Aliens: Colonial Marines PlayStation 3

Aliens: Colonial Marines Image
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Aliens: Colonial Marines, players are part of a United States Colonial Marine squad and must prepare to face an Aliens assault more intense and horrific than ever before. Driven by an original story penned by renowned writers Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, Aliens: Colonial MarinesIn Aliens: Colonial Marines, players are part of a United States Colonial Marine squad and must prepare to face an Aliens assault more intense and horrific than ever before. Driven by an original story penned by renowned writers Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, Aliens: Colonial Marines retains the atmospheric look and feel of the original films while leveraging next-generation technology to create an entirely new interactive Aliens experience. Packing classic Aliens weaponry ranging from pulse rifles to flamethrowers as well as brand-new equipment and skills all within a squad-based combat system, players become an elite United States Colonial Marine. Featuring claustrophobic environments, a brooding soundtrack, and a multitude of surprises and shocks, players battle against menacing alien hordes in levels that include the stark interiors of the abandoned Sulaco and unique environments created specifically for the game. Aliens: Colonial Marines features a story driven single-player mode and an all-new four player co-op mode allowing players to share the chilling experience with three friends. In co-op mode, each player assumes the persona of a United States Colonial Marine and have a distinct role to play in the completion of every mission. [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 16 out of 25
  1. Computer and Video Games
    Feb 12, 2013
    62
    Sure, it looks like the film on the surface, but you don't have to dig far to find a game that fails to live up to the license. Surprisingly, it's the competitive multiplayer that impresses the most.
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    58
    Aliens are back in the videogame scene. However, this game does little justice to the film series and lags behind in technical aspects when compared to other current titles. Nonetheless, the different game modes –competitive and cooperative– will guarantee the fun that the solo campaign is lacking.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 3, 2013
    50
    As a shooter, you’ve been here a hundred times before. As an Aliens game it suffers the pressure of the legacy on which it’s built, and the story is diabolically woeful. Game over, man. [April 2013, p72]
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    The whole idea was probably doomed from the start but this is a disappointingly slipshod effort, with a story campaign that somehow feels more old-fashioned than the decades-old movie it’s based on.
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    It has been delayed for more than a decade and yet it still has parts that look that old and still not finished. A basically broken Aliens game is to some degree saved by Gearbox's unquestionable love for the franchise and the ability to play the campaign split-screen.
  6. Mar 12, 2013
    30
    Even after more than seven years in development, Aliens: Colonial Marines results in a cavalcade of shattered dreams and lost potential. Almost every element is either broken, boring or badly designed and the once fearsome Xenomorphs are now reduced to mindless cannon fodder. To put it simply; it's a terrible game.
  7. Feb 20, 2013
    20
    Aliens has rarely had much luck with its video game spin-offs, but I was still hopeful that Colonial Marines could deliver an at least solid experience. How wrong I was. This game fails to uphold any sort of quality experience in every way. And worst of all, absolutely nothing of creative merit was attempted. It shot for nothing and still ended up a disaster.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 86
  2. Negative: 44 out of 86
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Easy enough overpass the awful reviews if you ARE an Aliens' fan.

    That game might not look great, that's a fact, but what it lacks in
    Easy enough overpass the awful reviews if you ARE an Aliens' fan.

    That game might not look great, that's a fact, but what it lacks in graphics, makes up for it in fun in multiplayer and overall atmosphere Customization is deep, ranging from laser sight for your good old pulse rifle to mutations for aliens (regeneration, speed, less likely to appear on a radar thanks to a special body, etc) there's a LOT of things, and you'll play for a long time until you've unlocked everything for every gun and class.

    4 DLC packs have been announced for the season pass, plenty enough to make the online viable for months !

    Definitely the most fun I've had on a multiplayer game for a long time, especially in Escape mode, where you need to evac asap with your marine bros, within the time limit. You like the Alien franchise GO FOR IT Don't trust biased reviews don't trust COD players trust Alien fans
    Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Like many i'm sure, I have been counting down the weeks and days to this game. I've been so exited for it that when I read an early review, ILike many i'm sure, I have been counting down the weeks and days to this game. I've been so exited for it that when I read an early review, I was absolutely gutted to learn that it was negative. I never usually listen to the "professional" critics as I find they are way too picky, but in this case I just wanted to take a sneaky peak at what they had to say. I am pleased to say that whoever gives this game a review is talking bollocks!!! If you are a die hard fan of the Alien franchise, there is no way that you will be dissapointed with Aliens :Colonial Marines.

    Graphics: The graphics are not as polished as some other first person shooters, but it is no way as bad as some of these other pricks are claiming. It is a good looking game.

    Sound: The sound effects are absolutely awesome. You will wet your pants the first time you open fire with your pulse rifle. The music makes you feel like you are in the movie! And they have enlisted the original voice talent of Hicks, Hudson, Apone and Bishop!! Brilliant.

    Gameplay: Brilliant. Aliens crawl on cellings, walls, out of vents and once you've despathed those, it goes deadly quite and all you can hear is the tense music and clicking of your motion tracker as you walk through locations from the movie, waiting for your next close encounter. Absolutely amazing.

    Multiplayer: AWESOME!!! loads of fun. fully customisable marines and aliens. Awesome team base objective play.

    I am a massive fan of the series and want to give the most honest review possible.

    Negative points:

    sometimes the A.I. can be a bit thick. taking cover where I can still see them or somtimes just stand there. I came across some glithes that maybe a brand new game shouldn't have. The aliens in multiplayer are really hard to use and may put alot of people off.

    If you are a real die hard fan of the Alien franchise, you will be able to overlook these minor negative points and ultimately enjoy what is an awesome, fun experience in the world of Aliens.
    The very negative reviews are completely unfair.
    Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    The graphics are dated, and the gameplay is like every other FPS I've played. The story seems abit interesting but is in no way on par withThe graphics are dated, and the gameplay is like every other FPS I've played. The story seems abit interesting but is in no way on par with the films. Licensed games don't usually do that well, but after the Arkham Series and with Gearbox's name on the game I figured I'd not listen to the "professional" reviews and just get it anyway. If you're getting this game to play SOLO then you are waisting your money, but if you're getting it to play with friends I can guarantee you that you'll have a blast. The multiplayer is fun as hell, and if you set the difficulty to Ultimate Badass on the campaign with four friends you'd pretty much have to have no pulse to not have fun. Is it the best game I've played this year? No way, but it is in no way shape or form a 3 or 4 out of 10. It's graphics are horrible sure, but I'll take having a blast with four friends any day over graphics.
    It's got some glitches, but none that ruined the experience or hindered the amount of fun that I had. Having played it for several hours (SP and MP) I can definitely say with confidence that if you go into the game not expecting it to blow your mind or redefine the FPS genre and have a few friends with mics to play with you WILL have a blast.
    Collapse
  4. Oct 25, 2014
    4
    This wasn't a great game. The story was so bad. The characters weren't developed enough and remained bland throughout the campaign. Plus, theThis wasn't a great game. The story was so bad. The characters weren't developed enough and remained bland throughout the campaign. Plus, the AI is terrible and the game just didn't look as good as it was did before release.

    I'd say only get this if you're a die-hard Aliens fan. If not, I simply can't recommend this.
    Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    5 years in the making.... Oh dear the gameplay,graphics everything about this game looks 5 years old.... Fox backed this game and if I was5 years in the making.... Oh dear the gameplay,graphics everything about this game looks 5 years old.... Fox backed this game and if I was exec at Gearbox I'd be firing people in the morning...
    Truly bad ...
    I'm gutted after 5 years of waiting that a shoddy FPS looks and plays this bad....
    It lasted 4 hours in my PS3. Before I returned it to the store demanded my funds back.. Go get Deadspace 3 instead folks... LIGHT YEARS AHEAD OF ANYTHING LIKE THIS GARBAGE 4/10 and gutted..
    Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Aliens Colonial Marines or what I would Call, Call Of Duty Aliens, is one of the biggest let downs in the history of gaming. The game Graphics are poor, enemy AI is just retarded and don't behave like the Aliens are meant to behave. Rebellions AVP captured the Aliens movement and Behaviour to a teeth while this game has no sense of that. In the game you play as winter, a generic, lifeless character who pretty much has to rescue a bunch of missing colonial marines, which than turns into taking revenge against the corporation runed by some robot guy like bishop. A couple of level through, you go from shooting aliens to shooting humans with guns. Do I need to say More? Its a lame attempt by Gearbox to appeal the game to the COD fans. Absolutely disgusting! The Characters in the game have no personality and are annoying to listen to speak. And finally, captain hicks still being alive is ridiculous.

    To conclude, this game had potential but it was ruined by bad level design, bad graphics, bad characters, bad story and oh yes the CODnisation of the game. The only positive is the game sound.
    Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2013
    0
    Everything about this game is terrible can't even start with it I seriously think the creator didn't even try to make this game good by farEverything about this game is terrible can't even start with it I seriously think the creator didn't even try to make this game good by far the worst game I have ever played. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.