Warhammer 40,000: Fire Warrior PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
Buy On
  1. It lacked the punch that you need to have to compete in a post Halo, post Ubi-Soft FPS world. Definitely rent it first.
  2. Its fun for a while, but doesn't exhibit staying power. The game designers capitalized on the game's lore, but could've done better in that department if they had chosen a different race to focus on.
  3. Play Magazine
    67
    Problem is, there's not enough strategic thought put into where the threat is coming from, forcing you into a path of endless running and gunning without a high-tier engagement of well-placed safe points and clever object interaction. [Nov 2003, p.83]
  4. Cheat Code Central
    60
    A game based on such a rich tapestry of races should at least give you a choice of whom to play as, but for the entire single player experience you'll be Kais, a Tau warrior. That's not so bad, if you are a fan or collect Tau. But what if you aren't?
  5. GMR Magazine
    60
    What holds Fire Warrior back is some rather uninspiring gameplay. You play the entire game as a single lowly Tau warrior and must fight your way through legions of increasingly difficult enemies. Pretty standard stuff. [Nov 2003, p.77]
  6. 60
    Efforts made to envelop you in Warhammer’s medieval yet technological world are undone by sending you hunting for the blue door’s blue key - only to reveal a red door with a similar keyless predicament.
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    Comparisons with "Halo" are inevitable. Unfortunately, Fire Warrior shows how developers can steal elements from superior games, while fundamentally misunderstanding why they worked so well in the first place. [Nov 2003, p.101]
  8. 60
    It's just a better-than-okay game with some great dramatic elements, some decent mechanics, and some notable downsides. Only Warhammer aficionados need scramble to the game store for this one.
  9. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    57
    Warhammer is so crammed with cliches -- color-coded door keys, exploding barrels, and grimy environments I swear I've already prowled through in "Quake" -- that it feels like it's just going through the first-person-shooter motions. [Dec 2003, p.210]
  10. Intense in spots, Fire Warrior carries little of the punch found in the tabletop game due to a positively antediluvian shoot-'em-up design and lots of key hunts.
  11. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    It's quite ironic that a game based on a license that is the progenitor of sci-fi gaming ends up feeling like a kludgy, mediocre hodge-podge of better sci-fi shooters. [Nov 2003, p.147]
  12. The only thing I got out of Fire Warrior was motion sickness. It's starts off great, but soon degenerates into a tiresome chore of a game.
  13. Unless you're just dying to play something other than "SOCOM II" online with your PS2 you won't be missing much if you pass up Fire Warrior, even if you're a Warhammer diehard.
  14. Anyone going into it expecting the bells and whistles of a "Half-Life 2" is going to be sorely disappointed. Anyone going into it expecting it to play anything like the table-top strategy game will be even more letdown.

Awards & Rankings

34
#34 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. AlexS.
    Aug 9, 2007
    8
    A little hard at times but overall its a good shooting game.
  2. BrandonS.
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    This game is great. Good graphics, great gameplay, awsome story. My only problem is that it is too short and easy. If you thought this game This game is great. Good graphics, great gameplay, awsome story. My only problem is that it is too short and easy. If you thought this game was too hard you must really suck. The save system didnt bother me since I flew through the game. There are cheats for you who think that there arent, you just have to beat the game on hard and get high stats for some of the cheats. Im also a warhammer 40k player and I play Tau. P.S. I would like to see a battle field version of warhammer 40k. Full Review »
  3. Jul 1, 2017
    10
    This might be the best fps on ps2 Fire Warrior has aged extremely well I love this game it is so awesome, perfect responsive controlls coolThis might be the best fps on ps2 Fire Warrior has aged extremely well I love this game it is so awesome, perfect responsive controlls cool guns and enemies and the intriguing world of Worhammer 40k Full Review »