Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    83
    It’s hard to deny that From Software really does know a thing or two about making engaging yet realistic mech games. Armored Core: Verdict Day might not turn the series on its ear, but this is enough of an upgrade to Armored Core V that I think it’s worth a look.
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Armored Core: Verdict Day is a deep and rich experience, with some technical flaws, but a wonderful dark atmosphere. Online mode is full of potential and the single-player campaign will last long enough to catch user's attention. If you love mechs, you can't go wrong with it.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    As it stands, however, Verdict Day is more than just a marked improvement over Armored Core 5. It offers more parts, more maps and new missions while expanding the already tight mechanics with an AI crafting system and an overhauled online mode that encapsulate what Armored Core does best: options, creativity, strategy and teamwork. It's unashamedly hardcore - and all the better for it.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    76
    Verdict Day suffers many obvious weaknesses: The graphics border on embarrassing. Too many missions feel repetitive and empty. The menus can be extremely aggravating. Still, there’s a special kind of magic here that most games would never even attempt.
  5. Dec 4, 2013
    72
    Armored Core: Verdict Day will be thoroughly enjoyed by those fans that appreciated the online mode in the previous installment of the saga. For the rest, the scarce number of new elements, paired with its classic high difficulty, can really constitute a deal-breaker.
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    70
    If you are a person looking for something to tickle your fetish for walking death machines – especially after seeing Pacific Rim – you should give Armored Core: Verdict Day a try, because you might find its deep strategy and open customisation extremely rewarding. The series also remains the only good online mecha game for your PlayStation 3.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    70
    An action game featuring giant mechas with a very deep online multiplayer component. A bit simplistic but nevertheless fun.
  8. Sep 27, 2013
    70
    Armored Core: Verdict Day is closer to a big add-on than to a brand new game. The core game is the same as Armored Core V with more maps, more parts to customize your mech with and new modes. If you loved Armored Core V you'll like this one too.
  9. Oct 7, 2013
    68
    Armored Core: Verdict Day puts on the table the same mechanics of the previous episode in a richer multiplayer and single player experience, but the problems of the series remain.
  10. Sep 25, 2013
    65
    The series needed a restyle and a general overhaul of the entire game system to bring the product to the top of the market. What we get are just some new cooperative and competitive modes. As it is, the latest work by From Software is an elitary game that will capture only who is really into giant robots.
  11. Sep 27, 2013
    63
    Armored Core V is reborn thanks to Verdict Day. New modes, new items, new settings, most important online tools, mechs editor... But nothing more. The chaos and the disorder are in a game that doesn't get new players.
  12. Nov 14, 2013
    60
    The appeal lies in the customisation options and the complex online battle system. [Issue#141, p.120]
  13. Unsexy visuals, thin solo, and menu heavy. Only the hardcore won't look for the ejection procedure. [December 2013, p81]
  14. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    With a lot of patience and commitment, this game has a lot to offer but for less-seasoned mech sim gamers, the interface and embarrassing graphics alone may be enough to put you off.
  15. Oct 22, 2013
    60
    New chapter in the unending saga by From Software, Verdict Day shifts the focus of a multiplayer component improved and enriched compared to its predecessor.
  16. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    There are some compelling ideas at work here and probably the closest you’ll ever get to Chromehounds 2 – but only for those already intimately familiar with Armored Core V.
  17. For anyone already ingrained in the series, the opportunity to build your own team and take them online will be irresistible. But truthfully, for the uninitiated, there simply isn’t enough here to satisfy those of us desensitised by the bombast of bigger budget western games. Deliberately low on story but high on detail, Verdict Day is one for the (armored) hardcore.
  18. Oct 21, 2013
    45
    Ugly, generic, boring: Even the cool mech builder can salvage this dud.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. May 19, 2015
    9
    Okay, before I kick things off I wanna address something. I get the feeling the dudes who gave this game a bad review (I.E. the 4 and FAOkay, before I kick things off I wanna address something. I get the feeling the dudes who gave this game a bad review (I.E. the 4 and FA veterans) played the game for all of an hour or two, then quit. This game is NOTHING like the previous AC games in that gameplay is based around running, gunning, flying, and fast finger work. VD forces the player to actually stop, assess the situation and plan an attack that'll dispatch the enemies while you take minimal damage, your skill as a pilot is determined in how effectively you can deal with these enemies while taking as few hits and staying as unpredictable as possible. You gotta be smart and skilled if you wanna take on the monstrosities from software left waiting for you in this game considering everything you face has the real threat of killing you in a matter of seconds depending on how your AC is built.

    Story wise, it's pretty simple, if not lacking. There's 60 missions but only 10 of them actually show progress in the story, the rest are filler to unlock the real story missions. That's not to say they aren't easy or interesting, most of them are gonna be fighting another AC, and if you're not careful they can just as easily mop the floor with you as you can to some of them. The real story missions however, are an utter joy to play, they either introduce some cool new AC to fight against, or an army of allies to back you up against impossible odds. It gets crazy pretty fast, but that shouldn't be anything new to you by the time you reach mission 3.

    Customization's been completely overhauled too, making literally every part bolted on your AC an integral part that can be possibly crippling to the mech if so much as one part doesn't suit your combat style. For example in my history of AC, I've never actually spent a good 5 minutes seriously contemplating which FCS to equip, since each one has a dramatically different setup, making the one that suited me that much harder to figure out. Back in 4 and FA it felt like the smaller parts were...well smaller in that they weren't as important, sure FCS dictated range for lock-on and all, but VD feels much more refined in that the FCS, generator and even the boosters split up in three different types makes perfect sense, hell it's necessary to figure out how each one works if you wanna build the perfect AC. An interesting design choice though is that there aren't anymore back-mounted weapons or radar, instead there can be 2 sets of handheld weapons while radar and stuff is built in the head, making them that much more important. The game also gives an interesting value to legs never really seen before, in that reverse-jointed mechs can jump better and are more stable, while tank legs don't require the mech to stop and enter a sniping mode for the heavier-duty weapons like auto cannons and enormous howitzers. The parts all just come together better to make up the AC, it gives me a genuine sense of pride every time I see the mech I spent hours and hours tuning and setting up to make sure it perfectly suits me, right down to my emblem.

    Then the gameplay just makes everything feel so real. It feels to me like one of the most realistic attempts every made at a mech combat game, right down that loud echo whenever you fire a rifle. Sure flying's out, which makes the new mechanic of wall jumping that much more important to getting out of a hairy situation quickly instead of just relying on quick boosting your way out. Another addition is scan mode, which lets you analyze an enemy mech and check out which of your weapons'll hurt them most. It adds to the strategic value of the game, making it feel realistic. There isn't a whole lot of realism in just flying in guns blazing, wiping out everything and anyone to me.

    Yes, there are problems. The main colors for every background is either brown or grey, and the graphics are PS2 era, which I'm assuming is to reduce lag. And this game is brutal on newcomers, considering the menus take getting used to, and they start you off with an AC chock full of junk parts. I'm not even gonna go into how complicated it is to program the UNAC drones either, since I still can't figure it out after months of playing! Thank god they have pre-set ones that are pretty good at what they were designed for. But anyone who digs mechs should give this game a chance, it may seem dated in some regions, but the charm of the game more than makes up for it. I feel a genuine sense of giddiness every time I sent my mech into battle, laughing like a madman while jumping past barrage after barrage, turning every mech on the map into a smoking crater.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 27, 2015
    0
    I have played every armored core game there is, yes even that obscure PSP game where you build AIs and don't really pilot your mech. I'm aI have played every armored core game there is, yes even that obscure PSP game where you build AIs and don't really pilot your mech. I'm a huge fan of the series with thousands of hours across games since the original PS1 demo.

    I can say for sure that AC5 is possibly one of the worst games I have ever played! not only from the AC franchise. This game is complete garbage. The mechs feel like you're playing steel battalion, they completely forgot what AC was about and made it another bland FPS ala CoD.

    The mechs are slow as **** they CAN'T fly. The graphics look terrible, everything is brown and uninspired, the story is non existent, the controls and HUDs are a nightmare, there is no customization like there used to be, when you start the garage is empty and so is the store (wtf), no arena like there used to be, you get an invite to fight after a mission, did I mention there's no ****ing flying????. This game is complete **** It's right up there with Big Rigs over the road racing and Road to hell.

    The ONLY cool feature is the Japanese voice computer and even then is not worth it. I can't believe ANYONE in their right mind would give this game a score above 3/10!

    It seems From Software now has a ton of fame from recycling the same game over and over (Dark Souls) So I guess that's the end of this beloved franchise. Such a shame...
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2014
    0
    One of those games that makes you realize why there's a no refund policy on PSN. This game is chock full of terrible UI, with many of theOne of those games that makes you realize why there's a no refund policy on PSN. This game is chock full of terrible UI, with many of the common things you'll be needing (like mech assembly) being behind several menus. You're unable to participate in the Verdict War unless you join or create a team and given that the teams that will be available to you are all comprised of one member each you can kind of guess where that's going to go. (Pro tip: You'll want to create your own because after a season end you'll be forced to wait for the founder to choose who to fight for before you can play again).

    Then you get to the missions, which are absolutely -ABYSSMAL-. You can play through the story and experience all that has to offer (which isn't much) but it's usually the same rinse wash and repeat cycle: Hit L1 to activate boost, skip over to your target, shoot them, collect bacon.

    Now, the Verdict War is even more hilarious because they're EXCEPTIONALLY difficult. Not even challenging, just punishing. They seem to have balanced each individual sortie with an entire team in mind and it really shows when they want you to kill 20+ targets in under 2 minutes with starter gear that is underperforming because it is damaged. The really jacked up part is that you don't receive any income unless the mission has been completed, so no reward for even partial completion but to add insult to injury they also make you pay for your ammunition and repairs (which you will incur a lot of).

    The game is completely unplayable for a solo player just installing the game from the store and the lack of a notable playerbase shows with the game, despite it being relatively new. The general gist is that you're going to want to have friends who play the game before you even jump into it so that you can bumble about together with the lackadaisical gameplay until you get bored of playing the same missions over and over again.

    And don't even get me started on the worst music you will ever hear in your life: http://youtu.be/2KpKUIC2asI?t=5s
    Full Review »