Aliens vs. Predator PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 167
  2. Negative: 27 out of 167
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This game was completely awesome. Loved playing and killing other dudes lol. This game is the best i've played so far and i hope the sequel will be in 3D. But it wasn't just the game, but also the story was great and something people wanted in a story.
  2. MikeA
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    AVP on consoles isn't visually up to par with the PC version and sports some controls that aren't as intuitive as the PC version with it's ability to rebind keys how ever you'd like. This game looks stellar in 1080p. Controls are great Visuals are excellent, models have higher poly counts and texture resolutions than Crysis. Alien is disorienting at first to players AVP on consoles isn't visually up to par with the PC version and sports some controls that aren't as intuitive as the PC version with it's ability to rebind keys how ever you'd like. This game looks stellar in 1080p. Controls are great Visuals are excellent, models have higher poly counts and texture resolutions than Crysis. Alien is disorienting at first to players who haven't played the previous games, but if you aren't prone to motion sickness, you'll get a long just fine. Multiplayer shines real bright, offering vintage modes such as FFA and TDM, and apply some twists in the fashion of Mixed Species Team Deathmatch and conquest... also offering a remake of the original "horde mode" titled "Survivor" that is just as creepy if not more so than the original. It sports 7 games modes and 3 full length single player campaigns that tell a pretty good story that is every bit as detailed as the movie... including the likeness of hollywood star and Alien veteran, Lance Henrikson. The campaign is really beautifully voiced. This game is such a vast departure from games with a play style akin to MW2 and can be a little discouraging at first, but if you stick it out and really learn the game you should realize it's value. (It's got a fair bit of content for it's pricetag). Expand
  3. avaterb
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    One of the most thrilling and atmospheric shooters ever. Playing as one of the most feared movie monsters is awesome. Developer Rebellion did a good job, by designing each species with its own gameplay elements. Story and graphics are good and multiplayer is a blast! Best of the game is, that it really catches the atmosphere of the alien/predator franchise. For fans, probably the best One of the most thrilling and atmospheric shooters ever. Playing as one of the most feared movie monsters is awesome. Developer Rebellion did a good job, by designing each species with its own gameplay elements. Story and graphics are good and multiplayer is a blast! Best of the game is, that it really catches the atmosphere of the alien/predator franchise. For fans, probably the best movie-inspired game adaption so far! Expand
  4. Jordan
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Imagine the old amazing classic moments and fun that was AvP1 and AvP2. Now imagine it redone with today's gaming technology with a fresh breath of air. This game is awesome. All the fans should be pleased with this game. Great fun,amazing atmosphere..hope this game sells well so I can have a strong online community to interact with. Completely unique and fresh compared to all other Imagine the old amazing classic moments and fun that was AvP1 and AvP2. Now imagine it redone with today's gaming technology with a fresh breath of air. This game is awesome. All the fans should be pleased with this game. Great fun,amazing atmosphere..hope this game sells well so I can have a strong online community to interact with. Completely unique and fresh compared to all other generic shooters out there. I recommend you guys check it out. Expand
  5. AliG.
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent adaptation. It may be a generic shooter but its AVP, it gets everything done perfect when seen through a fan's prospective. The sound effects, the levels, the music, the gameplay. What more can an AVP fan ask for? This is game is nothing like COD or HALO that you can pick up and start shooting, REQUIRES a learning curve and once you learned how to manage controls and the Excellent adaptation. It may be a generic shooter but its AVP, it gets everything done perfect when seen through a fan's prospective. The sound effects, the levels, the music, the gameplay. What more can an AVP fan ask for? This is game is nothing like COD or HALO that you can pick up and start shooting, REQUIRES a learning curve and once you learned how to manage controls and the whole gameplay system, its simply amazing! Expand
  6. RIPLEY
    Feb 19, 2010
    8
    I have been playing all day and have yet to see what the bad reviews talk about. I don't see anything wrong with the visuals. The controls are fluid once you get used to them (plus there are many schemes to choose from). The sound is excellent taken straight from the alien movies, The gameplay is very good, all species feel different to play. The multiplayer is very good and feels I have been playing all day and have yet to see what the bad reviews talk about. I don't see anything wrong with the visuals. The controls are fluid once you get used to them (plus there are many schemes to choose from). The sound is excellent taken straight from the alien movies, The gameplay is very good, all species feel different to play. The multiplayer is very good and feels fresh compared to other games. It's really fun to play species team deathmatch as well as other modes. If you are an avp fan then this game is the next best thing to the original alien and predator movies (not the two crappy avp). It feels as if you are watching "aliens" all over again which is a very good thing. In short it looks great, it plays great, it feels great and its worth its money. Sure it's not GOTY material or Killzone 3 but it is a very good game nonetheless and doesn't deserve any score below 7-8. Expand
  7. JoshS.
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    This game is great! This coming from a newbie to the series (don't really like movies) and I can say that the addition of the Predators and Aliens makes this a more than average shooter. The three campaigns equal a full game, multiple difficulties extend the single-player, and a whole mess of traditional MP modes given new life (on consoles anyway) with the before mentioned monsters, This game is great! This coming from a newbie to the series (don't really like movies) and I can say that the addition of the Predators and Aliens makes this a more than average shooter. The three campaigns equal a full game, multiple difficulties extend the single-player, and a whole mess of traditional MP modes given new life (on consoles anyway) with the before mentioned monsters, and two interesting game modes based on the monsters. Content equal the price tag. Expand
  8. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Aliens vs. Predator tells the story of a colonial base on a distant planet that finds itself at the unfortunate land of a showdown between a hive of Aliens and a hunting party of Predators.

    Playing through the first-person shooter as a marine, an Alien and a Predator, gamers will piece together the story of what happened on Freya's Prospect Colony and the U.S.S. Marlow. Packed with
    Aliens vs. Predator tells the story of a colonial base on a distant planet that finds itself at the unfortunate land of a showdown between a hive of Aliens and a hunting party of Predators.

    Playing through the first-person shooter as a marine, an Alien and a Predator, gamers will piece together the story of what happened on Freya's Prospect Colony and the U.S.S. Marlow. Packed with weapons, over-the-top trophy kills and special moves.

    The Predator: One of my favourite species to control, the Elite Predator gets three vision modes, normal vision,(as us humans see) heat vision for the marines, and alien vision. You have all of the predatorâ
    Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    I don't see why everyone has been saying this is a poor attempt at making an AvP game. I have the played all three AvP games plus own the second and the third game and personally the third isn't as good as the two previous games made but it still stands on its own. I have to admit the three campaigns are on the short side and the Alien campaign is just kill, kill, kill with no story butI don't see why everyone has been saying this is a poor attempt at making an AvP game. I have the played all three AvP games plus own the second and the third game and personally the third isn't as good as the two previous games made but it still stands on its own. I have to admit the three campaigns are on the short side and the Alien campaign is just kill, kill, kill with no story but that's the way the Alien is, it doesn't need to give a reason why it kills.This game really shines in the multiplayer though and i have to say that it is amazing. It's charms do where off though but it is still fun to play. It is a solid game and if you're a fan of the movies i do recommend it as a must have game. The only reason i don't give it a ten is because of the poorly designed matchmaking system for ranked matches. Still gives me the sh*ts Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Great fun being able to play all the different characters! Marine campaign is genuinely scary, especially if you play it first (best to). Predator abilities and weapon controls take some learning but once learnt you can really have some fun tearing a new hole in some Xenos. Alien campaign is very different to anything else I've played and demands very good spacial awareness. Enjoyed theGreat fun being able to play all the different characters! Marine campaign is genuinely scary, especially if you play it first (best to). Predator abilities and weapon controls take some learning but once learnt you can really have some fun tearing a new hole in some Xenos. Alien campaign is very different to anything else I've played and demands very good spacial awareness. Enjoyed the game and looking forward to Colonial Marines! Expand
  11. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    TENSE. If you are a fan of the movies then buy this game. Playing as human you get to kill both xenomorph and predators in one of the most tense campaigns ever, never mind the scenery you won't have time to look at it but having said that I found the graphics to be very decent. Playing as xenomorph you get to plunge your teeth into the skulls of hapless humans which is very entertaining,TENSE. If you are a fan of the movies then buy this game. Playing as human you get to kill both xenomorph and predators in one of the most tense campaigns ever, never mind the scenery you won't have time to look at it but having said that I found the graphics to be very decent. Playing as xenomorph you get to plunge your teeth into the skulls of hapless humans which is very entertaining, alien controls are... Alien, I mean what did people expect? Once the controls are mastered the action is fun and entertaining, travelling upside down is a breeze and transition is seamless, sorry haters you guys just don't know how to play the game, so if you find new controls difficult, stick to what you know best which is practically zip. Playing as predator is especially fun, ripping out the spines of your victims and using their heads to access locks, oh the fun, in fact the only thing missing here is an Earth level with Arnie in it. Unfortunately game designers can't please everybody but if you buy this from the bargain table for a song you won't be disappointed at all. With any luck the sequel or prequel will be even better. Expand
  12. May 16, 2013
    10
    I love playing this game.Great fun being able to play all the different characters.you get to kill both xenomorph and predators in one of the most tense campaigns ever.
  13. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    One of the few actually scary games for PS3, I got this a few years ago with NO knowledge of the franchise.
    Each campaign is full-sized, The human one is scary, the predator one is just awesome, and the Alien one was so much fun.
    Standard gameplay for the human, but the Alien and Predator ones were very fun to play and unique. The online mode is one of the greatest I've ever played in
    One of the few actually scary games for PS3, I got this a few years ago with NO knowledge of the franchise.
    Each campaign is full-sized, The human one is scary, the predator one is just awesome, and the Alien one was so much fun.
    Standard gameplay for the human, but the Alien and Predator ones were very fun to play and unique.
    The online mode is one of the greatest I've ever played in any game. It's so fun to chase humans as a Predator.
    This is a very enjoyable game, I don't know if it's true to the franchise, but it's a great game either way.
    Expand
  14. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    I am halfway through this game and so far have to say it has been very entertaining. I must point out I got it for a lot less than the original retail cost, but as it can be picked up cheap now I have based my score on it being a 'budget' title.

    The three campaigns all play differently and are authentic, closely matching the look and feel of the source material. the visuals are not
    I am halfway through this game and so far have to say it has been very entertaining. I must point out I got it for a lot less than the original retail cost, but as it can be picked up cheap now I have based my score on it being a 'budget' title.

    The three campaigns all play differently and are authentic, closely matching the look and feel of the source material. the visuals are not triple A but they do the job and in some places really shine, especially as the predator during finishing moves and cloaking. Once you get the hang of the play styles you can really feel for each character and the game can be very tense or empowering, depending on who you are playing as.

    The single player campaigns are quite short and can be completed in a few hours each but there are three of them and different levels of difficulty and collectibles to add some longevity.

    I can recommend this if you are a fan of the films or even more so if you liked the original PC or jaguar games as this does play like an old school shooter at times, which isn't really a bad thing!
    Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 57
  2. Negative: 2 out of 57
  1. Game Informer
    58
    Like an antithesis to Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, it proves that two great flavors don't always taste great together. [Issue#203, p.87]
  2. 85
    A game that's going to stoke the hearts of anyone who ever fell in love with the original films – which is likely anyone who's ever picked up a game pad.
  3. The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them.