Yu-Gi-Oh! The Duelists of the Roses Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The lineage of Yugi and Kaiba clash again! Choose your side in the final Rose War in England and fight to collect the opposing army's rose cards and overthrow the enemy. Attack with your powerful deck in order to defeat duelists seen in the hit animated series. An all-new card movementThe lineage of Yugi and Kaiba clash again! Choose your side in the final Rose War in England and fight to collect the opposing army's rose cards and overthrow the enemy. Attack with your powerful deck in order to defeat duelists seen in the hit animated series. An all-new card movement system allows full control of over 600 different monsters and introduces advanced strategies never before seen in the Yu-Gi-Oh! world. Card Movement Battle System enhances the strategy. Side with Yugi or Kaiba to determine the course of the game. 680 beautifully rendered monsters in full 3D. 3 exclusive game cards included. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Game Informer
    80
    If a small portion of you has always wondered what a game like this is all about, this is the best card game that money can buy. [Apr 2003, p.85]
  2. If you are a true YU-GI-OH fan, into the trading card thing, and have a decent understanding of the YU-GI-OH card’s powers, yada yada, you will probably love this FIRST EVER YU-GI-OH PS2 videogame.
  3. A run of the mill game. When you play this game you feel as though this game should be better than it is.
  4. GameNow
    58
    As you get deeper into the game, the attack/defense system starts to make sense, and the whole play experience becomes very tense and strategic. [Mar 2003, p.40]
  5. netjak
    57
    Instead of building on everything that made "The Eternal Duelist Soul" a good game, they built upon everything that made "Forbidden Memories" a mediocre game, and then added enough additional confusion and frustration to the game to make it nearly unplayable for all but the most rabid of Yu-Gi-Oh! fans.
  6. The presentation is terribly stripped-down, and as an odd duck sort of hybrid strategy game, it doesn't offer much accessibility or depth.
  7. 40
    When these sorts of loaded odds are all you get in lieu of a competitive computer player, the whole thing feels like you're being cheated rather than challenged.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. BillyP.
    May 3, 2003
    10
    The game is awesome. The only thing i dont like about it is that thay shuld let you pick more deaks.
  2. VincentL.
    Jun 5, 2003
    10
    This Game Is Great! But I dont seem to see all the cards yet :P
  3. JamesB.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    ALL i can say this game Rocks there are no promblems in it at all and you get 3 crads when you bye the game to this game ROCKS DUDE!
  4. KrisB.
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    This game kick ass.I my self also play the card game its fun an plus the cards that came with it really improve my deck cause i can finely This game kick ass.I my self also play the card game its fun an plus the cards that came with it really improve my deck cause i can finely speical summon Valkuron the magna warrior:) i like the way the monsters come to live:) Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    At first to be completely honest i was a bit dissapointed when i saw this game wouldnt be playing like the card game, but rather it would beAt first to be completely honest i was a bit dissapointed when i saw this game wouldnt be playing like the card game, but rather it would be playing like a yugioh and chess hybrid, but once i got into the game, and got used to it, i really enjoyed this twist. it really freshens up the experience, and i found that it helps as well that the game has branching story lines, which helps with the longetivity, as well as the replayability. The graphics are good as well, nothing to rank home about, but certainly gets the job done rather quite nicely. I really enjoyed how they presented the story putting yugioh characters in the war of the roses. i really thought this was an inovative and interesting story and plot, and it really caught my interest. What truely amazed me with this game however, was the soundtrack. I honestly cant even describe, this games soundtrack is by far within my top 10 video game soundtracks of all time! The soundtrack is at times pumping, at times chilling, at times sad, it captures so many different elements. and some people might not hear it this way, but i personally love this soundtrack. it takes alot of the simple 8bit themes from dark duel stories as well, and revamps them with a fully orchestrated score. overall, i enjoy this game, it certainly isnt the best yugioh game, but i enjoy its new and refreshing twist on the card game, and i enjoy the interesting story, graphics, music, and overall presentation as well. if your a fan of yugioh, this is an interesting game to check out. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2011
    5
    As a huge Yu-Gi-Oh! fan I was disappointed with this game, it's not like the dueling you see on the show, it's more like a mix of that andAs a huge Yu-Gi-Oh! fan I was disappointed with this game, it's not like the dueling you see on the show, it's more like a mix of that and chess, the story isn't all that interesting, graphics are sub par, but voice acting is ok, one good thing is that it does require a large amount of strategy if you hope to win, if your a fan of card games you may like this but I just can't recommend this. Expand
  7. ConM.
    Jun 23, 2006
    0
    This game sucks, unless someone can give me the cheat of getting the Gate Guardian Ritual.

See all 33 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

45
#45 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
20
#20 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003