XIII Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The President of the United States of America has been assassinated. You wake up on a desolate strip of New England beach. The near-fatal impact of a bullet has left your head pounding, and your memory erased. What's more, the number "XIII" has been mysteriously tattooed on your chest, whileThe President of the United States of America has been assassinated. You wake up on a desolate strip of New England beach. The near-fatal impact of a bullet has left your head pounding, and your memory erased. What's more, the number "XIII" has been mysteriously tattooed on your chest, while your pocket holds a key to a New York City bank box. Head swimming in amnesia, you struggle to your feet only to encounter more assailants intent on finishing the job. To your shock, you handle the hitmen with the killing skills of a professional - before heading to the bank in search of any shred of information about your lost identity and your involvement in the President's murder. What lies ahead is a deadly quest not only into your shadowy past, but America's darkest corridors of power. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. GameNow
    100
    Simply the coolest first-person shooter -- ever. [Dec 2003, p.58]
  2. For all the niggles, gripes and irritations, XIII is a class act that has some supremely impressive aspects that you will thoroughly enjoy. This is a game that delights and infuriates in turn and our advice is to ration your XIII sessions so the frustration doesn't ruin what remains a standout title.
  3. And with the engaging story, plus the graphic-novel presentation (boxes of action and text are constantly popping up on-screen), this truth is worth uncovering.
  4. This was, overall, a well put together game but the AI is one of the things that could have been much better instead of the simple just standing around and shooting things.
  5. I came away longing for the great game that this could have been, rather than the merely adequate game that it is. [Dec 2003, p.141]
  6. Definitely a single player title first, multiplayer title second. Even in the former, it lacks the material to vault it into the stratosphere and turn XIII into a classic. Style and visuals can only do so much for a game.
  7. And despite its groovy style, XIII isn’t much more than a run-of-the-mill game. Its presentation is definitely worthy of a look (particularly if you own an Xbox) but its gameplay is about as straightforward - and in some cases boring - as it gets for an FPS.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I loved this game since it came stand I love the unique game play. There was one flaw in the game play. Though the deathmatch and team gamesI loved this game since it came stand I love the unique game play. There was one flaw in the game play. Though the deathmatch and team games are the same for ps2 and xbox. The flaw is that on the xbox you can select a character type before each round (assault sniper ect) and change.it during game play. On the ps2 that does.not.exist or I missed something. If I did let me know Expand
  2. StevenG.
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    My favourite game of all time.
  3. DudeH.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I thought this game was one of the best PS2 games made. I found the gameplay to be fun, and the visuals engaging enough to make me want to I thought this game was one of the best PS2 games made. I found the gameplay to be fun, and the visuals engaging enough to make me want to see what was next. The reason I give it a 10 is because it also had great online play. Collapse
  4. KyleK.
    Jan 25, 2004
    9
    I'm a fps fan as i love timesplitters 2 and red faction 2. I played x111 for ages and it is a really fun enjoyable game for something I'm a fps fan as i love timesplitters 2 and red faction 2. I played x111 for ages and it is a really fun enjoyable game for something different. The weopons are cool. Loads of levels and good graphics grading it from a cartoon point of veiw. This game is sometimes repeadative but it makes up for the 34 story mode missions and the 21 multiplayers levels. Pretty cool game. As i said it's something different. Expand
  5. BrianB.
    Jul 19, 2005
    8
    It has a really cool look to it. The gameplay is fairly average for a FPS. It was fun, and had a good story, but I was actually more It has a really cool look to it. The gameplay is fairly average for a FPS. It was fun, and had a good story, but I was actually more impressed with the Bond-esque bonus games like deathmatch and capture the flag. At a $7 used price, I'd recommend it in a second! Expand
  6. WillJ.
    Dec 10, 2003
    8
    There have been a lot of criticisms of this game, and those might be very valid for people who are pretty jaded about the FPS genre. But as There have been a lot of criticisms of this game, and those might be very valid for people who are pretty jaded about the FPS genre. But as someone who puts more of a premium on story, style, and the sheer "did I enjoy it?" factor, I can only recommend this game. Reminded me of "No One Lives Forever". Expand
  7. ValC
    Jan 27, 2010
    5
    It's impossible to play, you have no idea what to do and you can't do anything. The graphics make it impossible to see anything and It's impossible to play, you have no idea what to do and you can't do anything. The graphics make it impossible to see anything and you die around every corner. Shooting is a horrible pain. I do not recommend this game. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

91
89
#89 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
58
#58 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003