Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    80
    Despite the flaws, Alice: Madness Returns is still a really fun game to play. The combat is on the whole fluid and satisfying, making the most of the range of abilities, while the platforming and exploration rolls along at a decent pace. Spicy Horse has done an admirable job of continuing the legacy of Wonderland, but it's just a shame that some of the madness seeped into design choices.
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    75
    Madness Returns is by no means a terrible game, as in fact quite the opposite is the case. But its enormous potential combined with its stubborn unwillingness to take much, if any creative risks, keep this one from achieving its fullest potential.
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    All and all, Alice Madness Returns is an exquisite alternative point of view of a classical story, given as a twisted gaming extravaganza. The constant platforming can be tiring, but the rich content repays the gamer.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    75
    After ten years there is finally a new Alice game. The story is interesting, the platforming works great and the level design is fantastic, but the game looks a bit old and there are a few annoying mistakes in the gameplay and also the fighting system doesn't work perfect. But besides of that, this is a fine game for the fans.
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    Alice: Madness Returns is a wolf in sheep's clothing. This game may look honest and cute, but it's cruel and bloody. Alice takes you to an another unforgettable experience in Wonderland. And if you didn't remember the first experience, then you get the opportunity to play the first game for free. Buy it, please.
  6. Jun 23, 2011
    78
    And that, in a nutshell, can be used to sum up Alice: The Madness Returns. There are moments of brilliance; of clever design, fiendish platforming, loads of secrets, and intense combat. At others, though, Alice's adventure can be an unpolished, frustrating exercise in repetition. To say Alice is trippy would be more than a slight understatement. I have to say I enjoyed my journey into madness as I plunged further and further down the proverbial rabbit hole more than I thought I would initially. Still, I can't help but feel like it could, and probably should, have been better.
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    79
    A fairly competent game that is held back by some mediocre platforming sections.
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    85
    Alice: Madness Returns may not win awards for genre innovation, but it's the most darkly fun and gloriously batty game I've played since Psychonauts. I can't think of any higher praise.
  9. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Alice: Madness Returns should please fans of the original and newcomers alike. The game can feel a bit dated and tedious at times, but the incredibly dark Wonderland that American McGee has crafted is just begging to be explored.
  10. Jun 19, 2011
    80
    In the end Alice: Madness Returns is a fun game that really twists the traditional arcade platformer with the acid like world of the original Lewis Caroll's Alice in Wonderland.
  11. Jun 17, 2011
    79
    Alice - Madness Returns is the kind of game that's retro in both a good sense and a bad: It's a tough game to beat, but lacks innovations and better graphics.
  12. Jun 17, 2011
    76
    It has been great to enjoy a classic 3D platforming game. These sort of games have almost disappeared in this generation, except for mediocre movie adaptations. American McGee and his team have made a great game, fresh and charming.
  13. Jun 17, 2011
    75
    An avant-garde game, but not in the gameplay department.
  14. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    Alice Madness Returns should please fans of the original while captivating some new gamers with its macabre storytelling.
  15. Jun 14, 2011
    91
    The overall quality of Alice: Madness Returns is high, despite it feeling rushed. The qualities that made American McGee's Alice so enjoyable-the gory hack-'n'-slash combat, the gorgeous design, the rich dialogue, the menacing mood-are present and abundant.
  16. Jun 14, 2011
    92
    Alice: Madness Returns reminds me a lot of classic N64 platformers like Mario 64 and Banjo Kazooie in the best of ways. By mixing a dark reimagining of a literary classic with stylish combat and rock-solid platforming, EA and Spicy Horse have created a gaming experience quite unlike any other. At any rate, its miles better than the lacklustre Tim Burton movie released last year. This is one rabbit hole worth tumbling down.
  17. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    Impressive. This darker spin on a classic tale is full of great atmosphere and some well-designed platforming.
  18. Jun 14, 2011
    78
    Alice's second trip into madness isn't quite as satisfying or fresh as her first. Everything feels dated and there's an unfinished, even hurried quality to the game that's more than a little disappointing. That doesn't mean there's a shortage of great moments or fantastic ideas, because Madness Returns has both in spades.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    The reviews are full of sh!t I don't usually make a big deal about reviews (because very rarely do they affect my purchase decision), but I'mThe reviews are full of sh!t I don't usually make a big deal about reviews (because very rarely do they affect my purchase decision), but I'm three chapters into the game (about 6 hrs) and I'm not seeing any of the "problems" that are bringing the scores down. Well... It's not so much that some of the quibbles don't exist (audio/visual glitches, random loading), it's more that they don't occur frequently enough (or as bad) to distract from the actual game/gameplay. Not to mention, the game oozes an amazing artstyle & story -- and plenty of variety (contrary to what the reviews say). Presuming the game keeps on this path, I'd give it an 8/10. Maybe a 7.5/10 depending on what mood I'm in. But definitely not a 5 or 6. Gamespot has a fairly accurate review; but I just think they exaggerate how much the "bad" affects the overall enjoyment of the game. If you enjoyed the first game, enjoying the second game is a given. True story. Full Review »
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    This game is a piece of art. If you're looking for adrenalin rush, or for a game to be a fine tuned hypnotic machine to make you think you'reThis game is a piece of art. If you're looking for adrenalin rush, or for a game to be a fine tuned hypnotic machine to make you think you're l33t. This is not that game. It is a fine piece of art for those who want to explore a fantastic world artfully placed between genius and insanity.

    Game reviewers these days are such morons. On one hand, they whine like dying cows when outsiders say game isn't art. On the other hand, when a truly artistic game comes out, they complain about gameplay being too repetitive and "irritating" then use that to slap on a low score.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    I was a little nervous after the first critic rang in with a 50....... BUT after playing it for the last 3 hours I can say that its easily aI was a little nervous after the first critic rang in with a 50....... BUT after playing it for the last 3 hours I can say that its easily a 7.5/10 that I will round up to 8 for this review. The music and audio is amazing, the gameplay is good (notice I did not say GREAT) as the fighting mechanics are sound I just wish there were more moves and weapons and the Puzzles seem a tad too easy which makes me not want to have to do them to begin with. Overall a solid game. Full Review »