User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 564 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 564

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    one word : Breathtaking although that word is not enough to even eign describing it.
    it's an exemplary title and one that smacks of a developer at the peak of its game. From every piece of cover and set-piece thrown in fiendishly to catch you unaware, to the expertly crafted multiplayer maps and top quality cut scenes, it is clear that a innumerable amount of dedication and painstaking
    precision has been squeezed out of the team to help make this the PS3's crowning moment. 10 Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2010
    3
    The problem with these AAA game titles is that once you've written the script, hired a cast of voice actors, created the cutscenes, hired a few historians for historical accuracy, consulted with art experts, brought in period costume experts, scored and recorded the soundtrack, green screened all the motion capture stuff etc, etc,etc... there doesn't seem to be much time or money left to devote to the actual gameplay.

    So what we are left with is the world of 15th century Rome, brought to lush life populated with interesting characters and so on - but with laughable gameplay, mostly consisting of triggering a mission, walking to the indicator on the map, find the target and hit x to kill him. Preferably where no one can see the act, but this game is so easy this time round that even if 20 guards attack you afterwards, it is no problem to fight them off.

    Of course, there's also the treadmill aspects always thrown into these games, combing the map for flags and treasures, a rooftop beat-the-clock race or two. Doing all these tasks is pleasurable enough in the context of the sandbox world, and can certainly be addictive as players are driven to achieve 100% completion on everything, but it's an addictive similar to playing Minesweeper, you don't need to think - you're on a treadmill. If you took out the sandbox world, and just chained the missions together, the game would be a laughing stock, there is no depth to the game mechanics/AI at all. Old games like Thief, Thief II, Hidden and Dangerous 2, were not as pretty, but they were hard, involved strategy and skill, and ultimately were much more satisfying. The same all style/no substance phenomenon has plagued Hollywood blockbuster movies for years now. When so much money is at stake - game publishing companies are traded on the stock exchange and CEO's interviewed in the Wall Street Journal - you don't want to take risks and experiment, you shoot straight for the lowest common denominator. It's unfortunate that the same thing is happening to the game industry, but with the budgets involved (the first two Assassin's Creeds brought in over $1 billion at retail, and AAA game budgets are in the 10s of millions) it's probably inevitable.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Well got ACB and have to say,im impressed well done Ubisoft... The story is the best yet in the series (well up until where i am) the multiplayer is huge and keeps you hooked for many hours.. Ezio is expressed like never before,so is the multiplayer.. for the new side which is as everyone knows is the multiplayer- it just keeps you guessing and one wrong move will have you lying on the floor dead.. The game is the best yet and can't yet for the next,Ubisoft really surprised me and hopefully the critic's!! I GIVE IT A 10/10!!!!!! Expand
  4. Mac
    Nov 16, 2010
    10
    You have to get this game ! It's simply amazing ! Everything is improved and there is lots of new features ! A must have ! I definitely enjoyed everything about this game so far. It's just perfect !
  5. Feb 24, 2011
    6
    I don't know where to begin with this one. Let me pre-face my next sentence by stating that I have played alot of "Infamous" on my PS3. Making the transition to Brotherhood, sucked. The controls feel unresponsive and sluggish. I can never quite get Ezio to do what I want him to do and this made the game extremely frustrating for me. I don't understand how games like Infamous and even Uncharted, hell, throw in some Prince of Persia, and how these games get the "Parkour" aspect of these games right, but it just seems off on AC: Brotherhood. I'm disappointed. Not only is this not really a true sequel, It just does more of the same. I found the hidden memory segments of the game to be to hard to figure out. Who knew that the number 48 was a chemical compostion of 'something" and I was supposed to know that, the mineral is what is found on Mt. Washington in N.H. which would lead me to the answer, and still make me have to solve one of those Da Vinci code like puzzles, and then send me to a round 2 of it, just for a fuzzy video clip of nothing. Ummmmmmm. Hmmmmmmmm. You really need to be a symbologist solve some of these riddles. This game was an utter disappointment to me. I know alot of work went into it, and I can appreciate that. All I can say is, anyone who didn't like the first two games, then stay away. Anyone that enjoyed the first two games and thinks this game is going to be the best and take you to the promisland, then you will be dissapointed, because all game is, is a very long expansion.pack to part 2. P.S. the multiplayer is tacked on and makes it almost impossible for any newbies to succeed. An instant turn off to anyone picking this game up late, and also becoming a problem with multiplayer games in general. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This game is my game of the year, along with CALL OF DUTY BLACK OPS. I don't know if anyone ever could make a series this awesome ever. Any one who even likes assassin's creed just a little better do them selves a favor and pick this game up now!!!!
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    best game ever made buy this right now if u like any of the last 2 games made well actually buy it because it is the best graphics i have seen and there is so much stuff to do just in the story mode which will take u so long to do and plus their is online so buy noW!!!!
  8. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I can't praise this game enough it's the closest I've seen a game get to art. It's a beautiful masterpiece and it's had me hooked since I bought it. Can safely say you will not regret investing in ACB can't wait for what ubisoft do next.
  9. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    The game is definitely worth its standalone price tag, however I have to agree with some other reviews on its recycled content that is from AC2, but the story is good enough to cover that up. I would also give it a higher score if it was for xbox or PC, but again any game that is not designed with PS3 in mind will often be full of bugs that needs quite a long time to iron out. The multiplayer is innovative and addicting, but unfortunately its interface is left much to be desired, making it hard to use any other features except the "Play Now" button..

    Overall
    Pros: Good story, great multiplayer, same gameplay we all know and love
    Cons: Recycled engine and AI, buggy system, Interface would be touched up to smooth things out
    Expand
  10. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    Each new title of the Assassin's Creed saga continues to amaze me. The breathtaking graphics and overall complexity of the game is stunning beyond belief. The deep plot and the new and brilliant multi-player game-play is outstanding and is the best I have ever seen. The thousands of man-hours on this amazing title has been more than worthwhile. In my opinion it is the best game on the market and a must get title. Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This is Brotherhood, not 3 so if it feels like more of 2 or 2.5 well i think that is exactly what Ubisoft intended. It is more of Ezio and it definitely continues the overall story with Desmond and Abstergo but only gets a bit more out there. Some people have been worrying about the overall mystery getting a bit more complicated in this one but i feel that since it's not a true sequel that we should just sit and contemplate what will happen in the inevitable Assassin's Creed 3. This installment is great and it's not just 2 in a new city. The battle system has grown with improved options and is all the great things from the past game plus a bunch more fun. Also the missions and side missions aren't the same from 2, some exact duplicates but many new things to try and explore. Also the story missions are just bigger and better with i felt like much more diversity. Also at first Rome i thought wouldn't be as impressive as when i was playing through 2 but in the end it was by far greater! When people say it is huge, they mean this city is freaking HUGE! Also the city improvement system is great! and far more involved and satisfying than simply upgrading the villa. Knocking out the bad guys, burning down their towers and then building up the run down area with beggars into a bustling market place with fine women running around is not only noticeable you can remember doing that and being glad you did. then going to the shop to upgrade your armor and feel like you are just that much closer to greatness. The whole overall experience is deep and fun. more of what 2 brought us but that is by no means a bad thing. but with it's own unique feel and options when playing. Brother improves this series and keeps it as one of the top franchises of the times! if i had to pick one bad thing about this game is the same pop in textures that have been seen in the previous games, but with such big cities is not a game killer at all. and it is less noticeable when you are in tight corridor areas or on tight streets. the plus of it too is when the textures pop in they are simply gorgeous. also i wanted to note that the character models seem much improved in this game, much more detailed and less noticeable polygonal shapes. also look cleaner with nice self shadowing that looks almost real, or at least almost Hollywood! oh and this is all before you dive headfirst into the brand new multiplayer! the multiplayer experience is not only a breath of fresh air but executed in great detail. the tense situations of finding who you have to kill and hiding from your killer is awesome. my only minor complaint is as perks and upgrades unlock it does give higher level assassin's a clear advantage over new ones. but it doesn't completely make the game weighted in their favor they just have more options then newer people do. but overall i never felt annoyed or completely overpowered i just felt compelled to get more kills and level up to get that ability of whatever they just did. example early in multilplayer i got smoke bombed and i wondered how to do that, but then a couple of levels later i unlocked it and said, oh that's how! so overall minor minor nit pick over a truly fresh and fun experience. I think i will go play some more now, so if you want to catch up in the story and catch up with my levels on multiplayer go get this game now, definitely a must have for any fan of the series. new comers, i would recommend getting at least the 2nd first just so in single player you aren't totally lost. but i definitely give this game a 10/10 Expand
  12. Nov 27, 2010
    6
    i have mixed feeling about this gaeme. on one hand it's amazing yet on the other i feel as if i've been cheated out of a great experience. story wise it's very solid and i enjoyed it but the ending alone made me both mad and antsy to await the next game. they put just the right amount of side quests to make it somewhat worth wild, but in the end it is still just an add on to assains creed 2. they should have made this a dlc and sold it for 20 dollars. online is the same story. i came in with tremendous expectaions and was dissapointed. don't get me wrong. online is probably the best part of this game yet there are so many things wrong with it. i don't want to spoil it but go and see it for yourself. i want to give it a higher score but i just can't. Expand
  13. Feb 9, 2011
    4
    adds nothing new, boring go here-kill x-repeat quests, story and characterisation is shockingly poor, especially the ending. please, please, please, please, PLEASE - do yourself a favour and skip this one, or if you just have to get that free-run-jump-off-building-stab-guy feeling, just go back and play II, its not like you will notice the difference
  14. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I played this series I don't like Illuminati based Games, whether it's right out there or Subliminally being brainwashed. I will for one not fall Vitim to the Illuminati and there Feeble attempts at Mindcontrol. I rate this game what it Deserves a Big Fat 0
  15. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the most entertaining games this year! sure its a "Part 2" of AC2. but that's why its not called AC3. It keeps what made AC2 great and added a few fresh ideas. There is always so much to do and explore. The story is great and and missions can be done numerous ways. Graphics and sound is amazing. And ROME.... WOW... the architecture and detail is incredible. This is a Must Buy!!
  16. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is basically Assassin's Creed 2: Part 2. The two games feel like a whole, with the bridge between the end of the AC:2 and the start of Brotherhood being somewhat of a half-way point. I say this because they're about the same in length and have almost identical game mechanics. The new features aren't entirely impressive but don't take away from the original experience, which is fine, it's almost as if it were one game only split in two. The only shame is that Italy has slightly lost its novelty. I would have loved to have seen a new world fit with a new leading assassin, and less dated graphics (in cutscenes mainly, the gameplay graphics are quite a bit better). That said, Ubisoft are definitely doing their job in perfecting the series. All I can say is bring on Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
  17. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This is one of those game that I am only giving a "10" rating for because there is no option here to give it an "11". Absolutely Amazing. Ive beaten the entire game and am working on unlocking everything else. I have played the multi-player as well, but the story mode is so good I have been tryin to milk every ounce of play out of that before I get involved any more in the online play. If ever there was a reason or Ubisoft to exist, it is this. Expand
  18. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Assassins creed brotherhood is amazing. The story isnt quite as good as last time but its still one the best stories around. The side missions are improved, the lairs are far better than the tombs which were still good. the multiplayer is fun and its also pretty unique
  19. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    There were a few glitches though but i guess when your busy with it all the time you eventually forget it.Sometimes the controls were a bit slow and didnt react but i got over it.Overall It was a great game
  20. Jan 18, 2011
    7
    I was a disappointed with AC Brotherhood. The story is very lacking compared to AC2 and there were a ton of game play problems. The controls were no where as tight as the were in the second game and the camera seemed to have a mind of its own during the most inopportune times. I was really disappointed that the developers only took a year to make this game. It really showed in the overall quality of the game. Sure it looked great, but with a poorly written story that had a stupid ending and issues with the game play and camera. I would not recommend this game to anyone until the price dropped under fifteen dollars. The developers put out a game to make money and didn't put in the extra effort to give gamers their money's worth. Reminds me of the major screw-job that IW did to gamers with MW2. Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2010
    9
    Easily the best AC game to date, story is continued right after the ending of Assassin's Creed 2. Feels like there is a lot more content in this then the previous AC games which is good in an open world based game like AC. Graphically wise the game still looks great, about 10 hours in I had frame rate drops in crowded areas. Regardless doesn't appear to happen often.
  22. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    This version of the series is the greatest release, yet again Ubisoft has delivered a excellent product. It got a lot of variety and has a-lot of new game-play. The variety in the game with the training mode, the ability to buy stores and have your own little business. The new achievement system for each mission where you can get 100% synchronization in certain conditions also brings a great challenge to the game. Game-play is as great as always, even now the developers have added more functionality to control your assassin the fun factor is greatly improved.
    All the extra new features, variety and game-play of this game has boosted it to be one of the best games Iwe ever played!
    Expand
  23. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This is clearly the best Assassin's Creed of the series. It's a step up in every way. Fans out there HAVE to play this one. Parachutes and new gadgets are included and the Desmond story side is much more explored. Nothing is true, everything is permitted! It definitely deserves a 10.0. What are you waiting for, go get the game already.
  24. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game is simply AMAZING. It is the BEST game in the series, one of the best open world games EVER, and it is definitely in my top 5 for 2010, and it is easily one of the best games of this generation, do yourself a favor GO BUY THIS GAME! Trust me, its worth it. Whenever someone says that games are not art, just show them this game and prove them wrong, this game is THE definition of art,period. The story is very,very good, immersive, and engaging, the graphics are MIND BLOWING for a game with such a huge world, and you will NOT want to put your controller down until you beat it. The single player story is over 20 hours long and there are a TON of side missions to keep you busy, and once you're done with the story, there is also a multiplayer mode, which fits PERFECTLY into the AC universe and makes total sense, and it is very FUN, easily the best third person online action game that I've ever played, it is THAT good. plus there are a ton of maps, modes, and characters that every time that you start a new match it will feel very different! YOU MUST BUY THIS NOW!! Expand
  25. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    I got this and i have to say its a pretty good game. It has alot of new gameplay elements to it and its filled with items that will help you for your experience playing the game. Even though the storyline to the second Assassin's Creed is better, Brotherhood is on my Top 10 list of favorites.
  26. USG
    Nov 20, 2010
    9
    About good as the last game, Assassin's Creed II, with compensation for features lost in II. It feels more like an extension to II rather than a new title, which is probably what the developers wanted. The mission synchronization adds to some mission difficulty, but killing people was made significantly easier. The game feels more focused on the main story. This can also be attributed to being in a single city, which has great variation. I'd say the graphics are about the same; maybe a little better. The multiplayer adds a little more to the game, but not that much (especially after playing the multiplayer beta). The game mechanics could still use a little tweaking, it's sometimes easy to make mistakes and fall off a building and such. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This game is absolutely brilliant. Of course you will still feel an air of 'deja-vu' in terms of sluggish camera controls on Lara Croft style jumps left and right as in AC2 but the game is absolutely gorgeous. Rome is wonderfully modeled. The multiplayer is a very good addition and is freshening,
  28. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Well one would to describe Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood; PERFECTED. Everything that AC2 had that wasn't perfect is now fixed, the only thing that I can say that is not perfect is the controls. Now don't get me wrong the controls in Brother aren't bad but some of the time they can make you jump or move somewhere you don't want to move or jump to . The big new feature is the online mode, and I must say that is a TON of fun to play. It can get really intense at some moments and is a lot of fun with some friends.

    All a round Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a excellent game and in my opinion is a possible candidate for Game of the Year.
    Expand
  29. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Fabulous. The Guild mechanic is awesome and easy. The combat is greatly improved and, well, the climbing is just the same. The story line is also amazing and really gripping and side quests are much cooler. Buy it. If you don't, you haven't lived.
  30. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    At first site the game seems like only a Expansion , The first few minutes seems as if it is still Assassins Creed 2 . Upon the game getting deeper into the story you see that there is more to it ,it may seem like the same game but it is well worth every second of it this is by far my favorite game this year. From all the new weapons and story line new faces old faces the game is just AWESOME.
  31. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great game, to me even better then AC:2. However this time there is put more focus on the characterization which means you will learn more about characters, but less effort on the story which also means you will not know anything that you already know before. Game play is good like before but adding new features makes even better. The multiplier is something new and fresh but sometimes frustrating. And yes you need this game to complete your AC collection! Expand
  32. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Once again, ezio and co returns with the new game Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, this time around ezio is trying to take down the borgia once and for all, recently the pope's son: Cesare Borgia, is trying to conquer italy, after returning from the vault, ezio travels back to monterriggioni with his uncle mario, then after doing a few things, *Transition* Modern Day Assassin Desmond and Lucy,Shaun and Rebecca are travelling to the villa to hide from Abstergo... The Modern Day Templars, after stopping at the front, the group needs to find a good place to set up the animus, after going through uncharted like caves and hallucinations, you find the sanctuary from the 2nd game, after setting up, you go find electricity around the villa, then after some cut scenes, then you go back to the animus, after ezio in the bath with caterina sforza, you get attacked, after battling your way through the various places, you then go to rome, the gameplay here still has the traditional Assassin's Creed, climb,assassinate etc, the content of this game is just massive, even though you don't get that great felling changing city, but the game makes up by adding side missions where you go around italy, where you help leonardo da vinci destroy his inventions, Repairing the villa was appreciated, but this time you repair an entire city! how about that, but at the start money is scarce and by the end you have a lot of money and excess things, that just makes more things to collect, from 10 feathers to 101 borgia flags and 6 things to collect for the best armor, the secret locations are easier but the 100% synchronization adds more challenge, this goes for the same with missions, another great thing is the Assassin Apprentice, you get your own guild, send them on missions, and send them out to kill guards or messengers or pickpocketers, the character was slightly disapointing because mostly the same and reused sounds, but other than that this game is amazing, i do have one criticism, the multiplayer is hard to get in matchmaking, theres either no one, half people who'll quit or its just my connection

    Graphics: 8.5
    Sound: 9.0
    Gameplay: 9.0
    Lasting Appeal: 9.0
    Expand
  33. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    This game definitely surprised me. The Campaign is still great. The multiplayer is definitely unique. It never got repetitive or even dull. I found myself getting immersed in playing an assasin and blending in with the crowd. While running across rooftops and hunting down enemy assasins it was a totally unique gaming experience. I say screw Black Ops. ACB all the way!
  34. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game, to it's core. The missions, the stunning graphics, the storyline... all fantastic. Not to mention the astonishing amount of history that's infused into the game. As a person who's viewed Rome extensively, the game gets its landmarks surprisingly close to the real thing. This is a landmark in gaming history and it should be treated as such, no question.
  35. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    The most polished game play the franchise has seen, complimented by great writing, graphics, voice work, and story (even with a somewhat unsatisfying ending). The best part however is the multiplayer, which requires both skill and intelligence to master. The uniqueness of the multiplayer is enough to warrant a purchase alone.
  36. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    this game is perfect in all aspects, the art, the music, the awesome history, the gameplay. everyone should play all 3 AC games ;)

    by the way, i'm not a noob teenager who know nothing about good game, i have played game since 1991, so, i know what game is good for old school gamer like me.
  37. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    one word : Breathtaking although that word is not enough to even eign describing it. it's an exemplary title and one that smacks of a developer at the peak of its game. From every piece of cover and set-piece thrown in fiendishly to catch you unaware, to the expertly crafted multiplayer maps and top quality cut scenes, it is clear that a innumerable amount of dedication and painstaking precision has been squeezed out of the team to help make this the PS3's crowning moment. Expand
  38. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    This next instalment builds on the AC2, which in itself was a great game. The implementation of training a 'brotherhood' of assassins is a very beneficial addition to the game. The new multiplayer feature is surprisingly fun to play, which includes different modes and perks as you level up giving the game that extra longevity boost which lacked from its predecessors. Overall a top game in all aspects. Expand
  39. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Filled with plenty of variety, excellent combat, a huge city to explore, and some solid multiplayer, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a great addition to a fantastic franchise. However, the game lacks the emotion, sense of discovery, and awe that made Assassin's Creed II such a jaw dropper.
  40. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    ACII was a truly great title: several cities to explore, each one very different from the other, great story, interesting ending. AC Brotherhood continues that familiar (if not boring at times) path, tries out the same formula, but instead of adding, it seems to take away. This time, there's basically only one city - Rome - a large venue, which is much less of a good feature than it sounds. There are very few enhancements, and the game feels stale and boring. There are some experiments, like synchonising the story 100% (for example, finish a mission in a certain amount of time, which is a huge annoyance and an warm invitation to cheating). There seem to be a lot more bugs in Brotherhood - plus the biggest one (controls) has not only not been fixed, it's gotten worse. Sometimes, it's hard to make Ezio do the things you want to do, sometimes he randomly jumps in different direction than assumed (previously mentioned 100% seems impossible more than often). The story doesn't stick anymore and Rome isn't as half as charming as Firenze, much less Venice. It's a shame that Brotherhood is such a letdown, and to any who want continuing the trilogy, think if it's worth it - Brotherhood may disappoint you so much your warm feelings about ACII will go down the drain. Expand
  41. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Excellent game, feels like a fluid journey from start to finish, the graphics are beautiful, the scope is immense and the character's feel real just like in all assassins creed games, the multiplayer takes a while but once you,ve got it its epic. Definitely a a must by!
  42. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    Its an awsome game at the begining ,but when u reached the midle game it becomes boring,it has awsome fight techiniques ,it has little of stealth (it needs to be improved) but i think its good but it needs to have more maps like in AC 2 610
  43. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    In terms of story for Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, it is a huge step down from its predecessor. But it does improve in gameplay and graphics in many ways, ranging from tiny to vast improvements
  44. Dec 9, 2012
    4
    This is the worst entry in the series. The changes is dull and the whole game feels unnecessary. The story feels empty and Rome was a boring city, and the game is shorter.

    They added kick into combat, that's good, but then they remove strong attacks (hold square) and replacing it with throwing away your sword, so frustrating because then you loose your sword and can't equip it unless
    you find it on the ground.

    The thieves guild/missions was unnecessary, the assassin recruiting was unnecessary, buy/build buildings was way unnecessary, the Fox missions was unnecessary, the multiplayer was unnecessary/dull,.. And this game has a focus on horses, but what do they do? they remove the Gallop feature so you couldn't run/flee from the guards if you would like to.

    ,... Ac: Revelations was a much better game
    Expand
  45. May 5, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Good Points:
    +The Campaign is a little bit shorter, but it doesn't lose it's quality. The opening sequence is marvellous. For those who get bored, cut-scenes can now be passed. Horse riding inside the city. Combat has been facilitated, but not very much, so expert AC gamers won't bother. The Bank and rebuilding Rome, makes winning money much easier than
    before. The Crossbow is now available. The Animus program training is fun and will improve your stealth, combat and free running in the actual game. Graphics slightly improved, but improved in the end. Voice Acting excellent. Beautiful Soundtrack. Addition of optional objectives to synchronize the mission to a 100%, which for expert AC players, will be a ton of fun to do. Assassin recruitment. It really makes you feel like, like on the tittle says, you're in an actual Assassin Brotherhood. Present Day starts to get fun, while in this game, you have to do missions that require tracking things or free run through places. Multiplayer. It is very fun challenging yourself to be the greatest assassin, really helps the game maintain itself. The Ending. This ending is done perfectly and will be leaving you anxious to play the next in the franchise, to know what happens.
    Bad Points:
    Although Horse Riding is now available inside the city, it is not very well adapted to city obstacles, and sometimes, is frustrating. There is only 1 city, and after creating games which contained 4 or 5 cities, Rome feels small. You can't spur or gallop, and sometimes running, feels faster than the horse at "full speed". It feels like AC II remodelled, and not like a brand new game. There is almost no addition of secondary characters, just the old ones like Mario, Machiavelli, The Fox, and so on.
    Final Score:
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a nice addition to the Assassin's Creed Franchise, but it feels like a second AC 2. The Story is still strong but it feels like they're running out of material for Ezio. Average Score: 8.8
    Expand
  46. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    I am really trying to like this game. It has me fixated. It could easily win Game of the Year, because of the production values alone: ever so grand. The gameplay: like crack, so addicting. The depth: massive. And yet this game is so full of fail that I can't even begin to disguise my disdain. Assassin's Creed (AC) is sadly broken. It's like having a plush body of your favorite classic car in your garage, but the engine's utterly trashed so it's not drivable. What I'm saying is that AC is ever so brilliant in its scope, so full of raw potential. Now I see... my analogy is flawed. Because playing AC is like handling a very fast sports car, but the previous owner had a cat or something and it ganked in the driver's seat.

    Let's look at the controls, first. AC suffers from the same problem it had in its first release: bad bump mapping and over-sensitivity. You'll leap off building walls into thin air. You can't look behind you when hanging on a wall to see where you're jumping toward. This leads to frustration and annoying load times, pushing you out of the game repeatedly. You'll lock on enemies, but the controls are so sensitive that it will switch to a bystander mid-attack, or won't lock onto anyone, leaving you vulnerable. This will happen so many times that you'll rage quit at least once every time you play it.
    But the story line is compelling and genius. It will have you coming back for more, like an abusive boyfriend who shows up at the door with flowers in hand, or a gorgeous girlfriend without an ounce of brains in her head. The free-running is epic when done correct. But the bump mapping is so horrible that it becomes almost hilarious to try to get from point A to point B without falling off a wall or accidentally leaping off one.

    This game takes a ton of practice to become even remotely good at it. But it's worth the time and the repetitive gameplay.

    The multiplayer is perhaps the grandest potential this game has, unfortunately, it's flawed by one single gametype where people run around trying to kill each other swiftly and silently. There are a number of gametypes that would seem intuitive to produce for this game: Free Running races, Horse Races, Combat, Team Deathmatch. But these are nowhere to be found. It will be interesting to see if these concepts are further developed and provided as DLC later. Doubtful, considering the history of games. The mutiplayer is tacked on, when it's the best thing the franchise has going for it. It would be wise for them to expand this, give us more maps, or better yet, make it one giant world where a number of players can engage in realistic nefariousness.

    The AI in this game is at once incredible and challenging, yet stupid. I appreciate how consistent it was, but sometimes you would kill a guard and his buddies would come along, look at the corpse and keep walking. Other times it seems laden with bugs as I witnessed one AI standing in one place and spinning around in a circle.

    All in all, it's an incredible game, but playing it is nothing short of frustrating. Losing is okay, when I lose because of something I tried and failed attempting. Losing is not fun when it occurs because of janky controls.

    The graphics are absorbing, but there seem to be a smothering of sepia tones that wash it all out in amber, ruining a great deal of the ornateness of textures and colors that could have easily been achieved.

    If this game wins, it will go down as the worst Game of the Year I have ever played.
    Expand
  47. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    One thing i can is that this game is definately not deserving of a perfect score and AC 2 is a far superior game. The Cons are as follows: You are only in one location in AC Brotherhood, There are tons of graphic glitches which were not that prevalent in AC 2, the frame rate drops frequently, The new 100% Synch system in my opinion sucks and are annoying objectives that force one to re-do missions ( The missions should be more difficult instead ), Too easy, The shop missions are stupid and waste your time by making one look for treasure to increase the game length, The blacksmith system sucks( The weopens dont get better as one advances in the game, the weopens that are unlocked randomly, The new renovation system also wastes ones time by making one go to every single shop to renovate( Another cheap trick by Ubisoft) , The new combat is unimproved with stupid kill streaks, The story is worse, the main missions are shorter, The music in this game also unimproved with the same boring music replaying, The graphics is a bit stale and outdated. Pros: The new assassin recruits are useful and earn extra money,The multiplayer is fun but not perfect and has a few glitches, The new gadget one gets is awesome... Yeah and thats it. Overall this game has unimproved from AC 2 in nearly every aspect and the quality has been reduced. This game is dissappointing, what can i say thats what happens when a game is made in a year. I am a fan of AC because of AC2 and dont want to see AC 3 any time soon. 6.5/10. Expand
  48. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ACB, took everything that works right in Assassins Creed 2 and expands. The game seem s beauty and the multiplayer is a refreshing experience.
    AC is one of the best franchise of that generation, and Brotherhood continues its legacy.
    Expand
  49. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    if you are looking for a gun game to play, then i suggest you buy this straight away, this game is just breathtaking, i bet you will be addicted to it 24/7, it is the game you will want to play, the graphics on the game is just unbelievable, the story mode on this game, is really good, the graphics they have done, is amazing, you will not get your breath, if your looking for a multiplayer game to play, then this is your game, Assasin's Creed: Brotherhood, is so much better than all the other Assasin Creed's, Everything is improved and there is lots of new features, A must have, I definitely enjoyed everything about this game so far. It's just perfect the online mode feature is really good aswell, i think this game beats all the other games on ps3 to be honest, they have made a big improvement on making this game, must admit, the first AC didn't do much for me, as a matter of fact I didn't even finish it. , not enough variation in game play but this one, i cant wait to finish it, it's one of them games where you buy it, you go home, play it, and you dont get off it until you fnish the whole game, there is a lot to do on the game, so much more trophies to achieve than all the other assasin creed's, if you are looking for a hard game to play, and you are a competitive player, than i suggest you buy this game straight away. Expand
  50. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is an amazing game all around, the singleplayer experience is as excellent as ever and playing Ezio can never get old, the style of Assassin's Creed II is still there yet it does it perfectly! If you ever get tired of the Italian Renaissance, then the great Multiplayer awaits you! Either be a lone assassin or go with a partner for an all out massacre, in a silent way tough.... The multiplayer is very fun and is done very well! Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is Game of the Year Material! Expand
  51. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is an amazing game all around, the singleplayer experience is as excellent as ever and playing Ezio can never get old, the style of Assassin's Creed II is still there yet it does it perfectly! If you ever get tired of the Italian Renaissance, then the great Multiplayer awaits you! Either be a lone assassin or go with a partner for an all out massacre, in a silent way tough.... The multiplayer is very fun and is done very well! Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is Game of the Year Material! Expand
  52. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    What a fantastic game. It is just incredible. The story line is amazing, the graphics are outstanding, and once again Ubisoft has left us with a cliffhanger ending which makes you think, and leaves you wanting more. I feel like this AC was more stealthy and not just a button mash, sword fighting slasher game. Not saying AC 1 + 2 were bad in anyway, but I enjoy playing an ASSASSIN game like an assassin would. Being very sneaky. The addition of multiplayer was a great idea from Ubisoft, because nothing of that sort has been done before. I love the new weapons, and finishing moves. There was nothing wrong with this game at all. Even if you haven't played the series before this is a must buy game for everyone. Expand
  53. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    This is quite a good game. I had a lot of fun scrambling across roofs and assassinating people. The story is fairly interesting and the environment looks amazing. Although I don't advise anyone to buy this game, I do suggest you rent it or borrow it. This is why. For me, the story was quite short. I managed to complete it in about 10 hours. Also, by the end of the story, the usual mission of chasing someone, or killing someone, or climbing some buildings gets kind of boring. Also, there is basically no replay value in this game. In short, a good game for the most part, does get boring toward the end, and not much, if any replay value. I suggest giving this a rent. Expand
  54. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Ubisoft have taken AC:2, and tweaked it ever so slightly. I would recommend this game if you want to follow the story of the game, as it progresses both the story of Ezio and Desmond in his life outside of the Animus. The game also does a good job of balancing the story as well as introducing new players to the series. One of the big positives of this game is the multiplayer, which is thoroughly entertaining and probably the most innovative of any game. The negatives of this game are that the gameplay is almost identical to the last game, and playing through the game can be repetitive and boring at times. My advice is, if you are new to the series or have played the first two games and needs to keep up with the Assassin's Creed storyline, then this game is for you. If you are looking for a completly new experience, look elsewhere. Expand
  55. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = This is a worthy opponent in the action genre and I love the gameplay directions there taking for the series. Excellent multiplayer component as well.
  56. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Really fantastic game, if you liked either the first or second one, this one is in exactly the same vain. With a couple of extras. Like multiplayer, which i was firstly sceptical of, but have grown to love it.
  57. Nov 29, 2010
    6
    Hello there. I am going to be completely honest with you, I loved AC and AC2 and I was genuinely excited about this game. More so than Black Ops (thank goodness!) and I wondered what they would come up with next because I was 'told' via the utube previews to expect, much better fighting, more exciting missions and strength in depth etc. Again whilst this cannot claim to be an 'in depth' review I feel it is important to be accurate about what you are actually buying here:
    You are buying a large expansion pack. Admittedly you are buying an expansion pack worth at least £15.00 ish and the detail is incredible in terms of what Rome looks like BUT my gripes are as follows: Fighting: ok, so the only difference I could discern was that now sometimes a guard (if there is more than one) can grab you for about 5 seconds until you work out how to break the grab. So fighting is still, 1,2,3,4,5, 'fighting by the numbers' it feels as it did last time, contrived and annoying and in fact after the first few BIG kills I avoided it; which is a shame because fighting is what this game should be thriving upon. In addition, similar to many games out there, for whatever reasons, although technology will allow it developers shy away from realism. To put it bluntly, If I swing a bearded two handled axe that historically weighed upwards of 50 lb at your head, I expect, upon contact, nay demand for that head to go bouncing down the street spraying onlookers with blood and bits of head. Itâ
    Expand
  58. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    Just when you thought the Assassin's Creed Franchise couldn't get any better, Assassin's Creed Brotherhood comes out packing a punch. The developers knew that their wasn't too much variety when it came to missions in the very first Assassin's Creed so the developers went to work and produced Assassin's Creed 2 which added on a variety of missions to choose from. Not only is the content of the missions better but the change in the fighting mechanics really spiced up the game. Instead of having to fight every single guard, if you achieve a cinematic kill, you will have the chance to press the attack button at a designated time. If successful, you can continue the attack combo instantly killing the next enemy in your way.

    The Story continues right where you left off from Assassin's Creed 2, as Desmond Miles who is trying to find out where Ezio Auditore hid the Apple of Eden. But you have to get through Pope Rodrigo Borgia (Boss from the last game) and his son Cesare Borgia who has taken control of a massive army and has made the Assassins his number 1 target.

    Reasons why it's better than its Predecessor: There is so much more to do in this game compared to the other games in the series. I also really enjoyed the new recruiting system in the game. It very much like Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker's troop deployment mini game where you can send out units (Which vary in level) to complete a mission and in a successful return you receive items and money. Another great thing they added to this game was the ability to transport to a bunch of places within Rome. This made traveling a lot easier. They also allow you to use horses in cities now. ( They tend to be hard to control especially in very populated areas in the game.

    This is the first game in the series to add multiplayer to it. It is a very unique style of online which keeps you on your toes the entire match. While you are looking for a target along with other enemies looking for the same target, someone is looking to get you. It's a lot of fun but it's heavily based upon the higher level you are the better you are going to be. This kinda sucks the fun out if you want to just play it every now and then or are jumping into the multiplayer late. Overall, this gets two thumbs up from me (or should I say two hidden blades up) It's the best of the series. If you liked the other two Assassins, this one blows the other ones away and has a lot of replay value. Pick it up and enjoy numerous hours fun.
    Expand
  59. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    After playing most of the single player campaign and spending some time on the multiplayer, I can safely say that Assassin's creed brotherhood is one of my favourite games this generation. Despite what many people say, I think the game is a huge improvement over the second installment. Perhaps most of the gameplay mechanics stayed afoot, but really there isn't one thing that the game didn't improve. The graphics are simply better, mainly in the cutscenes, and the enviorment looks more vibrant. I think the best improvement was the fact that you now have one big city to explore, rather then 6 or 7 cities that look the same, and does not require many loading times and needless traveling. besides that, the story is more elegant and much more focused. I liked the fact that Ezio doesn't kill as much as he did in the second game. It seems there are more politics and interesting plot twists that the second game just lacked, and Ezio thinks abit more before he takes out the dagger(or gun, for that matter). Desmond's story is also more interesting, and while you don't see him most of the game, he seems to be more involved then last time. So after playing the amazing, brilliant, fun and improved singleplayer I started playing the multiplayer. To sum it up: It's preety damn good. It could use refinments though, because there are some balancing issues with the gameplay, but otherwise it's really engaging and really fun. I think it's a fantastic game that triumphs the first two games easily. With more things to do, a better focused story and better overall quality, AC:B is the assassin's creed game that AC:2 simply never was, for me. utterly Brilliant. Expand
  60. Nov 30, 2010
    7
    It gets a positive review for being more of the same with the slightly addicting twist of assassin training. Unfortunately, the story is too short, and the assassin training is only fun/interesting until you've filled all slots with Assassins, which takes far less time than it should. I loved AC2, and so enjoyed this one for being more of the same. Would recommend to anyone who, like me, loved the original. Not so much to anyone else.

    Multiplayer not reviewed, as I am generally disinterested in it.
    Expand
  61. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    This new chapter of Assassin's Creed simply improves on everything from the past game. The graphics a improved. The city of Rome is HUGE. There's tons of side missions and multiplayer! The single player campaign is long, but if have previously played through AC 1 and/or 2, then this will be no different.

    I highly recommend this game to anyone who's a fan of the previous game and anyone
    who wants to experience an amazing single-player video game experience that plays out like a hollywood-style epic action movie. Collapse
  62. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    I'd give this a 96 out of 100... best AC so far. I must admit, the first AC didn't do much for me, as a matter of fact I didn't even finish it. Too linear, not enough variation in game play, etc. ACII raised the bar and made for quite a story, and the game play was improved dramatically. AC:Brotherhood polishes this series even further... some will say it didn't bring anything new but I beg to differ. The hidden gun and crossbow really take the weaponry to new levels making for exciting new play and the story is the best so far. Recruiting and training the assassins and learning to use them in missions and while exploring is a fun new twist as well. It's really got it all - action, stealth, platforming... Loved it, really can't wait for the next one... this is right up there with Uncharted Among Thieves as one of the top PS3 titles to date. Expand
  63. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    My favorite AC game, at least as of right now. I don't have much experience with the series, I've only played the first two, but this is the first one to truly impress me. It manages to bypass the flaws of its predecessors and creates one of the best open world experiences I've had in a long time. I wouldn't recommend mistaking this for AC 2.5, all of the new changes make it so much more than that. It might not have a 3 at the end of its title, but this is a game that you do not want to pass up, especially if you are a fan of the series.

    Once again you step into the shoes of Ezio Auditore. Playing as Ezio is a much different experience than in AC 2. For one thing it's clear that he is older and more mature. As someone who didn't enjoy Ezio in AC 2 I have to say I'm impressed with how much they managed to change him and make him more likable. He no longer seems like an arrogant kid to me anymore. The story as a whole is just fantastic, whether you're playing as Ezio in the past or Desmond in the future. Despicable villains, mystery, and awesome moments make this my favorite AC plot yet. I can't even begin to describe how good this game looks. Ubisoft must have really taken their time to craft this gorgeous world.

    Gameplay takes some noticeable strides forward, that make this game feel like an evolution on the work that has come before it. With an insane amount of side-content, multiplayer, and a excellent main quest, this game can keep you busy for a LONG time. The campaign is filled with awesome set-pieces and story reveals, but the best part of the game is just getting off of the beaten path and making you're own adventure. Completing numerous side-quests, rebuilding Rome, or just causing trouble for the guards there's always something to do when you're not focusing on the story missions. Liberating and rebuilding the city you are playing in is a fantastic new addition. As you begin to remove enemy presence in some areas you can begin to open up shops and rebuild things like broken waterways. Doing this grants you a steady flow of cash and really makes it feel like this is a living and breathing city that you are in control of. My favorite new addition is the ability to manage you're own assassin's guild. By recruiting around the city you can send your very own recruits on assassination missions or have them help you out in combat. Watching your recruits taking out a target that you told them to is a wonderful and beautiful sight to behold.

    In another first for the series multiplayer makes an appearance and it is fantastic. Hunting down another player while being hunted makes for one super intense game of cat-and-mouse. It is unbelievably satisfying to pull off a kill on another player. To do so you are going to have to rely on a mix of stealth and cunning. Acting like the AI characters roaming to get close is helpful and it's great to see your hard work pay off. I fell a little frustrated that most players don't even bother using stealth, but rather would just run around the map with no regards to stealth, but it's no a deal breaker. This is still a fun and unique multiplayer game that I have no doubt you will find yourself coming back to again and again.

    AC: Brotherhood is a fantastic game and one you should really consider getting. It has got some some issues like artificial barriers that block off portions of the map until later in the story, and the platforming and stealth can be a little iffy at times, but they aren't that annoying when compared to how much fun you can have with this title. If you've been following the series up to this point I would be shocked to find out that you didn't like this. If you're new to the series than this is a pretty good jumping on point. I recommend you start from the beginning to understand the whole story behind the games, but it is better to be late to the party than never show up at all. This is my favorite AC so far.
    Expand
  64. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood finally brings together all the elements of the first two games and perfects them. It does have a few faults, such as the story missions still being too linear and forcing you down ultra-scripted routes (which was my biggest complaint with AC2). But these are balanced out by the freedom given in the Borgia tower assassinations and the Templar agent missions. In fact, most of the non-essential side missions are more fun than the main variants. There is a ton of variety in ACB and you'll always be distracted by something new to do or some new nook to explore. Basically speaking, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is an excellent game that fully capitalizes on the franchise potential. Expand
  65. Dec 24, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is just an Assasins Creed 2.5. People giving this game a 10 dont know what they are talking about. 1st: Bugs. I have found myself in the middle of the sky many times.
    2nd: The mission system is flawed, these "achievements" to complete missions to 100% is dull. There is no way for a casual gamer like myself to finish it to 100% compared to AC2 where it was based on exploration instead of technique.
    3rd: AC2 was better, more immersive and the small city you had to rebuild felt like home way more than in Rome.
    Expand
  66. Dec 29, 2010
    3
    Unless you enjoy jumping through pretty hoops for hours on end, don't waste you time and money on this game. Assassin's Creed (number one) was a special game because the skills involved were all new: assassination, climbing, jumping, balancing, etc. Assassin's Creed 3 is worn thin. We've seen all the flash before. What we need is new skills to be able to do. Unfortunately, that's not going to happen. Like most games that make it big, this game has decided to stick with the original gameplay, and add cinematics, graphics and voices to make up for it. What we're left with is a bad game and a good movie. I found myself getting fed up with the nonsense and just wanting to see the cutscenes. That's not a game, that's a movie. A game is about controlling a character. In AC:B, the gameplay is hindering, not freeing. You know how much fun it was to climb over everything before to be able to accomplish the objective however you could? Well, how about being forced to run hundreds of slightly different climbing mazes? Wait...wait...we'll throw in confusing twists so it's maddeningly frustrating. One example: every synchronization tower now has a slightly different (just enough to trick you) climbing maze. Sounds like fun, right? The game abounds with the same frustrating cinematic angles during gameplay the routinely obstruct your view of the action. The original bugs, like jumping at slightly off the correct angle sometimes not being corrected (and killing you) is not fixed but compensated for with multiple save points during climbs and missions. This helps because one of the ways the designers have found to make all this a little more fun is not telling you a catch before you start a new mission (which kills you, of course). For example: Mission: Follow the gondola. Surprise: Touch it and die. Mission: Chase some guy (again). Catch: There are guards everywhere, and if you don't follow a certain exact path -that you can only find out through trial and dying over and over- it's impossible to win. It's turns out to be so ironic. The thing that made AC so good in the beginning, ie opening up a huge range of motion to allow maximum freedom and control, is now used to restrict your freedom in the game by making the entire game following a precise series of hoops to jump through. Of course it still has good graphics and movie production values which is why I didn't give it a zero. But even with the gorgeous scenery and weird video-game jerky-motion sex scene in the beginning, this is a huge waste of money and time. Expand
  67. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    Assassins Creed: Brotherhood is defidently the best Assassins Creed yet. It fixes almost all the problems from previous titles, and gives you a great storyline. The single player is steller but the multiplayer is not quite as fun. You'll play it for a few hours and get bored and go back to your favorate mutiplayer game.
  68. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    It's fairly easy to compare the story in ACB to AC2, so really I can skip that part of the review because if you liked AC2's story, then it's a certainty that you'll like the story and mechanics in ACB. What really sets this game apart is it's groundbreaking multiplayer. I can't say there is anything like it out there, and have spent countless hours with my buddies hunting, and being hunted. It's inventive, and definitely a refreshing break from all of the FPS multiplayers that clog the gaming pipes. Expand
  69. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    When I first heard of AC: Brotherhood, I thought it was ACIII! But really, this is a direct sequel to ACII! But, when I got this game for Christmas 2010, I got hooked. I can agree that this addition to the AC series is not a game changer in any way rather than expanding the AC storyline. The gameplay is still fun and enjoyable and the graphics do look great. The addition of the multiplayer is actually really fun and addictive! But, I like ACII slightly more mainly because of the story. But, I'd say you should give this game a play. Expand
  70. Feb 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had high hopes for this game and while there are many great aspects of the game, overall, I was let down. The first major problem is the controls. There are so many commands sharing very similar key and stick combinations that it can cause you to make frustrating mistakes. - Jump away from wall and climb jump use the same buttons. It's too easy to mix these two up and end up jumping of tall towers. - The carry and loot both share the circle key. Sometimes, even when I'm tapping and holding, the game will cause me to pick up a body instead of looting it. - various others

    Overall, I noticed a lot of bugginess and poor design decisions when it comes to the controls. The levels where you "fight" with the Apple of Eden are a complete waste. This has to be one of the dumbest weapons in video game history. Basically, it lets you cast a weak, nearly useless spell . You end up running around waiting for it to charge up while evading the guards. I would much rather have fought. However, the absolute worst part of the game is the inclusion of the modern day levels. The levels are boring and uninteresting compared to the Ezio levels. What's worse is that you're forced to sit through long, very stupid cutscenes that you can't skip. The modern day backstory in general is very poor. The game would have been a lot better without it. Having said all that, it does have a lot of good parts. Most of the Ezio missions are enjoyable. The fighting is fun. Rome looks beautiful and has a lot of variety. It's a good game crippled by some major blunders. I should start renting games before plonking down $70 for them. Had tried this game first, I never would have bought it.
    Expand
  71. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Not as good as the previous one.Game story is extremely short.Yeah probably one of the best game. .9.3
  72. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played. Do not listen to anyone who says this game is boring. It has everything, Good voice actors, great storyline ( which get's a little cheesy sometimes ) but mostly fantastic characters. 10 /10.
  73. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    This series just keeps getting better every game. They fixed the combat so that Ezio doesn't have to button mash his opponets to death anymore, the graphics and artwork is still as great as since the first AC appeared, but more importantly is that the plotline doesn't drag as much as ACII. I was really surprised at how large this game actually was considering it was to spend all of it in just the city of Rome. But perfect job on metting out the side-quest and plot line seamlessly. The ending ****ed me off though! I hope you have ACIII ready by summer to make up for it. Expand
  74. Mar 11, 2011
    5
    I really don't know whats all the fuss about this game. Ive seen my friend play it and its so boring! And looks jaw droppingly easy. I mean your assassin will jump down from a building and kill a guard whilst all the other guards will just stand around and watch you! How pathetic and unrealistic. And for such a recent game, i would have thought the graphics would be better. The game is very boring, looks extremely easy and i mean, heck, what guy runs around an Italian city wearing a plain white tunic and cape holding a sword and not look suspicious? I mean what assassin runs around like that? Really unrealistic. Expand
  75. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Love the game, fun and addicting, but what's up with these accents? Why does everyone sound Russian? I speak Italian and this is not the way Italians speak English.
  76. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    It is clear that a lot of time went into lovingly crafting the beautiful world of middle-ages Rome. This game is amazing and at a bargain price too. The only reason it does not get a 10 is because it is a little too easy. The soundtrack by Jesper Kyd is one of the best I have ever heard. I bought it separately off Itunes. The graphics are amazing and the new multiplayer aspect is brilliant.
  77. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I love the AC series alot! I love Ezio too. This game is awesome, not only becoz of the gameplay, but the storyline is what that attracted me to play it at first. This game follows Ezio's story. It's amazing, you can kill enemies faster and new features have been added as well, like the Brotherhood Assist. This game should deserve a 10!
  78. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Many people say that this is just a large expansion pack to AC II. It's not. Though not a great deal has improved in terms of graphics and combat, the rest of the game is utterly fantastic, and Ubisoft has not failed to impress. Brotherhood introduces Rome, which is a breathtaking sight from the high points of the city, and great place to explore if ever bored, which one can never tire of. The game also introduces an entrancing plotline that keeps the player hooked throughout every moment of the missions, which are also the best of any previous Assassin's Creed game. The plot does it's best to confuse yet attract any fan of the Assassin's Creed franchise and anyone who has not played it before, and introduces an amazing possibility for a great game to follow it. Overall, Brotherhood is easily the best addition to the Assassin's Creed franchise so far and creates a great scene for the next game. Expand
  79. May 2, 2011
    8
    This is just another Assassin's Creed game; but that is not a bad thing! Ubisoft have really found a formula that works in their Assassin's Creed games, and you can tell that their budget has severely increased from production of the first game. With a thick plot, long single-player campaign, terrific cut scenes and a wide, dynamic environment - this game is everything you'd expect from the next installation into the AC series.
    However, I think it is very possible to go through the game without being killed, and I found the game's combat far too easy at times - with spamming the same kick, slash, slash, kick, slash, slash to win fights, with ten guards being disposed of with ease as they all seem to be scared of actually attacking you and seem to wait for you to dispose of them!

    Any Assassin's Creed fan needs to play this, it is unmissable if you are a fan of the franchise.
    Expand
  80. May 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is one of the best open world games in this generation, next to the original Assassin's Creed. The graphics are a huge improvement, and the story is as amazing as usual. The characters have become more love-able and are really their own, not some cliche characters from other games. I actually was stunned when Mario died, and I was hanging on the edge of my seat when Ezio was shot. The multiplayer is amazing, Ubisoft took the best parts of the Assassins Creed gameplay into the online experience. The maps are diversified and there is multiple opportunities for teamwork, something that has become uncommon in today's gaming world. The only thing that I didn't like was that in the Story Mode, the new combat system made killing enemies way too easy. And in the multiplayer it takes around 7-15 minutes to find a match, and there are always long waiting times for waiting on all the players to synchronize to the online game, and thats an extra 3-5 minutes just to player a 5 minute round, its not worth it. Expand
  81. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    If you have played the previous titles, the game play is more or less about the same with a few new features that's not really that ground breaking. I don't see why they don't add something more interesting to the game play such as cover mechanics behind objects and executing things from it. It just feels weird that as an assassin you can only stand up behind something or hand your body on a ledge to avoid detection. Why not allow us to pick up an object and throw it somewhere for distraction? Or maybe allow ranged weapons a manual aim but very difficult to shoot a target in a long distance like a sniper. Perhaps allow us to lie to guards so that they would chase and beat up someone while you slip by. The option to blow up something to create a distraction. These new ideas took all of 3 minutes as I write this to make game play a little more interesting than the previous. Clearly they did not spend much time on game play mechanics. However, this game still deserves a 9 because the setting and story will keep you addicted for hours and hours. I just spent an entire Saturday finding myself unable to put down the controller. Expand
  82. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! The only reason that I didn't give it a ten was because I didn't truly feel as though they needed to add the multi-player mode. The multi-player was fine but unnecessary. The single player is outstanding as always.
  83. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This game is Amazing, i never played a game with such a good and thrilling story, Usually when I play games I don't care about the story so much, but in this game, everything is detailed and you really feel like you're Ezio. every Character in this game has it's own unique story, The gameplay itself is amazing too, the Parkour system, the fighting system, the AI's, everything is perfect to the little details. the City Rome is a beautiful city and you really feel like you're part of the environment. I suggest you to buy this game!!! the reason I gave it 9 is not because of the great Single-Player, it's because of the Multiplayer.
    the Multiplayer is great too.
    Expand
  84. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    Similar to its predecessor in many respects, but includes a plethora of new ideas and tweaks to ACII's engine that more than make up for the familiarity, but lets face it, ACII was amazing, any drastic change to the gameplay would be a huge mistake, but the minor tweaks made do nothing but enhance the gaming experience, Ezio is faster and smoother than ever before and much easier to control. The story is a mixed batch, on the one hand, modern day Desmond and co. have a string of new developments that culminate in the best cliffhanger i've ever seen in a game, but while the plight of Ezio is still fun and interesting to a point, it seems quite unnecessary, given that nothing would have gone wrong if Ezio had simply killed Rodrigo Borgia at the end of ACII, in addition, while ACII was an inspiring quest for revenge, this is more of a flaccid quest to recover the apple (a piece of eden) which leaves much to be desired. The multiplayer is a huge win and will keep you coming back for months to come, rewarding stealth and planning above all and forces you to develop strategy, as a nice bonus, camping, boosting and butchering are all impossible because of the way the game is designed, which amounts to a much less frustrating game experience. But while the multiplayer is amazing and I wouldn't ever dream of trading it in, it does take a sizeable chunk out of the single player game, making ACB about 3/4 the length of ACII. If you can get past that, Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is one of the best games you'll play in 2010 Expand
  85. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    The story is not a patch on AC2 but the gameplay (combat) is much improved. The core single player campaign is quite weak - the optional tasks really make it... And there are tonnes of optional side quests! For me, what really makes this game is the multiple-player - such a change to the norm. This game might not be a massive leap from AC2 (as I'm sure Revelations won't be either) but for ubisoft to bring this out 12 months after the original is pretty impressive and we really shouldn't complain! Expand
  86. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, its like spiderman is an assassin who is taking rome for himself. the motions and the fighting in this game are just astonishing. Story pretty good, ive never play any of the other assasin games so i wasnt familiar, but that didnt really matter, love all the side missions, and the rebuilding part of rome. Very cool to just climb around, also a very long game which is good. Didnt love the ending though. Expand
  87. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    Ezio must figure out how things happened can you retrace his steps? This game is a load of fun with weapon upgrades, Treasure of Roma, Daggers...etc. Taking over Rome to liberate the people as an Assassin is really fun and you will get months of game play out of this delight.
  88. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Assassins Creed: Brotherhood is one the BEST GAMES THIS GEN!!! its a really great and fun game. Also its a MASSIVE improvement over Assassins Creed 2 , You MUST but this game if you have a PS3 or Xbox 360
  89. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Assassins Creed: Brotherhood is one the BEST GAMES THIS GEN!!! the only reason some people hate it is becasue they think it didnt improve over Assassins creed II, but they are obviously WRONG! its a really great and fun game. You MUST by it if you have a PS3 or Xbox 360
  90. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is THE reason I registered here. From start to finish this game shines. Beautiful graphics, incredibly captivating soundtrack, fresh story and interesting characters: everything about this game is so good that I can't rave about this game any more. Once you've beaten the single-player story there's plenty of fun moments left in the multiplayer. New gear, dyes and skill upgrades will keep you playing for months to come. However, there are some minor issues that might throw you away from the game world. First, the single-player is ridiculously easy. Even when surrounded by ten guards, Ezio will beat the **** out of them in a matter of seconds, as they're just waiting for their turn to be killed. Second, Brotherhood introduced this new assassin recruit system, but it feels kind of poorly executed and overall is very unexciting, not to mention that the recruits will just randomly spawn out of nowhere to kill your target and disappear in the same way. Finally, I missed the variety of AC 2 in terms of cities, as Rome stands out as a huge pile of ancient ruins mostly as you little by little renovate the city back to life, but that part of the game didn't really catch my interest anyway. Overall, AC: Brotherhood is a great gaming experience, which continues to refine the franchise with new weapons, heavy infantry and game features, like the innovative multi-player. Some minor faults keep it to not being a masterpiece, but Revelations being just around the corner, we're all hoping those will be thing of the past. Expand
  91. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    A masterclass. Raises the bar significantly from AC1 and AC2. Brilliant storyline and a great, unique multiplayer. Stunning graphics as well.

    Highly recommended.
  92. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    There is a good improvement on the game play mechanics compared to AC2. But the story is kind of **** an acceptable game.Maybe I expected a little too much.
  93. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This game did not disappoint, I got my money's worth. Packed with tons of content and a surprisingly lengthy campaign, Brotherhood will please fans of Assassin's Creed II. My only complaint with the PS3 version is the noticeable screen tearing, frame rate issues, and pop-up. At this point, the game is showing its age, but it's excusable on the grounds that it's just so much fun to play. Highly recommended. Expand
  94. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    I really liked Assassin's Creed:Brotherhood.It was fun and it was more free than any Assassin's Creed game,Like for example you can do more with horses and have a small team of assassins.The collectables are easier to find due to only the town of Rome.This is a good thing because in Assassin's Creed 2 there was about five towns which meant long travel and less to find in each town and with the aid of maps that the player must purchase to obtain,the player can now replay a mission that he/she chooses.The story is more interesting but shorter and is more like Assassin's Creed 2.5 than 3.This I didn't like.The game is a little harder which is a good thing because previous games were too easy.It's harder because the AI are more intellegent and the mission require more from the player i.e. a stealth mission needs the player the player to be utterly invisible.The single player feels more independant which makes the player feel more awseome at anything they do.Some items such as some pieces of armour and weapons to be constructed by the blacksmith but to do this the player has to have the right materiels which need to be found by the player.It is worth it because once the finished product is recieved it is a very good weapon,armour etc.But the horses can't gallop at will there has to be a moment when you need the horse then it will give you the option to gallop.

    The multiplayer is amazing I have never played anything like it.It's new and as far as I know nobody but Ubisoft have done it.It can be annoying sometimes but most of the it is AWESOME!

    This game is a must buy.This is also something that doesn't count for my review score I purchased the codex edition but all the in game extras are sold in complete package with something else in the playstation store I was not too happy about but it's nothing that holds me back.
    Expand
  95. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    this game is good but not great which means that is isn't great but after all it is not bad, not even average, its just good, because the story isn't as gripping as AC2s
  96. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing as well. In my opinion its not as good as AC2 and ACR but if you like the franchise its a must buy, The multiplayer was a pretty good addition,it was fun for a while but gets boring. What can i say its AC, its the best
  97. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    MAYBE I CAN CHANGE YOUR MIND: Yes I played the single player only and got sick of it after the first few missions because of the same repetition problem. So much potential unfulfilled and some problems in first game still not addressed. But then I realized this game is tremendously fun if you try to cause as much trouble as you can. My favourite weapon is now the crossbow which truly gives that 'Master Assassin' feeling like in the trailers. The recruits aren't too bad either they actually help in tough spots. Overall the game's main meat is still a mixture of often hugely broken stealth elements, hit or miss free running/ climbing, dodgy targeting systems, inconsistent AI and fidgety camera aswell as unnecessarily long kill animations but this game HAS managed to improve a good amount over the last one though not without bringing some of its own tacky things. leveling up recruits, weapon stats and spread out and recycled side missions only aim to extend the games content some times artificially and are not always fun. The overall flow of combat is great because of the chain kills and horses are good fun. Not to mention the music is pretty engaging and as always the main missions and set pieces are pretty momentous. This game still needs to put more emphasis on thinking but no need to punish you for not doing it. For example there is no emphasis on even preplanning your escapes let alone making good ones (you can actually tell a group of mercenaries to wait outside the kill zone you know so they stop your pursuers after the kill, also having a couple of guards on you is not much of a problem anyways ). So yeah ignore the label "Assassin's Creed" and just play the game for what it is and you'll enjoy it. It's not really 'nearly there' but still a pretty good package. Expand
  98. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    Assassin's Creed II is a great game, and Brotherhood proves it. Following the old "don't fix it if it isn't broken" formula, from start to finish Brotherhood feels, plays and looks like it's precursor. There are some nice new elements as well; the "assassin training" being the most important and fun of them. You find a citizen in distress, save him/her and he/she joins your cause; you can then train them through a simple menu-based mechanic and then call them to assassinate a target or even help you in combat. The new multiplayer mode is also surprisingly deep and original. Brotherhood lacks the innovation introduced by Assassin's Creed II, but maintains the same level of fun and value. Expand
  99. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    For me this was the worst Assassin's Creed from the first to Revelations. I felt the developers just copy and paste Assassin's Creed II, with a new setting, story, multiplier and called it Brotherhood. The game play was more or less the exact same thing from 2 with the addition of a crossbow, bombs and some minor tweaks. The story was weak, it felt more like the part two of Assassin's Creed II than a different game on it's own. The developer's seem to gotten incredibly lazy with this installment and simply want to cash in on the success of Assassin's Creed II (think MW3 to MW2). The environment was not believable, the building look like it's made of card board and Ezio's robe look like it's made of plastic as there not much sway to it. Nonetheless Assassin's Creed II was a good game and if it's not broken than why fix it right? for that I still have my respect for this game. It's not much improvement from the first and felt it was just copy of paste from the second. Expand
  100. Nov 30, 2010
    0
    This new chapter of Assassin's Creed simply improves on everything from the past game. The graphics a improved. The city of Rome is HUGE. There's tons of side missions and multiplayer! The single player campaign is long, but if have previously played through AC 1 and/or 2, then this will be no different.

    I highly recommend this game to anyone who's a fan of the previous game and anyone
    who wants to experience an amazing single-player video game experience that plays out like a hollywood-style epic action movie. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    89
    Recommended to fans of the franchise and also to newcomers. While the single player campaign is entertaining and offers a lot of content, the multiplayer mode is only average. It's a nice goodie, nothing more. The atmosphere, the localization and the videos are pretty well done, which let the player forget time and play hours.
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Assasssin's Creed: Brotherhood has great atmosphere, beautiful visuals, and overall excellent craftsmanship… Just don't expect anything new beyond the multiplayer.
  3. Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a more than a worthy addition to the series canon. The similar setting of renaissance Italy will trick folks into assuming this is a half-arsed expansion, but honestly, this feels like Assassin's Creed 2.99. Don't be fooled by Brotherhood's cunningly familiar disguise. Mark it as a fresh target, pounce and take it down. [January 2011 p66]