Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Aliens: Colonial Marines, players are part of a United States Colonial Marine squad and must prepare to face an Aliens assault more intense and horrific than ever before. Driven by an original story penned by renowned writers Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, Aliens: Colonial Marines retains the atmospheric look and feel of the original films while leveraging next-generation technology to create an entirely new interactive Aliens experience. Packing classic Aliens weaponry ranging from pulse rifles to flamethrowers as well as brand-new equipment and skills all within a squad-based combat system, players become an elite United States Colonial Marine. Featuring claustrophobic environments, a brooding soundtrack, and a multitude of surprises and shocks, players battle against menacing alien hordes in levels that include the stark interiors of the abandoned Sulaco and unique environments created specifically for the game. Aliens: Colonial Marines features a story driven single-player mode and an all-new four player co-op mode allowing players to share the chilling experience with three friends. In co-op mode, each player assumes the persona of a United States Colonial Marine and have a distinct role to play in the completion of every mission. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 16 out of 25
  1. 62
    Sure, it looks like the film on the surface, but you don't have to dig far to find a game that fails to live up to the license. Surprisingly, it's the competitive multiplayer that impresses the most.
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    58
    Aliens are back in the videogame scene. However, this game does little justice to the film series and lags behind in technical aspects when compared to other current titles. Nonetheless, the different game modes –competitive and cooperative– will guarantee the fun that the solo campaign is lacking.
  3. As a shooter, you’ve been here a hundred times before. As an Aliens game it suffers the pressure of the legacy on which it’s built, and the story is diabolically woeful. Game over, man. [April 2013, p72]
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    The whole idea was probably doomed from the start but this is a disappointingly slipshod effort, with a story campaign that somehow feels more old-fashioned than the decades-old movie it’s based on.
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    It has been delayed for more than a decade and yet it still has parts that look that old and still not finished. A basically broken Aliens game is to some degree saved by Gearbox's unquestionable love for the franchise and the ability to play the campaign split-screen.
  6. Mar 12, 2013
    30
    Even after more than seven years in development, Aliens: Colonial Marines results in a cavalcade of shattered dreams and lost potential. Almost every element is either broken, boring or badly designed and the once fearsome Xenomorphs are now reduced to mindless cannon fodder. To put it simply; it's a terrible game.
  7. Feb 20, 2013
    20
    Aliens has rarely had much luck with its video game spin-offs, but I was still hopeful that Colonial Marines could deliver an at least solid experience. How wrong I was. This game fails to uphold any sort of quality experience in every way. And worst of all, absolutely nothing of creative merit was attempted. It shot for nothing and still ended up a disaster.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 82
  2. Negative: 39 out of 82
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Easy enough overpass the awful reviews if you ARE an Aliens' fan.

    That game might not look great, that's a fact, but what it lacks in
    graphics, makes up for it in fun in multiplayer and overall atmosphere Customization is deep, ranging from laser sight for your good old pulse rifle to mutations for aliens (regeneration, speed, less likely to appear on a radar thanks to a special body, etc) there's a LOT of things, and you'll play for a long time until you've unlocked everything for every gun and class.

    4 DLC packs have been announced for the season pass, plenty enough to make the online viable for months !

    Definitely the most fun I've had on a multiplayer game for a long time, especially in Escape mode, where you need to evac asap with your marine bros, within the time limit. You like the Alien franchise GO FOR IT Don't trust biased reviews don't trust COD players trust Alien fans
    Collapse
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Campaign is scary. Graphics feel slightly dated, but gameplay is fun. Basically an Aliens version of Left 4 Dead. Lots of mechanics like having to pull up a motion tracker (making you unable to shoot) are nice and induce lots of tension when hunting for bugs. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    The graphics are dated, and the gameplay is like every other FPS I've played. The story seems abit interesting but is in no way on par with the films. Licensed games don't usually do that well, but after the Arkham Series and with Gearbox's name on the game I figured I'd not listen to the "professional" reviews and just get it anyway. If you're getting this game to play SOLO then you are waisting your money, but if you're getting it to play with friends I can guarantee you that you'll have a blast. The multiplayer is fun as hell, and if you set the difficulty to Ultimate Badass on the campaign with four friends you'd pretty much have to have no pulse to not have fun. Is it the best game I've played this year? No way, but it is in no way shape or form a 3 or 4 out of 10. It's graphics are horrible sure, but I'll take having a blast with four friends any day over graphics.
    It's got some glitches, but none that ruined the experience or hindered the amount of fun that I had. Having played it for several hours (SP and MP) I can definitely say with confidence that if you go into the game not expecting it to blow your mind or redefine the FPS genre and have a few friends with mics to play with you WILL have a blast.
    Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    5
    I do honestly believe that, though this isn't a particularly good game (AT ALL), it isn't as bad as the people say. Though it isn't good, it's average at worst. I think that 3.3/10 is a little bit under expectations, and I think it's because people were expecting more from the game. I think people got over-excited, and as a result they are having a little bit more of a negative reaction. This is by NO MEANS a good game, but it isn't as bad as people say. Sure, the graphics are bad, there are some glitches, and O'Neal is a tosser, but apart from that it's nothing more than a rather generic science fiction FPS. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    I am shocked how this game ended up after 6 years of waiting for a good aliens game, the game is a goddamn travesty the campaign is half assed,buggy and glitchy gameplay,Only 4 HOURS! and the Xenomorphs don't lurk around corners or jump at you to surprise you either instead they run at you out in the OPEN! alot of the missions include shooting humans in an aliens game seriously a huge waste of time and hype the only good thing about the game is the sound effects,multiplayer average,and awesome environments,dated graphics especially on the consoles, the E3 gameplay in 2011 looked amazing it made me so excited aliens moved like aliens graphics weren't untextured i would rather play that rather then this. i am also a huge aliens fan it's my favorite sci-fi to date i always wanted to know what it would feel like to play an aliens game with your friends trying to survive and having fun, This game has none of those elements at ALL! overall the game is a huge mess don't buy this game stay far away especially if you're a fan this game deserves a 4/10 Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    3
    Where do i begin here....? The plus: aliens. The negative: everything else. I've been looking forward to this game since 2008, and after seeing the E3 2011 demo I was blown away. I believed all the hype behind it and wow, was I dissapointed. When compared to the E3 demo the first thing that was noticeable was the lack of quality. Graphics looked like a N64 game, the lighting effects where absent completely, the sound effects are 100% aliens, the main complaint here is the horrible story and the level design decisions. Without spoiling anything, the story was supposed to be set between Aliens and Alien 3 to tie up some loose ends and it can't even do that. Once you get passed the way the game looks, the buggy final product and unreliable A.I. I felt like I was babysitting my computer partner the whole game, and that's without the frustration of the game glitches and bugs. Bad graphics. level design, weak voice acting, false promises, and broken levels and gameplay make this easily my worst game of the year and the last time I'll believe all the hype behind a licensed product game. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2013
    0
    Everything about this game is terrible can't even start with it I seriously think the creator didn't even try to make this game good by far the worst game I have ever played. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.