Wipeout Fusion Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's WipEout time again, with the fourth instalment of the critically acclaimed series exploding onto PlayStation 2. Once again you must push your reactions and abilities to the limit in order to leave your rivals in the dust. With 45 futuristic race circuits to negotiate, WipEout FusionIt's WipEout time again, with the fourth instalment of the critically acclaimed series exploding onto PlayStation 2. Once again you must push your reactions and abilities to the limit in order to leave your rivals in the dust. With 45 futuristic race circuits to negotiate, WipEout Fusion will have you corkscrewing, jumping, barrel-rolling and looping like never before. Other enhancements include the addition of the Endurance and Zone modes, superior AI and the option to customise craft handling to match each course. [Sony Europe] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A much deeper and more immersive racer. WipEout fusion less an exercise in memorization and precision than 3...A triumph, as expected. [June 2002, p.52]
  2. The most accessible, fastest, most potent version of the series. It’s arguably the best of the four games that make up the series, but nobody can deny that’s easily the prettiest.
  3. The response of each craft, no matter how demanding, feels gloriously authentic and exudes the same order of weighty behaviour which so successfully separates A-Spec from GT2.
  4. Fast gameplay and tons of features turn what could be an ordinary churned out sequel into a new benchmark for anti-gravity racers.
  5. Fast, slick, pretty and still fun despite only being related to the original “WipeOut” series by name, “Fusion” is as good as off-line futuristic racing can feel and play on the PS2 right now.
  6. A serviceable futuristic racing game that is perhaps a bit too similar to previous installments in the series.
  7. While Wipeout Fusion does not stray too far from the formula created by the original, the small pieces it does alter often detract from what made the previous titles so great.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. FrazerB.
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    Ive not played a better two player game.. Superb. Soundtrack finishes it off a beauty!
  2. MikEPaynE
    Jul 8, 2002
    10
    This game rules, it is the best and i repeat BEST, and i repeat BEST and i repeat BEST racing game there is, because..... RAW IS WIPEOUT!!!! This game rules, it is the best and i repeat BEST, and i repeat BEST and i repeat BEST racing game there is, because..... RAW IS WIPEOUT!!!! AND THATS THE BOTTOM LINE..... CAUSE WIPEOUT SED SO!! so go to your best buy and buy this game, and by the way, only buy it..... IF YOU SMELLLLLLLLL.... WHAT MikEPaynE IS COOKING!! Expand
  3. SeanH.
    Aug 28, 2002
    10
    The Wipeout team have done it again. 10/10 in all aspects. Peace out.
  4. UrsH.
    May 2, 2002
    9
    I've played all the Wipeout titles and when I look back at the old titles, I gotta say this is the perfect evolution of a game. A I've played all the Wipeout titles and when I look back at the old titles, I gotta say this is the perfect evolution of a game. A realistic speed feeling, truckloads of weapons and options such as the zone-mode(I`ve never seen a faster game). Every race is a battle, no difference if your ship is fully upgraded or not great gameplay. But there are still bugs in the game and the choice of music has been better in Wipeout2097 and 3, loading times are inacceptable for a nextgen title. You`ll love it or hate it, that`s Wipeout...and I still love it after 35 hours of gameplay. Expand
  5. ZakF.
    Jun 20, 2002
    9
    I've been a fan of the series for a while and this ps2 version of the classics is absolutely stellar. The only things that warrant me I've been a fan of the series for a while and this ps2 version of the classics is absolutely stellar. The only things that warrant me not giving it a ten are the soundtrack (which is good if you limit the playlist to the few gems) and that the design has been taken away from the gods known as Designers Republic, resulting in the ships not looking quite as cool. If they come back and hand the series over to them again, I will die a happy happy man. Expand
  6. TomJ.
    Jun 19, 2002
    8
    Brings the standard back up from the almost terrbile third installment. Definitly worthy of a next generation console, perhaps forgetting the Brings the standard back up from the almost terrbile third installment. Definitly worthy of a next generation console, perhaps forgetting the occasional slow down. The game excels when you hit top speed and manage to catch a glimpse of a battle going on, not involving for the first time, where a ship is frantically trying to out run a guided missile while dropping mines which explode in the face of the pursuer. Would be worthy of a 9 or 10 but the races seem to revolve around the weapons a too much, some of the menus are too small to comfortably read and the soundtrack, though not bad, is the worst yet. Still chasing Wipeout 2097 (XL) but not far off. Great Game. Expand
  7. AdrickR.
    May 6, 2003
    4
    While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even entertaining. The music is pure class b trance garbage. Also the game centers WAY too much on the poorly designed weapons. I also notice no one mentioning the extremely poor two player mode which is such a let down. The game continued to slow down every time we played a track that had even the slightest bit of advanced graphics. All in all this had the potential to be the next Wipeout XL and did not even come close! I wish the original designers would step in and show these yahoos how to really make a hover racing game. Maybe we can glimmer some hope from the new HSX:hypersonic extreme series. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews