User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 152

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Wow,lets get right to it and I have to tell you that it's August 2010 and I have yet to find a wrestling game or fighting game as good as this game.I have wwe smackdown vs. raw 2010 and that game is amazing but this game's game play is mind blowing.Especially for how old this game is.The lack of commentary is the only reason I'm knocking off a 1/2 of a point,even though the commentary inWow,lets get right to it and I have to tell you that it's August 2010 and I have yet to find a wrestling game or fighting game as good as this game.I have wwe smackdown vs. raw 2010 and that game is amazing but this game's game play is mind blowing.Especially for how old this game is.The lack of commentary is the only reason I'm knocking off a 1/2 of a point,even though the commentary in all the wrestling games is terrible and the games weakest point,but to this day I play it and love it the best of all my wresling games,I give it a 9.5 Expand
  2. DezB.
    Dec 2, 2003
    6
    Great graphics and a big improvement on the last 2 titles Very Very dissapointed that they havent gone with the Multi player season I used to have so much fun on Smackdown "know your role" on the PSone but good Idea bringing blood back onto the game I have been a fan of wrestling for 20 years and this is the closest ive been to happy with a wrestling game Also why the hell cant you enter Great graphics and a big improvement on the last 2 titles Very Very dissapointed that they havent gone with the Multi player season I used to have so much fun on Smackdown "know your role" on the PSone but good Idea bringing blood back onto the game I have been a fan of wrestling for 20 years and this is the closest ive been to happy with a wrestling game Also why the hell cant you enter a womans wrestler into season mode I mean the womans title is in the game and during the season mode it is defended I hope THQ can rectify this because women are fans of wrestling aswell also About the fact that we were promised superstar voice overs but we didnt get them Many superstars are missing from the game(i:e La resistance, Spike dudley, Mark Henry, Shannon moore,just to name a few) but voice overs and The missing superstars are on the american version(arent us brits good enough for the full version the Yanks even have Zach gowen on the game) I am appalled by their decision to give us a second class game But over all it is the best game on the market. Expand
  3. BobD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    It should be on PC.
  4. BrianM.
    Nov 5, 2003
    1
    More smackdown drivel... When will THQ bring out the defining WWE game? I suppose never.. A wasted oppurtunity.. but than there is always next year.. here comes Smackdown 6 or WWE Smackdown YOU TAPPED OUT! cough
  5. BenjaminH.
    Nov 7, 2003
    0
    It is a bag of rubbish and needs snapping in half!!!!
  6. LohG.
    Feb 7, 2004
    4
    This game is shallow and overrated, you freaks don't know anything about good games. The graphics arent, "good". The Models colide terribly, so when someone punches a fat wrestler, his hand goes through his abdomen, a little weird. All you horny 14 year olds got this game because of the bra and panties match, I bet. The grappling system is better, but still shallow, I think of it as This game is shallow and overrated, you freaks don't know anything about good games. The graphics arent, "good". The Models colide terribly, so when someone punches a fat wrestler, his hand goes through his abdomen, a little weird. All you horny 14 year olds got this game because of the bra and panties match, I bet. The grappling system is better, but still shallow, I think of it as advanced button mashing, and as all these guys say, its the best wrestling game ever, sadly, its not that good. Expand
  7. BobD.
    Jan 17, 2004
    1
    It should be on PC.
  8. BOOKERT.
    Nov 17, 2003
    1
    This game aint da shiznit. story mode should be like madden franchise and it should be multiplayer like the original. the story mode should be changed to be a wrestler . here you practice , attend meetings and take your player through 10 + years . copy madden franchise mode but do it with a wrestling twist. these games grow old too fast!copy the madden franchise mode for a new be aThis game aint da shiznit. story mode should be like madden franchise and it should be multiplayer like the original. the story mode should be changed to be a wrestler . here you practice , attend meetings and take your player through 10 + years . copy madden franchise mode but do it with a wrestling twist. these games grow old too fast!copy the madden franchise mode for a new be a wrestler mode!!! I am genius!!! Expand
  9. GregM.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    There are a lot of wrestlers missing (la resistance,mark henry,maven,etc...)the royal rumble matches are cheap. royal rumble should be played like real life where you have to work to eliminate your opponent or cpu eliminate you. i started number 1 with goldberg, threw out half a dozen wrestlers then got punched twice by hurricane and knocked out. story mode should be longer in year termsThere are a lot of wrestlers missing (la resistance,mark henry,maven,etc...)the royal rumble matches are cheap. royal rumble should be played like real life where you have to work to eliminate your opponent or cpu eliminate you. i started number 1 with goldberg, threw out half a dozen wrestlers then got punched twice by hurricane and knocked out. story mode should be longer in year terms and player attributes shouldnt be based on winning matches. strength should be based on lifting weights in weightroom, speed and endurance based on running on tracks and city streets, technique and submission should be based on training in the ring. all belts should be able to be defended in exhibition. dissapointed that theres no commentery and voice overs. create mode should be upgraded. the ladies in bra and panty some should have thongs on. the legends suck because they dont have their original entrance music or moves. wrestlers should not get pinned after a little clothesline. some wrestlers stats are underrated(ex.haas, benjamin) Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    This was like three years of my life, no joke all I played in middle school was this Here comes the pain, Pokemon Gold and that s really it. WWE SmackDown Here comes the pain is the best!!!!! I really do think this is one my favorite games of all times list. Like I easily put in over one million hours into this game and I never knew the whole time I played this game that the wrestlersThis was like three years of my life, no joke all I played in middle school was this Here comes the pain, Pokemon Gold and that s really it. WWE SmackDown Here comes the pain is the best!!!!! I really do think this is one my favorite games of all times list. Like I easily put in over one million hours into this game and I never knew the whole time I played this game that the wrestlers where real people.....I'm not joking. The music was epic and to this day I still have the whole soundtrack memorized and I also still feel that this game has the best create a wrestler mode out of all other wrestling games I have played. The story mode is awesome but I have to admit after the first time you become the WWE Champion it isn't the same game. Your the best out of over fifty wrestlers and none of them can touch you. Another thing that kinda is broken about this game is that if you spend about fifty hours making a create a character with perfect skill points you can copy him and make a tag team that is perfect and can never lose. My one regret is that I never made my own WWE with perfect wrestlers and had them fight for my honor(that would of been so cool). I will never forget my hundred of hours that I spent hitting half naked dudes with metal chairs and sledgehammers. This is one of my fondest gaming memories and no game other than Pokemon Gold will ever be better. Expand
  11. PillsburyDboy
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  12. SaqibA.
    Nov 7, 2003
    10
    Cool good graphics.
  13. AllenK.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    I am the rocks # 1 fan, and this game is the best AND THE ROCK MEANS THE BEST game ever.
  14. KiyoungS.
    Jan 10, 2004
    8
    The worst part about this game is the announcers. It's so boring with no sounds. Also if you beat season mode 1 time the rest will be the same. But, i'm a #1 wrestling fan, so I quite like the game. Oh, and quite a number of wrestlers are missing, especially they should have had Mark Henry or Maven.
  15. [Anonoymous]
    May 4, 2004
    10
    Great.
  16. HeshtHardy
    Jul 5, 2004
    9
    This game is really addictive but the only good legend is the old school Undertaker.
  17. MatthewK.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    The best graphics of any wrestling game i've ever played!
  18. AniarA.
    Nov 19, 2003
    5
    I give the game a five because there isn't a two player season mode and i also think it is dumb as hell that your created female can not do bra and panties match it is just not fair i also think you should still be able to use superstars face in create mode other than that the game is good.
  19. JohnM.
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    Shut your mouth might have been great but here comes the pain is much much more better you have got the likes of elimination chamber bra and panties and first blood also new wrestlers like scott steiner rey mysterio goldberg and many more and the and the best bits of all is chris jerichos highnight reel evolution and kane unmasked one more thing to say if anyone doesn't know what toShut your mouth might have been great but here comes the pain is much much more better you have got the likes of elimination chamber bra and panties and first blood also new wrestlers like scott steiner rey mysterio goldberg and many more and the and the best bits of all is chris jerichos highnight reel evolution and kane unmasked one more thing to say if anyone doesn't know what to get for christmas this is the game for you. Expand
  20. RobertR
    Nov 6, 2003
    8
    It kicks a$$ but needs more like everybuddy thats in the wwe.
  21. HeribertoS.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    This sh.t is hot as hell.
  22. PatS.
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game so far, with the newest characters. The INjury report in the top of the screen gives the players a good idea of were to work on.
  23. StepIn
    Oct 9, 2003
    10
    It is going to be the best game this year. Nothing will amount to it. all sexy ladies heyyyyy.
  24. KennyH.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    This is definetely THE best wrestling game ever. *Bra and Panties matches!* There's a great create a wrestler thing in it. And it's not frustrating like ECW Hardcore Revolution.(The worst wrestling game ever) Just a flat out great game.
  25. PeterL.
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    This is one of the most addicting games for anyone to play. You'll literally spend hours on the game.
  26. PeterG.
    Mar 2, 2004
    8
    This game is the best wrestling game ever in terms of gameplay and graphics. However I feel there are things missing that could have made the game even better. I think there should be more matches at PPVs, I think there should more wrestlers (such as APA), I think storymode should be longer, I they should bring back create a PPV, AND also I think they should pay more attention on the This game is the best wrestling game ever in terms of gameplay and graphics. However I feel there are things missing that could have made the game even better. I think there should be more matches at PPVs, I think there should more wrestlers (such as APA), I think storymode should be longer, I they should bring back create a PPV, AND also I think they should pay more attention on the wrestlers enterance. Other than that I think the game is the TITS. Collapse
  27. GaryM.
    Mar 23, 2004
    9
    The only thing bad about this game is u cant brake moves or sumbissions. but the season made is krazy it like real life. its very easy and the finishing moves in this game are incredable. my favorite thing about this game is the running specails rynho and test so easy to do running specails but the other thing about this game is it takes about 5 stunners to take brock lesner down.
  28. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    Easily the best game in the series. The ultimate game for wrestling fans everywhere.
  29. HenryT.
    May 30, 2004
    5
    This game is half wack because the old school undertaker should have his old music like the one he is using now with paul bearer and he should not come out in that little ring at entrance.
  30. ShelbyA.
    May 9, 2004
    9
    It is really cool! The only problem I have with it is that I dont know how to use the people I create! But, other then that the game is great! If anyone knows how to use the people they create please e-mail me at rubberducky022792@hotmail.com.
  31. JimmyW.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Awesome awesome awesome the best game i have. looks like the real smackdown and raw i,d reccomend this game 4 any1 who loves wrestling and luvz 2 snap people best game ive ever played.
  32. ShaneM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    I think that out of the smack games i think that this one is the best. i think that the legened characterisc was the best they did to make the game good.
  33. Blizzardbob
    May 15, 2006
    9
    The best wrestling game ever!!!!!!
  34. BryanM.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    This game rocks just by having Goldberg in it makes it a 8, but they could have done better in the season mode that is why it stays a 9 and not a 10.
  35. JoshT.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    This game rocks the world cos that's the bottom line.
  36. CarokA.
    Nov 18, 2003
    9
    This game rocks! elemination chamber is the best!bra and panty match oooooo ya!
  37. Ray
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    God, look at all these 10's. Well here's another too. This is the best wrestling game out now over Raw 2 and WMXIX PERIOD. Nevermind these other peoples review who rate it a 7 or less they dont know sh.t about a good game it kicks ass.
  38. SiuolG.
    Nov 23, 2003
    10
    This game is just too great...ooh...too hot...!
  39. ZacharyW.
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    The best graphics ever for a smackdown game.
  40. BillyA.
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    I think that wwe SmackDown here comes the pain is the best game i have ever played. the bra and pantys match is hot and so is trish. o yeah here comes the pain.
  41. Kairow
    Dec 4, 2003
    9
    I was addicted to the previous SD incarnation. I would compare the slight changes in gameplay and graphics to the differences in THPS2 and 3. Changes had to be made in order to elevate the overall experiance. It's not an update of the previous game, it's an overhaul, and a great one at that. A season mode with story lines, mechanics aproaching a Soul Caliber-type of feel, an I was addicted to the previous SD incarnation. I would compare the slight changes in gameplay and graphics to the differences in THPS2 and 3. Changes had to be made in order to elevate the overall experiance. It's not an update of the previous game, it's an overhaul, and a great one at that. A season mode with story lines, mechanics aproaching a Soul Caliber-type of feel, an amazing create mode, and fantastic replay value. What's not to like? I would of liked to have more than two BG music choices. My grudge with this only exists because every other aspect of the game shines. If you think my praise is unwarnted, play Backyard Westling and see if HCTP does not come out smelling like roses.... Expand
  42. Nirav
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    The Best game ever and one more thing here comes the pain.
  43. RickG.
    Dec 6, 2003
    8
    Graphics are far superior to it's predecessor, although there are a few wrestlers they could've done alot better, such as John Cena. The in-ring action is alot smoother as well, and wrestlers no longer go from lying flat on their backs to instantaneously getting to their feet and knocking down the opponent. Legends are a great addition, but it was a very stupid idea to have them Graphics are far superior to it's predecessor, although there are a few wrestlers they could've done alot better, such as John Cena. The in-ring action is alot smoother as well, and wrestlers no longer go from lying flat on their backs to instantaneously getting to their feet and knocking down the opponent. Legends are a great addition, but it was a very stupid idea to have them carted to the ring rather than walk on their own to some kind of entrance theme. Would've been nice to be able to edit clothing and entrance themes for all wrestlers, but no. And finally, the biggest oversight is the inability to defend titles in exhibition mode, which for me is what made No Mercy the greatest wrestling game ever. It's pointless to have wrestlers wear belts to the ring that can't be defended. I've been a wrestling fan for 20 years, long before bra & panties matches ever existed. I think this is a silly waste of space. This game would've been better served with exhibition title defenses in the place of bra & panties matches. If you have to see scantilly-clad or naked women, go download porn. Expand
  44. RickG.
    Dec 6, 2003
    8
    Graphics are far superior to it's predecessor, although there are a few wrestlers they could've done alot better, such as John Cena. The in-ring action is alot smoother as well, and wrestlers no longer go from lying flat on their backs to instantaneously getting to their feet and knocking down the opponent. Legends are a great addition, but it was a very stupid idea to have them Graphics are far superior to it's predecessor, although there are a few wrestlers they could've done alot better, such as John Cena. The in-ring action is alot smoother as well, and wrestlers no longer go from lying flat on their backs to instantaneously getting to their feet and knocking down the opponent. Legends are a great addition, but it was a very stupid idea to have them carted to the ring rather than walk on their own to some kind of entrance theme. Would've been nice to be able to edit clothing and entrance themes for all wrestlers, but no. And finally, the biggest oversight is the inability to defend titles in exhibition mode, which for me is what made No Mercy the greatest wrestling game ever. It's pointless to have wrestlers wear belts to the ring that can't be defended. I've been a wrestling fan for 20 years, long before bra & panties matches ever existed. I think this is a silly waste of space. This game would've been better served with exhibition title defenses in the place of bra & panties matches. If you have to see scantilly-clad or naked women, go download porn. Expand
  45. AlexS.
    Dec 7, 2003
    8
    This game is a little better than SYM. Has more match types, a better season, legends, and many others. The only problems are: Legends don't have there music when they enter! Doesn't have all wrestler such as APA, Maven, Gail Kim, etc... The game has no announcer's announcing during your match! Just annoying music. I sometimes wonder if I am playing SYM. It is almost alike This game is a little better than SYM. Has more match types, a better season, legends, and many others. The only problems are: Legends don't have there music when they enter! Doesn't have all wrestler such as APA, Maven, Gail Kim, etc... The game has no announcer's announcing during your match! Just annoying music. I sometimes wonder if I am playing SYM. It is almost alike with SYM. Just better graphics and the reverse button is different. But I do like the unlock system. SD! Dollars are much better than winning a match at a PPV to unlock something. But I had everything unlocked in a few weeks! They could have made it more challenging. But overall this game is worth getting if you are a hardcore WWE fan such as myself. Expand
  46. Rick
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    New modes, new characters, better graphics, perfect gameplay, exclusive story mode... This one will rule!
  47. Blizzardbob
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    The best wrestling game ever!!!!!!
  48. JOHNC.
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    Best wrestling game, plus I am the best because I'm the United States champion!
  49. Ratm818
    Apr 15, 2004
    8
    Great game, but i think they should have done more work on the legends. I think they should have there own songs. I also think they should have included people like x-pock and mick folly. SUCK IT!!!!!!
  50. BenS.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    This game is one of the best games i ever had.
  51. B.Rantala
    Aug 19, 2004
    8
    Having played pretty much all the Smackdown games to come before, I can say with some confidence that in pure gameplay, this is the best. The fighting system is as good as anyone could really expect it to be and leads to matches that are as fun to watch as they are to play. HOWEVER-- 1) The new system where you must "level-up" a created wrestler to make him championship-quality needs Having played pretty much all the Smackdown games to come before, I can say with some confidence that in pure gameplay, this is the best. The fighting system is as good as anyone could really expect it to be and leads to matches that are as fun to watch as they are to play. HOWEVER-- 1) The new system where you must "level-up" a created wrestler to make him championship-quality needs tweaking. Players determined enough to fight all the way to the heavyweight title will have to endure many unavoidable beatdowns on their character along the way--there's no way a brand new character, or even a mildly experienced character, can face the likes of Triple H or Brock Lesnar in this game and hope to survive. It would be nice to at least have a chance in these situations--the way they've done it, it's just frustrating. 2) The music is utterly horrible, especially when you are trying to build your own wrestler. 3) Any sort of entrances for the "Wrestling Legends" are not included. This is annoying, being that it takes many hours of play to unlock them and a player should get what he earned. Expand
  52. ErikR.
    May 18, 2005
    10
    I own every smackdown game and this is by far the best. better gameplay and smoother graphics. i recommend this game to anyone even if you dont like wrestling.
  53. TanmayA.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    This is a brilliant game. The best I have ever seen. I love the graphics. The Elimination Match is just great. The new superstars ( Scot Stienier, Goldberg) are great too.
  54. GaryT.
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    The best WWE game out ever more matches like elimination chamber match, bra and panties, better backstage for the hardcore matches, more depper season mode, more wrestles like, Goldberg, scott steiner, un-masked Kane, Evolution and legends are good expecially the old school Undertaker. That was the good things about the game the bad things are dont have some other wrestlers like Shane The best WWE game out ever more matches like elimination chamber match, bra and panties, better backstage for the hardcore matches, more depper season mode, more wrestles like, Goldberg, scott steiner, un-masked Kane, Evolution and legends are good expecially the old school Undertaker. That was the good things about the game the bad things are dont have some other wrestlers like Shane O'Mac, Scotty 2 Hotty, Enterance musics are the the real things for some of them like no words or old music from RVD, Kane, Dudley Boys, and in tag team matches when you taunt your tag team comes in to help you.Thats all, and i would recomend it to any one. Expand
  55. ChrisM.
    Nov 11, 2003
    9
    Wot a game the only thing dat i wished 4 dat the season mode doesnt carry on as long as u want like smackdown 2.
  56. KentA.
    Nov 13, 2003
    9
    This was an excellent game. Improved graphics, the ability of bleeding and everything else. The only let down was the fact that just as i was getting into the game, it ended. season mode was far too short.
  57. KentA.
    Nov 13, 2003
    9
    This was an excellent game. Improved graphics, the ability of bleeding and everything else. The only let down was the fact that just as i was getting into the game, it ended. season mode was far too short.
  58. EdwardH.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    I believe that wwe here comes the pain is the finest game than all the other wrestling games out. You can see all your favorite wrestlers all at once and better yet do things that you always wanted to do. I really think the matches are 100% great well as the storymodes. If you think your too good for this game you just missed the lost. I think this game will make 1,0000 bucks and if you I believe that wwe here comes the pain is the finest game than all the other wrestling games out. You can see all your favorite wrestlers all at once and better yet do things that you always wanted to do. I really think the matches are 100% great well as the storymodes. If you think your too good for this game you just missed the lost. I think this game will make 1,0000 bucks and if you don't think so I have two words for YOU -SUCK!!!! Thanks Alot for reading: By Edward Diontezt Harris. Expand
  59. Mr.S.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    This absolutely the best wrestling game ever because stone cold said so and one thing too caaan youuuu dig it suckaaaaaa?
  60. G.Cheng
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    Best wrestling game I've ever played, the story mode is alot deeper than last years, the graphics are better as well, the legends are fun to play with but their entrance are extremely disappointing, no signature music or pose, but its still a must buy for wrestling fans.
  61. Steven-o
    Nov 7, 2003
    10
    This game is the f'in best, unbelieveable graphics, awsome matches like the elimination chamber by the far the best match in the game, and holy....best game yet of 03/04.
  62. JanrenA.
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    This game is so cool it has so many new features bra and panty match o ya elimination chamber rocks! it also has new wrestlers like rey mysterio goldberg and cool legends like jimmy snuka "super fly."
  63. FrankieC.
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    It will be the best thing since sliced bread, Bra and pantys match need i say more?
  64. KyleT.
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    this game is one of the greatest games there is right now.
  65. KainH.
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME. I have found that Smackdown : Shut Your Mouth for ps2 and Wrestlemania 19 for the Gamecube were the opposites of each other. What one had that was great, the other didnt have and Visca Versa. This game is a culmination of the 2 but without all the flaws. "Example" Trish being able to lift the bigshow no problem and Goldberg being stronger and faster than anyone in the I LOVE THIS GAME. I have found that Smackdown : Shut Your Mouth for ps2 and Wrestlemania 19 for the Gamecube were the opposites of each other. What one had that was great, the other didnt have and Visca Versa. This game is a culmination of the 2 but without all the flaws. "Example" Trish being able to lift the bigshow no problem and Goldberg being stronger and faster than anyone in the game. I give it a 10 because of the shier trial and error that perfeted this game. i would tell anyone who is a fan of wrestling or fighting games in general to buy this game. Expand
  66. ShawnH.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    I been buying smackdown games for age, and i have not seen any thing worth getting. the grahics are like u are in the game. The first blood is the most realisc feature of them all. Some prople are stupid if they think this is 10 or less rated. This is the best game of all time.
  67. AndreasL.
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    Definitely the best of the series, but a lot of power has gone into the graphics and gameplay, so the authentic feel from "Shut your mouth!" has gone a bit. I particularly miss JR and Jerry Lawler's comment (even if only on moves), and the soundtrack. The new music is very arcade-like and annoying (luckily it can be turned off). On the other hand the gameplay has improved Definitely the best of the series, but a lot of power has gone into the graphics and gameplay, so the authentic feel from "Shut your mouth!" has gone a bit. I particularly miss JR and Jerry Lawler's comment (even if only on moves), and the soundtrack. The new music is very arcade-like and annoying (luckily it can be turned off). On the other hand the gameplay has improved considerably, and the season mode has an Xp-feature, making it possible to bring up your wrestler (original or created) from nothing. This really makes the flow much better, combined with the new unlockable-system, based on SmackdownDollars instead of particular PPW's. I liked the feel of the earlier version better, but the superior gameplay, control and season-mode makes this my new overall favorite! Expand
  68. GregL.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Amazing game guys!! keep up the good work! i think its gonna be a greatest hit game soon!
  69. Alex13a.
    Dec 2, 2003
    10
    This game is the best thing that ever happened to me, i just love Bra and panties match, the best thing is season mode because you can earn money.In other words the best game i ever played.
  70. HarisV.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    I like this game because I like the new match and its the elimanation chamber and the bra and panties match the women are so hot especially Stacy Kiebler.
  71. B.C.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    This game rocked although there could've been more recent characters this game is the best one to date on any console. I've played them all and there were none better than this one.
  72. BrandonG.
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    This is the god of all games.
  73. AlvinL.
    Dec 4, 2003
    10
    Yup! The game rocks in every single aspect as one can bargain for except for the multiplayer season mode. The graphics are amazing, the menus are cool and the all the new moves are just begging to be tried out. I give this 10 STARS!!!
  74. DanielF.
    Dec 4, 2003
    8
    Still lacks the playabilty of wwe no mercy on the n64.. still in its own right a good game, could have been alot better though, needs more of multiplayer to it, and even a multiplayer online season mode? now that would be fun.
  75. Adam
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    Game is aswome has great graphics, very fun, and has fun new matches, big step up from SSYM.
  76. JonathanB.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    This game is filled with intense matches ,and more characters than the previouse smackdown games.The elimination chamber is the best by far out of all the matches. The graphics are great to, and that is why I rate this game a perfect 10.
  77. AnthonyV.
    Oct 29, 2003
    8
    The last game was great, and this one is even better both in looks and in feel. The gameplay is much more challenging now that there are two reversal buttons. Bra and Panties is cute, but the Elimination Chamber is phenomenal. Nice touch adding the 11 classic wrestlers too. COMPLAINTS: taunts are worthless in tag-team modes because taunting also calls your AI tag team partner in, which is The last game was great, and this one is even better both in looks and in feel. The gameplay is much more challenging now that there are two reversal buttons. Bra and Panties is cute, but the Elimination Chamber is phenomenal. Nice touch adding the 11 classic wrestlers too. COMPLAINTS: taunts are worthless in tag-team modes because taunting also calls your AI tag team partner in, which is a flagrant mistake on the developers' part. The focusing system is also still flawed. You can't tell me with the PS2 controller's numerous buttons and sticks that this problem couldn't have been rectified? Also, the ref gets in the way far too often during matches. These complaints are minor enough to not make me want to stop playing, though, because the good far outweighs the bad. Expand
  78. BrendonR.
    Oct 29, 2003
    10
    The Best game I ever played. the graphcs are unbeliveable, and all the special matches ah! it's to great to talk about. My god! Brendon Rasulo
  79. NickVanA.
    Feb 17, 2004
    9
    It's a beautiful game.
  80. EvanM.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    This game is incredible. Best WWE game out there. Good graphics, the smackdown dollars are cool, and the grappling system is awesome.The legends are cool except that they don't have they're theme songs. HBK, Goldberg, Edge, Eddie Guerrero...you guys rule. This is a MUST HAVE for ps2
  81. Batman
    Jul 13, 2004
    10
    This is the best wrestling game...the only problems are...you can't hit people when they are doing submissions and you have to do season mode for like 4 years before u can max out a created character...and the create a wrestler mode isnt as cool as wrestlemania xix...
  82. DarioO.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This game has everything u want in a wrestling game.
  83. BrandynT.
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    I THINK ITS THE BEST!
  84. Multi
    Nov 27, 2003
    9
    Ya it's good, but I'd love a multiplayer season mode.
  85. Allmightygod
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    It is the best game i have ever played and the best match i reckon is the elimimation chamber match and the character appeaerance look so life like i dont know how they will top this game.
  86. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    This game maybe addictive but this game does have some flaws to.Like first of all the CAW part of it is only great if you wanna create an old school wrestler or a cartoon.i tryed creating CM PUNK and tyler black and it didn't work out for me.also the legends don't have there own music so....Your gonna have to go to moveset to get a theme that fits all of them.but all tho the game is a funThis game maybe addictive but this game does have some flaws to.Like first of all the CAW part of it is only great if you wanna create an old school wrestler or a cartoon.i tryed creating CM PUNK and tyler black and it didn't work out for me.also the legends don't have there own music so....Your gonna have to go to moveset to get a theme that fits all of them.but all tho the game is a fun and really good game.But it sucks how shut your mouth had commentary and this didn't.Like seriously! Come on THQ. Expand
  87. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Without a doubt my favorite WWE game and i played a lot of WWE games across the ps2, ps3 and the psp. This had a big variety of characters a decent creator mode and a big variety of matches, we had even more possibilities of matches in this game than the latest ones (Fight in the back stages, in the car park, etc). I spent long hours playing this game with friends and my sister, this wasWithout a doubt my favorite WWE game and i played a lot of WWE games across the ps2, ps3 and the psp. This had a big variety of characters a decent creator mode and a big variety of matches, we had even more possibilities of matches in this game than the latest ones (Fight in the back stages, in the car park, etc). I spent long hours playing this game with friends and my sister, this was my second favorite ps2 game (first was GTA: SA). I laughed a lot with this game and will never forget it, and i still play it and enjoy it. Expand
  88. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    CLASSIC i didnt get this game when i was young so i always saw videos and heard it was the best i thought it might not be ture bcuz i was obsesses with the first sd vs raw but this game is AMAZING great backstage areas, TIMES SQUARE and very addictve gameplay and a great roster overall this is the best wwe game ever!
  89. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    All hail Season Mode, the ONE thing that made wrestling games GOOD and amplified an endless amount of replay value.
    Furthermore, if you're a huge fan of the Ruthless Aggression like I am, especially in its early start of 2002-03 - then this is by far the most enjoyable wrestling game you will ever come by. Not counting out its predecessor Shut Your Mouth, but Here Comes the Pain improved
    All hail Season Mode, the ONE thing that made wrestling games GOOD and amplified an endless amount of replay value.
    Furthermore, if you're a huge fan of the Ruthless Aggression like I am, especially in its early start of 2002-03 - then this is by far the most enjoyable wrestling game you will ever come by. Not counting out its predecessor Shut Your Mouth, but Here Comes the Pain improved massively on its gameplay.
    Expand
  90. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    KYR was fun, JBI was good, SYM was great, but HCTP was and always will be the Greatest Smackdown! Game of all time. Everything was awesome in this game.
  91. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    This game is the best wwe game.The game play 100%.The sound 100%.The music in the background is the best and way better than commentary.The sound is 100%.The only one thing bad about it and most users would have said it.There was no Jeff Hardy or Hulk Hogan.Most of the character overalls were not that good.The season mode was the best thing about it.The season mode was about 1 year longThis game is the best wwe game.The game play 100%.The sound 100%.The music in the background is the best and way better than commentary.The sound is 100%.The only one thing bad about it and most users would have said it.There was no Jeff Hardy or Hulk Hogan.Most of the character overalls were not that good.The season mode was the best thing about it.The season mode was about 1 year long and it was fun.You could make your own character and move-set.You could even play season mode with your character.The music made in this game was the best.Commentary is useless.In every wwe game they should make music.I really hope they make another game like this.
    Thanks
    Owaisqadri100
    Expand
  92. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Still the best wrestling game ever created. The character creator & character customization modes are chock-full of content. There are so many battle modes to choose from, and the controls are impeccable, it blows my mind.
  93. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. still the best wwe game ever would like this to be recreated for latest consoles with moderrn graphics same here comes the pain roster with latest added members 2014 and same fast gameplay with latest updated moves for analog controls voice and commentary and entrance all updated wold be a dream game if that happens hope all agree and like it Expand
  94. Sep 4, 2014
    9
    Probably the best wrestling game ever.Hell, it aged so damn well. Great roster, exciting gameplay. Really an epic and also a revolutionary game at that time. There hasn't been any wrestling game since "Here Comes The Pain" that was better and more fun than that. A difficult wrestling game to top.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 91
    One of the best wrestling games we've ever played...With its ultra-improved gameplay mechanics, enhanced visual engine, smarter career mode, and established create-a-character feature, Yukes and THQ are definitely the track to success.
  2. 80
    How about a Bra & Panties mode where WWE Divas rip off each other’s clothes? It’s the raunchiest Teen-rated action you’ll find anywhere.
  3. An absolutely awesome wrestling experience...Thanks to features like improved graphics, more match types, and an overhauled grappling system, it's definitely the most realistic and rewarding WWE game on the market. [Dec 2003, p.56]