Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. Jul 29, 2013
    52
    ArcaniA and its expansion are ultimately worth playing, but there's no reason to do so on the PS3. Whatever went into porting ArcaniA to the PS3 was not done with care, and the result is an ok-to-good game that now has a lot more technical and presentation issues it didn't have when it first released nearly three years ago on other platforms.
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    50
    With an interesting main storyline, creative enemies, and fundamentally solid gameplay, it's too bad that that Arcania: The Complete Tale's technical flaws prevent it from being a must-play. There aren't enough decent action-RPG hybrids for console players as it is, and Arcania isn't going to do much to fix that.
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    50
    ArcaniA has an expansive world to explore. Unfortunately there's almost nothing of interest to find there and you'll likely leave unsatisfied.
  4. The already absurdly wooden voice acting is sometimes marred with bugs. [Aug 2013, p.94]
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    49
    While killing stuff with swords and spells is always fun, there isn't enough in Arcania: The Complete Tale to keep you coming back for more, especially since you have to wade through a bog of glitches and rendering issues.
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    45
    Two bad games do not equal one good game.
  7. Aug 5, 2013
    44
    ArcaniA – The Complete Tale offers the original game experience alongside with its expansion pack to add to its game duration. Regretfully, this is just an unpolished port with many technical flaws. On the other hand, the wide variety of options and its long play time may redeem it in the eyes of the genre fans, given also its low price.
  8. At the beginning of the game there is a gut wrenching choice to be made of whether you want to be a mage, a hunter or a fighter. We have played racing games with more original RPG-elements than this utterly dull game. [June 2013, p.86]
  9. Jul 31, 2013
    40
    ArcaniA is just an altogether frustrating experience. Its few good points fail to shine through in any way thanks to the vast number of technical and design issues. Even a fun battle system can't do much for the game other than highlight even further the wasted potential.
  10. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    A decade ago Arcania would be a pretty decent RPG. Time has not been friendly to this game and repackaging something that was never a classic to begin with is a misguided move.
  11. 40
    A lacklustre RPG that lacks originality and playability, avoid at all costs.
  12. Jul 26, 2013
    30
    If you really feel a need to play this, get it on Steam or some other PC forum. From what I have seen, the pictures featured here, or anywhere on the internet for that matter, point in that direction. I can’t speak for the quality of the title there, but I can, emphatically and until I am out of breath, say this: Do not, under any circumstances, play this version. Leave it on the shelf. Don’t even purchase it on sale. Don’t play it. Just… don’t.
  13. Jul 2, 2013
    30
    Arcania: The Complete Tale tries hard to offer an enthralling adventure, but falls significantly short of the mark. The game is plagued by an array of graphical, sound, and gameplay glitches, serving up something of a technical mess. If you can see past the issues, there are some minor redeeming qualities here, but with better RPGs available, it's not really worth the effort.
  14. Jul 12, 2013
    25
    If Arcania: The Complete Tale is a product, then it's a worthless one, the sort of game a hundred monkeys sitting at a hundred PCs might create if given enough time. I've rarely encountered a game with such disregard for the power of the human imagination, and I hope no one encourages this by playing Arcania: The Complete Tale.
  15. Jul 1, 2013
    25
    ArcaniA – The Complete Tale stands as one of the worst games I have ever played to completion in my nearly twenty years of gaming. It’s an example of how a terrible porting job can serve to do nothing but damage your intellectual property. A clear case in which losses should have been cut and accepted but instead we have this tragedy of a game, unfit for even the most hardcore action RPG fan.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Recently, I have trouble finding good RPGs to play, until this one. Personally I love this game. There's just something about that just keeps me coming back to play. The only reason I don't rate Arcania: The Complete Tale a ten is because there is no character customization. But the variety of weapons, and armor gives some customization of your own. I can't say the previous games in the series are better because I haven't played them. Although judging this game solely by itself it's superb. I also cannot say that this game is for everyone though, it's no Dark Souls II, or Elder Scrolls V Skyrim, but it's phenomenal in it's own way. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    Great game. really got me coming back for more. the only things i didn't like were the combat for the regular combo set, and the fact that some of the voice acting was a bit wooden. would recommend this to anyone. Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    2
    i hate hate hate with all my heart the people who made this game.
    Gothic 1 & 2 was an excellent game.
    Its a shame how my favorite saga its a
    now a garbage total sadness. Full Review »