User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Gus
    Jan 7, 2005
    7
    This game is okay. the racing is fun and most of the weapons are cool (except the photon cannon) I HATE the music. Its like a really bland rip off of prodigy from the wipeout xl game. Also sometimes I'm really annoyed at a track instead of looking forward to doing it again.
  2. UrsH.
    May 2, 2002
    9
    I've played all the Wipeout titles and when I look back at the old titles, I gotta say this is the perfect evolution of a game. A realistic speed feeling, truckloads of weapons and options such as the zone-mode(I`ve never seen a faster game). Every race is a battle, no difference if your ship is fully upgraded or not great gameplay. But there are still bugs in the game and the choice I've played all the Wipeout titles and when I look back at the old titles, I gotta say this is the perfect evolution of a game. A realistic speed feeling, truckloads of weapons and options such as the zone-mode(I`ve never seen a faster game). Every race is a battle, no difference if your ship is fully upgraded or not great gameplay. But there are still bugs in the game and the choice of music has been better in Wipeout2097 and 3, loading times are inacceptable for a nextgen title. You`ll love it or hate it, that`s Wipeout...and I still love it after 35 hours of gameplay. Expand
  3. Weasel13
    May 3, 2002
    9
    Yes, this has been seen before in Wip3out. On the next gen. console, PS2, it feels and looks great. Though there could be more to achieve, as playing the game, I enjoy it again and again.
  4. ZakF.
    Jun 20, 2002
    9
    I've been a fan of the series for a while and this ps2 version of the classics is absolutely stellar. The only things that warrant me not giving it a ten are the soundtrack (which is good if you limit the playlist to the few gems) and that the design has been taken away from the gods known as Designers Republic, resulting in the ships not looking quite as cool. If they come back and I've been a fan of the series for a while and this ps2 version of the classics is absolutely stellar. The only things that warrant me not giving it a ten are the soundtrack (which is good if you limit the playlist to the few gems) and that the design has been taken away from the gods known as Designers Republic, resulting in the ships not looking quite as cool. If they come back and hand the series over to them again, I will die a happy happy man. Expand
  5. RyanS.
    Aug 4, 2002
    9
    This game is wonderful, and it also has some depth. Many games sacrifice either length or play, but this game has both. I'll be playing this for at least 2 months. Amazing graphics (I dunno what this 'Cait' kid is looking at), great controls, etc. But I agree in one area. The ships aren't so "astonishing" looking, but they're not bad! When you're moving This game is wonderful, and it also has some depth. Many games sacrifice either length or play, but this game has both. I'll be playing this for at least 2 months. Amazing graphics (I dunno what this 'Cait' kid is looking at), great controls, etc. But I agree in one area. The ships aren't so "astonishing" looking, but they're not bad! When you're moving faster than sound it really doesn't matter a single bit. You'll be so caught up the last thing you'll do is stop to admire what color and shape your ship is. The game is great fun, whether you're a newbie or a veteran. My only REAL gripe is some pretty pointless missions (destroying 3 enemies is both EXTREMELY HARD and EXTREMELY BORING, because there's no real method). I personally enjoy most of the music, but some songs aren't wonderful. Overall I give it a 9, because I can't give it a 9.5 and it doesn't deserve a 10. If you haven't played the originals you're not missing anything in my opinion. Even if this was just a souped up version, it's essentially that. SOUPED UP! Buy this game. Don't think. Just buy. You won't even know you're losing $40 when you're going 1500 kph around a loop-ta-loop with missles on your tail. Enjoy. Expand
  6. CiaranM.
    Feb 21, 2002
    8
    Great game, both fast and furious!!! The music is fantastic and really adds great atmosphere as expected. The courses are tough but fun and never really make you so mad that you stop playing but frustrated enough to play on more time! The bad point is that it is very similar to all the rest, so if you have the others, wait till you can get it second hand. But if this is going to be your Great game, both fast and furious!!! The music is fantastic and really adds great atmosphere as expected. The courses are tough but fun and never really make you so mad that you stop playing but frustrated enough to play on more time! The bad point is that it is very similar to all the rest, so if you have the others, wait till you can get it second hand. But if this is going to be your first experience of Wipeout, then go get right now and practice, practice, practice!!!! Expand
  7. JasonP.
    Mar 14, 2002
    7
    Great racing action at its best in this fast paced hovering racer.
  8. TamoK.
    May 27, 2002
    10
    The best racer ever by far.
  9. MikEPaynE
    Jul 8, 2002
    10
    This game rules, it is the best and i repeat BEST, and i repeat BEST and i repeat BEST racing game there is, because..... RAW IS WIPEOUT!!!! AND THATS THE BOTTOM LINE..... CAUSE WIPEOUT SED SO!! so go to your best buy and buy this game, and by the way, only buy it..... IF YOU SMELLLLLLLLL.... WHAT MikEPaynE IS COOKING!!
  10. WillC.
    Aug 5, 2002
    9
    The game's graphics are at times awe-inspiring, but for the most part are standard fare. Weapons effects are cool though they interfere with visibility -- but I guess that just adds to the tensity of when you're stuck in a group of 5 or so ships with everyone firing at everyone else, racing along at a few hundred kph. Which brings me to my next point -- there is a LOT of weapons The game's graphics are at times awe-inspiring, but for the most part are standard fare. Weapons effects are cool though they interfere with visibility -- but I guess that just adds to the tensity of when you're stuck in a group of 5 or so ships with everyone firing at everyone else, racing along at a few hundred kph. Which brings me to my next point -- there is a LOT of weapons usage in this game, more than what I saw in XL or 3, combined. Weapons really shouldn't be the staple of the race, in my opinion, and unfortunately they've become too much a part of it. ExtremeG comes to mind. Luckily there's an option to turn weapons off. :) The setting and style of the tracks and ships, while cool, seem a little off from what WipEout was; things are getting closer to mainstream racing, and it's losing that industrial, dark kind of feel that it used to have. In fact, in that one instance where dust was flying everywhere and I could only see the two engines of the craft in front of me, I could've sworn I was playing Pod Racer. Also, I didn't really like having to choose a pilot to use, as I liked the feeling that I was the one flying the craft (so to speak), and not controlling some character. But customizing individual traits is a nice touch. The music is not quite as good as it used to be -- in all truth, I think XL had the best soundtrack of the series. But the music of Fusion isn't bad, either, just not really groundbreaking or noteworthy. Still, most of these gripes are superficial, and the gameplay is a little less WipEout due to the overuse of weapons and seeming lack of speed ... overall, I still give it a 9. Fun game, lots of options and replayability, but I just hope the next in the series turns back towards the original idea of WipEout. Collapse
  11. DabbleN.
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    Played for 6 hours straight.
  12. FrazerB.
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    Ive not played a better two player game.. Superb. Soundtrack finishes it off a beauty!
  13. AdrickR.
    May 6, 2003
    4
    While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even entertaining. The music is pure class b trance garbage. Also the game centers WAY too much on the poorly designed weapons. I also notice no one mentioning the extremely poor two player mode which is such a let down. The game continued to slow down every time we While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even entertaining. The music is pure class b trance garbage. Also the game centers WAY too much on the poorly designed weapons. I also notice no one mentioning the extremely poor two player mode which is such a let down. The game continued to slow down every time we played a track that had even the slightest bit of advanced graphics. All in all this had the potential to be the next Wipeout XL and did not even come close! I wish the original designers would step in and show these yahoos how to really make a hover racing game. Maybe we can glimmer some hope from the new HSX:hypersonic extreme series. Expand
  14. LoganE.
    Mar 21, 2002
    10
    I think that this game will sell the PS2. The graphics are wonderful. I don't have a PS2 yet but I'm definitely going to buy one because of it. I also love the web-site. I have drawings of my own anti-gravity craft. I believe that my invention will work, but I'm not finished with it. I saw screenshots of the game and I have already thought of the things that were developed I think that this game will sell the PS2. The graphics are wonderful. I don't have a PS2 yet but I'm definitely going to buy one because of it. I also love the web-site. I have drawings of my own anti-gravity craft. I believe that my invention will work, but I'm not finished with it. I saw screenshots of the game and I have already thought of the things that were developed in the game. Please make another sequel on PS2. I've mastered all the wipeout games I have (only 2). If you can, please email me and show me how the crafts would work on your point of view and mabye I can mix it in with my ideas. Expand
  15. TomJ.
    Jun 19, 2002
    8
    Brings the standard back up from the almost terrbile third installment. Definitly worthy of a next generation console, perhaps forgetting the occasional slow down. The game excels when you hit top speed and manage to catch a glimpse of a battle going on, not involving for the first time, where a ship is frantically trying to out run a guided missile while dropping mines which explode in Brings the standard back up from the almost terrbile third installment. Definitly worthy of a next generation console, perhaps forgetting the occasional slow down. The game excels when you hit top speed and manage to catch a glimpse of a battle going on, not involving for the first time, where a ship is frantically trying to out run a guided missile while dropping mines which explode in the face of the pursuer. Would be worthy of a 9 or 10 but the races seem to revolve around the weapons a too much, some of the menus are too small to comfortably read and the soundtrack, though not bad, is the worst yet. Still chasing Wipeout 2097 (XL) but not far off. Great Game. Expand
  16. CaitS.
    Jul 22, 2002
    6
    Negatives: Asstastic design work as far as menus, loadscreens (Which you will see WAY TOO MUCH OF), game interface, blah blah blah, very long load times, terrible TERRIBLE ship designs besides the Feisar which was a nice throwback to the old Wip3out design, and a mediocre soundtrack make this game a lump in the Wipeout series. Too much emphasis on combat, not enough on speed. I know the Negatives: Asstastic design work as far as menus, loadscreens (Which you will see WAY TOO MUCH OF), game interface, blah blah blah, very long load times, terrible TERRIBLE ship designs besides the Feisar which was a nice throwback to the old Wip3out design, and a mediocre soundtrack make this game a lump in the Wipeout series. Too much emphasis on combat, not enough on speed. I know the kiddies love shooting each other and stuff, but this move makes Wipeout another crappy FZero wannabe. The ingame graphics are okay and should be EXPECTED with the PS2 hardware, but it's missing that stylistic edge that the previous wipeout games had. The old wipeouts you KNEW weren't real at all. They weren't trying to be real at all. This one tries too hard. I feel like I'm playing star wars pod racer... Ugh. Go get a pal PS1 and play Wipeout:SE. Expand
  17. Spawn
    Aug 7, 2002
    10
    It´s the fu..ing best!
  18. Alex
    Nov 19, 2003
    8
    A good game with furious speed!
  19. JohnN.
    Feb 9, 2003
    10
    I normally despise racing games but this is actually fun unlike A-Spec.
  20. PaulC.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    Wicked game with a killer soundtrack.
  21. StevenJ.
    Dec 30, 2002
    4
    I'll agree with Will C. and Cait S. about what they said about this game. However, I will not be as forgiving. The music is crap and it lost its dark industrial feel completely. I too like both these guys was thinking "Pod Racer rip-off". The biggest problem I have is bugs. The game seems to be full of them. It has locked up on me countless times. The disc is brand new and is free of I'll agree with Will C. and Cait S. about what they said about this game. However, I will not be as forgiving. The music is crap and it lost its dark industrial feel completely. I too like both these guys was thinking "Pod Racer rip-off". The biggest problem I have is bugs. The game seems to be full of them. It has locked up on me countless times. The disc is brand new and is free of dirt or fingerprints...so its not that. I mean, I see all these reviews and no one has mentioned this problem. Maybe I have a bad copy of the game or something. Earlier tonight I was TRYING to play this game and it decided to screw up real bad. The shield warning came on at 90% (???) and the ship was STUCK on autopilot. After watching the game play itself for 6 laps or so I got disgusted and shut off the PSX2 when I could not get back control. It seems everyday I play it it locks on me. Yet I keep trying to play it. It is not a bad game...I just wish it had better music and wasn't warmed over "Star Wars Revenge Racer". Anyone else have this problem? Expand
  22. DavidF.
    Feb 15, 2002
    8
    This game is very slick. Nice graphics, sound and gameplay add to the enjoyment of this title.The multiplayer is good and it's quite a challenge in single player. Very close to getting a 9 out of 10. Worth buying.
  23. SeanH.
    Aug 28, 2002
    10
    The Wipeout team have done it again. 10/10 in all aspects. Peace out.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Taking hairpin turns and navigating loop-the-loops at 500 mph is Wipeout’s equivalent of a boring straightaway.
  2. There's no next generation oomph that sneaks up and slaps you on the face like that little bald orange man from the old Tango drink ads, no real sense of feeling justified for making that step up from 32- to 128-bit.
  3. The most accessible, fastest, most potent version of the series. It’s arguably the best of the four games that make up the series, but nobody can deny that’s easily the prettiest.