Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    40
    A few high points in the story don't make up for overly simplified and very repetitive gameplay. Any veteran of flight games will be bored senseless, and the plain look of the game will turn off casual players.
  2. Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    65
    Developer Games Farm didn't deliver us a simulation like promised, but turned Secret Wars into a decent arcade shooter. The multiplayer can be very fun but the singleplayer drags down the score because of the bad voice acting and the simplified AI.
  4. Jul 25, 2011
    55
    It's a bit of a weird one then, as neither the story nor the action is particularly enjoyable, but neither is specifically bad either.
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    55
    If you compare Air Conflicts-Secret Wars with a game like Blazing Angels it is questionable, if anyone will buy this game. Blazing Angels is better in every single manner. The graphics of Air Conflicts: Secret Wars is not up to date, the sound is mediocre, there is simply no story, the controls are way too simple for a flight game and the enemy AI is a joke.
  6. The budget price is nice, but all that's keeping Secret Wars from feeling like a PSN title are its decent length and online dogfighting options. [Nov 2011, p.87]
  7. Little more than an unfortunate blip on the gaming radar. [Sept 2011, p.116]
  8. Aug 9, 2011
    58
    A decidedly average experience. [Issue#208, p.94]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    4
    I stopped playing this game after 23 missions out of 50. I kept telling myself: hey, this game will get better, it will stop being boring andI stopped playing this game after 23 missions out of 50. I kept telling myself: hey, this game will get better, it will stop being boring and annoying! Well...., It did not. It's that bad and I'll tell you why.
    First: the story is very weak and keeps telling you about the good old days of air combat in WWI. Not that this is necessarily annoying but it is when talked about in the middle of an air fight! Furthermore, the voices are not my cup of tea either. Everyone seems to have a need for a heavy Scottish, Russian or French accent. The lead character has a whining heavy french accent and complains just about anything you can think of. Second: the game play is very repetitive. If you have a mission where you have to fight a wave of enemy fighter planes or a battery of AA, the game throws in another wave or battery and another and another which is boring. Now, for my biggest complaint about the game: there are a LOT of missions that you have to complete within a certain time limit. Sometimes this can be very interesting or suspenseful in some games. For example when it helps the story. Or where there is a timer for another good reason. In this game, such good reasons are absent. In 90% of the timer based missions, there is no need for it and it is only annoying and irrelevant.
    Avoid this game. I wish i had done that before.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    Why hasn't this game been better received? I've only just discovered it as a free demo on the PlayStation Network and the mutiplayerWhy hasn't this game been better received? I've only just discovered it as a free demo on the PlayStation Network and the mutiplayer dogfights are excellent fun.

    You can play either with strangers or set up a password proteted game with friends. Yes the menu graphics are poor and the voice acting is laughable but, to my mind, it's the gameplay that counts and this is good old school arcade fun. For those that prefer more of a challenge on the controls there is a "simulation" setting with separate stick control for pitch and roll & button rudder control for yaw.

    Everyone I've introduced this to loves the mutiplayer and we've had some good competitive battles. Ignore the critics and try it for yourself - you may like it !!!
    Full Review »