Wakeboarding Unleashed Featuring Shaun Murray Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hang on for your life in Wakeboarding Unleashed featuring Shaun Murray as you get ripped across a lake by a high-powered speedboat and trick through dangerous terrain. Feel the rush as you crash into houseboats and catch huge air in nine exotic levels with seven world-class wakeboarders.Hang on for your life in Wakeboarding Unleashed featuring Shaun Murray as you get ripped across a lake by a high-powered speedboat and trick through dangerous terrain. Feel the rush as you crash into houseboats and catch huge air in nine exotic levels with seven world-class wakeboarders. Tired already? Then drive the boat and help your friend pull off challenging technical tricks on the most realistic looking water ever. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 100
    A wealth of multiplayer modes and minigame-like challenges give Murray the replay value of 10 lesser titles. [July 2003, p.58]
  2. Purely from a gaming standpoint, it's so brilliantly crafted, you should try it. [July 2003, p97]
  3. Interestingly the PS2 version appears to have the edge over the Xbox version, sporting crisper textures that seem to feature more detail. Along with the fact that the Dual-Shock 2 controller was conceived for the Tony Hawk control system, making the PS2 version the superior out of the lot.
  4. The missions are quite ingenious and the multiplayer modes are wildly entertaining. [July 2003, p.107]
  5. This game gets no points for creativity whatsoever... That said, Murray is loads of fun and provides that twitchy instant gratification every well-implemented action-sports title should. [July 2003, p.108]
  6. Just a hair shy of greatness. It's got some rough edges, but the idea of having to rely on a boat for propulsion is truly innovative. [July 2003, p.24]
  7. The game's real goals aren't exciting enough to carry the game, so once you've unlocked enough levels to be satisfied and gotten the hang of the controls, there really isn't a whole lot more to see. Fans of the genre will be left wanting more.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. DerekW.
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    I really like this game because I love to wakeboard but I wish I could at least do half of the tricks in real life.
  2. 1117
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    I bought the game and have no regrets. it was way over my excpectations and took wakeboarding to a new level.
  3. JamesH.
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    Absolutely keeps you glued...I forgot I had other games...Had to beat this game before life could resume!!!!
  4. Dephil
    Sep 17, 2003
    9
    Awesome asskicking game! The graphics, especially the water are beautiful! The courses are very long and full of detail. The Soundtrack Awesome asskicking game! The graphics, especially the water are beautiful! The courses are very long and full of detail. The Soundtrack rocks! Everytime you pass a challenge you will want to do anotherone - it will strap you in front of your TV for hours! Who needs sleep?? Grab the rope and get wet!! Your girlfriend should be very creative, if she wants to get you off the TV... This game rocks! Expand
  5. dephil
    Sep 17, 2003
    9
    Awesome asskicking game! The graphics are beautiful- especially the water looks incredible! The 9 levels are huge and full of detail. TheAwesome asskicking game! The graphics are beautiful- especially the water looks incredible! The 9 levels are huge and full of detail. The Soundtrack rocks! Everytime you pass a challenge, you will want to do the next one- this game will keep you in front of the TV for hours! Who needs sleep?? Grab the rope and get wet!! ...your girlfriend should be very creative, if she wants to get you off the TV... Expand
  6. dephil
    Sep 17, 2003
    9
    Awesome asskicking game! The graphics are beautiful- especially the water looks incredible! The 9 levels are huge and full of detail. TheAwesome asskicking game! The graphics are beautiful- especially the water looks incredible! The 9 levels are huge and full of detail. The Soundtrack rocks! Everytime you pass a challenge, you will want to do the next one- this game will keep you in front of the TV for hours! Who needs sleep?? Grab the rope and get wet!! ...your girlfriend should be very creative, if she wants to get you off the TV... Expand
  7. Uter
    Jun 4, 2003
    5
    I've only played the demo, but it made me realize it's definitely not a game i'd want to own. it simply wasn't fun.

See all 9 User Reviews