• Publisher: Acclaim
  • Release Date: Aug 21, 2001
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Visually, be prepared to be stunned.
  2. The sense of speed delivered is phenomenal, from the sounds of your bike revving at the beginning of the race (kind of like a jet engine...), to the smooth frame rate, you will certainly feel like you're shooting along at hundreds of miles per hour.
  3. Extreme G3 is so good, that if and when "Wipeout Fusion" is ever released it will have to be such an amazing game to even kiss the shoes of G3.
  4. Although there are a few minor annoyances, it’s unbelievable speed, mind-blowing tracks, and great upgrade selection make this a definite sleeper hit for racing fans.
  5. The visual impact of the game is fantastic in terms of the surroundings that you race through, the shape of your bike and the track design.
  6. Let me tell ya something -- XGIII is a flat-out, go-for-gonzo experience, the coolest racing game I've played in years.
  7. A smart and solid racing game that provides an amazing feeling of true speed.
  8. 84
    It's very fast, it's beautiful, and it's engaging, challenging and fun...In the racing category for the PS2 right now, there is nothing quite like XG3.
  9. A good game. A fast game. A beautiful game. It is also a short game - I beat it within a day. Now, keep in mind I've had more speeding tickets than you've had hot dinners.
  10. As much fun as I had with Extreme G3, I have to give the slight nod to Kinetica in this issue's futuristic racer debate. [Nov 2001, p.110]
  11. Until we see what "WipEout Fusion" can offer, it’s the best futuristic racing game available on the PS2.
  12. 80
    An intensely addictive, if not particularly innovative, racer.
  13. You've never before experienced speed like this in a game. [Nov 2001, p.154]
  14. For strictly pedal to the metal action that requires leaving your brain in park, Extreme G3 is a blazingly fast and fun ride.
  15. You'll be grinding your teeth every few minutes as you realize the difficulty that Acclaim has sunk into this thing.
  16. XG3 features a thrilling sense of speed which more than makes up for a dull soundtrack and unoriginal environments.
  17. These intense, roller coaster–like tracks will twist and turn until you swallow your tongue and beg for mercy.
  18. While there are a few glaring problems, most notably with the poorly implemented multiplayer features, plain jane graphics, and lackluster AI, XGIII Extreme G Racing is still fun to play.
  19. 70
    The shortcomings in getting the player involved in the league mode are easily offset by the driving itself, which is strangely addicting even though it can be difficult and repetitive at times.
  20. Even at those speeds, the heart-pounding moments are few and far between. [Nov 2001, p.206]
  21. On the whole, this definitely delivers the rush speed freaks crave. [Dec 2001, p.105]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    7
    Pros: Beautiful graphics and a dramatic sense of high speed, interesting new game mechanics

    Cons: Little to no variety in bike chasis style
    compared to the previous two games in the series Full Review »
  2. ZiggyStardust
    May 11, 2002
    5
    Extreme plays fairly well, but it's missing a bunch of features that should have been there. it doesn"t keep track of record times! who ever heard of such a thing in a modern racing game? all it keeps track of are seaparte saved game track times, without a name beside them (your grandma may hold a record, you don't know). so basically if you and a friend want to both beat XG3, your record times won"t be in competition with one another since they're different saved games. you'll just be competeing against yourself. secondly, tracks have to be unlocked in order to play them. since there are no difficulty settings, some people may only get to play 1 level (i feel for the newinexperienced gamers here). my younger cousin couldn't come close to unlocking track 2 after a bunch of tries. thirdly, the interface for getting a game started is poor. you are forced to load a saved game every time you want to play; there's no quick way for you and your friends to just jump in and have some fun. fourthly, the graphics are a little jagged and unimpressive. i guess they have an excuse since the framerate needs to be so high. but there's still some slowdown in later levels (especially with rain) those are my large gripes. with those things changed, this game would kick butt, currently it doesn't though. ps. it's also a bit of an f-zero x rip-off (except it"s not as good) Full Review »
  3. TomL.
    Sep 7, 2001
    9
    This futuristic bike racer is so fast and furious you'll have blisters on your fingers by the time you finish this challenging game.