User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 78
  2. Negative: 41 out of 78

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    0
    Being to the point - - The passes are horrible, even if you aim to the player you want to pass the ball, its really hard to do it. - The run is useless, is never good enough - The player skills are also VERY limited. - The match opening lasts too long - The graphics is the same, and sometimes is pretty worse than the others FIFAs games. - The penalty aim is pretty confuse. - If the ball is crossed into the area, 80% of the times its going to be a GOAL, cause your defese player never jumps to head the ball out of the area. -- The game is simply horrible, and doesn't worth your money. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    Not only one of the worst football games ever released, but one of the worst videogames ever. EA can't stop disrespecting and robbing their consumers money.

    This is not a FIFA 14 reskin, this is much worst, this is a FIFA 10 reskin. The gameplay is absolutely horrible, unrealistic, extremely fast, with horrible passing, IA, player changing and etc

    The graphics are the same than every
    FIFA

    But the worst part is obvious the scripting. You don't play this game. You juts follow the script EA planned for every match. If you play the match 3 times, you will have the same result every match, the CPU will score always in the same minute with impossible goals.

    It's all designed for casual and noobs that play online feel they can play something when they're crap players. And that's what this game is about, a crap, disgusting game for casual players and noobs, but hey, FIFA 14 was that too, but now they went to far, the few things were right in FIFA 14 gameplay were removed for absolutely no reason, this is not even realistic anymore

    A big fat joke from EA, which is a joke company too. They should go in jail for selling a con like this. This isn't a product, this is a frauld. Don't buy it. If you bought it, get your money back, cancel your order or something like that, there's still time to runaway from this huge disaster
    Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    0
    poor beyond words! worst fifa game I have ever played. super sluggish players, passes go everywhere and are not accurate to the direction of where you point on the pad. power in passes and in shot are rubbish, the ball feels like its dribbling along, yet if you score the commentator makes out it was a cracking shot!

    I have had the opposition computer controlled keeper run with the
    ball out into the main field leaving the goal area wide open while trying to take on my players! I was going to rate at 2 out of 10 but even that is honestly too much. I will give a big fat 0, exactly what it deserves. they could not even get the replays right, most replays actually miss the action off the camera or a too far forward in time. it genuinely feels like playing with first time footballers at 7 years of age. avoid!!! Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    Worst fifa game ever. Even PES is better. Not much more to say really.............................................................................................................................................................................
  5. May 2, 2014
    1
    This is by far the worst game of the FIFA franchise released to date. How EA can make a game that has gone so far backwards is beyond me but I'll try to explain anyway.
    There are so many things wrong with this game that it is hard to believe I have bought the finished article and not a test version, the players dont put through balls or passes in the direction you press, defenders do not
    want to head away crosses, and the strikers look like they are kicking a ball of iron when they try to strike the ball!
    I am disgusted with myself for even purchasing this game in the hope that it would be an improvement on the last FIFA, but it is obvious that EA are going to concentrate on FIFA15 for the nextgen consoles and so this has been completely overlooked when making FIFA WC.
    So bad....so so bad.....
    Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2014
    0
    worst fifa i have ever played in my life, the ai is terrible, the passing is terrible,shooting is terrible, eveything is terrible, the off the ball movement is terrible, all players are really slow and the pc is plain cheating
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    I don't understand how people can give this a 9 or 10...actually yes I do. EA employees creating accounts to falsely promote the game as their bonuses no doubt depend on sales. It's laughable how they all try to be genuine with comments like "I rated FIFA 14 poorly but this is the best". The long and short is this game is just another scripted piece of garbage released by EA. It's slightly more polished than FIFA 14 but is ostensibly the same game.

    The game decides at the start who is going to win and either your team plays like super heroes or slugs with the defences conveniently going AWOL to help either you or the CPU to score. Zero skill required for this one, just press any button to advance the script or cut scene sequences as I think of them.
    Expand
  8. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    I've never been a fan of football games in the video game, however, the 2014 Fifa World Cup game made me change my mind. I started playing and I realized the great wealth of information that the game features. The game demonstrates great care when assembling the animations, where respect until the most prevalent skin tint, cheerleader, in every region of the world. The game also has great online games, has the path to get to the World Cup, has numerous forms of training. The stadiums were built with great care and accuracy. The crowd can generate great excitement and, in the field, quick touches and the beautiful moves make this a great game. Very good and made me change opinion about football games in the video game. Expand
  9. May 13, 2014
    1
    I read everywhere that this is a fiasco of a game. I am pissed for another reason. I was supposed to get a bundle (a pre-release order gets this bundle) that contained the game and 5 historic balls from previous tournaments. I didn't receive any of these. Thanks a lot Amazon.com
  10. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    Ok, here it goes. First of all this should of course has been a DLC. Way too expensive as a single game. Ripoff! Second, EA Sports has been really lazy this time (you are slowly getting used to it). The presentation is looking amateurish. The gameplay is slow, stupid, unresponsive, predictable and scripted. Like all the other Fifa games... So poor by EA Sports, but hey, it is what you can expect... Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    No1 buy this crap no more. It has been ruined not improved. I made a sliding tackle it got counted as a penalty. It's my throw in, the opposition got the throw in, if the goalie catches a backpass with his hands no penalty, I put the handball mode on no penalty or free kick. Oh and this one's the worst. My attacker is in the middle of the ground with opposite team players surrounding him, gets counted as offside. Don's buy Fifa crap no more Expand
  12. May 28, 2014
    5
    It is very difficult to learn to control movements. The gameplay is painfully real and that takes away fun. No major differences between Messi and any other player, all run at the same speed. In conclusion, playing Fifa Brazil is frustraiting because you got to think a lot in controls and so fun takes back seat.
  13. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    After half a year of playing FIFA14 , this game brings fresh air. If you search for best gameplay football on PS3 Fifa Brazil is the answer . This applies mainly for multiplayer, because play against CPU and its not 100% inteligence can get early boring
    + button response , ball physics, manual controls , goalkeepers, multiplayer experience , modes, new animations, licenses
    - few gameplay
    glitches ( less than in PS3 FIFA 14), price , crowd atmosphere , CPU gameplay Expand
  14. May 6, 2014
    3
    Played the demo and it felt very rough... especially after playing PS4 FIFA 14... the smoothness and texture quality (of course) was a real step backwards, felt ropey! I expected this, but the difference is rather huge and very hard to take when stepping back to 360/PS3... to be honest I remember previous PS3 FIFA 13, to name one, looking and playing much better!
  15. Jun 29, 2014
    1
    “If you are a fan of FIFA games you tend to be quite philosophical, because they tend to build you up then let you down.” FIFA should be a benchmark-setting soccer game with great gameplay and years of thoughtful development & refinement. Currently, it is a husk of latent unfulfilled potential, and is a treated as a blatant cash cow for a lumbering shambles of a company. They also treat their customers with disgrace. If you go to EA Sports forums, they have “vent” treads and any criticism you voice about the game is considered heresy pending a banned account and confinement in the Tower of London. What EA Sports had achieved in the past 10 years would have been easily surpassed by any another studio with more ambition and commitment like Bethesda. When buying a Fifa-EA product, I find myself paying through the nose for their monopoly on licensing & copyright rather than for entertainment. They drip feed 1 or 2 untested “improvements” per year, most of which undermine smooth and consistent gameplay; their flagship features such as randomness, first touch passing and UFC style tackle/collision systems have totally lost the plot. This would be fine if it had been done correctly, but there is no consistency to the implementation here. The game lacks refinement and adding “randomness” to already poor gameplay makes for an extremely frustrating experience. The whole result seems like a rip-off of Madden or UFC. These professional “critical” reviews seem to glorify each FIFA game in isolation of the 10 previous iterations before it, marketing each release as some sort of ground breaking & innovative affair; when in fact there is much less to like. According to EA, “It doesn't matter if you call it soccer or football, in the end all you need to know is that FIFA is the only way to play” or so they hope! More work is done by EA Sports in each iteration of FIFA by patches & fixes, than the original game itself. IMHO the lack of innovation, absence of improvement and dreadful gameplay does not marry well with the high asking price. Expand
  16. Aug 7, 2014
    7
    It's a good package, with 203 national teams to choose and some great game modes like Road to World Cup, Story of Qualifying, Story of Finals and some online modes to keep you entertained. The negatives are the presentation and some changes in the gameplay, that make more difficult to pass the ball and win aerial battles.
  17. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    This game is brilliant I brought it when it was on sale for 8 quid on PSN and never looked back, everybody loves blaming EA for messing up, I promise you this isn't one of their mess ups! Get this game while it's in the bargain bin after the World Cup, you won't regret it!
  18. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    This is not a bad game by any means. It's Fifa 14 quality with a World Cup Skin thrown on it. It works fine and plays well, its just absurd for EA to ask for $60 for it. They are riding the World Cup hype train and overcharge for the game knowing that people will want to buy it. I recommend buying it after the World Cup when it inevitably drops to $20.
  19. Oct 19, 2014
    4
    GOOD: Cool variety of game modes; Satisfying feeling of scoring goals and will excite you; Goalkeeper is mostly smart; Ability to play as EVERY single team in the world

    BAD: **** lazy ass animations drove me insane of passing, running, score attempts, etc.; Even if you want to pass directly at someone, it will go the other way half of the time(if you are controlling someone like
    Baines(LB) on the English team, and want to pass to Jagielka(LCB) beside you on the right, you will pass left half of the time, making the ball go out of bounds) and rarely was a pass going at who I wanted it to go to, and when playing, I hoped and prayed it would go to who I wanted it to go to; Running is stupid and is an easy way to lose the ball because, the player will usually move one way and rarely could I turn properly; Penalty and free-kicks are a nightmare with no way to know where you are aiming; Takes forever for your player to pass or score(if you are running with the ball and want to pass it to someone or score, your player takes a full second to complete the half-assed animation, and in the middle of this animation, your ball gets stolen in a heartbeat by a defender near you); The game will have you praying for when you are about to score, for your player to kick properly(sometimes he kicks softly, going directly to the keeper if you you hold the button more than 0.2 sec, the ball will mostly go into the sky quicker than you can say holy **** Teammate AI is retarded(sometimes they get in your way which blocks your path to the net and is a few centimeters from you and you will bump into them and lose the ball, and in defense, they will also bump into each other, making the opponents job of scoring easier and when you want to pass ahead the person is 70% offsides); The other team runs way faster than your team; Celebrations(after scoring) animations are terrible(sometimes when two players want to hug(scorer and teammate), rarely will they hug and instead pass by each other or the scorer will sometimes runs around the person he wants to hug); The match opening is way too long and is bad because, it is sometimes unskipable, meaning you have to sit through the same exact openings every time you can't skip; Bugs and Glitches that are some of the main causes of the gameplay problems; Graphics are ugly and makes it look like the game was made in 2006; No game mode for the World Cup tournament that continues the Road To Rio mode, makes the Road To Rio game mode pointless; Can not chose teams to be in the tournament mode, terrible decision, especially for the people who want to play as Sweden for Zlatan Ibrahimovic; Opponents constantly trip and and push you down and the foul is rarely called but, always called when I do it

    FINAL VERDICT: You can get excited after you score but has way too many gameplay issues for this game to be called decent. This game gets a 4/10, it's slightly below average. I just hate how this game had to be made by EA who is arguably the worst gaming company in the world. I wish 2k made the game, it would have been a lot better. It had so much potential but, as usual, EA half-asses the game, not just any game, a game of the most important sport event in the history of the world.
    Expand
  20. May 14, 2014
    6
    As fifa 14 ... but worse
    Gameplay just does not feel well and the graphics are not real at ALL
    But it's still a decent game, if you do not have fifa 14.
    If you have fifa 14, then do not buy
  21. May 16, 2014
    10
    Much, much better than FIFA 14. Crossing + headers and over the top balls aren't nearly as overpowered in this game, which means it's a much more balanced game, where skills are more decisive. I'd say that it's a polished version of FIFA 14, so if you're tired of playing that game, you should definitely consider checking this out. It probably deserves a 7 or an 8, but I'm giving it a 10 to balance the user score - a lot of people are giving it a 0, and it clearly doesn't deserve that no matter what. Expand
  22. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    I wish we had halves in the scoring, I rounded up. This is a good FIFA game, not great, I have played the series since 2006, in the ps3 generation of games this ranks above the last world cup game. It is not the best of the generation but surpasses FIFA 14 which was a mess on last gen consoles. I think this game is fun to play, it does not capture the same magic as the 2006 game but it has all the teams who competed and I like the idea of playing as Bangladesh (I have a good friend from there). The gameplay feels a little clunky at first but it plays like a normal FIFA game, just not as smooth as when they had the formula just right earlier in the decade in 11 and/or 12 (the years are running together for me). The training drills are a nice touch, but I improved my players too much and it has become a bit too easy, I got Gerrard to 90 and Rooney to 92, Lambert to 85 and Sturridge to 88, a wee bit silly but hey I'm good, I can't blame the game for me being good. It is more challenging than most FIFA games once you get to the real games against good teams. I also like Andy Goldstein on the in-game radio, nice little touch. I rated this based on other football games I have played. Expand
  23. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    Far better than I expected. Lots of countries, players, game modes and the game controls improve from FIFA 14. It's not just another FIFA 14, it's a whole new game
  24. Sep 13, 2014
    6
    Not sure what people are on with this one, I can start by saying as a GAME World Cup 2014 is easily a better game than FIFA 14 on the PS3. From the moment I played the demo it was clear they refined elements from 14 making the game feel closer to it's next gen counterpart.

    The overpowered headers of 14 have all but gone, in fact there's more accuracy and skill involved in executing
    crosses compared to 14. The pace of the game also feels refined making it more comparable to a new FIFA game. It's to a point that me and my friends don't touch FIFA 14 anymore since the World Cup game is just better.

    There are negatives, one of the glaring example is longevity, end of the day this is a World Cup game besides playing a Brazil WC, Qualifying Campaigns and reliving the moments (or changing them) of the past World Cup... that's all. There are online features and modes as well for those competitive FIFA players.

    People are being ridiculous calling this the worst Football game ever, I mean seriously? When you have games from the past like This is Football and other train wrecks it's clearly just people annoyed with a FIFA game or they aren't any good at it after the tweaks that have been made.

    In honest this is probably one of the better FIFA entries in terms of gameplay, atmosphere and mechanics though being an EA/FIFA title it's hardly perfect. I've noticed less bugs and freezes than 14 however which marks it up.

    Is it worth a full price tag? Probably not. Am I glad this was released as a disc title rather than DLC? Most certainly. In the age of modern downloadable games it would pretty much rule out being able to take the disc round to friends houses and play it. Either since the WC has finished it should be cheaper in most places now.

    The variety of teams from Champions Germany all the way down to the lowly Turks & Caicos... you have a chance of a multitude of interesting matches with the touch of a random selection.

    I've enjoyed playing WC 2014 especially with groups of friends, the campaign could have been more in depth with the option of the entire International Pool like we had in the 2010 game. I enjoy the games on higher difficulty against the AI in comparison to 14.

    Worth a play, I'd personally take these 0 reviews with a grain of salt due to the fact that I'm not even sure these people have bothered playing the game. Good game but once again FIFA falls short of other franchises in the sports market... get a grip EA and takes some pages from 2K and the other American EA sports games.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jul 23, 2014
    60
    Neither gameplay nor game modes will make you return to this game after World Cup in Brazil ends. [06/2014, p.67]
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    82
    The perfect complement to this summer's antics, and the finest footy effort on last-gen machines. [July 2014, p.64]
  3. 60
    Bunch of fresh animations doesn’t merit a buy. The Brazilian setting is well done but the game is still way too overpriced. [Issue#242]