User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 71
  2. Negative: 12 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. B.S.
    Mar 20, 2003
    4
    Lacking multiplayer and passwords (for bring in real cards) this game takes away the options the out of date forbidion memories had!!! But what r u tak'in bout I loved the sounds and the graphics!!! but sigh duel master k acts like hes drunk when I duel him he sucks!!!!!!!!!!
  2. KayW.
    Apr 16, 2003
    4
    This game has great levels of play and but the graphics and speed of the game really needs to be improved.This game could be good if they spent a bit more time on it. I would still purchase this game.
  3. JoshJ.
    Apr 19, 2003
    3
    It was as horrible as a monkey bum unless you liked it , i wanted to break the game as soon as i started to play it it was stupid if your going to get this dont because its retarded
  4. ObjectiveThinking
    Aug 20, 2003
    2
    There are literally 50 super nintendo games I can name off the top of my head that look, and play better than this game. I feel sorry for every person who helped make this stupid game. And the game isn't hard at all, I don't know what the reviewers are talking about.
  5. DragonKnight
    Apr 27, 2006
    2
    Horrible grid combat with extreme difficulty settings that their eleven year old audience may not be able to play it. I couldn't bare to play it for too long. The graphics are rarely seen and when they are, they aren't bad. The sound is unmemorable and the story is just as forgettable. Don't get this for yourself or anyone. The gameplay could be pretty decent if it Horrible grid combat with extreme difficulty settings that their eleven year old audience may not be able to play it. I couldn't bare to play it for too long. The graphics are rarely seen and when they are, they aren't bad. The sound is unmemorable and the story is just as forgettable. Don't get this for yourself or anyone. The gameplay could be pretty decent if it wasn't so hard and didn't expect so much from you so quickly. Expand
  6. CATMan
    Dec 23, 2003
    2
    This games graphics blow i bought the game for ps2 and played for 1 or 2 hours and beat the whole game the sound is ****'d up it frezzez all the time and that ot only on my ps2 i tried it on my friends also and it freezez so it is the crapiest game ever.TIP: DONT BUY IT
  7. AndrewC.
    Dec 23, 2003
    1
    This game stinks. It a stupid card game for 3 year olds the only people who like it haven't played any real games like prince of persia.
  8. EricW.
    Mar 14, 2003
    2
    Game is not very challenging to say the very least. After being a yu-gi-oh fan of the cartoon series but having never played the card game before, it only took me a few games to begin winning every duel. I am an old MTG gamer and know strategy very well, the computer is predictable. The graphics are rather bad considering this is a PS2 game , sound is horrific and one of the more fun Game is not very challenging to say the very least. After being a yu-gi-oh fan of the cartoon series but having never played the card game before, it only took me a few games to begin winning every duel. I am an old MTG gamer and know strategy very well, the computer is predictable. The graphics are rather bad considering this is a PS2 game , sound is horrific and one of the more fun aspects of the game ( fusions, Rituals) are way to time consuming to learn or aquire the cards for the rituals. I beat both sides ( white and red ) in one night of like 4 hours so not nearly worth my 39.99 I paid for this game. Tip: once you aquire a few decent powerful cards, duel yourself in custom duel to spin and get duplicates of those cards. Once I had a few decent dragons and couple mountains you can really own just about anyone in the game, get a couple swordstalkers in your deck as well, they are very helpful indeed. Oh, only reason I continue to play this game is trying to level my deck leader up to get special leader skills. I have played like way over 100 games and yet to get any special abilities for him at all. Expand
  9. ConM.
    Jun 23, 2006
    0
    This game sucks, unless someone can give me the cheat of getting the Gate Guardian Ritual.
  10. Mar 14, 2014
    1
    the game is so **** unfair, the first few fights are so easy and you always **** win then when it gets to the third one (mai valentine) you just get **** raped over and over and over. they give you some hope and just wiggle the tip near your **** for a bit and you think the raping is over and you're about to get away and then they just shove it back in there and watch you cry like a littlethe game is so **** unfair, the first few fights are so easy and you always **** win then when it gets to the third one (mai valentine) you just get **** raped over and over and over. they give you some hope and just wiggle the tip near your **** for a bit and you think the raping is over and you're about to get away and then they just shove it back in there and watch you cry like a little **** i hate this **** game Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. 58
    As you get deeper into the game, the attack/defense system starts to make sense, and the whole play experience becomes very tense and strategic. [Mar 2003, p.40]
  2. The presentation is terribly stripped-down, and as an odd duck sort of hybrid strategy game, it doesn't offer much accessibility or depth.
  3. When these sorts of loaded odds are all you get in lieu of a competitive computer player, the whole thing feels like you're being cheated rather than challenged.