Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. While Wipeout Fusion does not stray too far from the formula created by the original, the small pieces it does alter often detract from what made the previous titles so great.
  2. Fusion's control, graphics and tracks are so spot-on that once mastered, weaving through the curves at supersonic speeds becomes second-nature. [June 2002, p.112]
  3. I'm not saying the game is outdated, I just don't think a new console makes it much more compelling. [June 2002, p.79]
  4. 91
    If you've never played this series before, Fusion will have you searching the bargain bins for the original PSone titles. [June 2002, p.62]
  5. 80
    This is without a doubt the single best looking and playing hovercraft racing game on any next generation platform.
  6. 90
    Although it doesn't break much new ground and the series' vibe has become more mainstream with age, Wipeout Fusion is simply an excellent, action packed racing game. [July 2002, p.73]
  7. Fast gameplay and tons of features turn what could be an ordinary churned out sequel into a new benchmark for anti-gravity racers.
  8. We've happily sat for ages playing around on Arcade mode and vamping our ship up to obscene speeds but, when the chips are down in the League and the autopilot flies you straight into a series of mines, it's all you can do not to chew off your own face.
  9. A serviceable futuristic racing game that is perhaps a bit too similar to previous installments in the series.
  10. 85
    It is in many ways the best of the bunch, but somewhere along the line it has lost that cool edge that made the series so legendary.
  11. Every single aspect -- the controls, the gameplay, the graphics, etc. -- has been improved 110%. You may not notice all of the improvements at first, but the game will suck you in immediately.
  12. 90
    There is so much to do and so many different ways to play that you will get at months of playing out of this game.
  13. Taking hairpin turns and navigating loop-the-loops at 500 mph is Wipeout’s equivalent of a boring straightaway.
  14. It was worth the wait; this is every bit the Wipeout you've been waiting for. [June 2002, p.100]
  15. A much deeper and more immersive racer. WipEout fusion less an exercise in memorization and precision than 3...A triumph, as expected. [June 2002, p.52]
  16. The adrenaline-pumping thrill, sensory bombardment, and frantic combat have been cranked up for PS2. [June 2002, p.34]
  17. Fast, slick, pretty and still fun despite only being related to the original “WipeOut” series by name, “Fusion” is as good as off-line futuristic racing can feel and play on the PS2 right now.
  18. Wipeout fans will find something to like about the latest instalment, it’s everything that Wipeout was, however that may in part be a cause of the problem, we’ve seen it all before and done it.
  19. The response of each craft, no matter how demanding, feels gloriously authentic and exudes the same order of weighty behaviour which so successfully separates A-Spec from GT2.
  20. The most accessible, fastest, most potent version of the series. It’s arguably the best of the four games that make up the series, but nobody can deny that’s easily the prettiest.
  21. There's no next generation oomph that sneaks up and slaps you on the face like that little bald orange man from the old Tango drink ads, no real sense of feeling justified for making that step up from 32- to 128-bit.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Gus
    Jan 7, 2005
    7
    This game is okay. the racing is fun and most of the weapons are cool (except the photon cannon) I HATE the music. Its like a really bland ripThis game is okay. the racing is fun and most of the weapons are cool (except the photon cannon) I HATE the music. Its like a really bland rip off of prodigy from the wipeout xl game. Also sometimes I'm really annoyed at a track instead of looking forward to doing it again. Full Review »
  2. Alex
    Nov 19, 2003
    8
    A good game with furious speed!
  3. AdrickR.
    May 6, 2003
    4
    While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even entertaining. The music is pure class b trance garbage. Also the game centers WAY too much on the poorly designed weapons. I also notice no one mentioning the extremely poor two player mode which is such a let down. The game continued to slow down every time we played a track that had even the slightest bit of advanced graphics. All in all this had the potential to be the next Wipeout XL and did not even come close! I wish the original designers would step in and show these yahoos how to really make a hover racing game. Maybe we can glimmer some hope from the new HSX:hypersonic extreme series. Full Review »