Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Though the game is woefully short, the game does set a standard for RPG difficulty, which might breathe some challenge into the genre.
  2. This version seems even less interactive than the original. So for those of you, who got bored with the first, stay away.
  3. Despite the game's pacing, the graphics, cut-scenes, and second half of the story end up making Episode II a solid RPG - just not the epic sequel that the previous game deserves. [March 2005, p.122]
  4. In the end, it feels more like "Xenosaga Episode I: The Deleted Scenes." [March 2005, p.96]
  5. 70
    Less than half as long as the original, making it something of a disappointing RPG snack for fans hoping to sink their teeth into a hearty meal -- something one would obviously expect after the seemingly endless twists and turns of the original.
  6. The new combat system is complicated but imaginative and adds much depth to the gameplay that was already superb.
  7. A good game all-around and a great continuation of the planned six-part saga, Episode II still falls short of what you'd expect from a supposed epic.
  8. 70
    Whichever side of the fence you sit on, it's probably safe to say that Xenosaga II is one of the better movies to come out in 2005.
  9. 70
    Episode 2 is comparatively short not only in terms of Episode 1 but in comparison to RPGs in general. Whilst its length seems well paced in terms of the combat and exploration aspects of the title, its narrative just doesn't quite do enough.
  10. Frankly, the game components could’ve been stripped out and this would’ve scored better as an anime DVD, but as a game, it’s going to come off a very tiresome to the average gamer.
  11. Xenosaga 2, is a big commitment for any gamer. If you want to get the most out of the game you're looking at weeks of concentrated staccato playing/watching/playing/watching as you work your way through the huge narrative arc.
  12. More than a story game, Xenosaga II just about prevails in spite of itself as a title worth witnessing...for the patient. [Dec 2005, p.118]
  13. Good, just not great, and fails to live up to the expectations of its originator.
  14. I don't think I can stress it enough; I really don't like the overhaul of the battle system in Xenosaga II.
  15. Every enemy has a fatal Achilles' Heel. Once you learn a combo to exploit it, all battles become trivial. [Feb 2005, p.79]
  16. 60
    Episode II offers hints of excellence, but few of them have anything to do with the gameplay.
  17. A decent chapter in a larger story, but as a standalone game it's simply not that exciting. It's hard to get over the dumbed-down combat and character development systems.
  18. This is a story worth telling, but you'll be beaten and abused while you try to listen to it.
  19. A pleasant addition to this templated tale.
  20. 60
    Despite the balance problems, less gripping story, somnolent voice acting, and dichotomous soundtrack, Xenosaga II is still a playable RPG if you don’t expect it to set your world on fire.
  21. The player is required to reap their principle enjoyment from the narrative and the cinematic rather than the interactive. The traditional flow of play has been turned on its head: cut-scenes are the new king, gameplay elements little more than lines to link the drama. [Apr 2005, p.104]
  22. Despite a big, engrossing story and some improved combat features, this second step in the Xenosaga series doesn’t manage to live up to its prior success. Hopefully, the next game will tone down the excessive storytelling segments and continue refining the combat.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. AndrewC.
    Feb 8, 2007
    5
    Ouch...this here sequel to one of my favorite RPG's ever is a steaming pile of feces. The gameplay is terrible, the voice acting Ouch...this here sequel to one of my favorite RPG's ever is a steaming pile of feces. The gameplay is terrible, the voice acting practically ruined, the great soundtrack missing, the cutscenes uninspiring, and worst of all it just doesn't look good. Very, very disappointing. Full Review »
  2. LUUQ.
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    BEST!!!
  3. Mar 16, 2015
    6
    While I did certainly enjoy this game, it was certainly a departure from what I appreciated about the first and third games. First of all, IWhile I did certainly enjoy this game, it was certainly a departure from what I appreciated about the first and third games. First of all, I missed the voice actors that portrayed each of the characters. That is a large part of my score for this game. However, the graphics were still great (for the time). The battle system was an interesting upgrade that I often appreciated, however it was occasionally estoeric. The story is still a huge part of the game and that I believe was still done quite well. Full Review »