Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    82
    Luckily, 11 Bit Studios has crafted something that feels markedly different from the already diverse offerings PlayStation 3 owners can choose from.
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    80
    With a great design, varied missions and a very addictive gameplay, Anomaly: Warzone Earth is revealed as a great action-strategy title.
  3. There's too much trial and error, but this is still a refreshing spin on a stale genre. [Nov 2012, p.97]
  4. Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a tower defense game that may appeal to people who don't like tower defense.
  5. Oct 4, 2012
    75
    Anomaly: Warzone Earth makes the leap from mobile to console seamlessly. While you want find any daring new gameplay, you will find just enough tweaks to pique your interest if you dig tower defense.
  6. The gameplay doesn't change much, but the story is more fleshed out on PS3, the levels are longer, and the controls work well. [Dec 2012, p.83]
  7. Smartphone owners may be familiar with the basic premise, but it's been remixed and added to, essentially making the PS3 release a different game that's worth buying. [November 2012, p79]
  8. 85
    With the varied unit types at your disposal and the commander abilities you can use, Anomaly: Warzone Earth should provide a lot of fun for those hoping to get something new out of this well-established genre.
  9. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    A:WE is a superlative downloadable title. A cheap price tag belies a deep, difficult game that offers some frustration, but much more fun. Even if you've had more than your fill of tower defenses lately, give this one a shot. You might be surprised just how much a shift in perspective can change the feel of a whole genre.
  10. Oct 9, 2012
    85
    A few graphical glitches can't spoil the fun in this great downloadable action game. It isn't cheap, but you won't regret any money you spend on it.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    В неком роде играВ неком роде игра получилась смесью стратегии, экшена и моба жанром. В игре приятная графика с красочными эффектами, хороший звук, а так же встроенный русский язык (озвучка на английском). В принципе аналогов такой игре на PS3 сейчас нет, так что она выделяется из общего числа. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    7
    I've made it through this game on Xbox and on Android. Now, PS3 version is as good as Xbox one (which has a score around 8) but I'm giving 7I've made it through this game on Xbox and on Android. Now, PS3 version is as good as Xbox one (which has a score around 8) but I'm giving 7 instead of 8 becuase it's soooo late (iOS version - August 2011, Android - Jan 2012, Xbox - April 2012 and PS3 now in Sept). It's got co-op mode which is exclusive to PS3, but this mode - while being some fun - doesn't add any depth to the gameplay. Speaking of which - it's reverted tower defense but somewhat deeper, closer even to some simplified RTS with unique twist. So fight stationary alien turrets: first create your squad (up to 6 units) and pick a path in urban maze for upcoming battle, and then go into action as the commander who helps the squad with AoE power-ups like repair, airstrike or smoke cover. In the end this combination makes pretty fun strategy and surprisingly good looking one. And it's really polished. Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    I played the first 3 missions on PC and I liked it very much, it's sort of a different style of Defense games I'm used to. If anything, thisI played the first 3 missions on PC and I liked it very much, it's sort of a different style of Defense games I'm used to. If anything, this game is a good recommendation, but I have on problem. The first mission always bugged out for me on PC. I'd be telling my men to go a certain route and then meteors would hit right in front of them and I would barely have time to save them before 2 units died. Full Review »