Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: AMY is a survival horror/action adventure game, where players must protect, and escort the eponymous Amy - an enigmatic eight-year-old autistic girl with curious powers - as they try to get her out of a city overrun with wild creatures and dangerous enemies. The story follows Amy and the player character Lana, a woman who is trying to protect and save her in the disease-ridden town. They must work together to fight or flee from the aberrations, demons, and the military, in the hope of saving not only each other, but also the future of humanity itself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 29
  2. Negative: 25 out of 29
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    76
    Amy rises above the zombie splatter masses with protagonist Lana really coming across as a depsperate young woman rather than yet another survivor who's practically a Navy SEAL and can mow down anything anyway. If only it were always clear what you're meant to do next. Still, you'll actually want to learn more of the story – not every survival horror game can claim that.
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    50
    After a complicated first launch, Amy is reborn again to give some scares to this needed generation. It's a shame that all the good ideas the game has in its basics are not applied to the final version, plagued with multiple bugs of AI, control and visuals.
  3. Jan 21, 2012
    45
    AMY is a total delusion: poor game design and a underwhelming graphic trasform an hyped game in one of the worst digital delivery game of this winter.
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    30
    It's hard to watch a game stumble with every step, but AMY repeatedly demolishes any reason to suspect Occam's razor shouldn't be employed; it's a dreadful game and a miserable experience.
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    30
    As a downloadable title, I wasn't expecting Amy to measure up against the triple-A juggernauts of the survival horror genre. However, I was expecting a game that was at least playable and contained some kind of entertainment. Make no mistake: Whether Amy is delivered to you via download, retail SKU, direct brain wave, or retinal implant, it is terrible and should be avoided.
  6. Jan 23, 2012
    25
    Amy makes us understand parents who hit their children and that statement on itself is scarier than the hours we wasted playing this piece of crap.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Everything about Amy is designed to frustrate and drain the player's will before they eventually throw up their hands in defeat and give up. Between the broken combat, constant annoyances in dealing with Amy, counter-intuitive controls, non-existent plot, bland characters, cheap deaths, and overall shoddy workmanship, Amy fails on practically every level.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 14 out of 19
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    It´s an awesome game for who likes games as Resident Evil, Silent Hill or Siren. The graphics are great, the voice acting is good and the system in which you is responsible for Amy but uses her to solve puzzles or for other things is very interesting, as the contamination system is. for a $9.99 game, my score is 10. I didn't get those bad reviews, Amy is a great game, much better than some disc games...For me, it´s fun, scary and innovator. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    I bought it on PSN for 1 euro and something. It was totally worth it, the story is short and lack on animation but at least it was scary and had challenging puzzles. Not a masterpiece but sure had fun playing it. Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    6
    I believe alot of these reviews must have been given BEFORE the patch for this game. I never played the game pre-patch, but when I installed and started it, it got the patch, and I can honestly say, this game is NOT worthy of the extremely negative and terrible reviews, UNLESS they were pre-patch reviews and the game really was messed up before the patch...

    I dont really like this genre of game very much, but the game was $1.99 on PSN so I gave it a shot...Overall pretty nice looking game, feels fine, its a little scary(!!!), and the sound/music is pretty good.

    If I was a fan of the genre I would probably go up to 7 on this game, altho its very short!(10 hours or so)
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    This title is far from good. Its terrible. I have always played Horror games and seen many terrible games, and guess what? This is the worst game ive ever played and the worst money spent. First off, right off the bat the opening train scene is lagging. Then, animations are VERY amateur and mediocre. Also, the subtitles. Turning subtitles on is a must for some players who cant even understand what these horrible poorly done voice work is saying, however, the subtitles are not even right. Such as in subtitles, names are not spelled right, or some random name entirely. Example: "Mary, Lets call Regina". Neither of those names are even in this title. Next, Combat is broken completely. Hitting an enemy will be a 40/100% chance of working, due to faulty animations and broken configuration files. Save game points are terrible. Most chapters are about 1 hour long, and you die one time during it, YOUR STARTING THAT WHOLE CHAPTER OVER. 1 HOUR OF GAMEPLAY LOST! Some other issues is the game has HORRIBLE AI. Amy wont respond or come to you at times. Monsters sometimes just stand there like there mental. Then, here comes more! Theres a few areas in the game that have Mines. When this is bad. Because it takes alot of health away from you, and you need one of Amys powers for it, however a largely known bug causes that power to completely be removed from the power menu, making it impossible sometimes to use powers. The replay value of this title is TERRIBLE, and you dont even want to play anymore after 10 minutes of this poorly done BROKEN game. The controls are broken, clunky and very uncomfortable, so bad its unplayable for more then 1 hour before becoming disabled in your hands. The voice acting is poorly done, and is terrible. The graphics and visuals are better ON A EARLY ps2 game then this crap. So my final score? Graphics: 1/10, Sound: 3/10, Gameplay: 1/10, Replay value: 0/10. I do NOTTTTTT recommend you buy this game at all, in fact, i suggest you shoot your self in the face before you do. Like several other reviews said, $10 on your console of choice, can get you Hydrophobia, a fantastic survival horror game on a ship, you for $10 on PSN, you can get PRIMAL another fantastic horror title. So i suggest you go to your service... AND KEEP PRESSING THE FOWARD BUTTON, whatever you land on, no matter the price, im 100% sure its better then... AMY. Final notes: I WILL CONSIDER CHANGING MY SCORE IF THE DEVELOPERS FIX THE TITLE IN UPDATES. UNTIL THEN, IM GONNA WARN EVERYONE ON EVERY GAME FORUM I EVER GO TO, TO NOT BUY THIS GAME. VECTORCELL DOES NOT DESERVE THAT MONEY THEY GOT FROM PEOPLE WHO WERE SUCKERED INTO BUYING THIS GAME, AND THEY SHOULD BY LAW BE REQUIRED TO REFUND EVERYONE SINCE THIS GAME IS NOT WORKING RIGHT. SONY AND MICROSOFT, DO SOMETHING NOW! TAKE IT OFF THE STORE! Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    1
    They took a good idea...talked about it...and then totally and utterly destroyed it. This might possibly just be one of the most BORING games I've ever played. I really was hoping this could have been much better. It sounds cool in concept, but in reality, it's just not worth your money. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    0
    Oh my god. This is seriously the worst game of all time. Its a disaster and the sounds/graphics are brain bursting bad. Come on! If you cant make a game, dont try. Simple. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews