Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From "Metal Gear Solid 2" producer Hideo Kojima, comes the sequel to the anime inspired mech combat game "Zone of the Enders." Take control of a lightning fast mechanized robot and fight an evil militaristic force with new weapons, maneuvers, and tactics. Conflicts and settings of ZOE2 takeFrom "Metal Gear Solid 2" producer Hideo Kojima, comes the sequel to the anime inspired mech combat game "Zone of the Enders." Take control of a lightning fast mechanized robot and fight an evil militaristic force with new weapons, maneuvers, and tactics. Conflicts and settings of ZOE2 take place in cityscapes, enemy fortresses, and even in the depths of space! Features fast-paced fighting action with unbelievable cinematic visuals and a gripping epic storyline. Target and destroy hundreds of enemies on screen at the same time. All new sub weapons enhance strategic play during combat. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Fun to play and offers a great story and awesome visuals. The hardest thing you may have to decide is when to hit the save button and stop playing. The game draws you in quickly and holds your attention.
  2. While short, grabs you for those few hours and won't let go. The game is such an improvement over the first installment that those who didn't like the first game will probably like this one.
  3. It’s everything that we could come to expect from a game; it has an excellent storyline, a cast of remarkable characters, intense gameplay melded with style, and a presentation so vivid and brilliantly executed that you’ll feel right at home.
  4. It might be a little light on content for the full price, but if you’re a fan of eye candy, you’ll be hard-pressed to find a better source of pupil fodder on the PS2.
  5. There simply isn't enough of it. The game is packed to the gills with imagination, stunning design and addictive, hugely varied gameplay - but while it triumphs in quality, it lacks in terms of quantity.
  6. 80
    The combination of stunning graphics and frenzied gameplay make Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner a must-have for anime RPG fans or, heck, anyone with a functioning pair of eyeballs.
  7. In action the game is undeniably pretty, as long as you can stomach the monstrous camera. But beyond ther anime-inspired visuals, the action turgidly limps along without ever really engaging or entertaining. [May 2003, p.94]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jeff
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    a 0? a 0? this means that ZOE2 has nothing at all to make it a video game. a stick would get a 0, not a brilliantly animated, well thought a 0? a 0? this means that ZOE2 has nothing at all to make it a video game. a stick would get a 0, not a brilliantly animated, well thought out awesomely fun one such as this. You, my friend are the one who is pathetic. Collapse
  2. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    In one word: OUTSTANDING.

    This IS a true classic game. I cannot find any flaw whatsoever. Story, Characters, Music (to this day I still
    In one word: OUTSTANDING.

    This IS a true classic game. I cannot find any flaw whatsoever. Story, Characters, Music (to this day I still listen to the opening song from time to time), battle mechanics, animation, character growth, robots, graphics, etc. Everything is just awesome.

    if you haven't played this game, go and play it! It is highly addictive, it is fun. This is how games should be!
    Expand
  3. Zodiac77
    Mar 12, 2003
    10
    Fantastic robot action new game you will meet the dream.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a great game with fantastic gameplay and good graphics for its time. It makes full use of all the PS2's hardware, utilizing theThis is a great game with fantastic gameplay and good graphics for its time. It makes full use of all the PS2's hardware, utilizing the pressure sensitive buttons and rumble for the controller and pushing the system's GPU to it's limit. The anime style is well presented, and even manages to hold up fairly well against the test of time. Expand
  5. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    An incredible improvement over the first game. The graphics are now cel shaded, but not over the top like Robotech Battlecry.However I could An incredible improvement over the first game. The graphics are now cel shaded, but not over the top like Robotech Battlecry.However I could care less about the games graphics the gameplay is where this game truly shines. First off, you being able to grab enviromental objest is an extreme improvement and makes the game alot more fun. Also you can now lock on to multiple enemies and unleash tons of lasers at them. The gameplay is fast and surious that it sucked me right in. The storyline is much more interesting than the first. It focuses more around war and really gives you the feel like you are participating in a giant mech war (especially one part of the game, all you people who have beaten it know). Also, your main character is no longer an extreme wuss that doesn't want to kill people, making there be less cut scenes where you complain about killing and war. The music was extremely good, however, the voice acting was only ok. There are still a few improvements need to be made, like making your sword attack not the most valuable beginning weapon in the game. Also I would like it if you could find different swords and arm guns. The game has a ton of unlockables so you won't get bored in a weeks time. Still this game may not be for everybody, there will be some people who hate it because it is cel shaded, others because its gameplay seems somewhat monotonous, and others just to be idiots. Overall ZOE2 is one of the best mech games i have ever played and I anxiously await ZOE3. Expand
  6. 008
    Jan 23, 2007
    9
    WOW. This game is extremely good. I wasn't "lucky" enough to play the first thank goodness, but I can definitely tell that Hideo Kokima WOW. This game is extremely good. I wasn't "lucky" enough to play the first thank goodness, but I can definitely tell that Hideo Kokima put the Metal Gear feel into ZOE2 right down to the O button replacing your standard A button and the nice glossy effects. Boy, I gotta tell you that I REALLY hate mech games and especially ones like Gundam and Armored Core games. I don't know why, but I just do. The reason why is probably that those games have go many gimmicks listed on the back of the cover such as (and I'm just making these up) "Up to 300 customizable mechs!" which means there is really only 20, since majority of the options suck and aren't the best, even though they look cool. Just like when a game says it has over 100 weapons to choose from; it's all bull becuause most you get from the beginning SUCK and only 3 are "good," or statistically the best. I know a lot of people can relate to this. I think I saw something like this on the back of the case, but I'm not quite sure what it was, but all I know is this game's THE shizz-nite (shi-zz-naite). Anyways, since the first ZOE supposedly sucked a lot and was a major disappointment and has to do a little with the second story, they put in a great "previous story" option in the main menu so you know exactly what's going on (assuming you don't read the manuel, which you should with all games, but unfortunately I didn't get one becuase I luckily got it at blockbuster used for 16 bucks. Hey, lemme tell you, if you're looking for rare or great games, EB/Gamestop isn't always the answer, goto some of the unlikely places, you'll often be surprised). Furthermore, since the controls are fairly involved at first, there is a "VR training" mode where you can learn the controls. On to the actuall real game. Once the controls are learned, this game is excellent. When mastered, anything is possible and the various subweapons are all useful, even though you may not...use all of them as much. However, when you get in trouble, they can literally be a lifesaver. Various times you will be fighting dozens of enemies and get swarmed and your subweapon "clone" will help for example and make a static image of yourself that the enemies will mistake for you, which ultimately gives you some breathing room and make you invisible. Though bosses and a couple enemies can see though it, it is still great. i could go on and on and ON about each one, but I'm starting to get carpo-tunnel or whatever it's called and I'm in school too. Typically, since I'm poor and never have any money, I research games to the nth degree and have probably read at least 10 reviews before getting the game, since trade in value for games are typically a dollar. Games that last forever are Resident Evil 4, Guilty Gear X2, Time Splitters Future Perfect, Final Fantasy XII, Disgaea 2, Valkyrie Profile 2, and Metal Gear Solid 3: SUBSISTENCE, Not the regular Snake Eater. The thing all these games have in common is that they are VERY Replayable games and always have things that can be unlocked the next time around. For example, after you finish a game and gain all of your prized weapons and the invaluable "Zero Shift" subweapon, you'll usually want to keep them and maybe try the hard difficulty. Well with this game, you can choose either or, and this different versions of the main mech you play named Jehuty (and yes, it is J-E-H-U-T-Y). Because thoughout the game, Jehuty will improve, and even...well you'll have to see. All I know is that it's a pleasant surprise. Oh yes, the camera, the camera, the camera: the element that can make or break a game. In this lightning fast game that makes DBZ Tenkaichi 1 or 2 (which I HATE) look slow, this camera is very good at keeping up, and many times you must target enemies and switch targets, this is relatively easy. Now I'm not saying there are no problems, because every now and then there are, but it doesn't take away from the experience. Overall, this game is great, which great story (a little better script is needed, but passionate voice acting), and...oh I gotta go, but it's SWEET, get it if you can NOW! Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2003
    0
    This game is pathetic.

See all 22 User Reviews