Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. What it lacks in licenses and features (no online play!) WE7I more than compensates for with the most realistic, intense, attractive and all-around addicting soccer game to ever appear on PS2.
  2. But there isn't any game that comes closer to giving the feel of soccer and there are few games that come closer to gaming perfection.
  3. 100
    The level of quality it has maintained is remarkable. In terms of gameplay and depth, there's no question that Winning Eleven 7 is the soccer game to own. [Mar 2004, p.82]
  4. 100
    A model for realistic sports across the board, with physics, player behavior, and animations that raise the bar. Seriously hard-core sport is rarely this accessible and fun.
  5. An example of WE7's overhauled physics engine for the ball itself. It no longer glides over the pitch, but randomly bobbles off the imperfections in the turf. This leads to a slew of new control options for dealing with bouncing balls. [Mar 2004, p.101]
  6. 100
    The control is tighter than ever before and the entire exercise proceeds under a fluid sheen of reciprocal interaction: Input from the gamer equals output on the screen, religiously.
  7. Without a doubt, the most definitive soccer game ever released. [Mar 2004, p.70]
  8. World Soccer Winning Eleven 7 International not only is the best soccer game I have encountered; but it is one of, if not the best sports games, period, for the PS2. Any fan of soccer must own this if you own a PS2. Any gamer that likes a sports game with substance also needs to own this.
  9. Blows past its predecessor and annihilates this year’s competition. This is a new standard for soccer and for sports games in general. The new graphics engine not only enhances the details in visuals but actually improves the gameplay mechanics.
  10. The gameplay engine is brilliant, not only for its attention to detail, but also for its perpetual challenge. I don’t think I can categorize the gameplay as “easy to pick up, but difficult to master” but I never think I’m being cheated by the CPU.
  11. The best soccer game on the market. The animations are amazing and the gameplay is smooth. This is a blast to play.
  12. This second American title absolutely proves that Winning Eleven 7 is the greatest soccer game in the world. It's not perfect, but it easily bests EA Sports' "FIFA." [Feb 2004, p.101]
  13. The gameplay alone is magnificent. The visuals have improved greatly, and the sound is on its way to achieving something more than mediocrity. No longer are the menus confusing like in WE6, and I’d have to say that this version is completely user-friendly.
  14. The game is really advanced and can beat the pants off of "FIFA" any day.
  15. 91
    Everything from the animations to the character models and textures to the cutscenes and the facial expressions on the players themselves have significantly improved. The new graphic engine is also faster, enabling those new animations...The gameplay is still the best in the business.
  16. The fact that KCET has managed to improve upon that game at all is a real testament to the development team's devotion, and the fact that Winning Eleven 7 International is so much better than its predecessor is a remarkable achievement.
  17. This IS soccer in it’s raw and truest form. The game offers many more features, including a newly improved career mode to keep you busy for months on end.
  18. Between the deep formations and tactics, a management portion that allows player purchases and trades, commentary that can be toggled to favor the home or away team or be neutral, and everything else, WE7 crams in as as much sporting content as any soccer fan could hope for. [Mar 2004, p.30]
  19. It's the little things that count, and from the minor (new training minigames) to the major (24 new club teams) to the why-didn't-they-think-of-that-before (referees playing the advantage with fouls), it's all here. [Mar 2004, p.86]
  20. It's the sort of game where you still yearn for goals even when you're 5-0 up in injury time. [JPN Import]
  21. If you've already got a version of Winning Eleven 7 or "Pro Evo 3," this is not enough of an update to warrant re-buying, but newcomers who have the means to play import games may want to consider picking it up. [May 2004, p.111]
  22. 90
    It's reawakened my passion for the world's most popular sport, and it's seized my attention more completely than any video game since "ICO." Konami receives my foot-funk-free Golden Boot for this amazing effort.
  23. This is easily the best soccer game out there, now if only they could come close to what FIFA does with overall presentation in the menus.
  24. The difficulty level has arguably been cranked up a notch, but with a little patience and perseverance, the game is a joy to play. Add to this a new graphics engine and an even more engrossing Master League, and winning becomes the operative word in the game's title.
  25. As good as it gets. The "FIFA" series may have a bit more flash, but Eleven is top of the table when it comes to gameplay - and that's all that counts with soccer. [March 2004, p.118]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. AnthonyA.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Yes, it's the best and now that there are recent games of the group of konami, I like this one, I play master league over and over again Yes, it's the best and now that there are recent games of the group of konami, I like this one, I play master league over and over again and i don't get tired. Blessings for all the video gammer's that could have this game, like me, the other's, they just don't have luck. Full Review »
  2. CarlosN.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Awesome!!!
  3. AndyM.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    This game has no equal just play it once and you'll instantly see all the errors of ea's FIFA this game's gameplay is just This game has no equal just play it once and you'll instantly see all the errors of ea's FIFA this game's gameplay is just awesome it is the best soccer game out there. Full Review »