Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 29
  2. Negative: 25 out of 29
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    48
    Amy is been far away of better horror titles. Its poor combat system, wrong plot, weak puzzles and shoddy checkpointing make it a bad game.
  2. 47
    An imaginative concept and some strong design are undone by a game that's gruelling in all the wrong ways.
  3. Jan 21, 2012
    45
    AMY is a total delusion: poor game design and a underwhelming graphic trasform an hyped game in one of the worst digital delivery game of this winter.
  4. Unfortunately, it doesn't get the basics right. [Mar 2012, p.80]
  5. Jan 11, 2012
    40
    If I were to recommend the game to a friend, I'd argue that it would be better to know, beforehand, that the production values and the playability really lack polish, before choosing to purchase it. It's so much so that it can, from time to time, completely ruin the experience. Despite this huge shortcoming, Amy has an atmosphere, stress-inducing and game world that are all powerful enough to overthrow the rest... if you're one to be hugely tolerant and really in need for a horror fix.
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. I wanted Amy to be good. It's a small developer trying to do something different, and a quality PSN survival horror game would have been perfect. But this is technically shoddy, poorly designed and unbearably frustrating. There's the odd moment when you care, but a dose of pure anger is never far behind.
  8. Feb 14, 2012
    35
    Amy has all the survival horror elements, but the execution is so poor that the result is a poisonous chimera. [March 2012, p.113]
  9. Jan 26, 2012
    35
    Amy is a game that I absolutely believe was originally conceived and designed with the best of intentions-but one which horrifically fell apart into a broken mess by the time it landed on our consoles.
  10. Jan 20, 2012
    33
    AMY lets you down in just about every possible category. The mechanics are bad, the Lana/Amy tandem is barely mediocre, the acting and writing is sub-par, the game design (from the ridiculous checkpoints/saving system to how the environment is laid out) is poor and immensely frustrating, and lastly, it just isn't scary.
  11. Feb 6, 2012
    30
    As a downloadable title, I wasn't expecting Amy to measure up against the triple-A juggernauts of the survival horror genre. However, I was expecting a game that was at least playable and contained some kind of entertainment. Make no mistake: Whether Amy is delivered to you via download, retail SKU, direct brain wave, or retinal implant, it is terrible and should be avoided.
  12. Feb 2, 2012
    30
    The trial-and-error nature of the level design, and the heinous save and checkpoint system make it a game that's infuriating to play. A slew of fundamental design decisions ruin a collection of great ideas, and that's unfortunate. AMY is not a tense game, it's a frustrating one. But what's most disappointing of all is that beneath the shoddy execution, it had real potential.
  13. Jan 29, 2012
    30
    The fact that Amy's concept was so intriguing sadly magnifies the feeling of gross letdown in its execution.
  14. Jan 20, 2012
    30
    It's hard to watch a game stumble with every step, but AMY repeatedly demolishes any reason to suspect Occam's razor shouldn't be employed; it's a dreadful game and a miserable experience.
  15. Jan 18, 2012
    30
    Decent ideas can't rescue this shoddy survival horror game.
  16. With the exception of a few scary moments Amy is anything but frightening. The puzzles are uninspired, the controls awkward, the voice acting horrible and the checkpoint system is one the worst we've ever encountered. [February 2012, p.100]
  17. Jan 23, 2012
    25
    Amy makes us understand parents who hit their children and that statement on itself is scarier than the hours we wasted playing this piece of crap.
  18. Feb 7, 2012
    20
    Amy is a game that somehow managed to take all of its bright potential and turn it into a dark shadow of all that it could have been. No matter where you look, all you see are bad design decisions, poor execution and broken mechanics.
  19. Jan 20, 2012
    20
    If Amy ever had a chance of keeping its head above water and surviving these problems, the awful checkpoint system ensures it drowns in them.
  20. Jan 19, 2012
    20
    AMY could have been one of those cult games if it wasn't for its tremendous flaws. Its controls are terrible, and its gameplay is very repetitive. It tries to frighten the player, but it is too full of used cliches and hardly will achieve it.
  21. Jan 17, 2012
    20
    Amy is the special kind of bad that rarely comes along, spoken of in the same breath as Superman 64. The plot is incoherent and unenjoyable, the characters are bland and unlikeable, and the setting is poorly established. The gameplay is broken and awkward to a degree that would be inexcusable in 2000, let alone 2012. Not even the budget price of $10 can come close to making this remotely worthwhile.
  22. Jan 11, 2012
    20
    Amy purports itself to be survival horror, but the only surviving you'll be doing is trying to make sense of the muddled gameplay mess laid before you as you're "scared" by the same gimmicky frights, like bursting gas pipes and falling portraits, over and over again.
  23. Jan 11, 2012
    20
    Amy fails on all counts. It's plagued by jerky movement, poor scripting, weak puzzles and shoddy checkpointing, but it's also a characterless mess of themes and ideas swiped from a dozen better horror titles. Neither quirky enough to be forgiven its unfinished feel nor polished enough to satisfy the base gaming itch, Amy is a crushing disappointment with little to recommend it.
  24. Mar 4, 2012
    19
    The stealth sections are quite possibly the worst designed section of any game that we've ever seen. [Issue#215, p.85]
  25. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Everything about Amy is designed to frustrate and drain the player's will before they eventually throw up their hands in defeat and give up. Between the broken combat, constant annoyances in dealing with Amy, counter-intuitive controls, non-existent plot, bland characters, cheap deaths, and overall shoddy workmanship, Amy fails on practically every level.
User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 14 out of 19
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    2
    This is game sounded good in previews, trailers and the original info for it, but this game is a complete disaster. The issues can even be seen in the opening scene where the voices are very bad, the character animations are amature and the scene lags. Second problems are in game, the checkpoint system is very bad and it is not fair at all. You die, your doing about 2 hours worth of gameplay... AGAIN. I would recommend burning your game system instead, at least its better then this horrible game burning your eyes out. I mean, i will rate this better IF they fix the issues with this crap title. Do a full update like what happened to Hydrophobia... Then maybe... Totally wasted 9.99. Im sorry wallet. Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2012
    2
    All I will say is there is far better out there. In fact to be on the harsher side i'd say keep pressing x on your ps3 controller and you'll already have purchased yourself a better game than this. It is really a shame that this game couldn't have turned out better as it looked to be very promising and the concept was fantastic. The problem, the entire execution. Graphics: 3
    Gameplay:2
    Presentation:3
    Lasting Appeal: 1
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    1
    First of all, what's with the "for only 10 bucks, it's good" comments? A dog's turd on the street costs even less and yet I don't see you playing with it. Also, have you seen what kind of awesome other games are available for the same price? I won't get into detail here, all the flaws have been mentioned in other reviews, but I just wanted to add that the game is NO horror game, okay? Horror, for me, means it should be scary. It is not, not at all. If anything, it's laughable and ridiculous. Just look at screenshots of the monsters ... However, the background sounds are kind of good, that's about it. Personally, I deeply, deeply regret having purchased this, even for "just ten bucks", especially since the developers decided to go the defensive route and claim on the facebook page the game wasn't bad but "hard" because they wanted to provide a challenge. Nice way to insult both possible customers and those wh bought the game and are pointing out the flaws. "Oh, no, the framerate is supposed to drop there, we wanted to make it harder to win that fight." Yes, sure. To say something nice about the game, I think the character design and graphics for both Lana and Amy are really good. Full Review »