WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2008 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2008 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 lets players take the fight into their own hands with the debut of Superstar Fighting Styles. The game features eight unique styles, each having its own strategy and exclusive attributes. A brand new Struggle Submission System gives players intuitive and naturalWWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 lets players take the fight into their own hands with the debut of Superstar Fighting Styles. The game features eight unique styles, each having its own strategy and exclusive attributes. A brand new Struggle Submission System gives players intuitive and natural control over their WWE Superstars by using the game's popular analog controls. Realism and strategy are at the forefront, as players now control the amount of pressure they apply to their opponents. In addition, WWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 features a significant Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) presence, including a variety of Superstars, arenas and weapons. The game is also packed with significant updates requested by fans, including new rosters, more environmental hotspots, a combined Season and General Manager Mode experience, improved out-of-ring action, enhanced online community support and much more. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PSM Magazine
    85
    Everything else is pretty much the same as the PS3 version, though, sadly, the online play has been stripped out. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. Games Master UK
    82
    As solid as ever but lacks next-gen dazzle and is inevitably weaker online. [Dec 2007, p.44]
  3. While some PS2 owners will be glad their old platform is getting some port-down love, the game just isn't getting any better from a graphical standpoint.
  4. A good rental for most and a decent buy for the super-hardcore wrestling fanatic, WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2008 doesn’t push the series forward. But with the next-gen consoles in full swing, it doesn’t seem like there is much room for the game to grow without jumping ship.
  5. However, considering how affordable the previous versions get when the new titles hit the shelves, you’re better off picking up one of those games and saving your money.
  6. 68
    The graphics are stale, single-player 24/7 Mode is a step backward for the series, the Create-A-Superstar and GM 24/7 are basically rehashes of last year's product, and the same complaints we've had for years -- awful AI, lame commentary, poor collision detection -- are still rampant.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Oct 5, 2015
    8
    Despues de jugar el WWE 2007 y me gusto tanto que me compre WWE 2008, que puedo decir de este juego ? Que tiene un roster muy variado y muyDespues de jugar el WWE 2007 y me gusto tanto que me compre WWE 2008, que puedo decir de este juego ? Que tiene un roster muy variado y muy bueno, con nombres realmente iconicos, la jugabilidad es innovadora muy distinta a lo que era la entrega anterior, las gráficas buenas para su época, el modo historia bueno . Un gran juego Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    While 2008 doesn't innovate the series in any way, fans will be more than enthralled with the new ECW roster to play with. Pros: AdditionalWhile 2008 doesn't innovate the series in any way, fans will be more than enthralled with the new ECW roster to play with. Pros: Additional ECW roster; excellent graphics and controls; improved online play. Cons: Doesn't take a step back or forward since its predecessor; limited roster. Collapse
  3. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    This is my first wrestling game so from what I've played, the game is alright. It's good in multi-player and the graphics are pretty much whatThis is my first wrestling game so from what I've played, the game is alright. It's good in multi-player and the graphics are pretty much what I expected so for a wrestling game, it ticks all the boxes. Expand
  4. Locc0Locc0
    Nov 12, 2007
    6
    Dis game realli bites, expected so much, d graphics wer lookin great, at 1st, but wen u play a match or 24/7 mode, u can see how bad it is,Dis game realli bites, expected so much, d graphics wer lookin great, at 1st, but wen u play a match or 24/7 mode, u can see how bad it is, worse even 2 svr 2007, n d gameplay controls get more complicatin evry year, except for d new submission hold, which is better than d butt0n mashing needed for past games, d onli high i can get from dis game is dere is always next year..... Expand
  5. HaydenE.
    Feb 1, 2008
    6
    WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008 game is awsome but it lacks in a lot of different ways.First im ganna start off by telling you the good things WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008 game is awsome but it lacks in a lot of different ways.First im ganna start off by telling you the good things about WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008. Good Things: 1.ok graphics i was expecting better but they where good unuff. 2.New Belts including the WCW belt. 3.The new Desighn in Exbedition Rocks! 4.Music 5.there is no five because thats all thats good. Know for the bad things..... 1.24/7 Mode is the worst you cant even play the ECW Charcters on it. 2.24/7 mode General Manger style is awful period. 3.Online Play is worser than 2007. 4.Hall of Famers that I Have never even herd of becieds a couple. 5.Small and I meen small Roster! So its a buyer but Next year i expect way more! Expand
  6. May 13, 2016
    4
    I'm not a fan of SvR series but it's the worst one, the wrestling styles is cool but remains the same deep problems (a system based in reflexI'm not a fan of SvR series but it's the worst one, the wrestling styles is cool but remains the same deep problems (a system based in reflex and smash buttons over ability and strategy) and the worst of all is the 24/07 mode, which sadly killed the GM mode. Expand
  7. CzheckC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    0
    Are you kidding me? ive been a wrestling fan since 1997 and have bought every wrestling game. this is buy far the worst one i have played. No Are you kidding me? ive been a wrestling fan since 1997 and have bought every wrestling game. this is buy far the worst one i have played. No shelton benjamin. all tournment modes suck u cant pick whos in the king of the ring there are so many things that suck in this game it makes the 2006 smackdown vs raw look like the best wrestling game. if your a true wrestling fan and u dont care about all the smoke and mirrors about graphics id get fire pro wrestling returns i just got it its amazing. i hope they never make a smackdown vs raw game again unless they start over from scratch and have real legends. i had to throw this game in the trash it made me so mad no joke. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007