Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Feb 26, 2011
    50
    As you alternate furiously between confusion and excitement, the explosive gaggle never lets up even for a moment. You'll launch a curtain of certain death, dash, homing missile strike, dash. Dash dash. Laser in the face. Die! WHY WON'T YOU DIE?
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    70
    This frantic fighter/shoot-'em-up hybrid is chock full of explosive content, but its distinctly Japanese tone and uneven production values may put off some gamers.
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    78
    Really, though, at $5.99, I can ignore the game's problems and enjoy it for what it is: a unique idea with some fun "bullet hell" action and a heavy dose of Japanese flair. It isn't the prettiest or the longest game, but I had fun with Acceleration of Suguri: X Edition.
  4. Games Master UK
    Apr 1, 2011
    50
    It's very one-note stuff. [May 2011, p.91]
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    70
    A delicious mix of arena fighting and bullet-hell chaos wins out over weak presentation in this action battler.
  6. Feb 28, 2011
    80
    Players will have to figure out the game's controls for themselves, with only a simple button map as guidance, but they'll soon find the learning curve bends in their favor, and and gamers will quickly accelerate from petty rankings to the top charts-at least until a higher difficulty knocks their confidence out of whack.
  7. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Street Fighter with bullets or a one-on-one 2D shooter, whichever way you look at it this hombrew download is an intriguing oddity.
  8. Feb 25, 2011
    68
    While I wouldn't say that Acceleration of Suguri X Edition has any kind of staying power as a fighting game nor even the content to hold anyone's attention for more than a few hours, at least it is an interesting mix of genres and occasionally a visual treat with flashy, screen-filling attacks.
  9. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 20, 2011
    40
    Just mildly incomprehensible. [May 2011, p.118]
  10. Feb 26, 2011
    65
    ASX is a fun, throwaway distraction. It certainly cannot compete with 'real' fighting games, but its charm, music and 'nuttier than squirrel poo' storylines help it stand out a bit.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jan 23, 2017
    5
    Acceleration of SUGURI is an interesting idea with some easily enjoyable gameplay options and anime-like graphics. Nevertheless, despite beingAcceleration of SUGURI is an interesting idea with some easily enjoyable gameplay options and anime-like graphics. Nevertheless, despite being addictive at first, it is probably too short and superficial in the long run. Entertaining for killing time, though. Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2014
    8
    Can't speak for the PS3 version as I have the PC version. Though overall this is a really fun game to come back to playing again and again.Can't speak for the PS3 version as I have the PC version. Though overall this is a really fun game to come back to playing again and again. Goofy story to it but that's it's charm along with character interaction in the story modes. The game play seems to have a rather strange learning curve with various ways of attacking your opponent depending on both who you are and your opponent with mixed variety of bullet types and melee attacks, but I don't think it's a bad thing, just that there's something about the battle physics that needs polishing. The soundtrack itself though is pretty neat. I grew found of various character's themes as I played them. Hey for a good $6, I couldn't go wrong. I bought it as a bundle with it's prequel for $10 however which was worth it in my opinion. Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    2
    Good game only for schoolboys and girls, boring and have some **** service from devs. Bought it from some bundle and devs refused to give keysGood game only for schoolboys and girls, boring and have some **** service from devs. Bought it from some bundle and devs refused to give keys to their customers, I had to buy it for a second time! Full Review »