Aliens vs. Predator PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 167
  2. Negative: 27 out of 167
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    The single player mode decent but old fashioned and will appeal to the oldies that once played Alien trilogy or Alien vs predator years ago. The multiplayer mode falls way short of the Mark set by the COD series .... Consider buying thisone from the bargain bin
  2. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Quite Honestly, The Single Player Campaigns Were Fun to Play, But The Face-Hugger Was Cut Out of The Game, From My Experience, The Face-Hugger was One of the Most Fun parts of the alien game play, i was disappointed. However the Multi-player game featured many different game types and a ranking system (i wont go into too much detail, not wanting to make this too lengthy), it kept meQuite Honestly, The Single Player Campaigns Were Fun to Play, But The Face-Hugger Was Cut Out of The Game, From My Experience, The Face-Hugger was One of the Most Fun parts of the alien game play, i was disappointed. However the Multi-player game featured many different game types and a ranking system (i wont go into too much detail, not wanting to make this too lengthy), it kept me entertained for a long time, and i continue to play to this day. A lot of reviews I've read seem to agree with my position on the Face-hugger. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2010
    5
    Probably the most "ok" game I have ever played. 3 separate stories, none of which take too long to complete and actually hold a decent concept to each of them. The online play doesn't hold enough structure as all the players can be one race pretty much, so it doesn't allow for the depth it could of, if the developers decided to use random selections to see which players would take whichProbably the most "ok" game I have ever played. 3 separate stories, none of which take too long to complete and actually hold a decent concept to each of them. The online play doesn't hold enough structure as all the players can be one race pretty much, so it doesn't allow for the depth it could of, if the developers decided to use random selections to see which players would take which roles. My copy was only £10, so for me it was probably worth it, however i wouldn't of been happy if i had spent much more Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    6
    Some publication wrote: "if it wasn't for the licence, no one would care about this game" and that is a very apt description. The Marine missions are the only thing that come close to meeting expectation (granted they were great). Predator capabilities were underutilised. Alien missions - a flash in the pan. Only get this game if you love Aliens and/or Predators.
  5. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    Go ahead, fanboys hate me, but i found to be one of the most disappointing game i have ever played. I should mention that i was a huge fan of the Alien series and Predator, but not AVP. When i saw that this game was not following the story of the AVP movies, i got excited because i wanted to play as a Predator or an Alien. Sadly, only half of my dream came true. Graphics in this game useGo ahead, fanboys hate me, but i found to be one of the most disappointing game i have ever played. I should mention that i was a huge fan of the Alien series and Predator, but not AVP. When i saw that this game was not following the story of the AVP movies, i got excited because i wanted to play as a Predator or an Alien. Sadly, only half of my dream came true. Graphics in this game use the Unreal Engine, which worked really well in Bioshock , one of my favorite games of all time. But this game looks pretty bad, though not so bad that its terrible. While graphics could appeal to some, the gameplay is a huge downside to this game. The Marines are a standard FPS, two guns, grenades, melee, and it works well, but you dont FEEL like a stranded human fighting two extraterrestrial races, but a guy who is running around following orders. The Predator is easily the best of them all, multiple weapons, exciting gadgets, gruesome kills, it has it all. Who dosnt want to rip the spine out of a human and lovingly stroke it? Then you get the Alien, and my personal favorite of the races, but not because of this game. The controls are just plain awful, its so hard to figure out where you are once you start hopping from wall to wall and you attacks dont have any kick to them. Now, the ability to command a "Facehugger" to latch itself to a helpless human and a view of the mini head inside your mouth when you preform a special attack is awesome, but dosnt make up for the fact that its so hard to figure out the controls in the first place. Although the campaign has alot of flaws, it also is the only good part about this game. The multiplayer is useless and boring, after a few rounds i got bored and went back to the campaign. You play as one of the three races in a struggle for survival across multiple maps with alot of different game types, how could they mess up? Easy, with a server that take forever to load a match and rewards for leveling up that dont do anything but make you look cooler. When you level up, you unlock skins but dont unlock guns, abilities, or anything else, just how you look. How you play on your first match is how you play the rest of the time, guns are found just laying around and some of the maps, while familiar and i can appreciate the love some of them got, can range from good to terrible. Remember the pyramid from the original AVP? Its here, and it also changes every few minutes. Try playing as an alien while all the walls are changing, you get disoriented so easily and become an easy target by the other races because you'll be roaming around the ceiling and unable to figure out where you went. All in all, the campaign can give you some fun for a while as an predator and a marine but none for the alien, and the multiplayer is so empty that its hard to find a match now, and if you do it isnt worth your time. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2010
    6
    i really loved playing AVP on the PC back in the late 90s . it was the very first online game i ever played and spent almost 2 years on it. then you have AVP for the atari jagaur which was also made by rebellion which was the only reason to own a jagaur at the time . there was also AVP 2 which i didnt get to play much of being busy with phantasy star online at the time but i heard it was ai really loved playing AVP on the PC back in the late 90s . it was the very first online game i ever played and spent almost 2 years on it. then you have AVP for the atari jagaur which was also made by rebellion which was the only reason to own a jagaur at the time . there was also AVP 2 which i didnt get to play much of being busy with phantasy star online at the time but i heard it was a great game. well rebellion is now 3 to 4 now on the AVP series. this one just doesnt hold up to the other 3 it feels rushed and not well balanced out . the game is still fun in the story mode but not as good as the other 3 . the online is where the game really takes a hit . the species balancing is horrid . certain maps deffinitly boost the advantage as well to other races . the new melee combat system also sucks and still no acid spit for the alien . all in all AVP is a ok game especially if you are a die hard fan of both the Alien and Predator . you can get the game pretty cheap now. i picked mine up on amazon for just $14 with shipping. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    Aliens vs. Predator is not a perfect game by any means. The gun play, mission types and general set-up all feel very last generation. At it's core, AvP is an antiquated game sharing more in common with Perfect Dark than Call of Duty. Despite this, Aliens vs. Predator is a lot of fun. It's mechanics, whilst old, work completely fine and the game has tight controls. But most importantly, AvPAliens vs. Predator is not a perfect game by any means. The gun play, mission types and general set-up all feel very last generation. At it's core, AvP is an antiquated game sharing more in common with Perfect Dark than Call of Duty. Despite this, Aliens vs. Predator is a lot of fun. It's mechanics, whilst old, work completely fine and the game has tight controls. But most importantly, AvP nails the atmosphere and spirit of the movies just right. If you're a big fan of the franchises, this game is sure to delight. All three of the campaigns feel and play very distinctly and they're all equally as fun. The plot is also descent as each species experiences the same event, but from different skews. You'll have to wait until you've finished all three campaigns to fully understand the bigger picture. Because of it's franchise association, the game has a high replay value. Sometimes I just want to dip into the Aliens universe. When that time comes, AvP gets dusted down and played through again. The multiplayer is pretty descent, but it's here where the older game mechanics make themselves felt the most. Basically, it's never going to replace a COD or a Battlefield as your go-to online shooter. Overall, Aliens vs. Predator is a good, solid game. But if you're a huge fan of the franchise, it can sometimes transcend into a great one. Expand
  8. Jul 8, 2012
    6
    This game was somewhat of a disappointment. The singleplayer is fun and keeps you on your toes, and has the AvP elements to it. There are 3 campaigns to choose from- Marines, Aliens and Predators. As a marine you are send on a mission with your squad. On your way down to the planet you get attacked by Predators and you lose your consciousness. You wake up your corporal gives you orders toThis game was somewhat of a disappointment. The singleplayer is fun and keeps you on your toes, and has the AvP elements to it. There are 3 campaigns to choose from- Marines, Aliens and Predators. As a marine you are send on a mission with your squad. On your way down to the planet you get attacked by Predators and you lose your consciousness. You wake up your corporal gives you orders to aid your friends. As an Alien you are a escaped test subject that frees your friends from a lab. As the Predator you have just passed your training and have been given a mission to retrieve a certain artifact on the planet that used to belong to the Predators. Once you have completed the campaigns you won't really feel like going back. The multiplayer is awful. The multiplayer offers a small amount of horrible maps, and unbalanced characters where the Predator has the upper hand. Expand
  9. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Aliens vs. Predator is a game full of guts, gore, horror and (face)hugs. Featuring the ability to play as a marine, predator or alien in the separate stories makes for a 3 stories, which when put together make a lenghty camaign with 3 very different styles of gameplay. Marine survival horror, alien stealth, and predator's "kill everything" gameplay. All of them are very different gameplayAliens vs. Predator is a game full of guts, gore, horror and (face)hugs. Featuring the ability to play as a marine, predator or alien in the separate stories makes for a 3 stories, which when put together make a lenghty camaign with 3 very different styles of gameplay. Marine survival horror, alien stealth, and predator's "kill everything" gameplay. All of them are very different gameplay and different armories but all them share the same problem: being very fiddly. Predtor's weapons are irritating to acces, complete simple tasks like jumping on to buildings require you to hold buttons while clicking others. Alien wall climbing is irritating, much like the clunkyness of playing as a marine. Graphics wise it misses a lot of chances to impress, avoiding most of the best places from the films. Multiplayer is good, featuring a variety of game modes on ejoyable maps, however teams are easlily unblanced and can have you gritting your teeth in anger. There are those times that get you smiling aswell, like getting one of variety of grapple moves, which can often end in a long line of people killing each other, like a massacre at a konga party.

    Overall an enjoyable games that both angers and wows, offering lots of variety in singleplayer.

    Graphics- 6/10
    Gameplay- 7/10
    Plot- 5/10
    Singleplayer-7/10
    Multiplayer-8/10
    Innovation-7/10

    A good game.
    Expand
  10. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Un juego que prometia pero que no cumple las expectativas, trama absurda, modo historia aburrido, misiones inverosimeles, personajes tronchados, una decpción de juego tanto a nivel jugable como tecnico, solo para amantes del genero y fans de estos monstruos, para los demas, ahorraros el dinero...porque os arripentireis de compraroslo xDDDD yo lo vendi cuando me di cuenta que siempre eraUn juego que prometia pero que no cumple las expectativas, trama absurda, modo historia aburrido, misiones inverosimeles, personajes tronchados, una decpción de juego tanto a nivel jugable como tecnico, solo para amantes del genero y fans de estos monstruos, para los demas, ahorraros el dinero...porque os arripentireis de compraroslo xDDDD yo lo vendi cuando me di cuenta que siempre era hacer lo mismo una y otra vez Expand
  11. Feb 23, 2015
    7
    If youre looking for a unique game with a lot of graphic violence, here you go. Three story lines, Colonial Marine, Alien, Predator. The marine campaign is boring, but the alien and predators have special execution moves, that you will performing throughtout. Both alien and predator have maybe a dozen unique executions that are very violent and satisfying. Other than that, the game isntIf youre looking for a unique game with a lot of graphic violence, here you go. Three story lines, Colonial Marine, Alien, Predator. The marine campaign is boring, but the alien and predators have special execution moves, that you will performing throughtout. Both alien and predator have maybe a dozen unique executions that are very violent and satisfying. Other than that, the game isnt very good, nor exciting. Buy it on amazon used for $10, thats what I did. Expand
  12. Aug 23, 2013
    0
    One of the few actually scary games for PS3, I got this a few years ago with NO knowledge of the franchise.
    Each campaign is full-sized, The human one is scary, the predator one is just awesome, and the Alien one was so much fun.
    Standard gameplay for the human, but the Alien and Predator ones were very fun to play and unique. The online mode is one of the greatest I've ever played in
    One of the few actually scary games for PS3, I got this a few years ago with NO knowledge of the franchise.
    Each campaign is full-sized, The human one is scary, the predator one is just awesome, and the Alien one was so much fun.
    Standard gameplay for the human, but the Alien and Predator ones were very fun to play and unique.
    The online mode is one of the greatest I've ever played in any game. It's so fun to chase humans as a Predator.
    This is a very enjoyable game, I don't know if it's true to the franchise, but it's a great game either way.
    Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 57
  2. Negative: 2 out of 57
  1. Game Informer
    58
    Like an antithesis to Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, it proves that two great flavors don't always taste great together. [Issue#203, p.87]
  2. 85
    A game that's going to stoke the hearts of anyone who ever fell in love with the original films – which is likely anyone who's ever picked up a game pad.
  3. The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them.