Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 16 out of 25
  1. 62
    Sure, it looks like the film on the surface, but you don't have to dig far to find a game that fails to live up to the license. Surprisingly, it's the competitive multiplayer that impresses the most.
  2. 60
    If you’re looking for a different multiplayer shooter, Aliens: Colonial Marines is an excellent choice. Fans will love to haunt in the skin of a Xenomorph. If you expect an engaging and immersive story of Aliens, I am sorry but this is not what you’re looking for.
  3. If Gearbox’s quality scale has Borderlands 2 at one end and Duke Nukem at the other, Colonial Marines sits somewhere in the middle.
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    58
    Aliens are back in the videogame scene. However, this game does little justice to the film series and lags behind in technical aspects when compared to other current titles. Nonetheless, the different game modes –competitive and cooperative– will guarantee the fun that the solo campaign is lacking.
  5. Besides the lack of tension or even jump scares, the abominable quality of the game's graphics and animations is another one of Colonial Marines' biggest flaws. The aliens stumble towards you, looking like the local town drunk who just stole an Alien mask. [March 2013, p.78]
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    55
    A major disappointment in almost every way. The AI is dumb, the graphics obsolete, the animations at times absolutely horrible and the story boring. It's not scary, not engaging and certainly not exiting. It's just not good, period.
  7. As a shooter, you’ve been here a hundred times before. As an Aliens game it suffers the pressure of the legacy on which it’s built, and the story is diabolically woeful. Game over, man. [April 2013, p72]
  8. Mar 24, 2013
    50
    The representation of the xenomorphs is the game’s most damaging failure. They’re just not dangerous enough, reduced by a first mission deluge into a swarm of targets bearing the shape of a familiar, once-horrific symbol of death. But they have none of that pop icon’s grace or deadliness.
  9. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    Dangerously close to the Duke Nukem Forever case, Aliens: Colonial Marines at last sees the light, bringing a correct FPS with good and bad aspects. With the first aspect we have a truly reliable recreation of Cameron's Aliens universe that constantly pays homage to its source with every detail of its scenarios, characters, soundtrack and weapons. On the other hand, the whole level of tension the game manages to create is lost in the battles due to a poor Enemy AI, graphical issues and unbalanced gameplay. A good experience for fans, but another common FPS to everyone who doesn't know the movie.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 285 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 86
  2. Negative: 44 out of 86
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    3
    Where do I even begin. Did Gearbox even TRY when they worked on this hunk of crap? The graphics are awful. The gameplay is clunky as hell. TheWhere do I even begin. Did Gearbox even TRY when they worked on this hunk of crap? The graphics are awful. The gameplay is clunky as hell. The story is just pathetic. They nailed the sound of the game for the most part, but that's the only thing I'm going to give credit to. This was just a cheap gimmick to cash in on the Alien name. Listen to me when I say, STAY AWAY. I wouldn't even wait for it to hit the bargain bin. Don't support the developers when they give us something this awful. Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    0
    Fantastic game! Will play daily. Its refreshing to see other publishers follow THQ's successful business model of great quality games forFantastic game! Will play daily. Its refreshing to see other publishers follow THQ's successful business model of great quality games for fans. Cutting out a big part of the single player to sell as DLC will be well received and can't wait to buy that too. Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    The graphics are dated, and the gameplay is like every other FPS I've played. The story seems abit interesting but is in no way on par withThe graphics are dated, and the gameplay is like every other FPS I've played. The story seems abit interesting but is in no way on par with the films. Licensed games don't usually do that well, but after the Arkham Series and with Gearbox's name on the game I figured I'd not listen to the "professional" reviews and just get it anyway. If you're getting this game to play SOLO then you are waisting your money, but if you're getting it to play with friends I can guarantee you that you'll have a blast. The multiplayer is fun as hell, and if you set the difficulty to Ultimate Badass on the campaign with four friends you'd pretty much have to have no pulse to not have fun. Is it the best game I've played this year? No way, but it is in no way shape or form a 3 or 4 out of 10. It's graphics are horrible sure, but I'll take having a blast with four friends any day over graphics.
    It's got some glitches, but none that ruined the experience or hindered the amount of fun that I had. Having played it for several hours (SP and MP) I can definitely say with confidence that if you go into the game not expecting it to blow your mind or redefine the FPS genre and have a few friends with mics to play with you WILL have a blast.
    Full Review »