User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 152

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    I am halfway through this game and so far have to say it has been very entertaining. I must point out I got it for a lot less than the original retail cost, but as it can be picked up cheap now I have based my score on it being a 'budget' title.

    The three campaigns all play differently and are authentic, closely matching the look and feel of the source material. the visuals are not
    triple A but they do the job and in some places really shine, especially as the predator during finishing moves and cloaking. Once you get the hang of the play styles you can really feel for each character and the game can be very tense or empowering, depending on who you are playing as.

    The single player campaigns are quite short and can be completed in a few hours each but there are three of them and different levels of difficulty and collectibles to add some longevity.

    I can recommend this if you are a fan of the films or even more so if you liked the original PC or jaguar games as this does play like an old school shooter at times, which isn't really a bad thing!
    Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Un juego que prometia pero que no cumple las expectativas, trama absurda, modo historia aburrido, misiones inverosimeles, personajes tronchados, una decpción de juego tanto a nivel jugable como tecnico, solo para amantes del genero y fans de estos monstruos, para los demas, ahorraros el dinero...porque os arripentireis de compraroslo xDDDD yo lo vendi cuando me di cuenta que siempre era hacer lo mismo una y otra vez Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Aliens vs. Predator is a game full of guts, gore, horror and (face)hugs. Featuring the ability to play as a marine, predator or alien in the separate stories makes for a 3 stories, which when put together make a lenghty camaign with 3 very different styles of gameplay. Marine survival horror, alien stealth, and predator's "kill everything" gameplay. All of them are very different gameplay and different armories but all them share the same problem: being very fiddly. Predtor's weapons are irritating to acces, complete simple tasks like jumping on to buildings require you to hold buttons while clicking others. Alien wall climbing is irritating, much like the clunkyness of playing as a marine. Graphics wise it misses a lot of chances to impress, avoiding most of the best places from the films. Multiplayer is good, featuring a variety of game modes on ejoyable maps, however teams are easlily unblanced and can have you gritting your teeth in anger. There are those times that get you smiling aswell, like getting one of variety of grapple moves, which can often end in a long line of people killing each other, like a massacre at a konga party.

    Overall an enjoyable games that both angers and wows, offering lots of variety in singleplayer.

    Graphics- 6/10
    Gameplay- 7/10
    Plot- 5/10
    Singleplayer-7/10
    Multiplayer-8/10
    Innovation-7/10

    A good game.
    Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    One of the few actually scary games for PS3, I got this a few years ago with NO knowledge of the franchise.
    Each campaign is full-sized, The human one is scary, the predator one is just awesome, and the Alien one was so much fun.
    Standard gameplay for the human, but the Alien and Predator ones were very fun to play and unique.
    The online mode is one of the greatest I've ever played in
    any game. It's so fun to chase humans as a Predator.
    This is a very enjoyable game, I don't know if it's true to the franchise, but it's a great game either way.
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2013
    10
    I love playing this game.Great fun being able to play all the different characters.you get to kill both xenomorph and predators in one of the most tense campaigns ever.
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    TENSE. If you are a fan of the movies then buy this game. Playing as human you get to kill both xenomorph and predators in one of the most tense campaigns ever, never mind the scenery you won't have time to look at it but having said that I found the graphics to be very decent. Playing as xenomorph you get to plunge your teeth into the skulls of hapless humans which is very entertaining, alien controls are... Alien, I mean what did people expect? Once the controls are mastered the action is fun and entertaining, travelling upside down is a breeze and transition is seamless, sorry haters you guys just don't know how to play the game, so if you find new controls difficult, stick to what you know best which is practically zip. Playing as predator is especially fun, ripping out the spines of your victims and using their heads to access locks, oh the fun, in fact the only thing missing here is an Earth level with Arnie in it. Unfortunately game designers can't please everybody but if you buy this from the bargain table for a song you won't be disappointed at all. With any luck the sequel or prequel will be even better. Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Great fun being able to play all the different characters! Marine campaign is genuinely scary, especially if you play it first (best to). Predator abilities and weapon controls take some learning but once learnt you can really have some fun tearing a new hole in some Xenos. Alien campaign is very different to anything else I've played and demands very good spacial awareness. Enjoyed the game and looking forward to Colonial Marines! Expand
  8. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    I don't see why everyone has been saying this is a poor attempt at making an AvP game. I have the played all three AvP games plus own the second and the third game and personally the third isn't as good as the two previous games made but it still stands on its own. I have to admit the three campaigns are on the short side and the Alien campaign is just kill, kill, kill with no story but that's the way the Alien is, it doesn't need to give a reason why it kills.This game really shines in the multiplayer though and i have to say that it is amazing. It's charms do where off though but it is still fun to play. It is a solid game and if you're a fan of the movies i do recommend it as a must have game. The only reason i don't give it a ten is because of the poorly designed matchmaking system for ranked matches. Still gives me the sh*ts Expand
  9. Jul 8, 2012
    6
    This game was somewhat of a disappointment. The singleplayer is fun and keeps you on your toes, and has the AvP elements to it. There are 3 campaigns to choose from- Marines, Aliens and Predators. As a marine you are send on a mission with your squad. On your way down to the planet you get attacked by Predators and you lose your consciousness. You wake up your corporal gives you orders to aid your friends. As an Alien you are a escaped test subject that frees your friends from a lab. As the Predator you have just passed your training and have been given a mission to retrieve a certain artifact on the planet that used to belong to the Predators. Once you have completed the campaigns you won't really feel like going back. The multiplayer is awful. The multiplayer offers a small amount of horrible maps, and unbalanced characters where the Predator has the upper hand. Expand
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    Aliens vs. Predator is not a perfect game by any means. The gun play, mission types and general set-up all feel very last generation. At it's core, AvP is an antiquated game sharing more in common with Perfect Dark than Call of Duty. Despite this, Aliens vs. Predator is a lot of fun. It's mechanics, whilst old, work completely fine and the game has tight controls. But most importantly, AvP nails the atmosphere and spirit of the movies just right. If you're a big fan of the franchises, this game is sure to delight. All three of the campaigns feel and play very distinctly and they're all equally as fun. The plot is also descent as each species experiences the same event, but from different skews. You'll have to wait until you've finished all three campaigns to fully understand the bigger picture. Because of it's franchise association, the game has a high replay value. Sometimes I just want to dip into the Aliens universe. When that time comes, AvP gets dusted down and played through again. The multiplayer is pretty descent, but it's here where the older game mechanics make themselves felt the most. Basically, it's never going to replace a COD or a Battlefield as your go-to online shooter. Overall, Aliens vs. Predator is a good, solid game. But if you're a huge fan of the franchise, it can sometimes transcend into a great one. Expand
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    The single player mode decent but old fashioned and will appeal to the oldies that once played Alien trilogy or Alien vs predator years ago. The multiplayer mode falls way short of the Mark set by the COD series .... Consider buying thisone from the bargain bin
  12. Dec 28, 2010
    6
    i really loved playing AVP on the PC back in the late 90s . it was the very first online game i ever played and spent almost 2 years on it. then you have AVP for the atari jagaur which was also made by rebellion which was the only reason to own a jagaur at the time . there was also AVP 2 which i didnt get to play much of being busy with phantasy star online at the time but i heard it was a great game. well rebellion is now 3 to 4 now on the AVP series. this one just doesnt hold up to the other 3 it feels rushed and not well balanced out . the game is still fun in the story mode but not as good as the other 3 . the online is where the game really takes a hit . the species balancing is horrid . certain maps deffinitly boost the advantage as well to other races . the new melee combat system also sucks and still no acid spit for the alien . all in all AVP is a ok game especially if you are a die hard fan of both the Alien and Predator . you can get the game pretty cheap now. i picked mine up on amazon for just $14 with shipping. Expand
  13. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    Go ahead, fanboys hate me, but i found to be one of the most disappointing game i have ever played. I should mention that i was a huge fan of the Alien series and Predator, but not AVP. When i saw that this game was not following the story of the AVP movies, i got excited because i wanted to play as a Predator or an Alien. Sadly, only half of my dream came true. Graphics in this game use the Unreal Engine, which worked really well in Bioshock , one of my favorite games of all time. But this game looks pretty bad, though not so bad that its terrible. While graphics could appeal to some, the gameplay is a huge downside to this game. The Marines are a standard FPS, two guns, grenades, melee, and it works well, but you dont FEEL like a stranded human fighting two extraterrestrial races, but a guy who is running around following orders. The Predator is easily the best of them all, multiple weapons, exciting gadgets, gruesome kills, it has it all. Who dosnt want to rip the spine out of a human and lovingly stroke it? Then you get the Alien, and my personal favorite of the races, but not because of this game. The controls are just plain awful, its so hard to figure out where you are once you start hopping from wall to wall and you attacks dont have any kick to them. Now, the ability to command a "Facehugger" to latch itself to a helpless human and a view of the mini head inside your mouth when you preform a special attack is awesome, but dosnt make up for the fact that its so hard to figure out the controls in the first place. Although the campaign has alot of flaws, it also is the only good part about this game. The multiplayer is useless and boring, after a few rounds i got bored and went back to the campaign. You play as one of the three races in a struggle for survival across multiple maps with alot of different game types, how could they mess up? Easy, with a server that take forever to load a match and rewards for leveling up that dont do anything but make you look cooler. When you level up, you unlock skins but dont unlock guns, abilities, or anything else, just how you look. How you play on your first match is how you play the rest of the time, guns are found just laying around and some of the maps, while familiar and i can appreciate the love some of them got, can range from good to terrible. Remember the pyramid from the original AVP? Its here, and it also changes every few minutes. Try playing as an alien while all the walls are changing, you get disoriented so easily and become an easy target by the other races because you'll be roaming around the ceiling and unable to figure out where you went. All in all, the campaign can give you some fun for a while as an predator and a marine but none for the alien, and the multiplayer is so empty that its hard to find a match now, and if you do it isnt worth your time. Expand
  14. Dec 1, 2010
    3
    Did you enjoy AVP2? If so, you probably won't enjoy this. Thanks to a ridiculous rock paper scissors melee combat system, severe balance issues, short campaigns, dead multiplayer, abysmally slow gameplay and disorienting controls especially for the alien, you'd be lucky if you didn't come down with a severe case of buyer's remorse.

    The Xenomorph is horribly weak compared to it's last
    outing in AVP2; removed is it's amazing pounce ability, easy to use wall climb, and any semblance of melee ability. Let me sum up the balance for you right here: a Marine can stunlock a Xenomorph in melee. Yes, the ranged specialist can destroy the melee-only (super strong in lore) Xenomorph in hand to hand combat. Sadly the xenomorph is now the weakest class in the campaign and multiplay.

    Newly added are ridiculous fatalities that take so long to execute, you'll be lucky not to die in the middle of ripping something's head off. Hope you enjoy maiming your enemies in the same four ways over and over, because these moves are the only way to quickly dispatch foes without getting embroiled in a drawn out alien vs marine boxing match.

    Both the Predator and Xenomorph campaigns are heavy on the stealth element. Xenomorphs must stick to the shadows, and predators must commandeer high ground and stay cloaked. The predator does have a new skill that makes the campaign a joke though; "Distraction". This new ability lets you target a marine you would like to distract, then select the location you would like him to walk to. Most marines will immediately head to the location you specified, where you can then leap down and use your instant-kill stealth attack. They never really get suspicious about the gargantuan pile of marine corpses they just walked into, so you can use the same exact blind corner to clear out most levels of marine enemies.

    In addition to this, and related to balance, the predator has two infinite use weapons; the disc and spear, which allow him to remain cloaked and completely decimate his targets at range. Cloaking also uses no energy now, and predators have lost their energy generator and heal-via-energy kit, in favor of a three maximum pickup pred-med-kit system that uses "health shards" much like a marine uses medkits. The predator is by far the most overpowered class in this game.

    The marine is your typical FPS experience, they have a motion detecting radar, and a variety (less than AVP2) of ranged weapons. The flamethrower has been weakened considerably since AVP2, and the marines have been taking martial arts lessons from solid snake apparently, as they can beat down both of the insanely strong (in lore) alien races in hand to hand combat. The marine campaign is no longer the chilling experience that it was, and part of this is the music and sound's various problems.

    Lets get into the music then, shall we? You may remember those violin shrieks when something scary happened in AVP2, well, these are now incorporated into the ambient music, and no longer mean anything. So I hope you enjoy hearing the exact same refrain of violin shriek, spooky noise, etc. over and over until you finish the game. You may as well put on your favorite Halloween haunted house cd, because that's what they've turned the soundtrack into. The only thing missing is Dracula making bluuhh noises.

    Replay value for the campaigns is poor, Hope you enjoy pointless pickups for a couple worthless achievements! Even the alien has to find royal jelly cans hidden around the levels in areas that make no sense considering what the items are. It also hurts the replay value that you keep revisiting the same areas through each campaign.

    I was saddened by the fact that as of November 2010, the multiplayer scene for this game seems to be on it's last gasps. I managed to get one match during the course of searching for three hours. There does exist some DLC for this game, but I'm not sure how much lacking it affects your ability to find a match.

    My final verdict for this game: Don't waste your money. Reinstall the old AVP games and have some actual fun, which this game lacks.
    Expand
  15. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Aliens vs. Predator tells the story of a colonial base on a distant planet that finds itself at the unfortunate land of a showdown between a hive of Aliens and a hunting party of Predators.

    Playing through the first-person shooter as a marine, an Alien and a Predator, gamers will piece together the story of what happened on Freya's Prospect Colony and the U.S.S. Marlow. Packed with
    weapons, over-the-top trophy kills and special moves.

    The Predator: One of my favourite species to control, the Elite Predator gets three vision modes, normal vision,(as us humans see) heat vision for the marines, and alien vision. You have all of the predatorâ
    Expand
  16. Oct 17, 2010
    6
    Some publication wrote: "if it wasn't for the licence, no one would care about this game" and that is a very apt description. The Marine missions are the only thing that come close to meeting expectation (granted they were great). Predator capabilities were underutilised. Alien missions - a flash in the pan. Only get this game if you love Aliens and/or Predators.
  17. Sep 23, 2010
    5
    Probably the most "ok" game I have ever played. 3 separate stories, none of which take too long to complete and actually hold a decent concept to each of them. The online play doesn't hold enough structure as all the players can be one race pretty much, so it doesn't allow for the depth it could of, if the developers decided to use random selections to see which players would take which roles. My copy was only £10, so for me it was probably worth it, however i wouldn't of been happy if i had spent much more Expand
  18. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Quite Honestly, The Single Player Campaigns Were Fun to Play, But The Face-Hugger Was Cut Out of The Game, From My Experience, The Face-Hugger was One of the Most Fun parts of the alien game play, i was disappointed. However the Multi-player game featured many different game types and a ranking system (i wont go into too much detail, not wanting to make this too lengthy), it kept me entertained for a long time, and i continue to play to this day. A lot of reviews I've read seem to agree with my position on the Face-hugger. Expand
  19. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This game was completely awesome. Loved playing and killing other dudes lol. This game is the best i've played so far and i hope the sequel will be in 3D. But it wasn't just the game, but also the story was great and something people wanted in a story.
  20. May 16, 2013
    0
    I love playing this game.Great fun being able to play all the different characters.you get to kill both xenomorph and predators in one of the most tense campaigns ever.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 57
  2. Negative: 2 out of 57
  1. Like an antithesis to Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, it proves that two great flavors don't always taste great together. [Issue#203, p.87]
  2. 85
    A game that's going to stoke the hearts of anyone who ever fell in love with the original films – which is likely anyone who's ever picked up a game pad.
  3. The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them.