• Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Oct 14, 2009
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 11 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    Ok, we meet Viva Piñata of Xbox 360, and the game is funny, pretty, and colorful, now SONY intent repeat the succesful of Microsoft with Afrika, but what happen? The game is BORING. Afrika have great graphics, really cool, the animals look awesome, but the problem comes with the gameplay, is very repetitive, and boring. Sony (or best say Natsume) can do a better thing, but with this regular intent the game fail. Collapse
  2. May 24, 2012
    1
    I'm not sure what made me want to play this game but I played it. It really is incredibly boring. It's a game more so about visuals I think and they are average at best. Basically the concept of the game is to take pictures for money the better your picture quality the more money you make. You can use that money to buy other stuff or upgrade your camera. This is sadly the only part of this game I enjoyed. I don't know who I'd recommend Afrika to. A parent buying a non violent game for their kid maybe but that's about it. It is somewhat educational. However theres no real reason to play this game at all. I think Cabela's would be more fun for me. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    5
    I like the game in theory and the graphics are nice, especially the animals, of course, but to be honest, everything takes MUCH too long and is MUCH to cumbersome to enjoy it. Couldn't bring myself to finish it yet. Controls are kind of amateurish, it feels like no actual game designer was involved, but ''only'' a bunch of people who love animals. On top of it, the photos you shoot look kind of unclear and low-res. If you have the patience for this game and like the idea - shooting pictures of wildlife - this is pretty good, but personally, I ended up not liking the actual final product. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2011
    2
    This game looks phenomenal and the core concept is great, but the final product is just incredibly boring. You need to have large amounts of patience while waiting for the animals to get into the position you need.
  5. Dec 31, 2010
    9
    It's a really great game for people, who love animals. I want a second part of it :) I love photographing but I cant go to Afrika. Why dont you like it? :<
  6. Oct 19, 2010
    0
    Une belle arnaque, un dvd documentaire sans interet. On s'ennuie, c'est absolument infecte. A éviter si vous ne voulez pas avoir le pire jeu de la ps3
  7. Jun 7, 2012
    0
    Ok, we meet Viva Piñata of Xbox 360, and the game is funny, pretty, and colorful, now SONY intent repeat the succesful of Microsoft with Afrika, but what happen? The game is BORING. Afrika have great graphics, really cool, the animals look awesome, but the problem comes with the gameplay, is very repetitive, and boring. Sony (or best say Natsume) can do a better thing, but with this regular intent the game fail. Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Afrika is one of the most pleasant, enjoyable and gently engrossing games I've played in a while. It's a shame Sony isn't releasing it here, and it's worth importing. [JPN Import]
  2. If you like it quiet, Afrika's peacefulness and sense of freedom offer something to savour.[JPN Import; Nov 2008, p.116]
  3. Approached with acceptance of its limitations and a willingness to cede true freedom, Afrika can still be a remarkable, memorable experience. [Dec 2008, p.121]