games out there. & a bit of info for you this game came out b4 tekken so get your factz straight (Sega Saturn). Graphics are gorgeous and the stages I do think are just square but who cares pay attention to the game play not the stages. And i rarely ever get knocked out of the ring so if your getting knocked off you should practice the game Listen Rick S. this game is one of the best games out there. & a bit of info for you this game came out b4 tekken so get your factz straight (Sega Saturn). Graphics are gorgeous and the stages I do think are just square but who cares pay attention to the game play not the stages. And i rarely ever get knocked out of the ring so if your getting knocked off you should practice the game because your talent must be just as good as your rating. It has easy controls unless your being one of the expert characters. If you are facing a good player like myself, you cannot button mash because a good player will take advantage of every punch and or kick using reversals. The music you can't even notice over the people's FX so stop trying to find flaws of the games and have some fun with them unless you got beat by all your friends and that's why you are giving this game such a bad review. Expand
  24. Jake
    Mar 9, 2003
    9
    Very good game. Great graphics, and the gameplay is excelent. The characters are phenomenal and all in all a good game. The controls are confusing, but still a good game.
  25. RickS.
    Dec 19, 2002
    1
    This game is one of the most HORRID games i've ever playe.. Trust me im a gamer just as the next person, but when i bought this game, i was shocked that a fighting game that can ripoff tekken would at least have some good gameplay,graphics, music, ANYTHING. Now I'm not one of these tekken hardcore gamers, but my god this game is bad, really bad.. I tried to like this game This game is one of the most HORRID games i've ever playe.. Trust me im a gamer just as the next person, but when i bought this game, i was shocked that a fighting game that can ripoff tekken would at least have some good gameplay,graphics, music, ANYTHING. Now I'm not one of these tekken hardcore gamers, but my god this game is bad, really bad.. I tried to like this game everytime i played it but i just Gave up. OK, the gameplay is one hit moves that's worst than a super, there is like 150 moves for each character literally..And each one is useless than the other, The graphics is (looking for a better word) DUM.. You fight in these box like stages, sure its wonderful to look at but take like 5 steps back and you get knocked out of the ring.. Most of the stages does not have alot of gates to break your fall so beating someone is so CHEESY, plane and simple.. My friends love this game for one reason, there is NO SKILL INVOLVED Just button mashing..The music is annoying, some of it is good rock(thats y i gave it a 1) while other stages is like weird techno-freestyle. Which will prob get to you after about 15 minutes.. I bought this game for 20 bucks, and i wished i had bought a game that makes sense.. I look at all the critics,and what they gave it, LET ME JUST SAY THAT CRITICS WILL BE CRITICS, THEY ABSOLUTELY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT GAMES.. So if your reading my review and is thinking of buying this game now,(which is now about 15-20 bucks) TAKE MY WORD, this game is nothing like tekken or DOA.. It's in a class of it's own, frustrating..What do you expect from a developer like AM2, Which has only made ok games for SEGA(dreamcast) and Xbox, like shenmue, outrigger and a few others.. A word to AM2- Stick to Sega and leave PS alone !!. Expand
  26. VengeanceF
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    This game is GREAT! It has stuff for everyone...some characters for button mashers then some for the experts...great practice modes and of course KUMITE!!! ANd the graphics...tho aliasin is a prob effects, details and animation is superb!
  27. MiaS.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    Easily the best console fighting game ever. Even better in the arcades. Anyone REALLY disagreeing with me should play the game. Or have their heads examined. Or maybe get their butts kicked between their shoulderblades... =)
  28. Tiptoe
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    This game is amazing. Anyone who doesn't like it is definitely confused with another game. This game totally beats Tekken and all other fighting games. I am so proud of sega. P.S- GO LEI FEI.
  29. JamieF.
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    I have been a fan of virtua fighter for ages it just keeps on getting better and better.
  30. AinaR.
    Nov 7, 2002
    2
    Extremely interesting game.
  31. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    9
    It is the best fighter to come out in years. Good graphics and gameplay. The jaggies issue is over emphasized in my opinion. It"s rarely noticeable to me. One problem I do have though is the stats. Yes, there"s enough of them, but it seems to make mistakes like in NBA 2K2. There are some stats that I noticed were just plain wrong. For example, after winning 10 in a row (I know b/c my It is the best fighter to come out in years. Good graphics and gameplay. The jaggies issue is over emphasized in my opinion. It"s rarely noticeable to me. One problem I do have though is the stats. Yes, there"s enough of them, but it seems to make mistakes like in NBA 2K2. There are some stats that I noticed were just plain wrong. For example, after winning 10 in a row (I know b/c my record to start was 10-0) The records only credited me with winning 5 in a row. Another weirdness in the stats I noticed was that it said I chose 1 character 100% of the time, which was plain wrong. Gah, this only bothers me quite a bit since the rest of the game seems so perfect. Expand
  32. [Anonymous]
    Jul 28, 2002
    1
    Boring. too much time spent on graphics and not enough on gameplay/music/everything else... the comp is a joke to beat on very hard despite akwardly designed controls. gimme a psone tekken before this filth anyday.
  33. KevinS.
    Jul 26, 2002
    10
    The druunken master old man is the best. This game is sick tight...
  34. MattS.
    Jun 11, 2002
    10
    It is just amazing. Great visuals and game play makes it one of the best fighter games since snes.
  35. JakeM.
    Jun 1, 2002
    3
    This game blows, yes i can admit i was glued to the T.V. playing this game for..... oh.... lets see, 15 minutes. This game has no replay action, its always the same thing. I'm disappointed in Sega for making crappy games, like 18 wheeler. This game is a shame on how stupid the nation is to waste 50 bucks on a game that i can pull out my butt. But on the bright side of things, i gave This game blows, yes i can admit i was glued to the T.V. playing this game for..... oh.... lets see, 15 minutes. This game has no replay action, its always the same thing. I'm disappointed in Sega for making crappy games, like 18 wheeler. This game is a shame on how stupid the nation is to waste 50 bucks on a game that i can pull out my butt. But on the bright side of things, i gave this game a 3 because this game is pretty fun when i'm playing with my friends. Expand
  36. Alex
    May 20, 2002
    5
    Damn, I might be the only one, but I thought this game was kinda boring and the only really good part was the scenery like if there is snow on the ground an you knock somebody down, it leaves a print in the snow and stuff like that.
  37. PerseenR.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    Amazing just amazing...
  38. TweetyBurd
    May 5, 2002
    8
    This game is one of my favorite fighting games for PS2. It has a realistic amount of characters, unlike Tekken Tag Tournament; with 34 fighters. I also like recoordinating the people's clothes with the Data Files mode, and adding items like braclets and sunglasses. The scenery is very interesting, but the graphics could've been a little sharper. The Kumite mode is very creative, This game is one of my favorite fighting games for PS2. It has a realistic amount of characters, unlike Tekken Tag Tournament; with 34 fighters. I also like recoordinating the people's clothes with the Data Files mode, and adding items like braclets and sunglasses. The scenery is very interesting, but the graphics could've been a little sharper. The Kumite mode is very creative, but sometimes unbearable to work with (at times, the CPU fighters kick your butt as if it's the end of the world. And I don't like that.)This game could look great in your collection of fighters. You should buy this game. Expand
  39. ShunD.
    Mar 27, 2002
    10
    Bar none, this game sets the standards in how all games should be. From its tight controls, distinct character moves, and beautiful backgrounds to its depth in each character's arts, intensive training mode, and, the best part, a neverending kumite mode, this game should not be missed. This game shows how fighting should be really like: stances, grappling, evades, attacks, and Bar none, this game sets the standards in how all games should be. From its tight controls, distinct character moves, and beautiful backgrounds to its depth in each character's arts, intensive training mode, and, the best part, a neverending kumite mode, this game should not be missed. This game shows how fighting should be really like: stances, grappling, evades, attacks, and throws... Most Tekken fans may not like the methodicalness of the game. Then again, all you Tekken fans have better graduate...you've been schooled with VF4! Expand
  40. BarryC.
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    I love it.
  41. MattW.
    Mar 23, 2002
    9
    This game is great. While the graphics don't stand out as well as other titles such as DOA3 and Soul Caliber, it plays much better than the former and equally as well as the latter. Buy this now if u have any interest in video games.
  42. Rom
    Mar 20, 2002
    9
    First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do not work here. After 2 days I realized the beauty of this game. The game is not so easy for beginners which I find as great. The modes are fantastic, especially the Kumite feature. It helped me build up my gaming experience as well as unlock little First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do not work here. After 2 days I realized the beauty of this game. The game is not so easy for beginners which I find as great. The modes are fantastic, especially the Kumite feature. It helped me build up my gaming experience as well as unlock little add-ons for my character such as sunglasses, different colored shoes, etc. The only reason I gave this game a 9 is because Kumite lacked 2 players. Expand
  43. FullEnergy
    Mar 15, 2002
    10
    One thing to say: PERFECT GAME.
  44. DanteSparda
    Mar 14, 2002
    7
    I know this game deserves better than 7, but I just can judge it for what i've experienced of it so far. And what i've experienced is a 7. No more, no less. I know that the game has a deepness comparable to none, and that I just've played it a couple of times, and I have so much left for discover, but the problem that hasn't allowed me to experience it deeper is the I know this game deserves better than 7, but I just can judge it for what i've experienced of it so far. And what i've experienced is a 7. No more, no less. I know that the game has a deepness comparable to none, and that I just've played it a couple of times, and I have so much left for discover, but the problem that hasn't allowed me to experience it deeper is the same reason that takes away the 3 points from my calification, that would've made it a solid 10. And that problem is just one: It's so goddamn difficult!!!! Why can't they make the game more accessible for newcomers like me? I mean, we know that the game has a lot to offer, but it's unfriendly difficulty level, and Semi-impossible learning curve, haven't allowed me to taste it's real flavor. A real shame. Expand
  45. Jun 3, 2012
    0
    It is a fighter that will provide countless hours of fun. Plenty of characters coupled with great graphics, intense fighting, and a lot of combo moves that can be done.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Visuals are but one aspect of this game's worth. It's the play that really matters, and VF, as always, plays marvelously. [Mar 2002, p.44]
  2. Though DOA3 may have it beat graphically, no game can touch VF4’s fighting engine. This is the deepest, most dynamic fighter ever created.
  3. 100
    What’s awesome about the gameplay is that you can just pick up a controller and start fighting. Three buttons (block, kick, punch) are all that are needed to master a basic set of moves.