Ace Combat: Assault Horizon Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Climb back into the cockpit with another installment of the Ace Combat series.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 29, 2011
    90
    Flight sim fans looking for more realism won't find it here, but if there was ever an argument for fun over reality, Assault Horizon is it. [Dec 2011, p.68]
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    86
    Overall, Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is an excellent diversion from most modern military shooters which take place, you know, on the ground.
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    83
    The first Ace Combat game on the PlayStation 3 does not disappoint. On the contrary, Namco Bandai delivers an incredibly satisfying game with an engaging storyline, a lot of variation and most of all: a huge amount of equally spectacular and accessible dogfights.
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    It's a good all-around package, but I expect that it will sneak under the radar now that the fall release season is in full swing. It's a shame because the single-player is every bit the addictive sugar rush that Modern Warfare is, and it's handsomely produced to boot. It's the perfect palate cleanser for a game like Dark Souls, which is the diametric opposite in terms of mood and gameplay. After being lost in a dungeon for hours on end, sometimes you just want to jump into a jet fighter and blow stuff up for a while. And in that regard, Ace Combat fits the bill perfectly.
  5. Play UK
    Nov 18, 2011
    78
    For about an hour Ace Combat: Assault Horizon will feel like the most exciting game you've ever played. [Issue#211, p.90]
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    75
    Dogfights are exciting, the helicopters are interesting (though underdeveloped), and the real world setting and story ground the game in reality.
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    33
    Really the only thing Ace Combat has to offer that its predecessors don't is a couple of new flight modes and real world locations. This would be enough to recommend the game to die-hard fans, but the camera cut aways make the game a worse experience than its predecessors. If you want a good Ace Combat experience, you should play an earlier game in the series.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    While it can take some time for veterans of the series to adapt to the new "Dogfight Mode" the game overall has the stuff to take a place withWhile it can take some time for veterans of the series to adapt to the new "Dogfight Mode" the game overall has the stuff to take a place with the other great Ace Combats like Shattered Skies, The Unsung War, and The Belkan War. Now, yes the switch from the fictional universe of Strangereal to our very own Earth is a bit disappointing the story that is told is as wild and imaginative as any told in Strangereal. Mechanically the game is solid as a rock. The flight mechanics on planes are smooth and responsive and Dogfight Mode is surprisingly fun and useful. Things can get sticky when using an attack helicopter, but you don't use one often enough to get angry with it. The graphics are amazing. The planes look sleek and realistic and jaggies are far and few in between. Surprisingly the ground doesn't look like a low resolution composite image anymore, it actually looks realistic. The game has large amounts of replayability when it comes to 3 player co-op and 8v8 competitive multiplayer. Capital Conquest is a base defense game that requires a large amount of teamwork to win at. Overall while the game may have a few quirks, it is still the best Ace Combat game since The Belkan War Expand
  2. May 23, 2012
    10
    This game is not Ace Combat, it's a freaking COD clone with planes. Regenerating health on a plane? Seriously?! Everything has been dumbedThis game is not Ace Combat, it's a freaking COD clone with planes. Regenerating health on a plane? Seriously?! Everything has been dumbed down to a mini-game, and yet it's incredibly frustrating to play. I hated the rail shooting section, I hated the bomber section, I hate they force you to go into the godamn ASM mode for ground bombings. There are no fictional planes, no memorable aces, no enemy radio chatter, no mid-air refueling. If you liked the previous AC games, you'll hate this one. If you like COD or BF3, then you'll love this. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I personally was (and still am) an ace combat fan. I love Ace Combat Assault horizon, and how it added a new mechanism to the game and itI personally was (and still am) an ace combat fan. I love Ace Combat Assault horizon, and how it added a new mechanism to the game and it promised everything it advertised. Only main problem with the game is that it's set in real locations. Previous Ace Combat games were set in their own parallel universe and what not. But that is about it, I would recommend this game to anyone who is new to this type of genre or who has been a fan for years since the first ace combat (A.K.A Air combat) had been released. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2013
    7
    Ace combat 6 was the first game of the series I played, and I loved it, the story, the pacing and the gameplay, the only thing I didn't likeAce combat 6 was the first game of the series I played, and I loved it, the story, the pacing and the gameplay, the only thing I didn't like was the made up world "Gracemeria" I hated that.

    So this time around I was eager to play it because it was set in the real world, but it took one step forward and two steps back. The story is crap, you just don't care about the characters and the gameplay is super dumbed down, I was hoping for an OMG mission but there isn't,the chopper missions are pretty good but there are only two or three of them and they are too long.
    Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    Read the reviews and still didn't care about them and bought it disregarding all of them. Why? I love dogfight games. Since the arcades thatRead the reviews and still didn't care about them and bought it disregarding all of them. Why? I love dogfight games. Since the arcades that this was my favourite kind of game. It took me two missions to put this one aside. One word: Repetitive. I mean to exhaustion... The game looks a sounds good but... Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2012
    3
    Fans of the franchise may be disappointed! While this game is mostly consistent with past installments of the series....it is VERY differentFans of the franchise may be disappointed! While this game is mostly consistent with past installments of the series....it is VERY different in its limited controls. Even on the most difficult setting and having flight assist off, the game still controls a large part of the flying. On a banking turn you cannot pitch more then 90 degrees. If you find yourself upside down you can't turn over on your own, you have to release the analog stick and the game flips you over. While this franchise was never a true flight simulator, it at least gave you some arcade style control to allow you to roll and give chase however you saw fit.

    The new dogfight mode (DFM) is a little fun at first, but it gets old quick. It's also too easy to initiate dogfight mode, and considering it keeps you virtually glued to the tail of your target, makes it less challenging.
    Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    1
    They Took away every thing that made the old ace combat games special. They added "airstrike" mode And "dogfight" modes wich Took away most ofThey Took away every thing that made the old ace combat games special. They added "airstrike" mode And "dogfight" modes wich Took away most of the challenge in the game. Terrible reboot. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews