Alpha Protocol PlayStation 3

Alpha Protocol Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alpha Protocol is an espionage role-playing game set in the modern world. Loyalty carries a price and no one knows this more than agent Michael Thorton. A talented young agent cast out by his government, Thorton is the only one with the information needed to stop an impending internationalAlpha Protocol is an espionage role-playing game set in the modern world. Loyalty carries a price and no one knows this more than agent Michael Thorton. A talented young agent cast out by his government, Thorton is the only one with the information needed to stop an impending international catastrophe. To do so means he must cut himself off from the very people he is sworn to protect. As players determine how to accomplish different objectives, the decisions made and actions taken in each mission will ultimately transform the type of secret agent Michael Thorton will become. Every choice the player makes as Michael Thorton will carry consequences for his future and the fate of the world. [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. The game makes you feel like a real spy, complete with all the research-based legwork. In those respects, there are few games like it. Whether or not you like Alpha Protocol is probably going to depend on your proclivity for spy lore itself. But if you've ever wanted to be a secret agent, you could do a hell of a lot worse.
  2. Despite these flaws, Alpha Protocol is still a fun and entertaining experience with a dynamic storyline and solid RPG mechanics.
  3. The way the story and relationships change depending on your choices will keep you hooked, and warrants at least two play-throughs to see what might have been. However, just be aware that you'll have to put up with some problems.
  4. If you can look past the negatives, 'Alpha Protocol' has some intrigue that will pull you in, and quite possibly interesting enough to play through twice. However, that is only if you can accept the lackluster mechanics, broken action sequences and dull production values.
  5. Alpha Protocol's astounding intricacies are tarnished by bugs, clumsy gameplay mechanics, and rough production values.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    60
    There's just an awkward charm in its klutziness, but Alpha Protocol is a tough one to love. [July 2010, p.112]
  7. The RPG elements work well and are loads of fun to explore, but they only add up to half a game. What's left over is a brainless, broken mess.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    I personally really enjoyed this game. It made me think which I found a little bit frusterating at first but once I got used to the game II personally really enjoyed this game. It made me think which I found a little bit frusterating at first but once I got used to the game I flew right through it. I thought it had a great story and every decision you make is a big part of the story. I replay and replay this game over and over again and if you give it a chance you will enjoy it. Thats alot coming from me because the only other rpg game I've gotten this interested in was Biowares Star Wars: Knights of the old republic. I hope they make a sequel soon. Expand
  2. JonD
    Jun 12, 2010
    9
    The very minute i popped this game in and created my character and began my first mission (I already felt resentment from the release date The very minute i popped this game in and created my character and began my first mission (I already felt resentment from the release date being pushed back) I thought oh great..crappy graphics and a poor aiming reticule boy is this going to stink. but I decided since i did have this game on reserve forever that Id give it a chance... and boy am I glad I did! From beginning to end I couldnt put down my controller! It was like Knights of the old republic mixed with metal Gear with a lil Heavy Rain thrown in... What are some of you people talking about who gave this game poor your reviews mostly based on graphics alone? Did u really even bother playing the game or did you quickly dismiss it because the graphics weren't on par with say God of War III or Modern Warfare 2? (by the way I like both of those games as well) This game may not have great graphics (neither did Dragon Age by the way) but the gameplay, story, and the choices and decisions are what make this game shine. The decisions that you make (included mild decisions) actually alter the game dramatically... something that games like Infamous and Mass effect tried to do but failed horribly. I am replaying this game a 3rd time thru and everything is totally different including multiple endings. i am a gamer since the atari days and I love many games like Zelda, Fallout 3, Halo series , Call of duty series , Gears , Persona series and Rpgs and sports/racing and sandbox games like GTA and Red Dead Redemption so Im no Noob to games. Take my advice and pick this up NOW!!! (as well as Just Cause 2 and Red Dead Revolver And NIER). Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed playing this game. It's a 3rd person RPG that requires some thought. Parts need stealth and others need assault.

    It has a
    I really enjoyed playing this game. It's a 3rd person RPG that requires some thought. Parts need stealth and others need assault.

    It has a great story with lots of details and it gives you the choice on how the story evolves. Like most games now, you need to earn credits to improves skills and weapons, which I like. I thought the choice of weapons could be better though. I really liked the "hacking" and lock picking challenges aspect.

    I knocked it down a point because it's bit clunky compared to other 3rd person games and there weren't any options for replaying the story with your acquired skills and weapons.
    Expand
  4. EM
    Jun 3, 2010
    7
    I was expecting something a little different from Obsidian. Something better. The shooting aspect of the game isnt quite there and I was expecting something a little different from Obsidian. Something better. The shooting aspect of the game isnt quite there and there's something missing with the stealth portion of the game too. If your into a stealth shooter like Splinter Cell, you'll be disappointed. The shooting isnt good enough to make up for it. its not all about graphics but lets face it... it helps make a game better. There is no reason for this game to have the graphics that it does, and still have slow loading times. I give it a 7 because the idea is good, the choices of dialoge is good, and the blackmarket and weapon upgrades are good too. Is it worth the money. No. Wait to play this one, if you care to play it at all. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    This game is not as bad as people say. The gameplay isn't bad at all, you can choose your own game style and it works. The story is good butThis game is not as bad as people say. The gameplay isn't bad at all, you can choose your own game style and it works. The story is good but the cutscenes are so static and the voice acting so robotic that it's extremely boring to watch. This is what makes the game feel too long. The best thing though is the rpg elements. You can choose abilities when you level up and your chooses really make a big difference in how you play the game. It's even a game you could replay, first in action then in stealth for example. Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2012
    5
    Alpha protocol is a decent, yet broken experience of a game, that had the potential to be far better, given time. It's a espionage rpg, thatAlpha protocol is a decent, yet broken experience of a game, that had the potential to be far better, given time. It's a espionage rpg, that borrows from mass effect, but never ones close to the kind of feel you would be looking for. The story is good, the graphics are decent even if the frame rate stutters now and again, the intros are flawed, and not as fluid as you would like, and the whole stealth element is slightly broken. The major problem is the fact that the game is riddled with glitches, and bugs that dampen the whole experience.

    The game is interesting, and manages to keep you going to the end, but after this I would never go back for a second attempt, if they get round to another attempt, their is a formul here that be majorly overhauled for a greater experience.
    Expand
  7. James.L.
    Jun 3, 2010
    1
    1 out of 10. I would have given it 0 out of 10 but I couldn't subject myself to more than 3 hours of this unpolished turd of a game (& 1 out of 10. I would have given it 0 out of 10 but I couldn't subject myself to more than 3 hours of this unpolished turd of a game (& that was in 15 minute blocks) so I can't be sure that there isnt one tiny part of this game that doesn't suck complete ass. Seriously, This game would have been crap 5 years ago (when games like this were still being made), but for it to be released today is just disgraceful & an insulate to gamers everywhere. EVERYTHING about this game sucks. Graphics, bad. Sound, bad. AI, really bad. Controles, really, really, really bad. Level design, really..... Well, you get the idea. Possibly the worst game I've played this gen, DO NOT BUY!!!! Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.