Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. If a small portion of you has always wondered what a game like this is all about, this is the best card game that money can buy. [Apr 2003, p.85]
  2. If you are a true YU-GI-OH fan, into the trading card thing, and have a decent understanding of the YU-GI-OH card’s powers, yada yada, you will probably love this FIRST EVER YU-GI-OH PS2 videogame.
  3. A run of the mill game. When you play this game you feel as though this game should be better than it is.
  4. 71
    The story concept behind the game is surprisingly interesting, diverging from the typical rehashing of a franchise universe seen in many similar tie-ins.
  5. 60
    The most distinguishing feature of Duelists of the Roses is that the game is really freaking hard.
  6. A beautifully produced, rule heavy, text heavy, story heavy, lore heavy, chess-like card battle royale that could have Yu-Gi-Oh fans pulling more all-nighters than the graveyard shift at Del Taco. [May 2003, p.61]
  7. 60
    Probably best appreciated by newcomers to the Yu-Gi-Oh game who want to learn how to play.
  8. 58
    As you get deeper into the game, the attack/defense system starts to make sense, and the whole play experience becomes very tense and strategic. [Mar 2003, p.40]
  9. 57
    Instead of building on everything that made "The Eternal Duelist Soul" a good game, they built upon everything that made "Forbidden Memories" a mediocre game, and then added enough additional confusion and frustration to the game to make it nearly unplayable for all but the most rabid of Yu-Gi-Oh! fans.
  10. The presentation is terribly stripped-down, and as an odd duck sort of hybrid strategy game, it doesn't offer much accessibility or depth.
  11. Everything about Roses is designed to make you feel like a total loser. The difficulty level is ratcheted up so high, you're bound to lose billions of battles before you can build a decent deck. [Apr 2003, p.98]
  12. A surprisingly addictive experience. The problem is, it takes forever to learn how to play the damn thing. [Apr 2003, p.120]
  13. Strictly for fanboys, PS2 library completists or masochists in search for a higher-than-normal threshold of pain in their interactive diet.
  14. When these sorts of loaded odds are all you get in lieu of a competitive computer player, the whole thing feels like you're being cheated rather than challenged.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 10 out of 41
  1. BillyP.
    May 3, 2003
    10
    The game is awesome. The only thing i dont like about it is that thay shuld let you pick more deaks.
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    1
    the game is so **** unfair, the first few fights are so easy and you always **** win then when it gets to the third one (mai valentine) youthe game is so **** unfair, the first few fights are so easy and you always **** win then when it gets to the third one (mai valentine) you just get **** raped over and over and over. they give you some hope and just wiggle the tip near your **** for a bit and you think the raping is over and you're about to get away and then they just shove it back in there and watch you cry like a little **** i hate this **** game Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Game of my youth, still love it to this day. Looking back, it was a lot harder to me 9 years ago when I didn't know what the hell I was doing,Game of my youth, still love it to this day. Looking back, it was a lot harder to me 9 years ago when I didn't know what the hell I was doing, ai could've used some work, but since it was released in 2003, i'll let it slide.
    GREAT GAME
    Full Review »