Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Knowledgeable soccer fans looking for realism that makes the sport a worldwide phenomenon will embrace the fluidity of gameplay and extraordinary ability to customize players and teams to their own liking.
  2. Cheat Code Central
    90
    This is one hot engine, baby. The graphics and the animation are about as smooth and realistic as it gets. The physics is precise and the controls are tight.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    A staggering sports sim worthy of praise, with spectacular graphics, depth, and gameplay. [Apr 2003, p.116]
  4. 80
    It may not be the best-looking soccer game on the market, but Winning Eleven 6 is, hands down, the best to play.
  5. Smashes all of its competitors in the soccer genre and sets a new standard for sports games in general.
  6. Game Informer
    90
    The standard for how to make a great soccer title. [Apr 2003, p.85]
  7. The lack of licensing, clear instructions during the tutorials and a few play issues spoil some of WE 6's game, but it still competes nicely with the FIFA kingpin.
  8. It creates an experience that truly comes the closest to actual soccer as any other videogame to date.
  9. GameNow
    100
    The only possible drawback to Winning Eleven 6 is that you must be knowledgeable about real soccer to succeed. [Apr 2003, p.53]
  10. 100
    Not as flashy as FIFA, but its overwhelming features and gameplay options have such depth that you could play for several years and still not see or experience everything in the game.
  11. Without a doubt, the finest soccer game available for any game platform right now.
  12. 92
    The presentation of WE6 rivals any sports title out there. The graphics and sound mesh to deliver an ultra-realistic gaming experience.
  13. A terrific soccer game that adheres to the fundamentals of the sport really well, while offering depth of play.
  14. GMR Magazine
    90
    A deep and ultimately rewarding game that apes soccer completely. From the pace to the strategy to the subtle nuances, it's all there. [Apr 2003, p.62]
  15. 90
    Insanely deep, incredibly polished, and a remarkably intense game of videogame soccer.
  16. Unfortunately many people have been scarred by the abomination known as the "FIFA" series and so are unwilling to try the WE series which is a shame as this is definitely the benchmark of its genre.
  17. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    It's so well-balanced, you're not limited to a video game strategy. You can play it any way you like. It's real soccer, and that why we love it. [Apr 2003, p.100]
  18. Instead of relying on graphics and frills, Konami is putting all it’s eggs in the gameplay basket. They figure that if they improve that and leave other parts a bit lacking people will still enjoy it. I suppose that’s not that bad and we can almost count on great playing games down the line.
  19. Play Magazine
    100
    The definitive soccer game for the PlayStation 2. Sorry, FIFA, we're going to have to put you aside, there's a new soccer game in town and we're in love. [Apr 2003, p.67]
  20. PSM Magazine
    90
    For any soccer fan, Winning Eleven 6 is a game you'll get lost in for months. [Apr 2003, p.27]
  21. Easily the best Soccer game out there for any platform and even moreso one of the BEST sports games on the market. This is "FOOTBALL" the way it's meant to be.
  22. There is simply so much depth that even after 4 months of playing this game, and years of playing the preceding titles in the series I am still amazed by something every single match.
  23. Easily the best soccer game I’ve ever played.

Awards & Rankings

#40 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Viva o tempo em que o futebol era só WINNING ELEVEN.Viva o tempo em que o futebol era só WINNING ELEVEN. Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido eEste jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2015
    9
    Maybe this isn't a serious review. But it is a review for the memories, of the countless hours I played with my brother playing this game, meMaybe this isn't a serious review. But it is a review for the memories, of the countless hours I played with my brother playing this game, me little and he was grown up. I only beat him once ( 1-0), and i remember my biggest loss was 11-0. I was amazed by how realistic it looked, eventhough today everyone would bash it.

    But it creates memories, this beautiful game
    Full Review »