Alice: Madness Returns PlayStation 3

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alice: Madness Returns takes place 10 years after the conclusion of the original game, with Alice struggling to recover from the emotional trauma of losing her entire family in a fatal fire. After spending a decade institutionalized in an insane asylum, she is finally released to the care ofAlice: Madness Returns takes place 10 years after the conclusion of the original game, with Alice struggling to recover from the emotional trauma of losing her entire family in a fatal fire. After spending a decade institutionalized in an insane asylum, she is finally released to the care of a psychiatrist who just may be able to help her conquer the nightmarish hallucinations that still haunt her. Alice embarks on a mission to root out the true cause of her family's mysterious death, jumping from a gloomy and stark London to a rich and provocative Wonderland. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    92
    Alice: Madness Returns reminds me a lot of classic N64 platformers like Mario 64 and Banjo Kazooie in the best of ways. By mixing a dark reimagining of a literary classic with stylish combat and rock-solid platforming, EA and Spicy Horse have created a gaming experience quite unlike any other. At any rate, its miles better than the lacklustre Tim Burton movie released last year. This is one rabbit hole worth tumbling down.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Alice: Madness Returns should please fans of the original and newcomers alike. The game can feel a bit dated and tedious at times, but the incredibly dark Wonderland that American McGee has crafted is just begging to be explored.
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    78
    And that, in a nutshell, can be used to sum up Alice: The Madness Returns. There are moments of brilliance; of clever design, fiendish platforming, loads of secrets, and intense combat. At others, though, Alice's adventure can be an unpolished, frustrating exercise in repetition. To say Alice is trippy would be more than a slight understatement. I have to say I enjoyed my journey into madness as I plunged further and further down the proverbial rabbit hole more than I thought I would initially. Still, I can't help but feel like it could, and probably should, have been better.
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    Playing Alice: Madness Returns isn't as exciting as looking at it, but you'll still enjoy getting lost in this twisted fantasy adventure.
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    70
    Alice: Madness Returns is stylistically gorgeous, with its crazy characters and a great environmental design. It's a shame that everything is spoiled by huge technical issues, bad graphics and a great lack of variety.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    65
    Presents a fantastically imagined vision of Wonderland full of secrets, collectables, and wondrous areas of classic platforming to explore. But through questionable level design, graphical inconsistency, and repetitive gameplay, I was pulled out of the experience more than I would have liked.
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    40
    Alice: Madness Return has a terrific visual style and intriguing ideas, which is why it's so frustrating to see what could've been a clever game turn into such a tedious, drawn-out mess.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    If u are a fan of action/adventure/puzzle games this is a beautiful experience. There is no reason to hate on Alice. I wish there were moreIf u are a fan of action/adventure/puzzle games this is a beautiful experience. There is no reason to hate on Alice. I wish there were more games like this masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    I think those with mixed reviews who have negative things to point out about Alice Madness don't understand what American McGee wanted to doI think those with mixed reviews who have negative things to point out about Alice Madness don't understand what American McGee wanted to do (and did, flawlessly...) with the story, gameplay and overall atmosphere. If you understood these things you would not frown upon what you "think" are repetitive puzzles and clumsy controls. Madness Returns is simply a MASTERPIECE. That is all that needs to be said. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2015
    10
    I really enjoyed this game as it provides a dark twist on the Wonderland environment. It is good fun, the graphics are pretty good and theI really enjoyed this game as it provides a dark twist on the Wonderland environment. It is good fun, the graphics are pretty good and the environments you are shown are so elaborate and well made. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    This game was so much fun I love how dark the atmosphere is in the game. It's a fun platform, the combat is great, and the controls are easyThis game was so much fun I love how dark the atmosphere is in the game. It's a fun platform, the combat is great, and the controls are easy to master. Alice's story as and adult was more interesting then the traditional Alice in wonder land. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    I didn't really want to play this game; I was somewhat disappointed by the first one. I'm glad I picked it up though. This is a very solidI didn't really want to play this game; I was somewhat disappointed by the first one. I'm glad I picked it up though. This is a very solid and fun game. It is beautiful, yes, but perhaps more importantly it's varied. Iâ Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Some of the criticisms are valid. It's repetitive and game play is limited. BUT it looks gorgeous and Alice moves really smoothly. It'sSome of the criticisms are valid. It's repetitive and game play is limited. BUT it looks gorgeous and Alice moves really smoothly. It's full of fun characters but I won't give it higher than a 7. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    I hadn't played the original Alice McGee game but i still decided to check this game out because it looked creepy and interesting. What a hugeI hadn't played the original Alice McGee game but i still decided to check this game out because it looked creepy and interesting. What a huge disappointment i got. Every single level in this game follows the same pattern, platform jumping, fighting some enemies and collecting collectible items. Okay first i thought Wonderland was kinda cool but the truth is you cannot do anything other than enjoy views besides the actual playing. Game has huge problem with controls, sometimes character doesnt respond to my button pressing at all or does it way too slowly. Combat system is a huge f***kin mess, lock on system is useless because most of the enemies are too fast and attack you while you focus on other one. Last thing i want to make perfectly clear is that this game has ZERO horror in it. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.