User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    The reviews are full of sh!t I don't usually make a big deal about reviews (because very rarely do they affect my purchase decision), but I'm three chapters into the game (about 6 hrs) and I'm not seeing any of the "problems" that are bringing the scores down. Well... It's not so much that some of the quibbles don't exist (audio/visual glitches, random loading), it's more that they don't occur frequently enough (or as bad) to distract from the actual game/gameplay. Not to mention, the game oozes an amazing artstyle & story -- and plenty of variety (contrary to what the reviews say). Presuming the game keeps on this path, I'd give it an 8/10. Maybe a 7.5/10 depending on what mood I'm in. But definitely not a 5 or 6. Gamespot has a fairly accurate review; but I just think they exaggerate how much the "bad" affects the overall enjoyment of the game. If you enjoyed the first game, enjoying the second game is a given. True story. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    I was a little nervous after the first critic rang in with a 50....... BUT after playing it for the last 3 hours I can say that its easily a 7.5/10 that I will round up to 8 for this review. The music and audio is amazing, the gameplay is good (notice I did not say GREAT) as the fighting mechanics are sound I just wish there were more moves and weapons and the Puzzles seem a tad too easy which makes me not want to have to do them to begin with. Overall a solid game. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    This game is a piece of art. If you're looking for adrenalin rush, or for a game to be a fine tuned hypnotic machine to make you think you're l33t. This is not that game. It is a fine piece of art for those who want to explore a fantastic world artfully placed between genius and insanity.

    Game reviewers these days are such morons. On one hand, they whine like dying cows when outsiders
    say game isn't art. On the other hand, when a truly artistic game comes out, they complain about gameplay being too repetitive and "irritating" then use that to slap on a low score. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    The art direction and music create an eerie yet captivating environment to explore. Playing the game reminded me of playing recent the Zelda games, but don't let that mislead you into thinking this title is unoriginal. The controls feel fluid and I have yet to see a drop in frame rate. Mcgee's interpretation of wonderland drives me forward to see the next character or environment I may recognize from the original stories. Cut scenes between stages have a different look yet provoke the same creepy feel with their 2D (yet 3D) picture book renditions displayed during narrations. I never played the original Alice, but purchasing this game new includes a code that allows you to download the original. Which is awesome, since I'm enjoying this game so much, I may put it down to start the original, then continue Madness Returns. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    If u are a fan of action/adventure/puzzle games this is a beautiful experience. There is no reason to hate on Alice. I wish there were more games like this masterpiece.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    What a fantastic game. I too was a little worried after seeing the average reviews for the game, and that I should've skipped both this and Duke Nukem all together. Boy was I wrong about Alice. This game is REALLY good, an excellent combination between story, audio, and gameplay. There are some noticeable glitches that appear every once in awhile, but it doesn't detract from the overall experience. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I don't know what critics are smoking these days, and maybe the console version was lesser (as I haven't played it on console), but the PC version is drop-dead gorgeous, incredible continuation of the story, fluid, twisted, wicked, and just downright fun to play. It has all the elements prior, and alot of new ones.

    American Mcgee definetely has not lost his touch here, and it's a well
    orchestrated sequel that plays, sounds, and feels flawless. Simply compare the amazing user score to the mediocre critic score, and its obvious they either did not play it, or just didn't care. Easily a 10/10. Expand
  8. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    I didn't really want to play this game; I was somewhat disappointed by the first one. I'm glad I picked it up though. This is a very solid and fun game. It is beautiful, yes, but perhaps more importantly it's varied. Iâ
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Creo que es muy dificil juzgar un videojuego tan de autor solo por las mecanicas frias de la jugabilidad y sus graficos. Con Alice, estamos frente a un juego bastante unico, que atrapa tanto por su propuesta como por sus diseños. Si bien hay detalles a mejorar en el aspecto jugable, creo que restar puntos a un trabajo cargado de originalidad y locura creativa seria injusto.. no olvidemos tambien que el juego trae de regalo el primer alice, de hace 11 años. me parece un juego altamente mejorable, pero que sin duda destaca como propuesta fresca y cargada de guiños de autor, que haran la delicia de quienes disfruten de la macabra creacion de McGee. Para mi es un 8.0 de 10 Expand
  10. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    First things first, DO NOT I repeat DO NOT believe the bad reviews that are out there. Only you can be the judge of how much fun you'll have with the game. Honesty this game is absolutely amazing, the visual effects, the story, and gameplay is top notch. Dodging an enemy alone is a beauty on it's own, before you believe the reviews from me or anyone else look at gameplays of the game and ask yourself, "Is it something that I would have fun playing?" If the answer is yes than you know what to do, the best critics for anything is yourself don't let others think for you. Expand
  11. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    Great graphics and sound. Amazing. Really brings out theme of fantasy and surrealism of the game. The colors, sounds and monsters are thematically designed and the music adds the hint of fantasy to everything. There's a good blend of fighting, puzzle solving and storyline in the game itself. The fighting mechanism is no where inferior when compared to games such as Assassin's creed or Batman: arkham asylum. The storyline fits well too, where it really draws out both the imaginary and eeriness of the game. The story line flips back and forth between fantasy and reality, of which a great contrast between those two is portrayed in terms of graphics and environment. The bleak and solemn reality sets off the imaginary world as a mysterious wonderland that has gone astray. The only area which can be improved will be its puzzles and environmental interaction. Certain puzzles are rather hard to complete, not because that it is hard to figure but there are certain limitations to the controls (I'm using a xbox controller). I have spent a few tries on a few of those invisible platforms and certain puzzles might just be a bit too tedious. Expand
  12. Jul 16, 2011
    7
    OK, I agree with most of the critic's comments of the game, it is a one paced game, there is nothing new in the gameplay, the graphics are pretty average, as is the narrative that runs throughout, but I loved playing it. Alice in Wonderland should be fertile ground for a console game, but neither of American Magee's Alices are particularly fantastic. There is a strange mix of levels in "Madness returns", from the dark grimy streets of victorian london, to the dreadful childish Undersea and Tundra levels, through to the druggy trippy levels, and it is perhaps this that makes the game passably playable.
    It might be worth commenting here that I was reminded initially, when Alice was collecting lost memories, of the superb PC (anti)game, "The Path", (now that IS a truly disturbing and Gothic piece of art), but Alice Madness Returns never quite reaches it's potential.
    Play it by all means, you will enjoy it, but it falls well short of being a great game
    Expand
  13. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    True to what seems to be a trend, the "pro" critics show they know little to nothing about what makes a game good through their ratings. Don't be fooled, this game is good.

    I will mention, first off, that there are many aspects of the game that feel unpolished, such as getting stuck on the terrain at times, not having an animation for sudden turns or changes in direction, or being unable
    to adjust your camera at all while using a jump float. But despite those problems, they aren't game breaking by any stretch of the word, and are more annoyances at worst than anything.

    The visual aesthetic is incredible, and truly captures and reflects a world brought to its knees in madness. It's worth stopping on occasion to take in the environments and how meticulous they can be. I can't really emphasize enough how amazing the graphic stylization is for this game. It's nothing short of perfect.
    The music score compliments the gorgeous environments perfectly by adding to the feeling each world possesses.
    The story doesn't start to become truly interesting until about halfway through the game. That's not to say that the game or story is boring up until that point, but the real meat of the whole ordeal starts to unfold at around that mark.
    My only real gripe with the game is that some of the mini-games implemented, while simple and easy to solve, feel largely unnecessary, and take away from the immersive experience the game offers. Don't listen to what these so-called expert critics have to say. This game has been worth the money, and was a great experience overall.
    Expand
  14. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Some of the criticisms are valid. It's repetitive and game play is limited. BUT it looks gorgeous and Alice moves really smoothly. It's full of fun characters but I won't give it higher than a 7.
  15. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    I must come to this game's defense. Clearly there is a discrepancy between the critic's opinions and the gaming community's opinions. Alice was not without it's faults, but I think the good far outweighed the bad.

    First, the visuals are great. The graphics are good, but what really makes the game is the attention to detail. Each environment is elaborate and littered with interesting
    objects that made me spend a lot of time just observing my surroundings. I also really enjoyed how Alice's outfits match the theme of the chapter (if you don't manually pick her dress and use the standard story mode). Apart from that, the gameplay was also very enjoyable. There were definitely glitches; these usually occurred when I was jumping from platforms or using the smoke vents to take me places. Other than some hiccups here and there, the gameplay worked fine. The 4 weapons are unique and fun to use and I liked how you could upgrade them and their appearances changed. My only complaint with this is they only upgrade to level 4 and I had collected so many teeth that by the beginning of Chapter 5 I upgraded everything and I still had a decent amount of the game to go. That being said, the battles were fun and some were very challenging on my first play through. FInally, the other elements like puzzles, chess, arcade mode and 2D platformer levels were a lot of fun and a good way to break up all of the running and fighting. My one final critique was dialogue glitches. When Alice was engaging in conversations with other characters. some of the words were not even said--they was just silence instead of the character talking. Other times, Alice and the characters would talk over each other and the dialogues would overlap. It is a minor problem, but when coupled with the few gameplay glitches, I think Spicy Horse should have either had a BETA test (if they didn't) or a more rigorous BETA test (if they did). Overall, this game was wonderful. The details from the environment to her wardrobe to the characters and weapons made this game one that I will definitely play over and over again.

    And if you can, BUY THE DLC. It was only $1.99 in the PSN store. It comes with 6 new dresses that each have special attributes and 4 weapons that are variants of the original 4 weapons. It is awesome and adds a lot of fun elements to the game. And it's cheap!

    One last comment regarding the bonus content. I didn't play the original Alice until I purchased Alice: Madness Returns and got it as a free download with the ore-order. I played it for a few hours and barely got anywhere--and it was on easy! It was obvious that no real changes were made to the game to make it more compatible for consoles. I can only speak to the PS3 version of course, but it was obvious that it was originally a PC game by the way it played and the reacted to the controls. Spicy Horse pretty much just took an 11 year old PC and made it accessible for the PS3 without putting much thought into translating it to a new system. On a positive note, I enjoyed the game's soundtrack that also came with the pre-order. The music was also another element of the game that I enjoyed.
    Expand
  16. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    To be honest. I cannot believe all of the "madness" ( Negative reviews ) that I have been reading concerning this game? It's actually unbelievable. It almost makes me believe that everyone has been playing a different game. This game is not only beautiful to look at, it's beautiful to play. have we forgot where we come from as gamers? Where has our imagination gone?
    The gameplay is as
    good as it needs to be. It's not overly difficult. It's not completely amazing, but it is fluid. There are a few glitchy moments and yes there are "invisible walls" but, hello, this is not an open world game! The different locations, enemies, worlds, costumes, colors, textures are phenomenal. Please, do yourself a favor, especially if you are sitting on the fence on wether to play this game or not, and go out and buy it. You won't forget the experience. It is truly a breath of fresh air in an otherwise mundane genre. Expand
  17. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    Alice: Madness Returns is the sequel to the critically acclaimed American McGee's Alice. It takes place a year after original game in 1875 were Alice has been released from the asylum and now lives in an orphanage under the care of Dr Bumby. Alice is still traumatised by the fire that killed her entire family and Dr Bumby encourages her to go to Wonderland in her mind as a coping mechanism. However in her visions Wonderland has changed and is much darker and twisted than how she left it. After several hallucinations of the Jabberwock Alice once again arrives in Wonderland.

    Story: 8/10 Madness Return's storyline is very strong but it does have some minor pacing issues. New players to the series will have no trouble keeping up with the storyline as it references the first game and the Lewis Carroll novels at the start of the game and through collectable memories found throughout the game. The storyline is quite engaging and you'll want to play on to continue Alice's adventure. However I found myself wanting the game to pick up pace as I progressed towards the later chapters. The characters and voice acting however are superb and actually likeable compared to most games these days. American McGee gives an interesting edge to each of Lewis Carroll's original characters such as Hatter who is a mechanical genius who is obsessed with time and clockwork. Gameplay: 8/10 From what I have played, Madness Returns's gameplay is quite similar to the first game but it has much more emphasis on hack n slash combat aswell as platforming. Like most hack n slash games it several basic moves such as a light attack, heavy attack, ranged attack aswell as dodge and block. Alice equip several weapons and items at a time such as the Vorpal Blade and Pepper Grinder etc. The game has a basic upgrading system were Alice can upgrade several weapons by collecting"teeth" throughout the game. Personally I am a huge fan of the combination of hack n slash, platforming and RPG elements that Madness Returns uses however it does have several problems that bring it down. The camera angles and targeting system is very flawed and can be quite frustrating, for example when in a semi-large area and facing 3 or more enemies the targeting system can irrational target far off enemies. Graphics: 9/10 The environment and character designs for Madness Returns are very unique when compared to other games on the market. The artistic design really brings Lewis Carroll's Wonderland to life with a unique darker edge that only McGee can do. There is a wide range of environments that Alice travels through ranging from classic Wonderland forests to harsh arctic wastelands making each stage very different. Every new environment brings with it new diverse enemies that look and act differently such as goblins that use cutlery as weapons, undead card soldiers and sharks that hide in ice. The designs for characters in both Wonderland and London have their own unique style. Both the environments and character designs remind me of the Fable and Medevil series but with a refreshing edge. Extras: 7/10 Madness Returns only has a singleplayer campaign but due to the diverse levels and the long length of story this is to be expected. I also cannot imagine however a multiplayer or co-op feature would play into the story so I am happy with just the singleplayer mode. However if you buy a new copy of the game on either the PS3 or Xbox 360 you are entitled to a free download of the original American McGee's Alice. This much appreciated extra expands the average play time of about 10-15 hours to about 20-25 hours. It is a simple port of the original game without any graphical updates which is slightly disappointing but not a problem. Enjoyment: 8/10 Personally I found Alice: Madness Returns extremely enjoyable but this is my type of game because its a little bit of everything as I mentioned earlier such as hack n slash, platforming and minor aspects of an RPG and a 3rd person shooter. The characters and environment design of this game really made the storyline very intriguing to me and I will definitely be buying my own copy of this for the PS3. As I mentioned earlier the problems with pacing and the targeting system are the only things that brought the enjoyment of this game down because at times they can be a big issue. I would recommend this to fans of the Fable series and platforming games such as Crash Bandicoot, Medevil and A Series Of Unfortunate Events. Overrall Rating: 8
    Expand
  18. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    Problem i have with this game is that I like it, even though i can see the obvious faults with it. The game is very linear, repetitive, and several glitches plagued my game as i played. What keeps me from hating it is the visuals and the story. The game takes great care in what it wants to achieve visually, grotesque and stunning both beautiful and horrifying. The story tries its hardest to grip you into this twisted world of a girl messed up in the head. Those who enjoy this kind of tale, you will love it until the end. If you dont, then this isnt the game for you. Gameplay is very repetitive, the same enemy coming back over and over again to the point where I'm annoyed of it. The same gimmicks are used constantly, but somehow finds a way to refresh the visuals to make u want to see the next stage. Overall, Alice Madness returns is made for those who love to be shocked. Combined with the free copy of the original in new copies of the game, a game full of potential and heart. Expand
  19. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    The critics are completely incorrect on this one. Apart from some repetitive gameplay this game is one of my favourites this year, the story, characters, level design, art, writing and sound all nailed it. The game is extremely inventive with it's visual style, the weapons and locations were all thought about before being put in game and are impressive!! While on a technical level it still needs some adjusting the game is excellent in graphics, Alice's hair and dress physics are some of the best I've ever seen, it almost looks like each strand is individually animated. The story too is excellent telling an extremely mysterious and sad tale of the events that led to the death of Alice's family. Voice acting is quite good too, I loved Alice, the Cheshire Cat and the Queen of Hearts but other characters like the Mad Hatter are suitably insane sounding (and all British!) The gameplay gets repetitive towards the end but I didn't really care, the good points are more than enough redemption and i really love its old style platforming so I think people should pick this one up as soon as possible. It's an experience that shouldn't be missed! 8/10â Expand
  20. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Stunning. Absolutely stunning. It's been a long, long time since I've played a game that left me baffled at the level design this much. Every new area I entered, I always just had to look around for a bit first, literally making me go 'ooh' and 'aah' at most occasions. This whole game is just so incredibly lovingly crafted. There's so much detail to everything, I can't even wrap my mind around it. The gameplay in itself is nothing special, but it works just fine. Target lock is a bit shoddy at times, but you'll manage. The dialogue might be a tad bit pretentious, but that actually fits the game's style. But really, this game is a bloody gem. A floating island of gold in a sea of mediocre **** I've never played a prettier game than this. Expand
  21. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    If you want something that feels like a platformer from the days of N64 greatness then this is a game you really should consider buying. I don't understand all the bad reviews, I played the original years ago and I adored it, after waiting 11 years for a sequel this one had a lot to live up to and it does. The art style is beautiful and it does bring back very fond memories of playing the original (which you get with it as a download for FREE and it has trophies as well). The checkpoints can be a little unforgiving as there is no save option but does that really matter, if the game was too easy it wouldn't be half as fun. The jumps can be a bit tricky at times but you feel a sense of accomplishment when you finally manage it, the puzzles are fun and not too difficult and there is a ton of stuff to collect in this game so quite a bit of replay value. In a market saturated with FPS this game is a breath of fresh air. If you like platformers and an intriguing dark and twisted story with some fantastic stylised art and great music give this a go you won't be disappointed.
    Plus you get 2 great games for the price of one with this what's not to love.
    Expand
  22. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Not having played the first game, all I was looking for was something to keep me preoccupied for a weekend and this delivered and more! Graphics were stunning, puzzles were enjoyable with only a few frustrating moments, but the game was a shocking silver lining in what I was expecting to be a dully RPG. Have to agree with the comment to ignore the bad reviews...this is a gem! It was faintly reminiscent of the Tomb Raider games with the jumping, puzzles, and whatnot, but with a fully insane twist! Expand
  23. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Despite the fact that the artwork in this game is good....it's not a good game. The game quickly goes from being a fun romp through Wonderland into a platform jumping grinder completely devoid of content. Aside from the gameplay, the thousands of collectibles that serve no purpose in the actual gameplay increases the time spent wandering around, constantly looking for stuff to collect. You can paint a crap sandwich gold, but once you bite into it, it's still crap. Expand
  24. Aug 7, 2011
    7
    Madness Returns makes a noble attempt to embrace the player in its world. The colour of the world and its environments paint a picture of broken dreams and a sense of the not normal. It's just a big shame that for all its colour and imagination it's shot down by shoddy gameplay mechanics. There's no ledge grabbing, the camera is a mess, the aminations of Alice are extremely weak and there are some weird bugs. The game also has a jolt of platforming repetition, which becomes tired rather quickly.The collectibles are pointless as well. To sum things up, the imagination and colour of the world, and those of the inhabitants are very good, but the fundamentals really hurt the game. I reccomend this game still, because it has a world that should be explored for its imaginative heights, just be aware that there is some madness to endure in trying to appreciate what it offers. Expand
  25. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    Great story and better than average graphics are plagued by mediocre platforming and difficulty spikes during combat. If Alice had more defensive capabilities it would be a properly balanced game, but that is not so. Despite the cons of the game, the pros strongly outweigh. Find a used copy and enjoy! P.S. If every video game from this point on used this code to program hair physics, we would be that much closer to perfection. Expand
  26. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    I got this game and I found it genuinely fun to play. I enjoyed the combat, I loved the style and story. My only complaint is that it wasn't long enough and they were forced to cut out part of the story. I suspect the reviewers don't actually like platformers and I could certainly see this game become tedious if you're trying to beat it in one sitting rather than playing it to have fun and taking a break after each level. Expand
  27. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    Alice: Madness Returns does suffer from many issues (texture pop-in, laggy sound, occasionally frustrating controls etc) but I don't think that it's really dragged down by any of them.
    The game is gorgeous. Even when the graphics aren't their best, the sheer visual beauty of this game is such a breath of fresh air from all of those bland brown/grey "realistic" games that seem to dominate
    this console generation.

    In a lot of ways, the gameplay and art style remind me of an older style of game. When the whole point of picking up the controller was to have a bit of fun and enjoy the spectacle.
    Expand
  28. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    American McGee's 'Alice: Madness Returns' deserves neither a 10, nor a 0. It is not, as a whole package, an excellent or awful game. While it may at first stun you with it's beautiful scenery and its frantic yet entrancing dialogue, the gameplay to support the writing and art falls short. For example, while the combat actions are fluid, the camera angle is a little too tight to Alice, and the target-switching is a little sticky. It's crucial subtleties like this that make 'Alice: Madness Returns' just a good game that could have been excellent.

    They do a fair job in scaling the difficulty through the different echelons, but if you've bought the $2.00 add-on for the game, you'll be able to breeze through even Nightmare difficulty and laugh while doing it. After I finished the game once through on Nightmare, I bought the DLC pack to play around and collect the items I had missed. Enemies that might have once provided any legitimate challenge became simple fodder. The games major positive points include its wonderfully diverse graphics and set-pieces, simple yet challenging combat, and thought-provoking, philosophical writing matched with talented voice-actors. I was instantly drawn in by the jarring contrast between the drab, dark, and dreary London sets and the wild, wonderful, and whimsical Wonderland sets.

    For me, its major flaw was that the 'puzzles' of the game appeared simply to be thrown in haphazardly to give the player the illusion that they're solving a puzzle. The puzzles, if they can be called that, simply do not evolve beyond the basics of "crack the thin walls with the mace weapon" or "turn the valve to open the vent". While at the beginning of the game this was sufficient, as the player will still be taking in the world for the first time, it gets extremely dull when it does not evolve past this after 15-20 hours of play. As this is a game, and not simply a story told via a medium such as movie or book, it is not too much to ask that it be, most importantly, fun.

    Personally, I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys nice visuals, challenging combat (play on Nightmare), and a well-written script. If these points can't make up for essentially boring gameplay and puzzling, find something else to play.

    This review was written after achieving 100% of the trophies, including the Platinum.
    Expand
  29. Jul 13, 2011
    7
    To me Alice's new adventure in wonderland gives off mixed feelings, though the fact they add the the prequel from the year 2000 is a nice touch. While nothing is out of place (memories, weapons, abilities, so on and so forth) the game has picked up some flaws. Thankfully the combat is vastly improved and instead of having weapons sit forgotten and unused you get a maximum of five which the game will make you use all the time. The levels while nicely varied and symbolic of Alice's real life problems at times feel empty. While the platforming works well and they removed the swimming which didn't work all that well in the last game most of the levels are spent jumping from one floating platform to the next, and repeating the same switch puzzle over and over again. While it may not bother you too much on the first play through once you find everything going through the levels can be quite a choir. What Alice does best however is tell a story which it does through good dialogue, little trips in and out of wonderland, and all the memories hidden throughout. The levels themselves tell their own story. This game is for people who are fans of symbolism and Alice in Wonderland renditions, and while I can recommend this game despite it's faults if your not into symbolism and platforming games then I would stay away. Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    I think those with mixed reviews who have negative things to point out about Alice Madness don't understand what American McGee wanted to do (and did, flawlessly...) with the story, gameplay and overall atmosphere. If you understood these things you would not frown upon what you "think" are repetitive puzzles and clumsy controls. Madness Returns is simply a MASTERPIECE. That is all that needs to be said. Expand
  31. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    Forget Duke Nukem, let's talk about a real comeback. I usually agree with the critics about the flawless gameplay and all that stuff. But I truly enjoyed Alice: Madness Returns. If you haven't played the PC version of American McGee's Alice, it's now for you to buy via Playstation Store if you have an online pass. I like the art direction, the music, the DLC, the controls were solid and fluid, and incredible artwork. Everything is great except the camera angles where you are trying to aim at the enemies, but it's a little confusing. The glitches were annoying, but the puzzles weren't meant to be solved. And the gameplay is a little short, but it's kinda OK. But the game is excellent and can't wait for next Alice games in the future. But welcome back, Wonderland! Expand
  32. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    From the get go I was annoyed that the trophy list wants you to play this game and finish it on three difficulty settings. Why????? The game has far too much grinding for one play through. The visuals are good and the plot is okay. Collecting many many many things can become boring as movement is not as predictable as it should be, which leaves me annoyed. I may pick up this game again, but only to justify just how much money I spent on it. Expand
  33. Sep 17, 2011
    7
    A bit of a mixed bag. The best parts are absolutely mindblowing, while others could have done with more work. It's a bit long, which might seem like a weird thing to be negative about, but you don't wan't to get bored with a game hours before it's done. Still, anyone who enjoys a good adventure really should check this one out!
  34. Jan 14, 2012
    7
    Alice is a long, beautiful game, with satisfying platforming and adequate - if not particularly deep - combat. It goes to great lengths to differentiate one level from the next, varying enemy types, mini-games and the mechanics involved in platforming. There's not a whole lot of story, but what's there is serviceable and thankfully unpretentious. It's difficult to recommend unreservedly, though - serious problems exist with the camera and many will find the absence of boss fights detract from the experience (though it is doubtful that any would have been compelling). Nevertheless, it's a game I enjoyed and would advise others to try - so long as they keep their expectations in check. Expand
  35. May 2, 2013
    10
    A great sequel that does not disappoint. A graphics really good, though not one of the best. Beautiful the environments well made and excellent details and all the characters freaked out. Perfect control system and good exploration. The only flaw of the game is that sometimes it can be a bit repetitive but the end result is fantastic.
  36. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This is one of the most underrated game. actually it's quite an incredible game. They even give you the first game for free if you purchase it new. You can live the original adventure and then play the new version. You can see the amazing difference that happened after all theses years. It has an incredible story as well as some fun gameplay. It's an experience you shouldn't miss. It's a definite buy. Expand
  37. Sep 1, 2012
    5
    Horrible game! You have to like platformers and simple boring puzzles. Disgusting levels (literally some levels can be quite horrible to look at). The story is bland, rather boring and quite simply, unbearable repetitive gameplay. Everything feels rather tedious and playing a game should not feel like doing homework! I can't believe some people saying this game is too short! "If the game had been shortened up, it might Expand
  38. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    I always felt like this game was underrated. I mean playing it today, for the third time, I can't believe how some of these professional reviewers have bashed the game and slapped it with such mediocre scores, which sadly, many people will take one look at and never give this game a chance. This game does so much right: compelling story, VERY beautiful and immersive enviroments/art design/graphics, simple yet exciting combat, fluid controls, good voice acting, replay value, etc. This is honestly one of the only few games that made me stop and marvel at the scenery, plus every enviroment is diverse enough so even if platforming can sometime get tedious, it's still fun to keep going. The only cons about this game are the textures can sometimes look muddy/distorted, pacing is off in that levels are stretched too long, some mini games are boring and repeated too often. But all of this does not equal a mediocre game in my opinion. Most of these flaws are so minor and doesn't even affect the game all that much. Sometimes I feel like the people reviewing the game are just so used to blockbuster games (uncharted, assassin's creed, call of duty, etc.) therefore if a unique game like alice comes out, it doesn't match their "standards" of what a good game should be. Does alice madness returns feel like an old school game? Yes. Is alice madness returns innovative? No. And you know what, that's ok. Unfortunately these so called "professional" don't seem to comprehend this concept rather anything with crosshairs and headshots are considered great games. Expand
  39. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    I love this game, I play it even though I've done everything and gotten all trophies. I still come back to it now even though I've finished it 4 times. There's just something about little Alice and her Wonderland that is so appealing that I can't stop coming back! It suffers, however, from gameplay which is repetitive but its story, art and voice acting are amazing! I think this game deserves an Almighty 8/10, I don't know what the critics are playing, but it's probably not this game. Expand
  40. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    I played this game on the PS3 and it worked fine for me. Never any issues. The game itself has so many things going on, a great story, quirky characters, awesome art style and just an overall eclectic feel that is far from anything out there now. I especially liked the varied, imaginative and intriguing level designs. One of the best games I have ever played. It may drive you crazy in some parts but it is never 'throw a controller' aggravating. I play games for fun and this is definitely a creepy good time!! An absolute hidden gem that deserved much better than it got. I hate EA, so I bought this used and I'm glad I did or I would have missed out! PLAY THIS GAME!!! Expand
  41. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    I hadn't played the original Alice McGee game but i still decided to check this game out because it looked creepy and interesting. What a huge disappointment i got. Every single level in this game follows the same pattern, platform jumping, fighting some enemies and collecting collectible items. Okay first i thought Wonderland was kinda cool but the truth is you cannot do anything other than enjoy views besides the actual playing. Game has huge problem with controls, sometimes character doesnt respond to my button pressing at all or does it way too slowly. Combat system is a huge f***kin mess, lock on system is useless because most of the enemies are too fast and attack you while you focus on other one. Last thing i want to make perfectly clear is that this game has ZERO horror in it. Expand
  42. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Alice: Madness Returns is a game that needs to be experienced. It's a wonderful journey through a weird and haunting place. This is a game that feels fresh in today's gaming world. So please, pick it up and give it a try.
  43. Apr 17, 2013
    6
    When playing Alice: Madness Returns you need to remember one thing: It wasn't intended as a triple A release, its downfall was it was marketed to a mainstream audience at a rate that couldn't balance the books in American McGees favour. Now that I've ranted for three lines I'll start the actual review.

    Lets start with the visuals...oh the visuals. The games art direction is incredible
    and rivals the beauty of all other games out there with scenery that looks like it was dreamed up by Lewis Carrol himself...at times. Other times it can look pretty meh, with filler sections of the game that mimic the creativeness of pong. And other times the visuals are just damn melancholy with views that tease at an open world when all you have to look forward to is a long, repetitive, linear journey.

    The story is one of the high notes of the game, it sees Alice facing the madness brought upon her by the guilt from her past, which turns her wonderland into a place of darkness and corruption. Its an altogether great "fic-sequel" to LC's works with re-imagined characters and incredibly good voice acting.

    The gameplay is actually rather smooth and fun at the start of the game and the acquisition and upgrade of weapons is good motivation all round. But towards the end of the game it can feel quite lather-rinse-repeat and loses its appeal when many skirmishes cause you to deviate from the games high point the story along with the platforming which performs just as well, but it is a saving grace that it is so good, and rather a shame that it was so repetitive as in hindsight it was all very well put together and fun.

    Alice Madness Returns is a bitter pill in its whole and if you can brave the mind numbing repetitiveness and cling on to the artistic side of the game then you will be in for quite an American McGee treat
    Expand
  44. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    This game was so much fun I love how dark the atmosphere is in the game. It's a fun platform, the combat is great, and the controls are easy to master. Alice's story as and adult was more interesting then the traditional Alice in wonder land.
  45. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    While I enjoyed the game and the visuals it really never grabbed me enough to play it obsessively. Got it on sale on PSN and glad it was cheap. I would have hated to pay more for it!! Cute game. Good. Not great.
  46. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Hellgrip is a **** who honestly should die like right **** now. Jesus Christ this game has bad level design? your moms **** was bad when I **** it last night. If I was president of the united states of **** america I would **** do a genocide on people like you and cause a goddamn massacre. seriously what the **** it has bad level design, no it **** doesn't it has great level design you ****,i f your **** reading this **** give me a message with your address so I can come to your **** house and circumcise you with my Alice madness returns disk, I **** love this game. Expand
  47. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    This is one of the finest games I've ever played. Gameplay wise it is an engaging mix of combat and platforming, with occasional puzzle elements and plenty of hidden collectibles. The platforming gives the game a strong sense of flow and movement while the combat uses targeting similar to that of the Zelda series to focus on enemies, while giving you a variety of weapons; both melee and ranged, to take out the many different enemies you'll face. In later levels the puzzles and stage navigation are given much higher complexity and it adds a whole new element of depth.

    Story wise; I am impressed. I will strive to give no spoilers as this game deserves your time. The art direction in this game is exquisite, with beautiful theming throughout that reinforces the story of Alice, a girl who's family died in a fire when she was a child. Now a teenager, Alice faces her emotional trauma in the care of a psychiatrist in Victorian London, with levels in the game moving between actual events and the fevered dreams of the emotionally traumatised Alice. This is a fantastic premise, used beautifully. The subtlety in the world building makes the story resonate more in future playthroughs, giving this game some genuinely enticing replayability. Genuinely disturbing at times, this is a rare case of a unique horror game that uses atmosphere and emotion to build it's experiences. Not once did this game resort to using jump scares or quick time events.

    The attention to the source material here is also commendable, with details from the original novels by Lewis Carroll being used to great effect, and on occasion warped in new and retrospectively horrific ways. The tone by the end of the game is extremely dark, working in perfect contrast with the lax and flowing gameplay, however the subject matter may be too upsetting for some. Sensitive teens or those who've experienced similar trauma may find this game too disturbing; though the game builds slowly enough that you'll get plenty of warning.

    All that said, if you're happy to explore those emotions this game is peerless. Judged by framerate, graphical fidelity, etc, this game is decent and above average; but judged as a work of art; it's incredible and one of the best games I've ever played.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    40
    Alice: Madness Return has a terrific visual style and intriguing ideas, which is why it's so frustrating to see what could've been a clever game turn into such a tedious, drawn-out mess.
  2. Madness Returns is in a tricky position. It could never offer pistol-quick mechanics because of the character design and it often feels like a chore to finish a stage. You'll also probably get pretty tired of finding and shooting switches to reveal a hidden platform, or slogging through another round of five or six enemies. Yet it dares to be different, so if you're happy to admire it for is own sake then you should find some fun amongst the insanity. [August 2011 p74]
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    60
    Alice: Madness Returns is interesting, visually stunning and inviting. Some of the gameplay elements excites in its pure form, but combat does seem ridgid and sometimes random. It's close, but not quite the cigar for Mr. McGee.