User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 44
  2. Negative: 16 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CurtB.
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    This game had it's moments. The story was well thought out and the graphics (esp. lighting) are incredible. It also has some original ideas (like the inventory screen and combing items in a new way). The controls on the other hand are terrible. Driving is near impossible and the rest of the game is a chore to get through.
  2. DavidA.
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    To be perfectly honest, Inferno is actuallly a great game. The only problems i had were the controls, which i didnt mind and the graphics could have been better and also vehicle control which felt a little akward, but wasnt a huge thing. Other than that, Inferno has some memorable moments and a story which grips you from the start. Well worth a look, if not a purchase.
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrible... Just horrible... Even Rouge Warrior beats this piece of s**t. Lame driving physics, bad controls and just... The game itself. Nothing more to say. Expand
  4. AllenO
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    This is a cult game, you'll either love it or hate it, I loved every minute, it will be a forgotten classic due to it's low metacritic score
  5. Czar
    Nov 5, 2008
    8
    I downloaded the demo yesterday (and I used to own the 360 copy, too). And I have to say that it feel pretty good now. The controls are tight and the camera makes sense now, too. I'd give it another go this way, no doubt about it.
  6. JohnDoe
    Mar 16, 2009
    9
    The amount of improvements this game has seen makes it beyond just worthy of playing. Do yourself a favor and spend under $20 pick this up and enjoy something a little different for channge.
  7. BryanM
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Alone in the Dark is so innovative and visually impressive... It may have it's flaws and it may not be for everybody, but it's an excellent game and too many people out there are giving it way too low of a score. I know it doesn't warrant a 10, but the average needs to come up because there are too many unskilled and biased noobs out there who barely know how to use a Alone in the Dark is so innovative and visually impressive... It may have it's flaws and it may not be for everybody, but it's an excellent game and too many people out there are giving it way too low of a score. I know it doesn't warrant a 10, but the average needs to come up because there are too many unskilled and biased noobs out there who barely know how to use a controller and rate this game a 0. Alone in the Dark is epic and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Collapse
  8. ChrisM.
    Nov 18, 2008
    3
    They can re-name this game as much as they want it is still rubbish. 3 out of 10.
  9. Mar 29, 2011
    0
    I threw myself into playing Alone in the Dark Inferno expecting at the very least an average game at best. I think my expectations may have been too high even then. This might possibly be one of the worst survival horror games ever made. First I'll start off with the major complaint. The controls. I've NEVER fought so hard in my life to just play the game and even by the end of the game II threw myself into playing Alone in the Dark Inferno expecting at the very least an average game at best. I think my expectations may have been too high even then. This might possibly be one of the worst survival horror games ever made. First I'll start off with the major complaint. The controls. I've NEVER fought so hard in my life to just play the game and even by the end of the game I still felt like they were sloppy and rugged. Next onto graphics. The graphics were scarier then the game. They're awful for a next gen game. Environment, weapons, "ratz", vampirz", "humanz", cut scenes, everyone and everything in the game looks bad. Story is god awful as well and the dialog makes it even worse. You know the games going to be bad when it seems like every sentence has cursing. In closing Alone in the Dark Inferno is one of those games you go out and buy from a bargain bin for 5$, or rent if you are trying to get trophies or achievements. Other then that I can't see any reason for actually wanting this game. Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2014
    6
    It was an OK game. It wasn't an amazing one, though. Terrible controls, confusing game mechanics and bugs are the main problems here, but it did have a good story with some great seat-pieces. Who wouldn't want to drive a taxi during an earthquake in New York?

    This game did a solid job of introducing me to Edward Carnby and the franchise. I just wish that it did that job better.
  11. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    This game deserves to be played. The game play actually works, and is really interesting to explore the terrifying world. This is the best open world horror game I've ever played, I even played through twice.
  12. Aug 21, 2013
    5
    this game was overall fair, the reason being is because the game had a bit of problems such as awkward controls and boring cut scenes but the gameplay was alright
  13. Sep 1, 2013
    2
    There has been some trashy games out there, and then there is Alone In The Dark Inferno. This game really got to me. As a fan of the long time series, i've played my share of classic series, and it has had it's up's and downs. This however, is a major down. I couldn't finish it... By the time I got to the awful driving scene.. I gave up. It felt practically broken... I'm sorry, butThere has been some trashy games out there, and then there is Alone In The Dark Inferno. This game really got to me. As a fan of the long time series, i've played my share of classic series, and it has had it's up's and downs. This however, is a major down. I couldn't finish it... By the time I got to the awful driving scene.. I gave up. It felt practically broken... I'm sorry, but this is actually one of the few titles I had to drop and return the same day I got it... A scar in a long time series... The worst part was, I was waiting for this title to release months ahead! Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Alone in the Dark proves that with a little time and patience, a good game can be created from innovative ideas.
  2. 70
    The fixes and changes have dragged Alone In The Dark from being a god-awful game to an okay one. It can’t compete with the likes of Dead Space, but it can cosy up with other mediocrity such as Siren: Blood Curse.
  3. It's definitely clever and fun, though, and Inferno's raft of improvements is enough to finally make Alone worth your attention. [Holiday 2008, p.81]