• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 83
  2. Negative: 6 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    9
    No doubt one of the best WWE video games of all time. Really enjoyable game and definitely my favorite wrestling game along with "Here Comes The Pain"
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    5
    It's an average wrestling game. No more no less. Not that big of a wrestling fan either. But it has it moments of fun (usually when I'm playing with friends)
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    This is the best wrestling game ever made. And it has a lot of things that are more realistic than the new wrestlings. The best characters are included right here in this game.
    It's feking epic!!
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    6
    I've never really been a big fan of wrestling games, and this game hasn't really changed that. Even though I've been watching WWE for most of my life, the games haven't lived up to what I always pictured they could be. Lack of personality, dependency on button-mashing, and cookie-cutter characters don't portray what the WWE is all about. This game gets a bit closer to an accurateI've never really been a big fan of wrestling games, and this game hasn't really changed that. Even though I've been watching WWE for most of my life, the games haven't lived up to what I always pictured they could be. Lack of personality, dependency on button-mashing, and cookie-cutter characters don't portray what the WWE is all about. This game gets a bit closer to an accurate portrayal of the business with authentic voiceovers, more recognizable character models, and some sort of storyline, but it still feels like it comes up short. I like that you're able to adjust the wrestlers' attributes to reflect their real-life counterparts. I also really enjoyed the satisfaction of slamming opponents to the mat, and the visuals that accompany most of the more powerful moves. The season mode leaves much to be desired as the character you play as doesn't have a voiceover and depending on who you choose, it may not match the Superstar's personality on tv. Also, the interactions with the female Divas are borderline pornographic and cheesy. The mechanics are pretty solid, the graphics are decent enough, and the presentation is pretty cool, but there's so much more that can be done with this franchise, and this game doesn't live up to that. Collapse
  5. MitchellM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    this is one of the best wrestling games ever, but I think wwe smackdown vs raw 2006 will be the best.
  6. AndrewA.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    If you like watching wwe and playing it then you will like this game. i have screen shots of the new smackdown vs raw 2 game. the one thing that is wrong in the game is the legened kane entrace and i think that they should have put austin and hulk hogan and lesner and goldberg and mailny own heart. i have every wwe game for ps2 and ps1. i say that you people should buy the next wweIf you like watching wwe and playing it then you will like this game. i have screen shots of the new smackdown vs raw 2 game. the one thing that is wrong in the game is the legened kane entrace and i think that they should have put austin and hulk hogan and lesner and goldberg and mailny own heart. i have every wwe game for ps2 and ps1. i say that you people should buy the next wwe smackdown vs raw 2. Expand
  7. ChrisH.
    Jul 9, 2005
    8
    Gr8 new version but is old compared to new updates on smackdown and raw with draft lottery etc. Good game worth the money. But after the season is over u have really completed the game eless u player on iternet etc. Good but also somehow disappointing.
  8. MattB.
    Apr 10, 2005
    5
    Season mode is repetitive and gets boring i like last years smackdown better it had more storylines and why did they take out the backstages and i am still waiting for a game that has an infero macth and a bury alive match.
  9. JunaidA.
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    I think that it is great and is online.
  10. Jujubeanolson
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Raw vs Smackdown is a great game,the graphics are excellent,the controls are great. The season mode is fantastic!!! For one reason the shopzone has ledgends like the rock,mankind,the l.o.d.,and Breat 'hitman" Heart,just to name a few. There are a lot of different game modes,loke eliminatin chamber,hell in a cell,tlc,tables,and lots of other match types. The only thing wrong with the Raw vs Smackdown is a great game,the graphics are excellent,the controls are great. The season mode is fantastic!!! For one reason the shopzone has ledgends like the rock,mankind,the l.o.d.,and Breat 'hitman" Heart,just to name a few. There are a lot of different game modes,loke eliminatin chamber,hell in a cell,tlc,tables,and lots of other match types. The only thing wrong with the game is its missing a few wrestlers, like,test,stone cold,the hurricane and rosey,and lita. Expand
  11. JordanF.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    This game rocks! Despite the lack of some characters, this game has good graphics, is easy to play, has realistic entrences, what more is asked of a WWE wrestling game?
  12. TheodoreC.
    Jan 31, 2005
    10
    Best There Where, Best There Is, and Best There Will Ever Be!!!!
  13. EricE.
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    The Best Wrestling game that WWE has to offer.
  14. Guyman
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Brillant game lacks of some titles and people.
  15. TimH.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Cool game.
  16. RyanS.
    Dec 13, 2004
    9
    This game is gd. The graphics & voice overs r amazing. i found that creating ur own belt & ppv were gd 2. But the baddest thing about the game is the season mode. The season mode has gd story lines, but where were the tag team belts & crusierwheight. But besides that this game is awesome.
  17. TheFutureWWEChampion!
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    This game rules. I love how at the end of elimination chambers you start to cry and confetti comes down! The Vengence arena is great. And plus, JBL is on it and so is Rene' Dupree' which are some nice adds. Voice overs are also great. I just wish that mankind was Cactus Jack instead.
  18. ScottyC.
    Dec 3, 2004
    7
    Good game,but the overall improvement of this game sucks. Need better season mode and more wrestlers. Also, needs better match types.
  19. SamD.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    Better people.
  20. JoãoPauloMiróR.
    Nov 12, 2004
    9
    I'm from Portugal, but I ill try my best in writing my critique in English. First, I would give 10 to this game, if it wasnt for this factors I going to mencion next!!! The good things first! Great graphics, no doubt about it, it's cool to have the characters voices and to creat our titles and pay-per-view. Then the bad things I fink it's wrong to take out Stone Cold Steve I'm from Portugal, but I ill try my best in writing my critique in English. First, I would give 10 to this game, if it wasnt for this factors I going to mencion next!!! The good things first! Great graphics, no doubt about it, it's cool to have the characters voices and to creat our titles and pay-per-view. Then the bad things I fink it's wrong to take out Stone Cold Steve Austin, Goldberg, Brock Lensar and some others characters. Wheres Spike Dudley? After all, he is the Cruiserweight Champion! And what's it this ting of taking out th World Tag Team Titles and the Cruiserweight Title?!?! .Remember Here Comes The Pain? In that game, they should already have Spike Dudley, Bily Gunn, Hardcore Holly, Scotty 2 Hotty,etc. About the legends, they sould already have Andre "The Giant". So there, that's my coment. I hope you see things my way! Bye!!! [Ed: Nice job with the English!] Expand
  21. MauzK.
    Nov 12, 2004
    0
    rubbish
  22. JakeL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    It's tight and it has buried alive match.
  23. T.R.
    Nov 8, 2004
    9
    This Game is number 1.
  24. Spooks
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    No doubt i will be enjoying this game for a while, but I do wish they kept SOME stuff from HCTP, like the bigger choice in season mode, but the graphics and voice overs are amazing! I can't tell what is video game and what is real on Mondays and Thursdays!
  25. M.A.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    It's the BEST!!
  26. FrankL.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    Beyond Greatness.
  27. Adis
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    Awesome game, great new features also very excited about the peer 2 peer gamplay only available on this version of wwe wrestling for the ps2. The graphics were awesome but considering the fact that i have most of the wwe games id like to state that this is the best game from wwe wrestling now.
  28. brandonvass
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    this game is the best wwe game ever made. I have watched every video there is on this video game. when i came across this site i wanted to enter my thoughts and i cant wait for this one to come out i have played evry wwf/wwe game ever made wwe is the best.

    alright then cya later

    Brandon Vass
  29. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    I've never really been a big fan of wrestling games, and this game hasn't really changed that. Even though I've been watching WWE for most of my life, the games haven't lived up to what I always pictured they could be. Lack of personality, dependency on button-mashing, and cookie-cutter characters don't portray what the WWE is all about. This game gets a bit closer to an accurateI've never really been a big fan of wrestling games, and this game hasn't really changed that. Even though I've been watching WWE for most of my life, the games haven't lived up to what I always pictured they could be. Lack of personality, dependency on button-mashing, and cookie-cutter characters don't portray what the WWE is all about. This game gets a bit closer to an accurate portrayal of the business with authentic voiceovers, more recognizable character models, and some sort of storyline, but it still feels like it comes up short. I like that you're able to adjust the wrestlers' attributes to reflect their real-life counterparts. I also really enjoyed the satisfaction of slamming opponents to the mat, and the visuals that accompany most of the more powerful moves. The season mode leaves much to be desired as the character you play as doesn't have a voiceover and depending on who you choose, it may not match the Superstar's personality on tv. Also, the interactions with the female Divas are borderline pornographic and cheesy. The mechanics are pretty solid, the graphics are decent enough, and the presentation is pretty cool, but there's so much more that can be done with this franchise, and this game doesn't live up to that. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Even the new additions to the franchise lack enough depth to warrant picking this up if you already own "Here Comes The Pain."
  2. This is the best game yet in the Smackdown series, and the best WWE game on any system. It has its share of problems, but when taken as a whole, this game is almost impossible not to enjoy.
  3. This is indeed the best version of WWE Smackdown there has been yet. To be honest, it's really the best wrestling game out there right now.