Worms 3D PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Acclaim
  • Release Date: Mar 11, 2004
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
Buy On
  1. 70
    Technical shortcomings like an occasionally frustrating camera that impedes the view mixed with 3D-centric hurdles such as not being able to perceive distance seem to compile for a battle experience that is not quite as refined as the 2D outings.
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    Singleplayer is weak - despite well-worked tutorial and mission modes it always feels like target practice for combat with friends - and the lack of online support disappoints. But despite a potentially hazardous dimensional switch, it remains as appealing a way of antagonising your friends as ever. [Dec 2003, p.108]
  3. While the fantastic Worms formula stays intact here, it becomes infinitely more difficult to gauge distances, wind, and all that in 3D. For that reason alone, I can't recommend this one over its 2D predecessors. [Apr 2004, p.116]
  4. Is Worms 3D as good as its predecessors such as Worms, and Worms Armageddon? No, but that sure as hell doesn’t mean that Worms 3D should be overlooked.
  5. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    No matter how much you might be enjoying yourself, you realize that Worms 3D lacks the polish it needs to truly evolve the series. For one thing, the camera just plain sucks. [Apr 2004, p.102]
  6. PSM Magazine
    60
    The series' charm is pretty intact, and the random game generator gives it legs (so to speak), but there's no online and the switch to 3D is really ragged. [Apr 2004, p.383]
  7. The sheer amount of weapons helps make the game more interesting as does its sense of humor. Though, I must admit that while the game can be quite charming, a lot of the jokes tend to fall flat.
  8. A schitzophrenic camera, irresponsive controls, and slow gameplay make Worms 3D nothing more than fishbait in this reviewer's eyes.
  9. If you haven't played the series before, I would recommend getting the older titles first.
  10. If you dig its goofy sense of humor, or if you're a fan of previous Worms games, you might find something to like once you get past the 3D-induced flaws. [Apr 2004, p.93]
  11. 72
    If you're getting a few mates around and don't have enough controllers for them, give Worms 3D a rent as you only need one controller to play the multiplayer.
  12. It’s particularly good as a two-player, casual contest. You’ll be hard pressed to find a better alternative for comic, 3D, turn-based combat on a console.

Awards & Rankings

58
#58 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jun 8, 2016
    9
    I had so much fun with this one back in the days. The humour was great, gameplay was pretty fun and challenging at times because you needed toI had so much fun with this one back in the days. The humour was great, gameplay was pretty fun and challenging at times because you needed to think strategically on how you should take turns with certain worms on your team, in various locations on the map. Unless you're by yourself. A lot of replay value on this one and great fun to play with your friends or family! Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    4
    Turning the much loved Worms series into a 3D title certainly made sense at the time but this attempt simply didn't work. The 3D environmentTurning the much loved Worms series into a 3D title certainly made sense at the time but this attempt simply didn't work. The 3D environment made aiming much more difficult than it was previously and without destructible environments much of the strategy, and therefore fun, of the originals was removed. Full Review »
  3. May 16, 2012
    8
    This game is strategic and fun. I played it when I was a kid, and I really enjoyed it. The best in the series. It haves so many weapons toThis game is strategic and fun. I played it when I was a kid, and I really enjoyed it. The best in the series. It haves so many weapons to use, and some destructive bombs... and sheep :D! Full Review »