User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 687 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 687

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2015
    6
    i know my opinion will be drowned by hundres of fanboys but here we go:
    the game is okay. what it does best is giving a false sence of achievement. why is this? well the recruits are just iddle minigames based on time. the guards and dificulty is to laught for. the upgrades and damage are meaningles due to how the combat works. money literaly comes out of nowhere, youll never struggle
    i know my opinion will be drowned by hundres of fanboys but here we go:
    the game is okay. what it does best is giving a false sence of achievement. why is this? well the recruits are just iddle minigames based on time. the guards and dificulty is to laught for. the upgrades and damage are meaningles due to how the combat works. money literaly comes out of nowhere, youll never struggle for money in this game. literaly you have to put effort into loosing in fight with 2 guards.
    this is no stealth game, its a sandbox that looks like one. stealth not only is too easy but meaningless (crossbow) ezio can fight 10+ guys no problem so there's no incentive to being silent. the game actualy has to make some mission "lose if detected" because it cant justify a situation where ezio is overpowered by the guards and it just feels like a cheap win condition that way.
    the story is okay ... but not that interesting and to be honest i was more focused in what desmond's plot was about than ezio's ( and because desmond's is segmented along the franchise its just way too short)
    nope ... not that good
    Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For their third entry, Ubi-soft had to make changes to the game. First of all COMBAT has ben totaly changed.
    No more waiting for the right moment to laucnh a counterstrike on your enemies, now you can combine your kills, making dealing with 5 or 6 enemies at a time.......too easy!?

    The new combat mechanig, although visualy good, made the game too easy. The only way that most people that played the game died was via desynchronisation or falling from tall buildings with low health.
    This took some of the excitement out of the game.
    The next big edition to the game was the ability to recruit assassins to help you in missions or in free roam. A fun way to lose a couple of hours in the game, but they had minimal connection to the story and the ending of the game.
    The story takes place in Rome, where Ezio must avenge his uncles death and retrieve the POE from the Borgia family. At first the story seamed exciting but soon after you get to a sertain point or the game it gets booring to say the least. Not only there are far lesser assassination missions of key templars, but the missions themselves were dissatisfactory,
    The graphics also seem a bit off. considering that the first two games were great looking. Rome didnt bring me the satisfaction to treverse than Florence, Venice of Jerusalem.

    Not only was the story shorter than AC2, but it was dissatisfactional. The main villain seemed like a fussy baby than a evil conquerer. At his confrontation with his father at the end of the game was funny.
    And after that cutscene there was one line that he said repeatedly throughout the mission... "Give me the apple.......It is mine not yours!"... This perticular line made me laught.
    Not the best entry in the series, but not the worst.
    Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood
    Game-play:Same as the AC2 (that's not a bad thing)the climbing is good and the combat very good as well
    Story:The story is not something special but you will not board for 8 to 9 hours Graphics: Not even a small improvement from AC2 Notes:There is only one city in the game,Rome and i think that it looks bad really bad , it never gives you a feeling that
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood
    Game-play:Same as the AC2 (that's not a bad thing)the climbing is good and the combat very good as well
    Story:The story is not something special but you will not board for 8 to 9 hours
    Graphics: Not even a small improvement from AC2
    Notes:There is only one city in the game,Rome and i think that it looks bad really bad , it never gives you a feeling that you control a brotherhood,the online is good and fun,i recommend to buy it specially when the price drops
    Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ezio really shined to me in AC2 up until the end, where all of his efforts to accomplish his revenge mission was all for nothing. That´s when I really disliked him. And this entry didn´t help at all. He wasn´t funny anymore, he seemed blank, and I facepalmed at his excuse of why he didn´t kill the Pope. If he had killed the Pope, Cesar Borgia wouldn´t have been informed by him of the location of the Assassin Order (Monteriggioni), he wouldn´t have stolen the Piece of Eden, AND he wouldn´t have killed Mario in the first place! It dont´t matter if the Pope wasn´t dead at that time according to history, you could have taken liberties, a complete different universe where history was rewritten! Anyway, enough of Ezio´s talk. The story is pretty much the same as AC2: a family member is killed, you go get your revenge, except less memorable and more sillier. Secondary characters are mostly from AC2, but not good as they were previously, with perhaps the exception of Bartolomeo and a little bit of Claudia. Gameplay has taken steps backwards, with a fighting system that is ridiculously easy, and while parkour can still be fun, especially when you go to the highest point of the Roman Colosseum, it´s not as rewarding as Venice or Florence. Assassin´s Guild is completely pointless, because you won´t ever need help in combat. And the game ends on a sour note, clearly copying AC2´s horrible ending in a horrible fashion. The multiplayer, though, is really fun, a refreshing change from first-person shooter multiplayers, with abilities and a deep progression system. Now I would give Brotherhood a red rating, but I give it credit for having a fun multiplayer, decent graphics and a very few fun missions. But overall, it falls behind AC2. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    nice game, well plot, the multiplayer is very very bad and boring, the game is little short and its rapeat on himself in the story missions and in the side missions,
    the gameplay is very good
  6. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Compared to Assassin's Creed II this game was very disappointing in my opinion. The Story was boring and the characters seemed very lackluster compared to its predecessor! However, the addition of a multiplayer mode definitely makes it stand out and at least worth a rental.
  7. May 3, 2013
    6
    Really enjoyed AC:II so I was eager to play Brotherhood unfortunately it was not what I was hoping for. It felt less like an epic story and more like a collection of side quests strung loosely together. Many of the objectives in this game were frustrating and pointlessly difficult. Less challenge, more repeat until success.
    In addition, the camera seemed to have been tweaked in this game
    Really enjoyed AC:II so I was eager to play Brotherhood unfortunately it was not what I was hoping for. It felt less like an epic story and more like a collection of side quests strung loosely together. Many of the objectives in this game were frustrating and pointlessly difficult. Less challenge, more repeat until success.
    In addition, the camera seemed to have been tweaked in this game and moved around a lot; resulting in often having the camera behind trees or a building when mid fight which annoyed me no end.
    Still a good game, but not up to the standard I'd hoped given my love for it's predecessors.
    Expand
  8. Jan 8, 2013
    5
    an average game with good and bad points

    GOOD: great graphics, stories, gameplay and jumping
    BAD: hard difficulty, small map and repetitive missions

    dont get the game
  9. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    ACII was a truly great title: several cities to explore, each one very different from the other, great story, interesting ending. AC Brotherhood continues that familiar (if not boring at times) path, tries out the same formula, but instead of adding, it seems to take away. This time, there's basically only one city - Rome - a large venue, which is much less of a good feature than itACII was a truly great title: several cities to explore, each one very different from the other, great story, interesting ending. AC Brotherhood continues that familiar (if not boring at times) path, tries out the same formula, but instead of adding, it seems to take away. This time, there's basically only one city - Rome - a large venue, which is much less of a good feature than it sounds. There are very few enhancements, and the game feels stale and boring. There are some experiments, like synchonising the story 100% (for example, finish a mission in a certain amount of time, which is a huge annoyance and an warm invitation to cheating). There seem to be a lot more bugs in Brotherhood - plus the biggest one (controls) has not only not been fixed, it's gotten worse. Sometimes, it's hard to make Ezio do the things you want to do, sometimes he randomly jumps in different direction than assumed (previously mentioned 100% seems impossible more than often). The story doesn't stick anymore and Rome isn't as half as charming as Firenze, much less Venice. It's a shame that Brotherhood is such a letdown, and to any who want continuing the trilogy, think if it's worth it - Brotherhood may disappoint you so much your warm feelings about ACII will go down the drain. Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    After the excellent job that Ubisoft made with Assassins Creed 2, this game continues with the same style and the same formule that had good results. One point of better graphics, the story stills been interesting and dinamic, the world is a bit smaller than the AC2 one, but it´s ok; and the final is so important for the other games future. The new multiplayer was the only new thing,After the excellent job that Ubisoft made with Assassins Creed 2, this game continues with the same style and the same formule that had good results. One point of better graphics, the story stills been interesting and dinamic, the world is a bit smaller than the AC2 one, but it´s ok; and the final is so important for the other games future. The new multiplayer was the only new thing, and was very espectacular. The worst of this game, for me, is that Ubisoft didn´t try to make something different and better. They still worked with the same thing. It´s ok, but something new is always better. Good game. Expand
  11. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    In terms of story for Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, it is a huge step down from its predecessor. But it does improve in gameplay and graphics in many ways, ranging from tiny to vast improvements
  12. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    Its an awsome game at the begining ,but when u reached the midle game it becomes boring,it has awsome fight techiniques ,it has little of stealth (it needs to be improved) but i think its good but it needs to have more maps like in AC 2 610
  13. Mar 21, 2012
    7
    Very repetitive, basically the same game as two but with a smaller, singular world. The plot has lowered in standards since then and combat has remained fairly unchanged. Climbing "samey" and multiplayer uninspired and unrequired. Ultimately this should've been better , but it wasn't. Far too like the previous one. It has its moments but stabbing people is starting to get old... 7/10
  14. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    For me this was the worst Assassin's Creed from the first to Revelations. I felt the developers just copy and paste Assassin's Creed II, with a new setting, story, multiplier and called it Brotherhood. The game play was more or less the exact same thing from 2 with the addition of a crossbow, bombs and some minor tweaks. The story was weak, it felt more like the part two of Assassin'sFor me this was the worst Assassin's Creed from the first to Revelations. I felt the developers just copy and paste Assassin's Creed II, with a new setting, story, multiplier and called it Brotherhood. The game play was more or less the exact same thing from 2 with the addition of a crossbow, bombs and some minor tweaks. The story was weak, it felt more like the part two of Assassin's Creed II than a different game on it's own. The developer's seem to gotten incredibly lazy with this installment and simply want to cash in on the success of Assassin's Creed II (think MW3 to MW2). The environment was not believable, the building look like it's made of card board and Ezio's robe look like it's made of plastic as there not much sway to it. Nonetheless Assassin's Creed II was a good game and if it's not broken than why fix it right? for that I still have my respect for this game. It's not much improvement from the first and felt it was just copy of paste from the second. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    There is a good improvement on the game play mechanics compared to AC2. But the story is kind of **** an acceptable game.Maybe I expected a little too much.
  16. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    One thing i can is that this game is definately not deserving of a perfect score and AC 2 is a far superior game. The Cons are as follows: You are only in one location in AC Brotherhood, There are tons of graphic glitches which were not that prevalent in AC 2, the frame rate drops frequently, The new 100% Synch system in my opinion sucks and are annoying objectives that force one to re-doOne thing i can is that this game is definately not deserving of a perfect score and AC 2 is a far superior game. The Cons are as follows: You are only in one location in AC Brotherhood, There are tons of graphic glitches which were not that prevalent in AC 2, the frame rate drops frequently, The new 100% Synch system in my opinion sucks and are annoying objectives that force one to re-do missions ( The missions should be more difficult instead ), Too easy, The shop missions are stupid and waste your time by making one look for treasure to increase the game length, The blacksmith system sucks( The weopens dont get better as one advances in the game, the weopens that are unlocked randomly, The new renovation system also wastes ones time by making one go to every single shop to renovate( Another cheap trick by Ubisoft) , The new combat is unimproved with stupid kill streaks, The story is worse, the main missions are shorter, The music in this game also unimproved with the same boring music replaying, The graphics is a bit stale and outdated. Pros: The new assassin recruits are useful and earn extra money,The multiplayer is fun but not perfect and has a few glitches, The new gadget one gets is awesome... Yeah and thats it. Overall this game has unimproved from AC 2 in nearly every aspect and the quality has been reduced. This game is dissappointing, what can i say thats what happens when a game is made in a year. I am a fan of AC because of AC2 and dont want to see AC 3 any time soon. 6.5/10. Expand
  17. Mar 11, 2011
    5
    I really don't know whats all the fuss about this game. Ive seen my friend play it and its so boring! And looks jaw droppingly easy. I mean your assassin will jump down from a building and kill a guard whilst all the other guards will just stand around and watch you! How pathetic and unrealistic. And for such a recent game, i would have thought the graphics would be better. The game isI really don't know whats all the fuss about this game. Ive seen my friend play it and its so boring! And looks jaw droppingly easy. I mean your assassin will jump down from a building and kill a guard whilst all the other guards will just stand around and watch you! How pathetic and unrealistic. And for such a recent game, i would have thought the graphics would be better. The game is very boring, looks extremely easy and i mean, heck, what guy runs around an Italian city wearing a plain white tunic and cape holding a sword and not look suspicious? I mean what assassin runs around like that? Really unrealistic. Expand
  18. Feb 24, 2011
    6
    I don't know where to begin with this one. Let me pre-face my next sentence by stating that I have played alot of "Infamous" on my PS3. Making the transition to Brotherhood, sucked. The controls feel unresponsive and sluggish. I can never quite get Ezio to do what I want him to do and this made the game extremely frustrating for me. I don't understand how games like Infamous and evenI don't know where to begin with this one. Let me pre-face my next sentence by stating that I have played alot of "Infamous" on my PS3. Making the transition to Brotherhood, sucked. The controls feel unresponsive and sluggish. I can never quite get Ezio to do what I want him to do and this made the game extremely frustrating for me. I don't understand how games like Infamous and even Uncharted, hell, throw in some Prince of Persia, and how these games get the "Parkour" aspect of these games right, but it just seems off on AC: Brotherhood. I'm disappointed. Not only is this not really a true sequel, It just does more of the same. I found the hidden memory segments of the game to be to hard to figure out. Who knew that the number 48 was a chemical compostion of 'something" and I was supposed to know that, the mineral is what is found on Mt. Washington in N.H. which would lead me to the answer, and still make me have to solve one of those Da Vinci code like puzzles, and then send me to a round 2 of it, just for a fuzzy video clip of nothing. Ummmmmmm. Hmmmmmmmm. You really need to be a symbologist solve some of these riddles. This game was an utter disappointment to me. I know alot of work went into it, and I can appreciate that. All I can say is, anyone who didn't like the first two games, then stay away. Anyone that enjoyed the first two games and thinks this game is going to be the best and take you to the promisland, then you will be dissapointed, because all game is, is a very long expansion.pack to part 2. P.S. the multiplayer is tacked on and makes it almost impossible for any newbies to succeed. An instant turn off to anyone picking this game up late, and also becoming a problem with multiplayer games in general. Expand
  19. Feb 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had high hopes for this game and while there are many great aspects of the game, overall, I was let down. The first major problem is the controls. There are so many commands sharing very similar key and stick combinations that it can cause you to make frustrating mistakes. - Jump away from wall and climb jump use the same buttons. It's too easy to mix these two up and end up jumping of tall towers. - The carry and loot both share the circle key. Sometimes, even when I'm tapping and holding, the game will cause me to pick up a body instead of looting it. - various others

    Overall, I noticed a lot of bugginess and poor design decisions when it comes to the controls. The levels where you "fight" with the Apple of Eden are a complete waste. This has to be one of the dumbest weapons in video game history. Basically, it lets you cast a weak, nearly useless spell . You end up running around waiting for it to charge up while evading the guards. I would much rather have fought. However, the absolute worst part of the game is the inclusion of the modern day levels. The levels are boring and uninteresting compared to the Ezio levels. What's worse is that you're forced to sit through long, very stupid cutscenes that you can't skip. The modern day backstory in general is very poor. The game would have been a lot better without it. Having said all that, it does have a lot of good parts. Most of the Ezio missions are enjoyable. The fighting is fun. Rome looks beautiful and has a lot of variety. It's a good game crippled by some major blunders. I should start renting games before plonking down $70 for them. Had tried this game first, I never would have bought it.
    Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2011
    7
    I was a disappointed with AC Brotherhood. The story is very lacking compared to AC2 and there were a ton of game play problems. The controls were no where as tight as the were in the second game and the camera seemed to have a mind of its own during the most inopportune times. I was really disappointed that the developers only took a year to make this game. It really showed in the overallI was a disappointed with AC Brotherhood. The story is very lacking compared to AC2 and there were a ton of game play problems. The controls were no where as tight as the were in the second game and the camera seemed to have a mind of its own during the most inopportune times. I was really disappointed that the developers only took a year to make this game. It really showed in the overall quality of the game. Sure it looked great, but with a poorly written story that had a stupid ending and issues with the game play and camera. I would not recommend this game to anyone until the price dropped under fifteen dollars. The developers put out a game to make money and didn't put in the extra effort to give gamers their money's worth. Reminds me of the major screw-job that IW did to gamers with MW2. Expand
  21. Dec 24, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is just an Assasins Creed 2.5. People giving this game a 10 dont know what they are talking about. 1st: Bugs. I have found myself in the middle of the sky many times.
    2nd: The mission system is flawed, these "achievements" to complete missions to 100% is dull. There is no way for a casual gamer like myself to finish it to 100% compared to AC2 where it was based on exploration instead of technique.
    3rd: AC2 was better, more immersive and the small city you had to rebuild felt like home way more than in Rome.
    Expand
  22. Nov 30, 2010
    7
    It gets a positive review for being more of the same with the slightly addicting twist of assassin training. Unfortunately, the story is too short, and the assassin training is only fun/interesting until you've filled all slots with Assassins, which takes far less time than it should. I loved AC2, and so enjoyed this one for being more of the same. Would recommend to anyone who, likeIt gets a positive review for being more of the same with the slightly addicting twist of assassin training. Unfortunately, the story is too short, and the assassin training is only fun/interesting until you've filled all slots with Assassins, which takes far less time than it should. I loved AC2, and so enjoyed this one for being more of the same. Would recommend to anyone who, like me, loved the original. Not so much to anyone else.

    Multiplayer not reviewed, as I am generally disinterested in it.
    Expand
  23. Nov 29, 2010
    6
    Hello there. I am going to be completely honest with you, I loved AC and AC2 and I was genuinely excited about this game. More so than Black Ops (thank goodness!) and I wondered what they would come up with next because I was 'told' via the utube previews to expect, much better fighting, more exciting missions and strength in depth etc. Again whilst this cannot claim to be an 'in depth'Hello there. I am going to be completely honest with you, I loved AC and AC2 and I was genuinely excited about this game. More so than Black Ops (thank goodness!) and I wondered what they would come up with next because I was 'told' via the utube previews to expect, much better fighting, more exciting missions and strength in depth etc. Again whilst this cannot claim to be an 'in depth' review I feel it is important to be accurate about what you are actually buying here:
    You are buying a large expansion pack. Admittedly you are buying an expansion pack worth at least £15.00 ish and the detail is incredible in terms of what Rome looks like BUT my gripes are as follows: Fighting: ok, so the only difference I could discern was that now sometimes a guard (if there is more than one) can grab you for about 5 seconds until you work out how to break the grab. So fighting is still, 1,2,3,4,5, 'fighting by the numbers' it feels as it did last time, contrived and annoying and in fact after the first few BIG kills I avoided it; which is a shame because fighting is what this game should be thriving upon. In addition, similar to many games out there, for whatever reasons, although technology will allow it developers shy away from realism. To put it bluntly, If I swing a bearded two handled axe that historically weighed upwards of 50 lb at your head, I expect, upon contact, nay demand for that head to go bouncing down the street spraying onlookers with blood and bits of head. Itâ
    Expand
  24. Nov 27, 2010
    6
    i have mixed feeling about this gaeme. on one hand it's amazing yet on the other i feel as if i've been cheated out of a great experience. story wise it's very solid and i enjoyed it but the ending alone made me both mad and antsy to await the next game. they put just the right amount of side quests to make it somewhat worth wild, but in the end it is still just an add on to assains creedi have mixed feeling about this gaeme. on one hand it's amazing yet on the other i feel as if i've been cheated out of a great experience. story wise it's very solid and i enjoyed it but the ending alone made me both mad and antsy to await the next game. they put just the right amount of side quests to make it somewhat worth wild, but in the end it is still just an add on to assains creed 2. they should have made this a dlc and sold it for 20 dollars. online is the same story. i came in with tremendous expectaions and was dissapointed. don't get me wrong. online is probably the best part of this game yet there are so many things wrong with it. i don't want to spoil it but go and see it for yourself. i want to give it a higher score but i just can't. Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    I am really trying to like this game. It has me fixated. It could easily win Game of the Year, because of the production values alone: ever so grand. The gameplay: like crack, so addicting. The depth: massive. And yet this game is so full of fail that I can't even begin to disguise my disdain. Assassin's Creed (AC) is sadly broken. It's like having a plush body of your favorite classicI am really trying to like this game. It has me fixated. It could easily win Game of the Year, because of the production values alone: ever so grand. The gameplay: like crack, so addicting. The depth: massive. And yet this game is so full of fail that I can't even begin to disguise my disdain. Assassin's Creed (AC) is sadly broken. It's like having a plush body of your favorite classic car in your garage, but the engine's utterly trashed so it's not drivable. What I'm saying is that AC is ever so brilliant in its scope, so full of raw potential. Now I see... my analogy is flawed. Because playing AC is like handling a very fast sports car, but the previous owner had a cat or something and it ganked in the driver's seat.

    Let's look at the controls, first. AC suffers from the same problem it had in its first release: bad bump mapping and over-sensitivity. You'll leap off building walls into thin air. You can't look behind you when hanging on a wall to see where you're jumping toward. This leads to frustration and annoying load times, pushing you out of the game repeatedly. You'll lock on enemies, but the controls are so sensitive that it will switch to a bystander mid-attack, or won't lock onto anyone, leaving you vulnerable. This will happen so many times that you'll rage quit at least once every time you play it.
    But the story line is compelling and genius. It will have you coming back for more, like an abusive boyfriend who shows up at the door with flowers in hand, or a gorgeous girlfriend without an ounce of brains in her head. The free-running is epic when done correct. But the bump mapping is so horrible that it becomes almost hilarious to try to get from point A to point B without falling off a wall or accidentally leaping off one.

    This game takes a ton of practice to become even remotely good at it. But it's worth the time and the repetitive gameplay.

    The multiplayer is perhaps the grandest potential this game has, unfortunately, it's flawed by one single gametype where people run around trying to kill each other swiftly and silently. There are a number of gametypes that would seem intuitive to produce for this game: Free Running races, Horse Races, Combat, Team Deathmatch. But these are nowhere to be found. It will be interesting to see if these concepts are further developed and provided as DLC later. Doubtful, considering the history of games. The mutiplayer is tacked on, when it's the best thing the franchise has going for it. It would be wise for them to expand this, give us more maps, or better yet, make it one giant world where a number of players can engage in realistic nefariousness.

    The AI in this game is at once incredible and challenging, yet stupid. I appreciate how consistent it was, but sometimes you would kill a guard and his buddies would come along, look at the corpse and keep walking. Other times it seems laden with bugs as I witnessed one AI standing in one place and spinning around in a circle.

    All in all, it's an incredible game, but playing it is nothing short of frustrating. Losing is okay, when I lose because of something I tried and failed attempting. Losing is not fun when it occurs because of janky controls.

    The graphics are absorbing, but there seem to be a smothering of sepia tones that wash it all out in amber, ruining a great deal of the ornateness of textures and colors that could have easily been achieved.

    If this game wins, it will go down as the worst Game of the Year I have ever played.
    Expand
  26. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    Assassin's Creed II is a great game, and Brotherhood proves it. Following the old "don't fix it if it isn't broken" formula, from start to finish Brotherhood feels, plays and looks like it's precursor. There are some nice new elements as well; the "assassin training" being the most important and fun of them. You find a citizen in distress, save him/her and he/she joins your cause; you canAssassin's Creed II is a great game, and Brotherhood proves it. Following the old "don't fix it if it isn't broken" formula, from start to finish Brotherhood feels, plays and looks like it's precursor. There are some nice new elements as well; the "assassin training" being the most important and fun of them. You find a citizen in distress, save him/her and he/she joins your cause; you can then train them through a simple menu-based mechanic and then call them to assassinate a target or even help you in combat. The new multiplayer mode is also surprisingly deep and original. Brotherhood lacks the innovation introduced by Assassin's Creed II, but maintains the same level of fun and value. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    89
    Recommended to fans of the franchise and also to newcomers. While the single player campaign is entertaining and offers a lot of content, the multiplayer mode is only average. It's a nice goodie, nothing more. The atmosphere, the localization and the videos are pretty well done, which let the player forget time and play hours.
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Assasssin's Creed: Brotherhood has great atmosphere, beautiful visuals, and overall excellent craftsmanship… Just don't expect anything new beyond the multiplayer.
  3. Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a more than a worthy addition to the series canon. The similar setting of renaissance Italy will trick folks into assuming this is a half-arsed expansion, but honestly, this feels like Assassin's Creed 2.99. Don't be fooled by Brotherhood's cunningly familiar disguise. Mark it as a fresh target, pounce and take it down. [January 2011 p66]