• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2007
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Everything else is pretty much the same as the PS3 version, though, sadly, the online play has been stripped out. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. As solid as ever but lacks next-gen dazzle and is inevitably weaker online. [Dec 2007, p.44]
  3. While some PS2 owners will be glad their old platform is getting some port-down love, the game just isn't getting any better from a graphical standpoint.
  4. A definite step up in quality from last year. [Dec 2007, p.78]
  5. Although there’s some new stuff, it sticks with last year’s formula. Which probably wouldn’t be that bad if the same old problems didn’t remain intact, from the limited AI to the graphical bugs, not forgetting those annoying loading screens. [Dec 2007]
  6. A good rental for most and a decent buy for the super-hardcore wrestling fanatic, WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2008 doesn’t push the series forward. But with the next-gen consoles in full swing, it doesn’t seem like there is much room for the game to grow without jumping ship.
  7. However, considering how affordable the previous versions get when the new titles hit the shelves, you’re better off picking up one of those games and saving your money.
  8. 68
    The graphics are stale, single-player 24/7 Mode is a step backward for the series, the Create-A-Superstar and GM 24/7 are basically rehashes of last year's product, and the same complaints we've had for years -- awful AI, lame commentary, poor collision detection -- are still rampant.
  9. WWE Smackdown vs. Raw could have been a great game and a step into making the best wrestling game to date. With so much potential that could have been used, the game just feels a bit too unbalanced at times.
  10. With little notable improvement to the formula and steps backward in several key areas, SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008 is a big disappointment.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    This is my first wrestling game so from what I've played, the game is alright. It's good in multi-player and the graphics are pretty much what I expected so for a wrestling game, it ticks all the boxes. Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    While 2008 doesn't innovate the series in any way, fans will be more than enthralled with the new ECW roster to play with. Pros: Additional ECW roster; excellent graphics and controls; improved online play. Cons: Doesn't take a step back or forward since its predecessor; limited roster. Full Review »
  3. CzheckC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    0
    Are you kidding me? ive been a wrestling fan since 1997 and have bought every wrestling game. this is buy far the worst one i have played. No shelton benjamin. all tournment modes suck u cant pick whos in the king of the ring there are so many things that suck in this game it makes the 2006 smackdown vs raw look like the best wrestling game. if your a true wrestling fan and u dont care about all the smoke and mirrors about graphics id get fire pro wrestling returns i just got it its amazing. i hope they never make a smackdown vs raw game again unless they start over from scratch and have real legends. i had to throw this game in the trash it made me so mad no joke. Full Review »